Automobile

Icône HAL de véhicule Android

De nombreux sous-systèmes de voiture s'interconnectent entre eux et avec le système d'infodivertissement embarqué (IVI) via diverses topologies de bus. Le type de bus et les protocoles exacts varient considérablement d'un fabricant à l'autre (et même entre différents modèles de véhicules de la même marque); les exemples incluent le bus CAN (Controller Area Network), le bus LIN (Local Interconnect Network), Media Oriented Systems Transport (MOST), ainsi que les réseaux Ethernet et TCP/IP de qualité automobile tels que BroadR-Reach.

La couche d'abstraction matérielle (HAL) d'Android Automotive fournit une interface cohérente avec le framework Android, quelle que soit la couche de transport physique. Ce véhicule HAL est l'interface pour le développement d'implémentations Android Automotive.

Les intégrateurs système peuvent implémenter un module HAL de véhicule en connectant des interfaces HAL de plate-forme spécifiques à la fonction (par exemple HVAC) avec des interfaces réseau spécifiques à la technologie (par exemple bus CAN). Les implémentations typiques peuvent inclure une unité de microcontrôleur (MCU) dédiée exécutant un système d'exploitation en temps réel propriétaire (RTOS) pour l'accès au bus CAN ou similaire, qui peut être connectée via une liaison série au processeur exécutant Android Automotive. Au lieu d'un MCU dédié, il peut également être possible d'implémenter l'accès au bus en tant que CPU virtualisé. Il appartient à chaque partenaire de choisir l'architecture adaptée au matériel tant que la mise en œuvre répond aux exigences d'interface pour le véhicule HAL.

Architecture

La HAL du véhicule est la définition de l'interface entre la voiture et le service de réseau du véhicule :

Architecture HAL de véhicule Android

Figure 1 . Architecture automobile HAL et Android du véhicule

  • API de voiture . Contient les API, y compris CarSensorManager . Pour plus de détails sur les API prises en charge, consultez /platform/packages/services/Car/car-lib .
  • Service de voiture . Situé à /platform/packages/services/Car/ .
  • Véhicule HAL . Interface qui définit les propriétés du véhicule que les équipementiers peuvent mettre en œuvre. Contient des métadonnées de propriété (par exemple, si la propriété du véhicule est un int et quels modes de modification sont autorisés). Situé dans hardware/libhardware/include/hardware/vehicle.h . Pour une implémentation de référence de base, reportez-vous à hardware/libhardware/modules/vehicle/ .

Pour plus de détails, voir Propriétés du véhicule .

Sécurité

Le véhicule HAL prend en charge ces niveaux de sécurité lors de l'accès aux données :

  • Accessible à l'application avec autorisation (via le service de voiture).
  • Accessible sans autorisation (via le service de voiture).

L'accès direct aux propriétés du véhicule n'est autorisé qu'aux composants système sélectionnés avec le réseau du véhicule avec protection d'accès selinux. La plupart des applications passent par un contrôle d'accès supplémentaire par service de voiture (par exemple, seules les applications système peuvent contrôler le CVC car elles nécessitent une autorisation système accordée uniquement aux applications système).

Automotive

Android vehicle HAL icon

Many car subsystems interconnect with each other and the in-vehicle infotainment (IVI) system via various bus topologies. The exact bus type and protocols vary widely between manufacturers (and even between different vehicle models of the same brand); examples include Controller Area Network (CAN) bus, Local Interconnect Network (LIN) bus, Media Oriented Systems Transport (MOST), as well as automotive-grade Ethernet and TCP/IP networks such as BroadR-Reach.

the Android Automotive hardware abstraction layer (HAL) provides a consistent interface to the Android framework regardless of physical transport layer. This vehicle HAL is the interface for developing Android Automotive implementations.

System integrators can implement a vehicle HAL module by connecting function-specific platform HAL interfaces (e.g. HVAC) with technology-specific network interfaces (e.g. CAN bus). Typical implementations may include a dedicated Microcontroller Unit (MCU) running a proprietary real-time operating system (RTOS) for CAN bus access or similar, which may be connected via a serial link to the CPU running Android Automotive. Instead of a dedicated MCU, it may also be possible to implement the bus access as a virtualized CPU. It is up to each partner to choose the architecture suitable for the hardware as long as the implementation fulfills the interface requirements for the vehicle HAL.

Architecture

The vehicle HAL is the interface definition between the car and the vehicle network service:

Android vehicle HAL architecture

Figure 1. Vehicle HAL and Android automotive architecture

  • Car API. Contains the APIs such as CarHvacManager and CarSensorManager. For details on supported APIs, refer to /platform/packages/services/Car/car-lib.
  • CarService. Located at /platform/packages/services/Car/.
  • VehicleNetworkService. Controls vehicle HAL with built-in security. Access restricted to system components only (non-system components such as third party apps should use car API instead). OEMs can control access using vns_policy.xml and vendor_vns_policy.xml. Located at /platform/packages/services/Car/vehicle_network_service/; for libraries to access the vehicle network, refer to /platform/packages/services/Car/libvehiclenetwork/.
  • Vehicle HAL. Interface that defines the vehicle properties OEMs can implement. Contains property metadata (for example, whether the vehicle property is an int and which change modes are allowed). Located at hardware/libhardware/include/hardware/vehicle.h. For a basic reference implementation, refer to hardware/libhardware/modules/vehicle/.

For more details, see Vehicle Properties.

Security

The vehicle HAL supports three levels of security for accessing data:

  • System only (controlled by vns_policy.xml)
  • Accessible to app with permission (through car service)
  • Accessible without permission (through car service)

Direct access to vehicle properties is allowed only to selected system components with vehicle network service acting as the gatekeeper. Most applications go through additional gatekeeping by car service (for example, only system applications can control HVAC as it requires system permission granted only to system apps).

Validation

AOSP includes the following testing resources for use in development:

  • hardware/libhardware/tests/vehicle/vehicle-hal-tool.c
    Command-line native tool to load vehicle HAL and do simple operations. Useful for getting the system up and running in the early stages of development.
  • packages/services/Car/tests/carservice_test/
    Contains car service testing with mocked vehicle HAL properties. For each property, expected behavior is implemented in the test. This can be a good starting point to understand expected behavior.
  • hardware/libhardware/modules/vehicle/
    A basic reference implementation.