由硬件支持的 Keystore

借助系统芯片 (SoC) 中提供的可信执行环境,Android 设备可以为 Android 操作系统、平台服务甚至是第三方应用提供由硬件支持的强大安全服务。寻求 Android 专用扩展程序的开发者应访问 android.security.keystore

Keystore 在 Android 6.0 中得到了显著增强,不仅增加了对称加密基元(AES 和 HMAC),还增加了针对由硬件支持的密钥的访问控制系统。访问控制在密钥生成期间指定,并会在密钥的整个生命周期内被强制执行。可以将密钥限定为仅在用户通过身份验证后才可使用,并且只能用于指定的目的或只有在具有指定的加密参数时才可使用。如需更多信息,请参阅面向实现人员的参考资料

在 Android 6.0 之前的版本中,Android 已有一个非常简单的由硬件支持的加密服务 API(由 0.2 和 0.3 版的 Keymaster 硬件抽象层 (HAL) 提供)。该 Keystore 能够提供数字签名和验证操作,以及不对称签名密钥对的生成和导入操作。该 API 在许多设备上都已实现,但有许多安全目标无法只通过一个签名 API 来轻松达成。Android 6.0 中的 Keystore 在该 Keystore API 的基础上进行了扩展,能够提供更广泛的功能。

目标

Android 6.0 Keystore API 和底层 Keymaster 1.0 HAL 的目标是提供一套基本的但足以满足需求的加密基元,以便使用访问受控且由硬件支持的密钥实现相关协议。

除了扩大加密基元的范围外,Android 6.0 中的 Keystore 还增加了以下内容:

  • 一种使用控制方案:用于限制密钥的使用,并降低因滥用密钥而导致安全性受损的风险
  • 一种访问控制方案:用于限定只有指定的用户和客户端能够使用相应密钥,并且只能在定义的时间范围内使用

架构

Keymaster HAL 是由原始设备制造商 (OEM) 提供的动态加载库,Keystore 服务使用它来提供由硬件支持的加密服务。HAL 实现不得在用户空间(甚至是内核空间)中执行任何敏感操作。敏感操作会被委派给通过某个内核接口连接的安全处理器。最终的架构如下所示:

访问 Keymaster

图 1. 访问 Keymaster

在 Android 设备中,Keymaster HAL 的“客户端”包含多个层(例如,应用、框架、Keystore 守护进程),但在本文档中可以将其忽略。这意味着,所介绍的 Keymaster HAL API 为底层 API,供平台内部组件使用,不面向应用开发者提供。Android 开发者网站对更高层 API(第 23 层 API)进行了介绍。

Keymaster HAL 的目的不是实现安全敏感型算法,而只是对发送到安全域的请求进行编排和解排。传输格式是由实现定义的。

与之前版本的兼容性

Keymaster v1.0 HAL 与之前发布的 HAL(例如,Keymaster v0.2 和 v0.3)完全不兼容。为了在采用旧版 Keymaster HAL 且搭载的 Android 版本低于 Marshmallow 的设备上实现互用性,Keystore 提供了一个可通过调用现有硬件库来实现 1.0 HAL 的适配器。但结果是,它并不能提供 1.0 HAL 中的全部功能。尤其是,它仅支持 RSA 和 ECDSA 算法,而且所有密钥授权强制执行都将由该适配器在非安全域中进行。

Hardware-backed Keystore

The availability of a trusted execution environment in a system on a chip (SoC) offers an opportunity for Android devices to provide hardware-backed, strong security services to the Android OS, to platform services, and even to third-party apps. Developers seeking the Android-specific extensions should go to android.security.keystore.

Before Android 6.0, Android already had a simple, hardware-backed crypto services API, provided by versions 0.2 and 0.3 of the Keymaster Hardware Abstraction Layer (HAL). Keystore provided digital signing and verification operations, plus generation and import of asymmetric signing key pairs. This is already implemented on many devices, but there are many security goals that cannot easily be achieved with only a signature API. Keystore in Android 6.0 extends the Keystore API to provide a broader range of capabilities.

In Android 6.0, Keystore added symmetric cryptographic primitives, AES and HMAC, and an access control system for hardware-backed keys. Access controls are specified during key generation and enforced for the lifetime of the key. Keys can be restricted to be usable only after the user has authenticated, and only for specified purposes or with specified cryptographic parameters. For more information, see the Authorization Tags and Functions pages.

In Android 7.0, Keymaster 2 added support for key attestation and version binding. Key attestation provides public key certificates that contain a detailed description of the key and its access controls, to make the key's existence in secure hardware and its configuration remotely verifiable.

Version binding binds keys to operating system and patch level version. This ensures that an attacker who discovers a weakness in an old version of system or TEE software cannot roll a device back to the vulnerable version and use keys created with the newer version. In addition, when a key with a given version and patch level is used on a device that has been upgraded to a newer version or patch level, the key is upgraded before it can be used, and the previous version of the key invalidated. As the device is upgraded, the keys "ratchet" forward along with the device, but any reversion of the device to a previous release causes the keys to be unusable.

Goals

The Android 7.0 Keystore API and the underlying Keymaster HAL provides a basic but adequate set of cryptographic primitives to allow the implementation of protocols using access-controlled, hardware-backed keys.

In addition to expanding the range of cryptographic primitives, Keystore in Android 6.0 adds the following:

  • A usage control scheme to allow key usage to be limited, to mitigate the risk of security compromise due to misuse of keys
  • An access control scheme to enable restriction of keys to specified users, clients, and a defined time range

Architecture

The Keymaster HAL is an OEM-provided, dynamically-loadable library used by the Keystore service to provide hardware-backed cryptographic services. To keep things secure, HAL implementations don't perform any sensitive operations in user space, or even in kernel space. Sensitive operations are delegated to a secure processor reached through some kernel interface. The resulting architecture looks like this:

Access to Keymaster

Figure 1. Access to Keymaster

Within an Android device, the "client" of the Keymaster HAL consists of multiple layers (e.g. app, framework, Keystore daemon), but that can be ignored for the purposes of this document. This means that the described Keymaster HAL API is low-level, used by platform-internal components, and not exposed to app developers. The higher-level API, for API level 23, is described on the Android Developer site.

The purpose of the Keymaster HAL is not to implement the security-sensitive algorithms but only to marshal and unmarshal requests to the secure world. The wire format is implementation-defined.

Compatibility with previous versions

The Keymaster 1 HAL is completely incompatible with the previously-released HALs, e.g. Keymaster 0.2 and 0.3. To facilitate interoperability on devices running Android 5.0 and earlier that launched with the older Keymaster HALs, Keystore provides an adapter that implements the Keymaster 1 HAL with calls to the existing hardware library. The result cannot provide the full range of functionality in the Keymaster 1 HAL. In particular, it only supports RSA and ECDSA algorithms, and all of the key authorization enforcement is performed by the adapter, in the non-secure world.

Keymaster 2 further simplified the HAL interface by removing the get_supported_* methods and allowing the finish() method to accept input. This reduces the number of round trips to the TEE in cases where the input is available all at once, and simplifies implementation of AEAD decryption.