支持多用户

通过将用户帐号和应用数据进行分离,Android 支持在一台 Android 设备上添加多名用户。例如,父母可能会允许他们的孩子使用家用平板电脑,或应急响应团队可能会共用一台移动设备用于呼叫值班。

术语

Android 在描述 Android 用户和帐号时会使用以下术语。

通用

Android 设备管理会使用以下通用术语。

  • 用户:每个用户分别由一个自然人使用。每个用户都有不同的应用数据和一些独特的设置,以及可在多个用户之间明确切换的用户界面。当某个用户处于活动状态时,另一个用户可以在后台运行;系统会在适当的时候尝试关闭用户来节约资源。次要用户可直接通过主要用户界面或设备管理应用进行创建。
  • 帐号:帐号包含在用户中,但并非由某个用户定义;用户既不由任何特定帐号进行定义,也不会关联到任何特定帐号。用户和个人资料包含其各自的唯一帐号;不过,即使没有用户和个人资料,帐号也可以正常发挥作用。帐号列表因用户而异。有关详细信息,请参阅 Account 类定义。
  • 个人资料:个人资料具有独立的应用数据,但会共享一些系统范围内的设置(例如 WLAN 和蓝牙)。个人资料会与已存在用户绑定在一起,并是已存在用户的子集。一个用户可以有多份个人资料。个人资料通过设备管理应用进行创建。个人资料由创建个人资料的用户进行定义,它与父用户之间总是存在不可变的关联。个人资料的存在时间不会超出相应创建用户的生命周期。
  • 应用:应用的数据存在于各关联用户中。同一用户的其他应用的应用数据均已沙盒化。同一用户的应用可以通过 IPC 相互影响。如需了解详情,请参阅编译 Apps for Work

用户类型

Android 设备管理使用以下用户类型。

  • 主要用户。添加到设备的第一个用户。除非恢复出厂设置,否则无法移除主要用户;此外,即使其他用户在前台运行,主要用户也会始终处于运行状态。该用户还拥有只有自己可以设置的特殊权限和设置。
  • 次要用户。除主要用户之外添加到设备的任何用户。次要用户可以移除(由用户自行移除或由主要用户移除),且不会影响设备上的其他用户。这种用户可以在后台运行且可以继续连接到网络。
  • 访客:临时的次要用户。访客用户设置中有明确的删除选项,以便在访客用户帐号过期时快速将其删除。一次只能创建一个访客用户。

个人资料类型

Android 设备管理使用以下个人资料类型。

  • 受管理。由应用创建,包含工作数据和应用。受管理个人资料专门由个人资料所有者(创建企业资料的应用)管理。启动器、通知和最近的任务均由主要用户和企业资料共享。
  • 受限。由主要用户(控制受限个人资料上哪些应用可用)控制的帐号。仅适用于平板电脑和电视设备。

支持多用户

从 Android 5.0 开始,多用户功能默认处于停用状态。要启用这项功能,设备制造商必须定义资源叠加层,以取代 frameworks/base/core/res/res/values/config.xml 中的以下值:

<!--  Maximum number of supported users -->
<integer name="config_multiuserMaximumUsers">1</integer>
<!--  Whether Multiuser UI should be shown -->
<bool name="config_enableMultiUserUI">false</bool>

要应用此叠加层并在设备上启用访客和次要用户,请使用 Android 编译系统的 DEVICE_PACKAGE_OVERLAYS 功能执行以下操作:

  • config_multiuserMaximumUsers 的值替换为大于 1 的数
  • config_enableMultiUserUI 的值替换为 true

设备制造商可以决定用户数上限。如果设备制造商或其他人修改了设置,他们必须确保短信和电话通讯遵循 Android 兼容性定义文档 (CDD) 中定义的说明。

管理多个用户

用户和个人资料(受限个人资料除外)由以编程方式在 DevicePolicyManager 类中调用 API 的应用进行管理以限制使用。

学校和企业可以将上述类型与 UserManager API 结合使用,以针对其使用情况构建独特的解决方案,从而借助用户和个人资料来管理设备上应用和数据的生命周期和适用范围。

多用户系统行为

将用户添加到设备后,当其他用户在前台活动时,一些功能会受限制。由于应用数据会按用户分开,因此,这些应用的状态也会因用户而异。例如,在设备上激活某个用户和帐号之前,发往该用户帐号(当前处于未激活状态)的电子邮件将无法查看。

默认情况下,只有主要用户拥有电话和短信的完全访问权限。次要用户可以接听呼入电话,但是不能发送或接收短信。主要用户必须为其他人启用这些功能,他们才能使用这些功能。

注意:要为次要用户启用或停用电话和短信功能,请依次转到“设置”>“用户”,选择相应用户,然后将“允许接打电话和收发短信”设置切换到关闭状态。

次要用户在后台活动时会受到一些限制。例如,后台次要用户无法显示界面或开启蓝牙服务。此外,如果设备需要更多内存才能满足前台用户的操作需求,系统进程将暂停后台次要用户的活动。

在 Android 设备上使用多用户功能时,请注意以下几点:

  • 通知会同时出现在一位用户的所有帐号中。
  • 其他用户的通知在激活用户后才会显示。
  • 每位用户都会获得用于安装和放置应用的工作区。
  • 任何用户都无权访问其他用户的应用数据。
  • 任何用户都可以影响为所有用户安装的应用。
  • 主要用户可以移除次要用户所创建的应用甚至整个工作区。

Android 7.0 具备一些增强功能,例如:

  • 切换工作资料。用户可以停用其受管理的个人资料(例如不使用时)。这项功能可以通过停止用户来实现;UserManagerService 会调用 ActivityManagerNative#stopUser()
  • 始终开启的 VPN。VPN 应用现已可以由用户、设备 DPC 或 Managed Profile DPC(仅适用于受管理个人资料应用)设置为始终开启。启用后,应用将无法访问公共网络(在连接 VPN 且连接可以通过它正常进行路由前,无法访问网络资源)。报告 device_admin 的设备必须实现始终开启的 VPN。

有关 Android 7.0 设备管理功能的更多详细信息,请参阅 Android for Work

Supporting Multiple Users

Android supports multiple users on a single Android device by separating user accounts and application data. For instance, parents may allow their children to use the family tablet, or a critical response team might share a mobile device for on-call duty.

Terminology

Android uses the following terms when describing Android users and accounts.

General

Android device administration uses the following general terms.

  • User. Each user is intended to be used by a different physical person. Each user has distinct application data and some unique settings, as well as a user interface to explicitly switch between users. A user can run in the background when another user is active; the system manages shutting down users to conserve resources when appropriate. Secondary users can be created either directly via the primary user interface or from a Device Administration application.
  • Account. Accounts are contained within a user but are not defined by a user, nor is a user defined by or linked to any given account. Users and profiles contain their own unique accounts but are not required to have accounts to be functional. The list of accounts differs by user. For details, refer to the Account class definition.
  • Profile. A profile has separated app data but shares some system-wide settings (for example, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth). A profile is a subset of and tied to the existence of a user. A user can have multiple profiles. They are created through a Device Administration application. A profile always has an immutable association to a parent user, defined by the user that created the profile. Profiles do not live beyond the lifetime of the creating user.
  • App. An application’s data exists within each associated user. App data is sandboxed from other applications within the same user. Apps within the same user can interact with each other via IPC. For details, refer to Building Apps for Work.

User types

Android device administration uses the following user types.

  • Primary. First user added to a device. The primary user cannot be removed except by factory reset and is always running even when other users are in the foreground. This user also has special privileges and settings only it can set.
  • Secondary. Any user added to the device other than the primary user. Secondary users can be removed (either by themselves or by the primary user) and cannot impact other users on a device. These users can run in the background and continue to have network connectivity.
  • Guest. Temporary secondary user. Guest users have an explicit option to quick delete the guest user when its usefulness is over. There can be only one guest user at a time.

Profile types

Android device administration uses the following profile types.

  • Managed. Created by an application to contain work data and apps. They are managed exclusively by the profile owner (the app that created the corp profile). Launcher, notifications, and recent tasks are shared by the primary user and the corp profile.
  • Restricted. Uses accounts based off the primary user, who can control what apps are available on the restricted profile. Available only on tablets and television devices.

Enabling multi-user

As of Android 5.0, the multi-user feature is disabled by default. To enable it, device manufacturers must define a resource overlay that replaces the following values in frameworks/base/core/res/res/values/config.xml:

<!--  Maximum number of supported users -->
<integer name="config_multiuserMaximumUsers">1</integer>
<!--  Whether Multiuser UI should be shown -->
<bool name="config_enableMultiUserUI">false</bool>

To apply this overlay and enable guest and secondary users on the device, use the DEVICE_PACKAGE_OVERLAYS feature of the Android build system to:

  • Replace the value for config_multiuserMaximumUsers with one greater than 1
  • Replace the value of config_enableMultiUserUI with: true

Device manufacturers may decide upon the maximum number of users. If device manufacturers or others have modified settings, they must ensure SMS and telephony work as defined in the Android Compatibility Definition Document (CDD).

Managing multiple users

Management of users and profiles (with the exception of restricted profiles) is performed by applications that programmatically invoke API in the DevicePolicyManager class to restrict use.

Schools and enterprises may employ users and profiles to manage the lifetime and scope of apps and data on devices, using the types outlined above in conjunction with the UserManager API to build unique solutions tailored to their use cases.

Multi-user system behavior

When users are added to a device, some functionality is curtailed when another user is in the foreground. Since app data is separated by user, the state of those apps differs by user. For example, email destined for an account of a user not currently in focus won’t be available until that user and account are active on the device.

By default, only the primary user has full access to phone calls and texts. The secondary user may receive inbound calls but cannot send or receive texts. The primary user must enable these functions for others.

Note: To enable or disable the phone and SMS functions for a secondary user, go to Settings > Users, select the user, and switch the Allow phone calls and SMS setting to off.

Some restrictions exist when a secondary user is in background. For instance, the background secondary user cannot display the user interface or make Bluetooth services active. In addition, the system process will halt background secondary users if the device needs additional memory for operations in the foreground user.

When employing multiple users on an Android device, keep the following behavior in mind:

  • Notifications appear for all accounts of a single user at once.
  • Notifications for other users do not appear until active.
  • Each user gets a workspace to install and place apps.
  • No user has access to the app data of another user.
  • Any user can affect the installed apps for all users.
  • The primary user can remove apps or even the entire workspace established by secondary users.

Android 7.0 includes several enhancements, including:

  • Toggle work profile. Users can disable their managed profile (such as when not at work). This functionality is achieved by stopping the user; UserManagerService calls ActivityManagerNative#stopUser().
  • Always-on VPN. VPN applications can now be set to always-on by the user, Device DPC, or Managed Profile DPC (applies only to Managed Profile applications). When enabled, applications cannot access the public network (access to network resources is stopped until the VPN has connected and connections can be routed over it). Devices that report device_admin must implement always-on VPN.

For more details on Android 7.0 device administration features, refer to Android for Work.