机架式传感器融合控制器组装

本页介绍了如何组装机架式传感器融合测试装置的控制器布线板。传感器融合测试是兼容性测试套件 (CTS) 中相机图像测试套件(相机 ITS)的一部分。当多个传感器融合装置由单个主机控制时(例如在实验室环境中),您可以使用机架式传感器融合控制器。

机架式传感器融合控制器概览

传感器融合测试装置

传感器融合测试装置让手机在固定范围内移动,以进行可重现的测试。对着拍摄目标旋转手机,以便在不同位置拍摄图片。

测试装置将手机围绕摄像头轴中心旋转 90 度,并在大约 2 秒内将手机旋转回原位。图 1 显示了一部手机在传感器融合测试装置中移动。

测试装置中的手机移动

图 1. 测试装置中的手机移动

伺服电机控制

测试装置中的模拟伺服电机是采用脉冲宽度调制 (PWM) 控制的位置伺服系统。图 2 显示了一个典型的位置控制示例。控制信号的周期为 20 毫秒。如果将脉冲宽度更改为最小宽度,电机移动会到空挡位置;如果将脉冲宽度更改为最大宽度,电机会逆时针旋转 90 度。

伺服控制说明

图 2. 典型的伺服控制说明

传感器融合控制器实现

为了通过主机控制伺服电机移动,传感器融合测试装置需要 USB 连接。测试装置控制器使用一个已连接 USB 的 CanaKit UK1104 继电器板,它具有四个继电器输出端。继电器板的输出端连接到 SparkFun WIG-13118 伺服触发器。CanaKit 板如下图 3 所示,SparkFun 板如图 4 所示。CanaKit 板由外部 12V 电源供电。SparkFun 伺服触发器的供电电压为 5V,因为伺服电机使用 5V 电源。SparkFun 伺服触发器可实现平稳移动。

CanaKit UK1104 USB 继电控制器俯视图

图 3. CanaKit UK1104 USB 继电控制器(俯视图)

SparkFun WIG-13118 伺服控制器俯视图

图 4. SparkFun WIG-13118 伺服控制器(俯视图)

传感器融合控制器实现采用焊接布线组装而成,以连接 CanaKit 板和 SparkFun 板。电路原理图如图 5 所示。4 根电线采用手动焊接,通道 1 上提供单个伺服控制输出端。SparkFun 伺服控制器所需的 5V VCC 不受 CanaKit 内部 12V 到 5V 调节器的控制。线路简单,可以实现较高产量。

传感器融合控制器

图 5. 传感器融合控制器修订版 1,显示了单个传感器融合盒控制器

机架式传感器融合控制器

借助机架式实现,可以采用单个主机控制多个测试装置,从而降低了实验室成本。现有的 CanaKit 继电器板最多可以控制 4 个伺服触发器。机架式实现增加了外部调节器和旁路电容器,用于处理来自新增伺服触发器的额外电流负荷。原理图如图 6 所示。与图 5 中的单通道传感器融合控制器相比,除了伺服触发器之间的 VCC/GND 连接之外,机架式控制器还需要至少 10 根电线。虽然可以手工接线,但组装过程容易出错。因此,机架式实现改为采用自定义布线板。

传感器融合布线 PCB

为了缩短组装时间、提高产量和简化重新组装,我们采用自定义印刷电路板 (PCB) 在两块板之间布线,并提供一个安装基板。采用布线 PCB 完成互连,可以用压铆螺母柱将最终系统固定到一起,这样在拆卸时就不会损坏相关组件。

采用开源在线 PCB 设计工具设计的两层布线板可以在以下位置获得:https://easyeda.com/portmannc/sensor_fusion

布线板尺寸大约为 4.0 英寸 x 2.2 英寸,与 CanaKit 板的尺寸大致相同。建议采用 1.6 毫米厚的布线板,以确保机械稳定性。

机架式传感器融合控制器

图 6. 机架式传感器融合控制器

布线板的设计目的是连接 CanaKit 继电控制器和 SparkFun 伺服控制器。布线板的底部如图 7 所示。丝网印刷采用白色丝网,内部布线采用浅绿色线。每个角落附近都有一个用白色圆圈圈出的孔,这是为了在安装时与 CanaKit 板上的孔对齐。请注意电源调节器和电容器的轮廓。调节器电容器 C1 和 C2 是 10 uF 钽质电容器,如 LM1084 数据表中所述。通过板载调节器,会将 12V 的电源电压下调为 +5V 的供电电压(不需要散热器,因为调节器最多可以吸收 390 毫安电流,而且调节器下方的布线板上下都覆有铜层)。

4 个继电器输出端的连接 (NO[1:4]) 以及 COM[1:4] 连接显示在布线板底部。此外,从 CanaKit 板到伺服控制器板的主 GND 连接标示在布线板顶部的中间位置。所有标示的孔都应该以母形针座填充,以便连接到下面的 CanaKit UK1104 板。

传感器融合布线板修订版 1.1 仰视图

图 7. 传感器融合布线板修订版 1.1,显示了布线和电源电路(仰视图)

传感器融合布线板的顶部如图 8 所示。图中显示了 WIG-13118 伺服触发器板和孔的轮廓。虽然每个伺服触发器板都有 4 个孔,但每个伺服触发器只需要两个压铆螺母柱(已用白色圆圈圈出)。VCC 和 GND 分别连接到每个伺服触发器,因此如果需要,不一定要填充 4 个伺服触发器。左侧有两个连接器的轮廓,这些连接器对于机架式传感器融合控制器不是必需的。

传感器融合布线板修订版 1.1 俯视图

图 8. 传感器融合布线板修订版 1.1,显示了布线(俯视图)

组装机架式传感器融合控制器

材料清单 (BOM)

数量 说明 部件号/链接
1 1.6 毫米厚的传感器融合布线板 https://easyeda.com/portmannc/sensor_fusion
4 SparkFun WIG-13118 伺服触发器 https://www.sparkfun.com/products/13118
1 CanaKit UK1104 继电控制器 https://www.canakit.com/4-port-usb-relay-controller.html
1 Texas Instruments LM1084 5V,5A LDO 调节器 http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/lm1084.pdf
2 16V,10%,10 uF 钽质电容器 TAP106K016CRS
5 1 排 3 脚,间距 100 密耳(2.54 毫米),通孔母形针座 952-1784-ND
8 1 排 2 脚,间距 100 密耳(2.54 毫米),通孔母形针座 952-1776-ND
10 1 排 3 脚,间距 100 密耳(2.54 毫米),通孔公形针座,其中四个拆除了中间的引脚,可以实现 200 密耳(5.08 毫米)的间距 952-3308-ND
9 1 排 2 脚,间距 100 密耳(2.54 毫米),通孔公形针座 952-3308-ND
12 11 毫米母形对母形压铆螺母柱(5 毫米宽,M3-0.5 螺纹) R30-1001102
4 16 毫米公形对母形压铆螺母柱(5 毫米宽,M3-0.5 螺纹) R30-3001602
20 M3-0.5 6 毫米螺钉 36-9191-3-ND

所需的其他工具

  • 焊铁、焊料、吸锡器
  • 小号十字头螺丝刀
  • 尖嘴钳
  • 美工刀
  • 精密钻头:0.8 毫米(1/32 英寸),或 67 号标准钻头

其他资源

以下 zip 文件可供下载。

填充布线板

在布线板顶部,安装 2 脚母形针座,以便连接上方的 WIG-13118 板。每对 VCC/GND 和 IN[1:4]/GND 都需要一个 2 脚母形针座。在布线板底部,需要在每对 NO[1:4]/GND 上以及 POWER 和 GND 孔上分别安装 3 脚母形针座。此外,必须要填充调节器和电容器。已填充布线板的概念化侧视图如图 9 所示。

已填充布线板的侧视图

图 9. 使用母形针座、调节器和电容器填充的布线板(概念化侧视图)

已填充布线板的图片如图 10(俯视图)和图 11(仰视图)所示。

已填充布线板俯视图

图 10. 已填充布线板修订版 1.1(俯视图)

已填充布线板仰视图

图 11. 已填充布线板修订版 1.1(仰视图)

CanaKit 和 SparkFun 伺服板组装准备工作

要将 CanaKit 连接到布线板,您必须重新组装 CanaKit 板。这些操作包括:

  • 对于 NO[1:4]COM[1:4],对顶部的蓝色接线端子进行拆焊操作,然后在底部添加公形针座。由于针座使用 200 密耳的间距,因此可以使用 3 个间距为 100 密耳但取下中间连接器的针座。
  • 对于 VCC_12,对顶部的 3 脚公形针座进行拆焊操作,然后在底部安装一个新的 3 脚公形针座。舍弃跳线。
  • 对于 GND,对顶部的 8 脚直角公形针座进行拆焊操作,然后在 GND 的底部将其替换为 3 个直角公形针座。
  • 附加 4 个 16 毫米的公形对母形压铆螺母柱,方法是将 4 个 11 毫米的母形对母形压铆螺母柱绕到公形压铆螺母柱的一端。16 毫米的压铆螺母柱应该位于 CanaKit 板的顶部,CanaKit 板上的所有组件都已填充。

对连接器进行拆焊操作以及附加公形针座引脚的位置如图 12 所示。

CanaKit UK1104 板的仰视图

图 12. CanaKit UK1104 板,进行拆焊操作(绿色)和附加公形针座(黄色)的位置(仰视图)

在对 VCC_12 和 GND 位置进行拆焊操作后,准备对针座引脚进行开孔处理,以便实现合适的焊锡流和连接性。使用推荐的钻头尺寸清理开孔,以便清除孔中任何多余的焊料。不要使用尺寸更大的钻头,因为此类钻头会损坏孔内的镀层。NO[1:4] 和 COM[1:4] 引脚不需要钻孔,因为这些孔适用于固定连接器上的 1 毫米接线柱,而不是 0.6 毫米针座接线柱。对于图 12 中标示为黄色的所有开孔,CanaKit 板仅在底部具有焊接掩模开孔。为了将板堆叠起来,需要将 CanaKit 板翻转一下,因此需要刮掉顶部孔周围的焊接掩模,这样才能附上合适的焊料。使用美工刀刮掉孔周围的焊接掩模,露出铜黄。

图 13 是板顶部电源跳线孔(焊接掩模已刮掉)的特写。最终重新组装的板如图 14 所示。

已拆除电源跳接的特写俯视图

图 13. 已拆除电源跳线(焊接掩模已刮掉)的特写俯视图

采用压铆螺母柱重新组装的板

图 14. 采用压铆螺母柱重新组装的板

为了方便配接 CanaKit 板和布线板,请先将公形针座引脚插入布线板上的母形针座,并在 CanaKit 板上安装所有部件,然后再将针座焊接到 CanaKit 板上。这样可以减少公形针座倾斜,而这种倾斜可能导致组装变得复杂。

为了确保在组装过程中正确对齐各个部件,请在 CanaKit 板上焊接公形针座,并且按照最终配置组装各个板。图 15 显示了将公形针座引脚焊接到 WIG-13118 板的位置。需要在板上执行以下操作:

  • IN/GND 和 VCC/GND:将公形 2 脚针座焊接在底部,以便连接到布线板。
  • SIG/VCC/GND:将公形 3 脚针座焊接在顶部,以便连接到电机。

SparkFun WIG-13118

图 15. (a) SparkFun WIG-13118,显示了焊接针座的位置(俯视图);(b) 焊接到位的公形针座(概念化端视图)

最终组装

在进行最终组装时,用间隔条将各个板连接起来作为机械支撑。布线板应该具有 8 个 11 毫米的母形对母形压铆螺母柱,您可以用螺钉穿过布线板底部进行固定,使得 WIG-13118 板正面朝上安装。首先固定 11 毫米的压铆螺母柱,因为在将布线板安装到 CanaKit 板顶部之后,就没有足够的空间可以固定布线板底部。

要将布线板连接到 CanaKit 板,需要将布线板卡入 CanaKit 板,然后固定角落里的 4 个 M3 螺钉,如图 16 所示。

已安装到 CanaKit 继电器板上的布线板

图 16. 已安装到 CanaKit 继电器板上的布线板

卡入 SparkFun 伺服触发器使其固定到位,然后拧紧螺钉。图 17 显示了完全组装的系统。图 18 显示了已组装系统的侧视图。图 19 显示了控制器外壳的机械制图,图 20 显示了外壳内的已组装系统。

已组装系统的俯视图/侧视图

图 17. 已组装的系统(俯视图/正视图)

板堆叠侧视图

图 18. 已组装的系统(侧视图)

控制器外壳的机械制图

图 19. 控制器外壳的机械制图

外壳内的已组装控制器

图 20. 外壳内的已组装系统

Rack-Mount Sensor Fusion Controller Assembly

This page describes how to assemble the controller routing board for a rack-mount sensor fusion test rig. The sensor fusion test is part of the Camera Image Test Suite (Camera ITS) in the Compatibility Test Suite (CTS). The rack-mount sensor fusion controller is used when multiple sensor fusion rigs are controlled by a single host, such as in a lab environment.

Rack-mount sensor fusion controller overview

Sensor fusion test rig

The sensor fusion test rig provides a fixed motion of the phone for reproducible testing. The phone is rotated in front of a target to allow image capture with the phone at various positions.

The test rig rotates the phone around the camera center of axis 90 degrees and back in about 2 seconds. Figure 1 shows a phone moving in a sensor fusion test rig.

Phone movement in test rig

Figure 1. Phone movement in test rig

Servo motor control

The analog servo motors in the test rig are positional servos controlled using pulse-width modulation (PWM). A typical positional control example is shown in Figure 2. The control signal has a period of 20 ms. Changing the pulse width to the minimum width moves the motor to the neutral position and changing the pulse width tomthe maximum width moves the motor 90 degrees counterclockwise.

Servo control description

Figure 2. Typical servo control description

Sensor fusion controller implementation

To control the servo motor motion via a host, the sensor fusion test rig requires a USB connection. The test rig controller uses a USB-connected CanaKit UK1104 relay board with four relay outputs. The output of the relay board is connected to a SparkFun WIG-13118 servo trigger. The CanaKit board is shown below in Figure 3, and the SparkFun board is shown in Figure 4. The CanaKit board is powered by an external 12V supply. The SparkFun servo trigger is a 5V-powered board as the servo motor uses a 5V supply. Tthe SparkFun servo trigger provides smooth motion.

CanaKit UK1104 USB relay controller top view

Figure 3. CanaKit UK1104 USB relay controller (top view)

SparkFun WIG-13118 servo controller top view

Figure 4. SparkFun WIG-13118 servo controller (top view)

The sensor fusion controller implementation is assembled using soldered wiring to connect the two boards. The circuit schematic is shown in Figure 5. Four wires are manually soldered and a single servo control output is provided on channel 1. The 5V VCC required for the SparkFun servo controller is slaved off the CanaKit internal 12V to 5V regulator. The wiring simplicity allows for high production yields.

Sensor fusion controller

Figure 5. Sensor fusion controller rev 1, showing single sensor fusion box controller

Rack-mount sensor fusion controller

The rack-mount implementation enables multiple test rigs to be controlled by a single host, driving down costs in a lab. The existing CanaKit relay board allows up to four servo triggers to be controlled. The rack-mount implementation adds an external regulator and bypass capacitors to handle the additional current load from the added servo triggers. The schematic is shown in Figure 6. In contrast to the single-channel sensor fusion controller in Figure 5, the rack-mount controller requires at least 10 wires in addition to VCC/GND connections between the servo triggers. Although this could be hand-wired, the assembly process would be error-prone. Instead, the rack-mount implementation uses a custom routing board.

Sensor fusion routing PCB

To improve assembly time, increase yields, and simplify rework, a custom printed circuit board (PCB) routes the interconnects between the two boards and provides a mounting substrate. Using a routing PCB for interconnects, the final system can be screwed together with standoffs, allowing non-destructive disassembly.

A two-layer routing board, designed with an open-source online PCB design tool, is available at https://easyeda.com/portmannc/sensor_fusion.

The board dimensions are approximately 4.0 in. x 2.2 in., roughly the same size as the CanaKit board. A 1.6 mm thick board for is recommended for mechanical stability.

Rack mount sensor fusion controller

Figure 6. Rack-mount sensor fusion controller

The routing board is designed to be sandwiched between the CanaKit relay controller and the SparkFun servo controllers. The bottom side of the routing board is shown in Figure 7. The silk screen printing is in white, and the internal routes are in light green. There are holes near each corner outlined in white to align with the CanaKit board holes for mounting. Note the outlines for the supply regulator and caps. The regulator capacitors, C1 and C2, are 10 uF tantalum capacitors as described in the LM1084 datasheet. The 12V supply is down-regulated by the on-board regulator to +5V, VCC. (A heat sink is unnecessary because the regulator draws a maximum of 390 mA and there is copper on the top and bottom of the board below the regulator.)

The connections for the 4 relay outputs, NO[1:4], and the COM[1:4] connections are shown on the bottom of the board. Additionally, the main GND connection from the CanaKit board to the servo controller boards is labeled in the top center of the board. All labeled holes should be populated with female headers to connect to the CanaKit UK1104 board below.

Sensor fusion routing board rev1.1 bottom

Figure 7. Sensor fusion routing board rev 1.1, showing traces and power circuitry (bottom view)

The top side of the sensor fusion routing board is shown in Figure 8. There are outlines for the WIG-13118 servo trigger boards and holes. While there are four holes for each servo trigger board, only two standoffs are required per servo trigger (circled in white). VCC and GND are routed to each of the servo triggers individually, so less than four servo triggers can be populated if desired. The left side has outlines for two connectors that are unnecessary for the rack-mount sensor fusion controller.

Sensor fusion routing board rev1.1 top

Figure 8. Sensor fusion routing board rev 1.1, showing traces (top view)

Assembling a rack-mount sensor fusion controller

Bill of materials (BOM)

Qty Description PN/Link
1 1.6 mm thick sensor fusion routing board https://easyeda.com/portmannc/sensor_fusion
4 SparkFun WIG-13118 servo triggers https://www.sparkfun.com/products/13118
1 CanaKit UK1104 relay controller https://www.canakit.com/4-port-usb-relay-controller.html
1 Texas Instruments LM1084 5V, 5A LDO regulator http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/lm1084.pdf
2 16V, 10%, 10 uF tantalum capacitors TAP106K016CRS
5 1x3x, 100 mil (2.54 mm) pitch, through-hole female headers 952-1784-ND
8 1x2x, 100 mil (2.54 mm) pitch, through-hole female headers 952-1776-ND
10 1x3x, 100 mil (2.54 mm) pitch, through-hole male headers, four with center pin removed to make 200 mil (5.08 mm) pitch 952-3308-ND
9 1x2x, 100 mil (2.54 mm) pitch, through-hole male headers 952-3308-ND
12 11 mm female-female standoffs (5 mm width, M3-0.5 threads) R30-1001102
4 16 mm male-female standoffs (5 mm width, M3-0.5 threads) R30-3001602
20 M3-0.5 6 mm screws 36-9191-3-ND

Other tools needed

  • Soldering iron, solder, solder-sucker
  • Small Phillips head screwdriver
  • Needle-nose pliers
  • X-ACTO knife
  • Precision drill bit: 1/32 in. (0.8 mm), or #67 gauge

Other resources

The following zip files are available to download.

Populating the routing board

For the top of the routing board, install 2-pin female headers to connect the WIG-13118 boards above. A 2-pin female header at each VCC/GND pair and IN[1:4]/GND pair is required. The bottom of the board requires 3-pin female headers at each NO[1:4]/GND pair and a 3-pin female header at the POWER and GND holes. Additionally, the regulator and capacitors must be stuffed. A conceptualized side view of the populated board is shown in Figure 9.

Side view of router board populated

Figure 9. Router board populated with female headers, regulator, and capacitors (conceptualized side view)

Images of the populated routing board are shown in Figure 10 (top) and Figure 11 (bottom).

Populated routing board top

Figure 10. Populated routing board rev 1.1 (top view)

Populated routing board bottom

Figure 11. Populated routing board rev 1.1 (bottom view)

Preparing the CanaKit and SparkFun servo boards for assembly

To connect the CanaKit to the routing board, you must rework the CanaKit board. This includes:

  • For NO[1:4] and COM[1:4], desolder the blue terminals on the top and add male headers on the bottom. As the headers use 200 mil spacing, three 100 mil headers can be used with the center connector pulled.
  • For VCC_12, desolder the 3-pin male header on the top and mount a new one to the bottom. Discard the jumper.
  • For GND, desolder the 8-pin right-angle male header on the top and replace it with three straight male headers on the bottom at GND.
  • Attach four 16 mm male-female standoffs by threading four 11 mm female-female standoffs onto the male ends. The 16 mm standoffs should be on the top side of the CanaKit board where all of the components are populated.

The locations to desolder connectors and attach male header pins are shown in Figure 12.

Bottom view of CanaKit UK1104 board

Figure 12. CanaKit UK1104 board, locations to desolder (green) and attach male headers (yellow) (bottom view)

After desoldering the VCC_12 and GND locations, prepare the header pin openings to allow proper solder flow and connectivity. Clean the hole openings by using the recommended drill bit size to remove any excess solder in the hole. Don't use larger sizes as these can damage the plating on the inside of the hole. NO[1:4], COM[1:4] pins don't need drilling as the holes are for 1 mm posts on the screw down connectors instead of the 0.6 mm header posts. For all of the openings marked in yellow in Figure 12, the CanaKit board only has solder mask openings on the bottom. The board is flipped to make the board stack, so the solder mask needs to be scratched off on the top around the holes to allow proper solder attachment. Use an X-ACTO knife to scratch off the solder mask around the hole and expose the copper.

Figure 13 shows a close-up of the power jumper holes on the top of the board with the solder mask scratched away. The final reworked board is shown in Figure 14.

Top view close-up of removed power
jumper

Figure 13. Close up of removed power (top view) jumper with solder mask scratched off

Reworked board with standoffs

Figure 14. Reworked board with standoffs

To facilitate mating the CanaKit board and the routing board, insert the male header pins into the female headers on the routing board and mount everything onto the CanaKit board before soldering the headers on the CanaKit board. This reduces male header tilt, which can complicate assembly.

To ensure proper alignment during construction, solder the male headers on the CanaKit board with the boards assembled in their final configuration. Figure 15 shows the locations to solder the male header pins to the WIG-13118 boards. The following board work is required:

  • IN/GND and VCC/GND: Solder the male 2-pin headers on the bottom for the connection to routing board.
  • SIG/VCC/GND: Solder in the male 3-pin header on the top for the connection to the motors.

SparkFun WIG-13118

Figure 15. (a) SparkFun WIG-13118 with location to solder headers (top view); (b) Male headers soldered in place (conceptualized end view)

Final assembly

For final assembly, sandwich the boards together with the spacers for mechanical support. The routing board should have eight 11 mm female-female standoffs for the WIG-13118 boards mounted facing up by securing with screws through the bottom of the routing board. The 11 mm standoffs are secured first because once the routing board is mounted on top of the CanaKit board, there is no longer access to the bottom of the routing board.

To attach the routing board to the CanaKit board as shown in Figure 16, snap the routing board to the CanaKit board and secure the four M3 screws at the corners.

Routing board mounted to CanaKit relay board

Figure 16. Routing board mounted to CanaKit relay board

Snap the SparkFun servo triggers into place and tighten the screws. Figure 17 shows a fully assembled system. Figure 18 shows a side view of the assembled system. Figure 19 shows the mechanical drawing for the controller enclosure, and Figure 20 shows the assembled system inside the enclosure.

Top/front view of assembled system

Figure 17. Assembled system (top/front view)

Side view of board stack

Figure 18. Assembled system (side view)

Mechanical drawing of controller enclosure

Figure 19. Mechanical drawing of controller enclosure

Assembled controller in enclosure

Figure 20. Assembled system in enclosure