Google 致力于为黑人社区推动种族平等。查看具体举措

时区选项

准确显示时间是车载信息娱乐系统的一项核心功能。虽然这可能看起来很简单,特别是在人们对时间和时区管理的期望值较低且必须满足时,但是,如果必须在没有人工干预的情况下显示可靠准确的日期和时间,时间问题很快就会变得复杂起来。

系统芯片 (SoC) 通常所用的所有实时时钟都会有一些偏移;这些偏移会随着时间的推移而累积,如果不加以纠正,可能会导致重大错误。此外,由于人们对准确显示本地时间的期望值很高,因此必须考虑相对于世界协调时间 (UTC) 的正确偏移值。

时区信息以及夏令时 (DST) 的采用在车辆的预计生命周期内可能会发生变化。例如,在实行夏令时多年后,巴西决定在 2019 年不实行夏令时时间表。

Android 提供了对时区规则管理方面的复杂问题进行协商所需的基础架构。如需了解详情,请参阅时区规则;OEM 可以使用这种机制将更新后的时区规则数据推送到设备,而无需进行系统更新。

为此,要将 OEM 应用(以 APK 的形式)添加到系统映像中(对于初始版本),然后通过应用商店进行签名和分发,以供后续更新使用。借助此机制:

  • 用户能够及时获得更新(从而延长 Android 设备的使用期限)。
  • OEM 能够独立于系统映像更新来测试时区更新。

注意:如需实现此机制,需要重新启动系统。

注意:Android Automotive 10 不支持 Android 10(及更高版本)中提供的基于 APEX 的模块更新机制。

车载设备中的时间(时区)信息来源

Android 设备可在系统级别根据世界协调时间 (UTC) 管理时间,采用所需的时区,然后将相应的值转换为本地时间,以向用户显示。当前用户的时区 ID(通常称为 Olson ID)会以设置的形式存储,如 Europe/London。

下文所述的大部分机制都介绍了时间信息。这些标准的目的在于为用户提供当前时间,而不是描述适用的时区规则。为确定实际时区,设备必须先回溯国家/地区、偏移值和 DST 偏移值等因素,然后再设置时区 ID。

这个过程可能并非易事。根据现有的信息进行回溯可能会模糊不清。例如,时区规则 America/Denver 遵守夏令时,但在夏季会采用山地夏令时 (MDT),America/Phoenix 则一直采用 MDT。

移动网络无线装置

系统信息 (SI) 是长期演进(Long-Term Evolution,简称 LTE)空中接口的一个重要部分,由基站 (BS) 通过广播控制信道 (BCCH) 传输。3GPP TS 36.331 规定了 SystemInformationBlockType16 (SIB16),后者包含与 GPS 和世界协调时间 (UTC)、本地时间偏移值以及 DST 信息有关的信息。

2G 和 3G 网络中也有类似的功能,网络身份和时区 (NITZ) 信息可以广播(如需了解详情,请参阅 3GPP TS 22.042)。其他移动网络无线装置标准具有同等的功能。

遗憾的是,大多数标准的共性在于,这些信息的发送是可选的,因此并非在所有网络中都广泛提供。

优点 缺点
  • 如果可用的话,可提供大部分所需的信息。
  • 简洁,在移动网络无线装置作为手机(而不仅仅是数据调制解调器)提供时就已受 Android 支持。
  • 不需要连接到互联网。
  • 不能保证信息会进行广播,也不能保证基站会正确配置。

  • 在边境地区容易接上相邻国家/地区的(漫游)手机基站,有可能传递错误的时区。

  • 在某些位置,更新可能需要数小时甚至数天才能完成。

网络时间协议

网络时间协议 (NTP) 通常用于获取相对精确的 UTC 时间信息。Android 开箱就支持通过 NewNetworkTimeUpdateService 将系统时间与 NTP 服务器的时间同步。NTP 会监控网络时间,并在网络时间不同步以及运营商最近没有提供 NITZ 更新时更新系统时间。如果用户在 NITZ 不可用时启用 AUTO_TIME,系统会立即检查网络时间。

优点 缺点

简洁,受 Android 支持。

  • 不完整,NTP 只提供一个需要的值(时间)。即使在最好的情况下,NTP 也无法提供时区。

  • 需要连接到互联网。

广播无线装置调谐器

利用内置的调谐器来检索时间和时区信息虽然极具吸引力,但也不无挑战。众多无线装置广播标准定义了多个选项,用于提供所需的信息。一般来说,广播无线装置调谐器提供的信息与移动网络无线装置相同。

ETSI EN 300 401 V1.4.1 (2006-06) 第 8.1 部分规定了服务信息功能,为数字音频广播 (DAB) 系统的音频节目服务和数据服务提供了补充信息。第 8.1.3 部分定义了时间和日期的格式,以及有关国家/地区和当地时间偏移值的信息。

同样,对于通常在 FM 调谐器中实现的无线装置数据系统 (RDS),EN 50067 标准第 3.1.5.6 部分定义了时钟时间和数据的格式(每分钟传输一次)。此外,在识别传输的节目时,还可以检索扩展的国家/地区代码 (ECC)。

HD 电台包含对应的选项,作为 HD Radio™ 空中接口设计说明电台信息服务传输规范中电台信息服务 (SIS) 参数消息 (MSG ID 0111) 的一部分。第 5 部分明确阐述了在尝试使用广播的时钟支持时必须注意的事项。同样的智慧一样适用于其他系统:

“…这些数据描述的是广播方所在地的当地习惯,可能与接收方所在地的当地习惯相同,也可能不相同。在接近时区边界的地方,使用方可能会收到提供不同数据的多个电台。因此,这些数据仅作为提示提供,其解释和使用应根据客户的控制情况酌情决定。…”

此外,至少对于 HD 电台,这些信息的广播是可选的,因此不应完全依赖于它。

优点 缺点
  • 通常适用于不同的地区性广播无线装置标准。
  • 不需要连接到互联网。
  • Android 对此不提供开箱即用的支持。
  • 需要开启调谐器(至少偶尔在后台运行),以可靠地检测信息。
  • 可靠性取决于广播方。

实现提示

当前的 BroadcastRadio HAL 2.0 未提供处理时间(时区)元数据的配置。因此,建议的解决方案是使用供应商扩展功能。此功能必须在硬件抽象层 (HAL) 中实现,之后,它可以通过常规 RadioTuner.getParameters() 方法提供给 RadioManager 的客户端。

为了让该解决方案保持稳健性,此供应商扩展的使用方必须确定 HAL 是否支持该功能(不要假定存在这类支持)。getParameters 调用的参数字符串必须进行清晰的整理,供各供应商明确使用。例如,可通过在贵组织的命名空间前面加上合适的域名前缀(如 "com.me.timezoneTuner.currenttimezone")来使用它。

考虑到此类信息的事件驱动性质,使用 RadioTuner.Callback.onParametersUpdated() 回调来接收此类信息可能大有裨益。如果这个功能应该是可配置的,可以在 setParameters 之上设计一套自定义例程。例如:

com.me.timezoneTuner.currenttimezoneEvent.enable

全球导航卫星系统 (GNSS) 本身只能提供(非常)准确的时间信息和位置信息。另外,它本身在一定程度上比 NTP 更自给自足,但也存在网络时间协议中所述的问题,即缺乏可靠的时区信息。

地理定位

解决这一不便的方案是执行反向地理编码,根据位置进行查询来确定国家/地区和时区。在确定车辆的位置信息方面,GNSS 是显而易见的(也是最优质的)选择。Google 的 <aclass="external" l10n-attrs-original-order="href,class" l10n-encrypted-href="6z2vbshndiNBlkSF5nuHzqXc57TIW5VywCkhSp4WUypzRwGNXACB5ltAIGicGTa2qjmYZJAor4qTntaXrxsSZqMZz/kq5DDJnT+TJu5E3bE=">Time Zone API 提供了运行必要的转换所需的全部功能。当然,还必须连接到互联网。在实现在线解决方案时,确保用户隐私必定是首要任务!在消耗流量之前,需要先确认用户是否接受流量使用费;必须请求这一许可。</aclass="external">

可以制定一个适合离线使用的解决方案。一个具有足够的分辨率,可准确确定国家/地区和时区的本地地图数据库可以装入车辆的存储器中。部署了这个数据库,再加上可根据需要更新时区(和国家/地区)信息且完全实现的策略,就可以根据从定位子系统获取的 GNSS 位置信息对国家/地区/时区进行反向地理编码。

优点 缺点
  • 可以明确确定正确的时区。
  • 不需要连接到互联网(如果使用本地数据库)。
  • 在大多数驾驶场景下都能可靠地运行。
  • Android 对此不提供开箱即用的支持。
  • 如果在初始配置期间,车辆位于室内/有遮挡的地方,无法接收到良好的 GNSS 卫星信号,则无法获得准确的时间、位置和时区信息。
  • 本地数据库需要更新机制。
  • 实现比较复杂。

已通过蓝牙、Wi-Fi 或 USB 连接的手机

我们可以借助多种技术,利用用户的手机来获取时间和时区数据。对于所有手机,必须在手机上以及车载信息娱乐 (IVI) 系统上安装一对自定义应用和配套应用。然后,您就可以按照所需的间隔同步时间了。例如,在建立连接时,以及手机检测到新的时区时。

一些支持蓝牙低功耗 (BLE) 的手机提供了通过 GATT 当前时间特性当前时间服务配置文件规范 1.1 来检索时间的选项。不过,这种选项无法满足足够大的细分市场的要求,因此不应完全依赖于它。

优点 缺点
  • 不需要连接到互联网。

  • 手机检测到的时区更改可能会中继到车机。

  • Android 对此不提供开箱即用的支持。

  • 仅在手机连接到车机时有效。

  • 时间的质量好坏将与手机提供的内容一样。

  • 实现比较复杂。

  • 只有部分手机支持 BLE GATT 当前时间服务配置文件。

使用来源

每家设备供应商都必须确定要设定多高的门槛,以及哪些用户行为历程被认为是最关键的。只有清楚地了解所需的关键用户体验,才能做出最佳决策。在大多数情况下,供应商必须在便利性和实现复杂性之间进行权衡。

上述每个选项都有各自的优势和劣势。例如,必须在如下方面做出关键的设计选择:与偶尔出现的时间显示不清的情况相比,多大程度的弹性是可以接受的;以及如何化解相应的不利因素。一个完全自动的解决方案预计可以在所有情况下都出色地运行,但它必须基于几个信息来源的组合。没有一个选项可实现 100% 的可用性。

手动配置选项是一种临时后备方案,易于执行,在实际使用情形中对许多用户而言已经足够。

Time Zone Options

The accurate display of time is a core feature expected of an automotive infotainment system. While this may appear deceptively simple, particularly when expectations of time and time zone management are low and must be met, time quickly becomes complex when a reliably accurate date and time must be displayed without manual intervention.

All real-time clocks typically used in Systems-on-a-Chip (SoC) contain some drift, which accumulates over time and can lead to significant error when left uncorrected. In addition, because expectations are high that local time be displayed accurately, the correct offset from Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) must be considered.

Time zone information, as well as the application of Daylight Saving Time (DST), can be expected to change during the expected lifetime of a vehicle. For example, after many years of implementing DST, Brazil elected to not start a DST schedule in 2019.

Android provides the infrastructure needed to negotiate complications of time zone rule management. For details, seeTime Zone Rules, which enables OEMs to push updated time zone rules data to devices without requiring a system update.

To do so, an OEM data app (in the form of an APK) is added to the system image (for the initial release) and then signed and distributed via an app store for subsequent updates. This mechanism enables:

  • Users to receive timely updates (which extend the useful lifetime of an Android device).
  • OEMs to test time zone updates independently of system image updates.

Note: To implement this mechanism, a system reboot is required.

Note: Android Automotive 10 does not support the APEX-based module update mechanism provided in Android 10 (and higher).

Time (Zone) Information Sources in Cars

Android devices manage time in Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) at the system level, apply the desired time zone, and then convert the value to local time for display to users. The current user's zone ID (often referred to as Olson ID) is stored as a setting. For example, Europe/London.

Much of the mechanism outlined below describes time information. The intent of these standards is to provide users with the current time, not to describe the applicable time zone rules. To determine the actual time zone, the device must work back from factors such as country, offset, and DST offset prior to setting the zone ID.

The process can be a challenge. Working back based on available information can be ambiguous. For example, the time zone rule America/Denver observes DST but adopts to Mountain Daylight Time (MDT) during the summer whereas America/Phoenix continues to recognize MDT.

Cellular radio

System information (SI) is an essential aspect of the Long-Term Evolution (LTE) air interface, which is transmitted by the base station (BS) over the broadcast control channel (BCCH). 3GPP TS 36.331 specifies the SystemInformationBlockType16 (SIB16) which contains information related to GPS and Coordinated Universal Time (UTC), local time offset, as well as DST information.

Similar functionality can be found in 2G and 3G, where Network Identity and time zone (NITZ) information can be broadcast (see 3GPP TS 22.042 for details). Other cellular radio standards have equivalent features.

Unfortunately, the commonality among most standards is that the sending of this information is optional and therefore not universally available on all networks.

Pros Cons
  • When available, provides most of the desired information.
  • Simplicity, already supported by Android when cellular radio is exposed as a phone, not only as a data modem.
  • Does not require internet connectivity.
  • No guarantees that the information is broadcast nor that the base station is properly configured.

  • In border regions, liable to pick up a (roaming) cell tower from a neighboring country and potentially convey the wrong time zone.

  • In some locations, updates can requires hours, even days, to take place.

Network Time Protocol

Network Time Protocol (NTP) is often used to obtain relatively precise UTC time information. Android supports the synchronization of its system time with that of an NTP server out-of-the-box with the NewNetworkTimeUpdateService. NTP monitors network time and updates system time when it goes out-of-sync and a carrier has not recently provided a NITZ update. If the user enables AUTO_TIME when NITZ is not available, the system checks immediately for network time.

Pros Cons

Simplicity, supported by Android.

  • Incomplete, NTP provides only one needed value (time). Even in a best case scenario, NTP cannot provide the time zone.

  • Requires internet connectivity.

Broadcast Radio Tuner

While leveraging a built-in tuner to retrieve time and time zone information is appealing, challenges are involved. Numerous radio broadcast standards define options for exposing the desired information. Generally speaking, a broadcast radio tuner provides the same information as a cellular radio.

ETSI EN 300 401 V1.4.1 (2006-06), section 8.1 specifies service information features that provide supplementary information about services for both audio programme and data for Digital Audio Broadcasting (DAB) systems. Section 8.1.3 defines the format for time and date as well as information for country and local time offset.

Similarly, for the Radio Data System (RDS) commonly implemented in FM tuners, section 3.1.5.6 of the EN 50067 standard defines the format for clock-time and data (transmitted once per minute. In addition, the extended country code (ECC) can also be retrieved as part of the transmitted programme identification.

HD Radio contains corresponding options as part of the HD Radio™ Air Interface Design Description Station Information Service Transport specification in the Station Information Service (SIS) Parameter Message (MSG ID 0111). Section 5 clearly spells out cautionary words that must be heeded when attempting to use the clock support of the broadcast. The same wisdom applies equally to other systems:

... these data describe the local custom at the location of the broadcaster, which may or may not be the same as the local custom at the place of the receiver. Near time-zone boundaries, consumers can receive a multiplicity of stations providing different data. Therefore, these data are provided only as hints, the interpretation and utilization of which should be made discretionary, subject to customer control. …"

In addition, for HD Radio at least, the broadcast of this information is optional and should not, therefore, be exclusively relied upon.

Pros Cons
  • Typically available across different regional broadcast radio standards.
  • Does not require internet connectivity.
  • Android does not support this out-of-the-box.
  • Requires tuner to be turned on (at least occasionally in the background) to reliably detect information.
  • Reliability depends on the broadcaster.

Implementation Tips

The current BroadcastRadio Hal 2.0 does not provide a provision for handling time(zone) metadata. Therefore, the recommended solution is to leverage the vendor extension feature. Implementation of this functionality must occur in the Hardware Abstraction Layer (HAL) after which if can be exposed to clients of the RadioManager via the generic RadioTuner.getParameters() method.

For the solution to remain robust, the consumer of this vendor extension must determine that the HAL supports the feature (do not assume its existence). Parameter strings for the getParameters call must be cleanly organized for unambiguous usage across vendors. For example, using the namespace of your organization by prefixing it with the appropriate domain as in "com.me.timezoneTuner.currenttimezone"

Given the event-driven nature of the information, it can be beneficial to use the RadioTuner.Callback.onParametersUpdated() callback for receiving this information. In case this facility should be configurable, design a set of custom routines on top of setParameters. For example:

com.me.timezoneTuner.currenttimezoneEvent.enable

On its own, the Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) can only provide (very) accurate time information as well as position. Also on its own, it is somewhat more self-sufficient than NTP but suffers the same problem described in Network Time Protocol, namely the lack of trustworthy time zone information.

Geolocation

The solution to this inconvenience is to execute reverse-geocoding and determine the country and time zone by doing a lookup based on position. GNSS is the obvious (and best quality) choice of location information in a vehicle. Google's Time Zone API offers all that's needed to run the required conversion. Of course, internet connectivity is required. Ensuring user privacy must be a top priority when implementing an online solution! The permission of a user to accept data usage costs (or not) is required and must be requested.

It is feasible to create a suitable solution for offline usage. A local map database with sufficient resolution to accurately determine the country and time zone can fit into a vehicle's storage. With this and a fully implemented strategy for updating the time zone (and country) information as needed in place, one can reverse-geocode the country/time zone based on the GNSS position obtained from the Location subsystem.

Pros Cons
  • Can unambiguously determine the correct time zone.
  • Does not require internet connectivity (in case of local DB).
  • Works reliably for most driving scenarios.
  • Android does not support this out of the box.
  • If the vehicle is indoors/a covered area where good GNSS satellite reception is not possible during initial configuration, it is impossible to get accurate time, location and time zone information.
  • Local database needs an update mechanism.
  • Implementation complexity.

Phone Connected through Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, or USB

Several technologies can be used to leverage a user's phone to obtain time and time zone data. For all phones, a pair of custom application and companion apps must be installed on the phone and on the In-Vehicle Infotainment (IVI) system. It is then possible to synchronize time at the desired interval. For example, upon establishing the connection and when the phone detects a new in time zone.

Some phones that support Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) provide the option of retrieving time via the GATT Current Time characteristic and the Current Time Service Profile Specification 1.1. However, this option does not address a sufficiently large market segment to be exclusively relied upon.

Pros Cons
  • Does not require internet connectivity

  • Time zone changes detected by phone can be relayed to the head unit.

  • Android does not support this out of the box.

  • Works only while the phone is connected to the head unit.

  • Time will be as good or bad as what the phone provides.

  • Implementation complexity.

  • Only some phones support the BLE GATT Current Time Service profile.

Using Sources

Every device vendor must determine how high a bar to set and which user journeys to deem most critical. Only with a clear understanding of the desired critical user experiences can the best decision be arrived at. In most cases, vendors must consider the tradeoffs between convenience and implementation complexity.

Each option described above poses advantages and disadvantages. For example, a critical design choice must be made with regard to how much resilience, as compared to occasional poor time display, is acceptable and how to manage the downsides. A fully automatic solution that can be expected to function well in all scenarios yet must be based on a combination of several information sources. No single option can provide 100% availability.

A manual configuration option as a temporary fallback is easy to execute and can, in practice, be sufficient for many users.