生物识别

Android 9 及更高版本包含一个 BiometricPrompt API,应用开发者可以使用该 API 采用与设备和模态无关的方式将生物识别身份验证集成到其应用中。只有极为安全的生物识别技术才能与 BiometricPrompt 集成。如需了解详情,请参阅衡量生物识别解锁模式的安全性

源代码

Android 9 仅包含适用于 BiometricPrompt 的指纹集成。但是,我们即将提供对其他生物识别模态的集成支持。

在 Android 9 及更高版本中,FingerprintManager API 已被弃用。如果您的捆绑式应用和系统应用使用此 API,请更新这些应用以改用 BiometricPrompt

实现

为确保用户和开发者获享无缝的生物识别体验,请将生物识别堆栈与 BiometricPrompt 集成。为任何模态(包括面部、指纹和虹膜)启用 BiometricPrompt API 的设备必须符合这些安全程度要求。如果它们不符合这些安全程度要求,就无法实现此 API。

要将生物识别堆栈与 BiometricPrompt 集成,请执行以下操作:

  1. /frameworks/base/core/java/android/hardware/biometrics/BiometricPrompt.java 中添加一个 BiometricManager 类的实例
  2. 确保您的实例与 BiometricPrompt 提供的 authenticate() 方法挂钩。
  3. 更新框架以为添加的生物识别技术采用 KEYGUARD_DISABLE_* 标记。
BiometricPrompt 架构
图 1. BiometricPrompt 架构。

HAL 实现指南

遵循以下生物识别 HAL 准则,以确保生物识别数据不会泄露,并会随用户从设备中移除时一并移除

  1. 确保在任何情况下都无法从传感器驱动程序或安全隔离环境(例如 TEE 或安全元件)以外访问原始生物识别数据或衍生内容(例如模板)。
  2. 如果硬件支持,则限制硬件对安全隔离环境的访问权限,并使用 SELinux 政策对其进行保护。使用针对所有设备文件的明确 SELinux 政策,确保信道(例如 SPI、I2C 等)只能供安全隔离环境访问。
  3. 为防止意外数据泄露,攻击免疫、指纹采集、注册和识别必须在安全隔离环境内部进行。
  4. 仅在文件系统上存储加密形式的生物识别数据或衍生内容(即使文件系统本身已加密)。
  5. 要防范重播攻击,请使用设备专用私钥对生物识别模板进行签名。对于高级加密标准 (AES),模板必须至少通过绝对文件系统路径、群组和生物识别 ID 进行签名,这样一来,相应模板文件便无法在其他设备上使用,并且无法用于在同一设备上注册的任何其他用户。例如,您将无法复制同一设备上其他用户的生物识别数据,也无法从其他设备复制生物识别数据。
  6. 使用 set_active_group() 函数提供的文件系统路径,或提供另一种能够在移除用户时一并清空所有用户模板数据的方法。强烈建议将生物识别模板文件以加密形式存储在提供的路径中。如果因安全隔离环境的存储要求导致这种做法不可行,请添加一些钩子,以确保在移除用户或清空设备数据时一并移除相关数据。

自定义

如果您的设备支持多种生物识别技术,您可以指定默认值。但是,您必须允许用户在“设置”中更改其首选生物识别技术。

验证

Android 9 更新了 FingerprintManager CTS 验证程序测试,以通过 BiometricPromptBoundKeysTest 测试 BiometricPrompt。对于其他生物识别技术,还没有正式的 CTS 或 CTS 验证程序测试。

Biometrics

Android 9 and higher includes a BiometricPrompt API that app developers can use to integrate biometric authentication into their applications in a device- and modality-agnostic fashion. Only strong biometrics can integrate with BiometricPrompt. For more details, see Measuring Biometric Unlock Security.

Source

Android 9 only includes fingerprint integration for BiometricPrompt. However, integrated support for other biometric modalities are forthcoming.

In Android 9 and higher, the FingerprintManager API is deprecated. If your bundled and system apps use this API, update them to use BiometricPrompt instead.

Implementation

To ensure that users and developers have a seamless biometric experience, integrate your biometric stack with BiometricPrompt. Devices that enable BiometricPrompt API for any modality, including face, fingerprint, and iris, must adhere to these strength requirements. If they do not meet the strength requirements, then they cannot implement this API.

To integrate your biometric stack with BiometricPrompt:

  1. Add an instance of your BiometricManager class in /frameworks/base/core/java/android/hardware/biometrics/BiometricPrompt.java
  2. Make sure your instance hooks the authenticate() method that BiometricPrompt exposes.
  3. Update the framework to honor KEYGUARD_DISABLE_* flags for the added biometrics.
BiometricPrompt architecture
Figure 1. BiometricPrompt architecture.

HAL implementation guidelines

Follow these biometric HAL guidelines to ensure that biometric data is not leaked and is removed when a user is removed from a device:

  1. Make sure raw biometric data or derivatives (such as templates) are never accessible from outside the sensor driver or secure isolated environment (such as the TEE or Secure Element).
  2. If the hardware supports it, limit hardware access to the secure isolated environment and protect it with an SELinux policy. Make the communication channel (e.g. SPI, I2C, etc.) accessible only to the secure isolated environment with an explicit SELinux policy on all device files.
  3. To prevent accidental data breach an immunity to attacks, fingerprint acquisition, enrollment, and recognition must occur inside the secure isolated environment.
  4. Store only the encrypted form of biometric data or derivatives on the file system, even if the file system itself is encrypted.
  5. To protect against replay attacks, sign biometric templates with a private, device-specific key. For Advanced Encryption Standard (AES), at a minimum sign a template with the absolute file-system path, group, and biometric ID such that template files are inoperable on another device or for anyone other than the user that enrolled them on the same device. For example, prevent copying biometric data from a different user on the same device or from another device.
  6. Use the file system path provided by the set_active_group()function or provide another way to erase all user template data when the user is removed. It is strongly recommended that biometric template files be stored as encrypted in the path provided. If this is infeasible due to the storage requirements of the secure isolated environment, add hooks to ensure removal of the data when the user is removed or the device is wiped.

Customization

If your device supports multiple biometrics, you can specify a default. However, you must allow users to change their preferred biometric in Settings.

Validation

Android 9 updated the FingerprintManager CTS verifier tests to test BiometricPrompt via BiometricPromptBoundKeysTest. For other biometrics, there are no formal CTS or CTS verifier tests yet.