传感器 HAL 1.0

sensors.h 中声明的传感器 HAL 接口表示 Android 框架与硬件专用软件之间的接口。HAL 实现必须定义 sensors.h 中声明的每个函数。主要函数如下:

  • get_sensors_list - 返回所有传感器的列表。
  • activate - 启动或停止传感器。
  • batch - 设置传感器的参数,如采样率和最大报告延迟。
  • setDelay - 仅用于 1.0 版本的 HAL。设置指定传感器的采样率。
  • flush - 清空指定传感器的 FIFO 并在完成后报告清空完成事件。
  • poll - 返回可用的传感器事件。

实现必须是线程安全的,并且允许从不同线程调用这些函数。

该接口还定义了这些函数使用的几个类型。主要类型如下:

  • sensors_module_t
  • sensors_poll_device_t
  • sensor_t
  • sensors_event_t

除了下面的部分,还可参阅 sensors.h 了解有关这些类型的更多信息。

get_sensors_list(list)

int (*get_sensors_list)(struct sensors_module_t* module, struct sensor_t
  const** list);

提供由 HAL 实现的传感器列表。要详细了解如何定义传感器,请参阅 sensor_t

传感器在列表中显示的顺序是将传感器报告给应用的顺序。通常,先显示基础传感器,然后显示复合传感器。

如果几个传感器的传感器类型和唤醒属性相同,则列表中的第一个传感器称为“默认”传感器。该传感器由 getDefaultSensor(int sensorType, bool wakeUp) 返回。

该函数返回列表中的传感器数量。

activate(sensor, true/false)

int (*activate)(struct sensors_poll_device_t *dev, int sensor_handle, int
  enabled);

激活或禁用传感器。

sensor_handle 是要激活/禁用的传感器的句柄。传感器的句柄是由传感器的 sensor_t 结构的 handle 字段定义的。

enabled 设为 1 时启用传感器,设为 0 时则停用传感器。

单次传感器在接收到事件后会自动自行禁用,并且必须仍接受通过调用 activate(..., enabled=0) 进行禁用。

非唤醒传感器绝不会阻止 SOC 进入暂停模式;即 HAL 不应代表应用控制部分唤醒锁定。

持续提交事件的唤醒传感器会阻止 SOC 进入暂停模式,但如果无需提交任何事件,则必须释放部分唤醒锁定。

如果 enabled 为 1 且传感器已激活,则该函数是空操作且操作成功。

如果 enabled 为 0 且传感器已禁用,则该函数是空操作且操作成功。

如果操作成功了,则该函数返回 0;否则返回表示错误的负数。

batch(sensor, flags, sampling period, maximum report latency)

int (*batch)(
     struct sensors_poll_device_1* dev,
     int sensor_handle,
     int flags,
     int64_t sampling_period_ns,
     int64_t max_report_latency_ns);

设置传感器的参数,包括采样率最大报告延迟。该函数可在传感器被激活时调用,在这种情况下,它一定不能导致任何传感器测量丢失:从一个采样率转换到另一个采样率时不能导致丢失事件,而从较高最大报告延迟转换为较低最大报告延迟时也不能丢失事件。

sensor_handle 是要配置的传感器的句柄。

flags 当前未使用。

sampling_period_ns 是传感器运行时应采用的采样周期,以纳秒为单位。要了解详情,请参阅 sampling_period_ns

max_report_latency_ns 是事件在通过 HAL 报告之前可以延迟的最长时间,以纳秒为单位。要了解详情,请参阅 max_report_latency_ns 段落。

如果操作成功了,则该函数返回 0;否则返回表示错误的负数。

setDelay(sensor, sampling period)

int (*setDelay)(
     struct sensors_poll_device_t *dev,
     int sensor_handle,
     int64_t sampling_period_ns);

在 1.0 版之后的 HAL 中,该函数已被弃用,并且无法再调用。我们将调用 batch 函数来设置 sampling_period_ns 参数。

在 1.0 版 HAL 中,使用 setDelay(而非 batch)来设置 sampling_period_ns

flush(sensor)

int (*flush)(struct sensors_poll_device_1* dev, int sensor_handle);

清空完成事件添加到指定传感器的硬件 FIFO 的末尾并清空 FIFO。这些事件会照常提交(即好像最大报告延迟已过期一样)并从 FIFO 中移除。

清空会异步执行(即该函数必须立即返回)。如果实现将一个 FIFO 用于多个传感器,则清空该 FIFO,并且仅为指定传感器添加清空完成事件。

如果指定传感器没有 FIFO(无法缓冲),或者如果 FIFO 在调用时为空,则 flush 仍必须操作成功并为该传感器发送清空完成事件。这适用于除单次传感器以外的所有传感器。

当调用 flush 时,即使该传感器的 FIFO 中已经存在清空事件,也必须另外创建一个清空事件并将其添加到 FIFO 的末尾,并且必须清空 FIFO。flush 调用的次数必须等于创建的清空完成事件数。

flush 不适用于单次传感器。如果 sensor_handle 引用的是单次传感器,则 flush 必须返回 -EINVAL,并且不会生成任何清空完成元数据事件。

如果操作成功,该函数返回 0;如果指定的传感器是单次传感器或未启用,则返回 -EINVAL;其他情况返回表示错误的负数。

poll()

int (*poll)(struct sensors_poll_device_t *dev, sensors_event_t* data, int
  count);

通过填充 data 参数返回传感器数据数组。该函数必须禁用,直到事件可用为止。如果操作成功了,则该函数返回读取的事件数,或者如果发生错误,则返回表示错误的负数。

data 中返回的事件数必须小于或等于 count 参数。该函数不应返回 0(没有任何事件)。

调用的顺序

当设备启动时,调用 get_sensors_list

当传感器激活时,则先使用请求的参数调用 batch 函数,然后调用 activate(..., enable=1)

请注意,在 1_0 版本的 HAL 中,顺序是相反的,先调用 activate,然后调用 set_delay

当激活状态下的传感器的请求特性发生变化时,会调用 batch 函数。

可以随时调用 flush,甚至在未激活的传感器上也可以调用(在这种情况下,该函数必须返回 -EINVAL

当传感器禁用时,将调用 activate(..., enable=0)

在进行上述调用的同时,会反复调用 poll 函数来请求数据。甚至在没有传感器激活的情况下,也可以调用 poll

sensors_module_t

sensors_module_t 是用于为传感器创建 Android 硬件模块的类型。HAL 的实现必须定义一个该类型的对象 HAL_MODULE_INFO_SYM,以提供 get_sensors_list 函数。要了解详情,请参阅 sensors.h 中的 sensors_module_t 的定义以及 hw_module_t 的定义。

sensors_poll_device_t/sensors_poll_device_1_t

sensors_poll_device_1_t 包含上文定义的方法的剩余部分:activatebatchflushpoll。它的 common 字段(类型为 hw_device_t)定义了 HAL 的版本号。

sensor_t

sensor_t 表示这是一个 Android 传感器。以下是 sensor_t 的一些重要字段:

name:表示传感器的用户可见字符串。该字符串通常包括底层传感器的部件名称、传感器的类型以及是否为唤醒传感器。例如,“LIS2HH12 Accelerometer”、“MAX21000 Uncalibrated Gyroscope”、“BMP280 Wake-up Barometer”、“MPU6515 Game Rotation Vector”。

handle:用于在注册到传感器或从传感器生成事件时表示传感器的整数。

type:传感器的类型。要详细了解传感器类型的解释,请参阅什么是 Android 传感器?; 要了解官方传感器类型,请参阅传感器类型。对于非官方传感器类型,type 必须以 SENSOR_TYPE_DEVICE_PRIVATE_BASE 开头。

stringType:传感器的类型(以字符串表示)。如果传感器为官方类型,则设置为 SENSOR_STRING_TYPE_*。如果传感器为制造商特定类型,stringType 必须以制造商的反向域名开头。例如,由 Fictional-Company 的 Cool-product 团队定义的传感器(比如独角兽检测器)可以使用 stringType=”com.fictional_company.cool_product.unicorn_detector”stringType 用于唯一标识非官方传感器类型。要详细了解传感器类型和字符串类型,请参阅 sensors.h

requiredPermission:代表应用要查看传感器、注册到传感器和接收传感器数据所必须具备的权限的字符串。空字符串表明应用不需要获取该传感器的任何访问权限。部分传感器类型(例如心率监测器)具有强制性的 requiredPermission。提供敏感用户信息(例如心率)的所有传感器必须受到权限保护。

flags:传感器的标记,用于定义传感器的报告模式以及传感器是否为唤醒传感器。例如,对于单次唤醒传感器,标记为 flags = SENSOR_FLAG_ONE_SHOT_MODE | SENSOR_FLAG_WAKE_UP。当前版本的 HAL 中未使用的标记位必须等于 0。

maxRange:传感器可报告的最大值,单位与已报告值单位相同。传感器必须能够报告 [-maxRange; maxRange] 范围内(未过载)的值。请注意,这意味着从常规意义上来说传感器的总范围是 2*maxRange。当传感器报告几条轴上的值时,该范围适用于每条轴。例如,“+/- 2g”加速度计会报告 maxRange = 2*9.81 = 2g

resolution:传感器可测量出的最小差值。该字段通常基于 maxRange 和测量值的位数计算得出。

power:启用传感器的功耗成本,以毫安为单位。该字段值几乎始终大于底层传感器的相关数据表中报告的功耗。要了解详情,请参阅基础传感器不等于物理传感器;要详细了解如何测量传感器的功耗,请参阅功耗测量过程。如果传感器的功耗取决于设备是否正在移动,则 power 字段中报告的值是移动时的功耗。

minDelay:对于连续传感器,指对应于传感器支持的最快速率的采样周期(以微秒为单位)。要详细了解该值是如何使用的,请参阅 sampling_period_ns。请注意,minDelay 以微秒为单位,而 sampling_period_ns 以纳秒为单位。对于变化和特殊报告模式传感器,除非另行指定,否则 minDelay 必须为 0。对于单次传感器,该值必须为 -1。

maxDelay:对于连续和变化模式传感器,指对应于传感器支持的最慢速率的采样周期(以微秒为单位)。要详细了解该值是如何使用的,请参阅 sampling_period_ns。请注意,maxDelay 以微秒为单位,而 sampling_period_ns 以纳秒为单位。对于特殊和单次传感器,maxDelay 必须为 0。

fifoReservedEventCount:在硬件 FIFO 中为该传感器保留的事件数。如果该传感器具有专用的 FIFO,则 fifoReservedEventCount 是该专用 FIFO 的大小。如果该传感器与其他传感器共用 FIFO,则 fifoReservedEventCount 是为该传感器保留的 FIFO 部分的大小。对于大多数共享 FIFO 的系统以及没有硬件 FIFO 的系统,该值为 0。

fifoMaxEventCount:FIFO 中可为该传感器存储的最大事件数。该值总是大于或等于 fifoReservedEventCount。该值用于估计在假设不激活任何其他传感器的情况下,以特定速率注册到传感器时 FIFO 多快会被填满。对于没有硬件 FIFO 的系统,fifoMaxEventCount 为 0。有关详情,请参阅批处理

对于官方传感器类型的传感器,一些字段会被框架覆盖。例如,强制要求加速度计传感器使用连续报告模式,并强制要求心率监测器受 SENSOR_PERMISSION_BODY_SENSORS 权限的保护。

sensors_event_t

由 Android 传感器生成并通过 poll 函数报告的传感器事件属于 type sensors_event_t。以下是 sensors_event_t 的一些重要字段:

version:必须是 sizeof(struct sensors_event_t)

sensor:生成相应事件的传感器的句柄,如 sensor_t.handle 所定义。

type:生成相应事件的传感器的类型,如 sensor_t.type 所定义。

timestamp:事件的时间戳,以纳秒为单位。这是事件发生(采取了步骤,或是进行了加速度计测量)的时间,而不是报告事件的时间。timestamp 必须与 elapsedRealtimeNano 时钟同步,并且对于连续传感器,抖动必须很小。有时需要进行时间戳过滤以满足 CDD 要求,因为仅使用 SoC 中断时间来设置时间戳会导致抖动过大,而仅使用传感器芯片时间来设置时间戳又会由于传感器时钟漂移而无法与 elapsedRealtimeNano 时钟同步。

数据和重叠字段:由传感器测量的值。这些字段的含义和单位特定于每种传感器类型。要了解数据字段的说明,请参阅 sensors.h 以及不同传感器类型的定义。对于某些传感器,也可以通过 status 字段在数据中同时报告读取精度。该字段只能针对选定传感器类型通过管道传递,作为精度值出现在 SDK 层。对于这类传感器,其传感器类型定义中会提及必须设置 status 字段。

元数据清空完成事件

元数据事件的类型与常规传感器事件的类型相同:sensors_event_meta_data_t = sensors_event_t。元数据事件通过 poll 与其他传感器事件一起返回,且拥有如下字段:

version:必须是 META_DATA_VERSION

type:必须是 SENSOR_TYPE_META_DATA

sensor、reserved 和 timestamp:必须为 0

meta_data.what:包含该事件的元数据类型。目前有一个有效的元数据类型:META_DATA_FLUSH_COMPLETE

META_DATA_FLUSH_COMPLETE 事件表示传感器 FIFO 清空完成。当 meta_data.what=META_DATA_FLUSH_COMPLETE 时,必须将 meta_data.sensor 设置为已清空的传感器的句柄。当且仅当对传感器调用 flush 时才会生成这类事件。要了解详情,请参阅有关 flush 函数的部分。

to top

HAL interface

In this document

The HAL interface, declared in sensors.h, represents the interface between the Android framework and the hardware-specific software. A HAL implementation must define each function declared in sensors.h. The main functions are:

  • get_sensors_list - Returns the list of all sensors.
  • activate - Starts or stops a sensor.
  • batch - Sets a sensor’s parameters such as sampling frequency and maximum reporting latency.
  • setDelay - Used only in HAL version 1.0. Sets the sampling frequency for a given sensor.
  • flush - Flushes the FIFO of the specified sensor and reports a flush complete event when this is done.
  • poll - Returns available sensor events.

The implementation must be thread safe and allow these functions to be called from different threads.

The interface also defines several types used by those functions. The main types are:

  • sensors_module_t
  • sensors_poll_device_t
  • sensor_t
  • sensors_event_t

In addition to the sections below, see sensors.h for more information on those types.

get_sensors_list(list)

int (*get_sensors_list)(struct sensors_module_t* module, struct sensor_t
  const** list);

Provides the list of sensors implemented by the HAL. See sensor_t for details on how the sensors are defined.

The order in which the sensors appear in the list is the order in which the sensors will be reported to the applications. Usually, the base sensors appear first, followed by the composite sensors.

If several sensors share the same sensor type and wake-up property, the first one in the list is called the “default” sensor. It is the one returned by getDefaultSensor(int sensorType, bool wakeUp).

This function returns the number of sensors in the list.

activate(sensor, true/false)

int (*activate)(struct sensors_poll_device_t *dev, int sensor_handle, int
  enabled);

Activates or deactivates a sensor.

sensor_handle is the handle of the sensor to activate/deactivate. A sensor’s handle is defined by the handle field of its sensor_t structure.

enabled is set to 1 to enable or 0 to disable the sensor.

One-shot sensors deactivate themselves automatically upon receiving an event, and they must still accept to be deactivated through a call to activate(..., enabled=0).

Non-wake-up sensors never prevent the SoC from going into suspend mode; that is, the HAL shall not hold a partial wake-lock on behalf of applications.

Wake-up sensors, when delivering events continuously, can prevent the SoC from going into suspend mode, but if no event needs to be delivered, the partial wake-lock must be released.

If enabled is 1 and the sensor is already activated, this function is a no-op and succeeds.

If enabled is 0 and the sensor is already deactivated, this function is a no-op and succeeds.

This function returns 0 on success and a negative error number otherwise.

batch(sensor, flags, sampling period, maximum report latency)

int (*batch)(
     struct sensors_poll_device_1* dev,
     int sensor_handle,
     int flags,
     int64_t sampling_period_ns,
     int64_t max_report_latency_ns);

Sets a sensor’s parameters, including sampling frequency and maximum report latency. This function can be called while the sensor is activated, in which case it must not cause any sensor measurements to be lost: Transitioning from one sampling rate to the other cannot cause lost events, nor can transitioning from a high maximum report latency to a low maximum report latency.

sensor_handle is the handle of the sensor to configure.

flags is currently unused.

sampling_period_ns is the sampling period at which the sensor should run, in nanoseconds. See sampling_period_ns for more details.

max_report_latency_ns is the maximum time by which events can be delayed before being reported through the HAL, in nanoseconds. See the max_report_latency_ns paragraph for more details.

This function returns 0 on success and a negative error number otherwise.

sampling_period_ns

What the sampling_period_ns parameter means depends on the specified sensor's reporting mode:

  • Continuous: sampling_period_ns is the sampling rate, meaning the rate at which events are generated.
  • On-change: sampling_period_ns limits the sampling rate of events, meaning events are generated no faster than every sampling_period_ns nanoseconds. There might be periods longer than sampling_period_ns where no event is generated if the measured values do not change for long periods. See on-change reporting mode for more details.
  • One-shot: sampling_period_ns is ignored. It has no effect.
  • Special: See the specific sensor type descriptions for details on how sampling_period_ns is used for special sensors.

See Reporting modes for more information about the impact of sampling_period_ns in the different modes.

For continuous and on-change sensors,

  • if sampling_period_ns is less than sensor_t.minDelay, then the HAL implementation must silently clamp it to max(sensor_t.minDelay, 1ms). Android does not support the generation of events at more than 1000Hz.
  • if sampling_period_ns is greater than sensor_t.maxDelay, then the HAL implementation must silently truncate it to sensor_t.maxDelay.

Physical sensors sometimes have limitations on the rates at which they can run and the accuracy of their clocks. To account for this, we allow the actual sampling frequency to differ from the requested frequency, as long as it satisfies the requirements in the table below.

If the requested frequency is

Then the actual frequency must be

below min frequency (<1/maxDelay)

between 90% and 110% of the min frequency

between min and max frequency

between 90% and 220% of the requested frequency

above max frequency (>1/minDelay)

between 90% and 110% of the max frequency

and below 1100Hz

Note that this contract is valid only at the HAL level, where there is always a single client. At the SDK level, applications might get different rates, due to the multiplexing happening in the Framework. See Framework for more details.

max_report_latency_ns

max_report_latency_ns sets the maximum time in nanoseconds, by which events can be delayed and stored in the hardware FIFO before being reported through the HAL while the SoC is awake.

A value of zero signifies that the events must be reported as soon as they are measured, either skipping the FIFO altogether, or emptying the FIFO as soon as one event from this sensor is present in it.

For example, an accelerometer activated at 50Hz with max_report_latency_ns=0 will trigger interrupts 50 times per second when the SoC is awake.

When max_report_latency_ns>0, sensor events do not need to be reported as soon as they are detected. They can be temporarily stored in the hardware FIFO and reported in batches, as long as no event is delayed by more than max_report_latency_ns nanoseconds. That is, all events since the previous batch are recorded and returned at once. This reduces the amount of interrupts sent to the SoC and allows the SoC to switch to a lower power mode (idle) while the sensor is capturing and batching data.

Each event has a timestamp associated with it. Delaying the time at which an event is reported does not impact the event timestamp. The timestamp must be accurate and correspond to the time at which the event physically happened, not the time it is being reported.

Allowing sensor events to be stored temporarily in the hardware FIFO does not modify the behavior of poll: events from different sensors can be interleaved, and as usual, all events from the same sensor are time-ordered.

See Batching for more details on sensor batching, including behaviors in suspend mode and out of suspend mode.

setDelay(sensor, sampling period)

int (*setDelay)(
     struct sensors_poll_device_t *dev,
     int sensor_handle,
     int64_t sampling_period_ns);

After HAL version 1.0, this function is deprecated and is never called. Instead, the batch function is called to set the sampling_period_ns parameter.

In HAL version 1.0, setDelay was used instead of batch to set sampling_period_ns.

flush(sensor)

int (*flush)(struct sensors_poll_device_1* dev, int sensor_handle);

Add a flush complete event to the end of the hardware FIFO for the specified sensor and flushes the FIFO; those events are delivered as usual (i.e.: as if the maximum reporting latency had expired) and removed from the FIFO.

The flush happens asynchronously (i.e.: this function must return immediately). If the implementation uses a single FIFO for several sensors, that FIFO is flushed and the flush complete event is added only for the specified sensor.

If the specified sensor has no FIFO (no buffering possible), or if the FIFO, was empty at the time of the call, flush must still succeed and send a flush complete event for that sensor. This applies to all sensors other than one-shot sensors.

When flush is called, even if a flush event is already in the FIFO for that sensor, an additional one must be created and added to the end of the FIFO, and the FIFO must be flushed. The number of flush calls must be equal to the number of flush complete events created.

flush does not apply to one-shot sensors; if sensor_handle refers to a one-shot sensor, flush must return -EINVAL and not generate any flush complete metadata event.

This function returns 0 on success, -EINVAL if the specified sensor is a one-shot sensor or wasn’t enabled, and a negative error number otherwise.

poll()

int (*poll)(struct sensors_poll_device_t *dev, sensors_event_t* data, int
  count);

Returns an array of sensor data by filling the data argument. This function must block until events are available. It will return the number of events read on success, or a negative error number in case of an error.

The number of events returned in data must be less or equal to the count argument. This function shall never return 0 (no event).

Sequence of calls

When the device boots, get_sensors_list is called.

When a sensor gets activated, the batch function will be called with the requested parameters, followed by activate(..., enable=1).

Note that in HAL version 1_0, the order was the opposite: activate was called first, followed by set_delay.

When the requested characteristics of a sensor are changing while it is activated, the batch function is called.

flush can be called at any time, even on non-activated sensors (in which case it must return -EINVAL)

When a sensor gets deactivated, activate(..., enable=0) will be called.

In parallel to those calls, the poll function will be called repeatedly to request data. poll can be called even when no sensors are activated.

sensors_module_t

sensors_module_t is the type used to create the Android hardware module for the sensors. The implementation of the HAL must define an object HAL_MODULE_INFO_SYM of this type to expose the get_sensors_list function. See the definition of sensors_module_t in sensors.h and the definition of hw_module_t for more information.

sensors_poll_device_t / sensors_poll_device_1_t

sensors_poll_device_1_t contains the rest of the methods defined above: activate, batch, flush and poll. Its common field (of type hw_device_t) defines the version number of the HAL.

sensor_t

sensor_t represents an Android sensor. Here are some of its important fields:

name: A user-visible string that represents the sensor. This string often contains the part name of the underlying sensor, the type of the sensor, and whether it is a wake-up sensor. For example, “LIS2HH12 Accelerometer”, “MAX21000 Uncalibrated Gyroscope”, “BMP280 Wake-up Barometer”, “MPU6515 Game Rotation Vector”

handle: The integer used to refer to the sensor when registering to it or generating events from it.

type: The type of the sensor. See the explanation of sensor type in What are Android sensors? for more details, and see Sensor types for official sensor types. For non-official sensor types, type must start with SENSOR_TYPE_DEVICE_PRIVATE_BASE

stringType: The type of the sensor as a string. When the sensor has an official type, set to SENSOR_STRING_TYPE_*. When the sensor has a manufacturer specific type, stringType must start with the manufacturer reverse domain name. For example, a sensor (say a unicorn detector) defined by the Cool-product team at Fictional-Company could use stringType=”com.fictional_company.cool_product.unicorn_detector”. The stringType is used to uniquely identify non-official sensors types. See sensors.h for more information on types and string types.

requiredPermission: A string representing the permission that applications must possess to see the sensor, register to it and receive its data. An empty string means applications do not require any permission to access this sensor. Some sensor types like the heart rate monitor have a mandatory requiredPermission. All sensors providing sensitive user information (such as the heart rate) must be protected by a permission.

flags: Flags for this sensor, defining the sensor’s reporting mode and whether the sensor is a wake-up sensor or not. For example, a one-shot wake-up sensor will have flags = SENSOR_FLAG_ONE_SHOT_MODE | SENSOR_FLAG_WAKE_UP. The bits of the flag that are not used in the current HAL version must be left equal to 0.

maxRange: The maximum value the sensor can report, in the same unit as the reported values. The sensor must be able to report values without saturating within [-maxRange; maxRange]. Note that this means the total range of the sensor in the generic sense is 2*maxRange. When the sensor reports values over several axes, the range applies to each axis. For example, a “+/- 2g” accelerometer will report maxRange = 2*9.81 = 2g.

resolution: The smallest difference in value that the sensor can measure. Usually computed based on maxRange and the number of bits in the measurement.

power: The power cost of enabling the sensor, in milliAmps. This is nearly always more that the power consumption reported in the datasheet of the underlying sensor. See Base sensors != physical sensors for more details and see Power measurement process for details on how to measure the power consumption of a sensor. If the sensor’s power consumption depends on whether the device is moving, the power consumption while moving is the one reported in the power field.

minDelay: For continuous sensors, the sampling period, in microseconds, corresponding to the fastest rate the sensor supports. See sampling_period_ns for details on how this value is used. Beware that minDelay is expressed in microseconds while sampling_period_ns is in nanoseconds. For on-change and special reporting mode sensors, unless otherwise specified, minDelay must be 0. For one-shot sensors, it must be -1.

maxDelay: For continuous and on-change sensors, the sampling period, in microseconds, corresponding to the slowest rate the sensor supports. See sampling_period_ns for details on how this value is used. Beware that maxDelay is expressed in microseconds while sampling_period_ns is in nanoseconds. For special and one-shot sensors, maxDelay must be 0.

fifoReservedEventCount: The number of events reserved for this sensor in the hardware FIFO. If there is a dedicated FIFO for this sensor, then fifoReservedEventCount is the size of this dedicated FIFO. If the FIFO is shared with other sensors, fifoReservedEventCount is the size of the part of the FIFO that is reserved for that sensor. On most shared-FIFO systems, and on systems that do not have a hardware FIFO this value is 0.

fifoMaxEventCount: The maximum number of events that could be stored in the FIFOs for this sensor. This is always greater or equal to fifoReservedEventCount. This value is used to estimate how quickly the FIFO will get full when registering to the sensor at a specific rate, supposing no other sensors are activated. On systems that do not have a hardware FIFO, fifoMaxEventCount is 0. See Batching for more details.

For sensors with an official sensor type, some of the fields are overwritten by the framework. For example, accelerometer sensors are forced to have a continuous reporting mode, and heart rate monitors are forced to be protected by the SENSOR_PERMISSION_BODY_SENSORS permission.

sensors_event_t

Sensor events generated by Android sensors and reported through the poll function are of type sensors_event_t. Here are some important fields of sensors_event_t:

version: Must be sizeof(struct sensors_event_t)

sensor: The handle of the sensor that generated the event, as defined by sensor_t.handle.

type: The sensor type of the sensor that generated the event, as defined by sensor_t.type.

timestamp: The timestamp of the event in nanoseconds. This is the time the event happened (a step was taken, or an accelerometer measurement was made), not the time the event was reported. timestamp must be synchronized with the elapsedRealtimeNano clock, and in the case of continuous sensors, the jitter must be small. Timestamp filtering is sometimes necessary to satisfy the CDD requirements, as using only the SoC interrupt time to set the timestamps causes too high jitter, and using only the sensor chip time to set the timestamps can cause de-synchronization from the elapsedRealtimeNano clock, as the sensor clock drifts.

data and overlapping fields: The values measured by the sensor. The meaning and units of those fields are specific to each sensor type. See sensors.h and the definition of the different Sensor types for a description of the data fields. For some sensors, the accuracy of the readings is also reported as part of the data, through a status field. This field is only piped through for those select sensor types, appearing at the SDK layer as an accuracy value. For those sensors, the fact that the status field must be set is mentioned in their sensor type definition.

Metadata flush complete events

Metadata events have the same type as normal sensor events: sensors_event_meta_data_t = sensors_event_t. They are returned together with other sensor events through poll. They possess the following fields:

version: Must be META_DATA_VERSION

type: Must be SENSOR_TYPE_META_DATA

sensor, reserved, and timestamp: Must be 0

meta_data.what: Contains the metadata type for this event. There is currently a single valid metadata type: META_DATA_FLUSH_COMPLETE.

META_DATA_FLUSH_COMPLETE events represent the completion of the flush of a sensor FIFO. When meta_data.what=META_DATA_FLUSH_COMPLETE, meta_data.sensor must be set to the handle of the sensor that has been flushed. They are generated when and only when flush is called on a sensor. See the section on the flush function for more information.