身份验证

Android 采用通过用户身份验证把关的加密密钥的概念,该概念需要以下组件:

  • 加密密钥存储和服务提供程序。存储加密密钥并基于这些密钥提供标准加密例程。Android 支持由硬件支持的 Keystore 和 Keymaster 这两种加密服务,其中包括由硬件支持的密钥存储加密服务,该服务可能包括可信执行环境 (TEE) 或安全元件 (SE),例如 Strongbox。
  • 用户身份验证程序。证明相应用户存在并/或已成功通过身份验证。Android 支持 Gatekeeper(用于 PIN 码/解锁图案/密码身份验证)和 Fingerprint(用于指纹身份验证)。搭载 Android 9 及更高版本的设备可以使用 BiometricPrompt 作为指纹和其他生物识别技术的单一集成点。这些组件通过已经过身份验证的渠道与 Keystore 服务沟通身份验证状态。(Keystore 服务还支持框架级 Android Keystore 系统。)

Gatekeeper、Fingerprint 和 Biometric 组件能够与 Keystore 及其他组件协同运作,以支持使用由硬件支持的身份验证令牌 (AuthToken)。

注册

在设备恢复出厂设置后首次启动时,所有身份验证程序均会做好接受用户通过凭据注册的准备。用户必须先通过 Gatekeeper 注册一个 PIN 码/解锁图案/密码。该首次注册会随机生成一个 64 位的用户 SID(用户安全标识符),该用户 SID 将用作用户的标识符以及用户加密材料的绑定令牌。该用户 SID 会以加密形式绑定到用户的密码,成功通过 Gatekeeper 的身份验证后,会相应生成 AuthToken,其中包含用于该密码的用户 SID。

用户如果想要更改凭据,则必须提供现有凭据。 如果现有凭据成功通过验证,则与现有凭据关联的用户 SID 将转移到新凭据,这样用户便可以在更改凭据后保留访问密钥。如果用户未提供现有凭据,系统会使用一个完全随机的用户 SID 为其注册一个新凭据。用户可以访问设备,但基于旧用户 SID 创建的密钥将永久丢失。这种情况称为“不可信注册”。

一般情况下,Android 框架不允许进行不可信注册,因此大多数用户根本看不到此功能。不过,如果设备管理员或攻击者强制重置密码,则可能会发生这种情况。

身份验证

用户设置凭据并收到用户 SID 后,便可以开始进行身份验证,身份验证从用户提供 PIN 码、解锁图案、密码或指纹开始。所有 TEE 组件都共用一个密钥来验证对方的消息。

身份验证流程
图 1. 身份验证流程。
  1. 用户提供身份验证方法,然后关联的服务向关联的守护进程发出请求。
    • 对于 PIN 码、解锁图案或密码,LockSettingsService 会向 gatekeeperd 发出请求。
    • 基于生物识别技术的身份验证流程取决于 Android 版本。在搭载 Android 8.x 及更低版本的设备上,FingerprintService 会向 fingerprintd 发出请求。在搭载 Android 9 及更高版本的设备上,BiometricPrompt 会使用合适的 BiometricManager 类(如 FingerprintManagerFaceManager)向相应的生物识别守护进程发出请求(例如,若是指纹身份验证,则向 fingerprintd 发出请求;若是人脸身份验证,则向 faced 发出请求)。无论什么版本,生物识别身份验证都会在请求发出后异步进行。
  2. 守护进程将数据发至其副本,后者生成 AuthToken:
    • 对于 PIN 码/解锁图案/密码身份验证,gatekeeperd 将 PIN 码、解锁图案或密码哈希发送到 TEE 中的 Gatekeeper。如果 TEE 中的身份验证成功,TEE 中的 Gatekeeper 会将包含相应用户 SID(已使用 AuthToken HMAC 密钥签名)的 AuthToken 发送到它在 Android 操作系统中的副本。
    • 对于指纹身份验证,fingerprintd 会监听指纹事件并将数据发送到 TEE 中的 Fingerprint。如果 TEE 中的身份验证成功,TEE 中的 Fingerprint 会将 AuthToken(已使用 AuthToken HMAC 密钥签名)发送到它在 Android 操作系统中的副本。
    • 对于其他生物识别身份验证,相应的生物识别守护进程会监听生物识别事件,并将其发送到相应的生物识别 TEE 组件。
  3. 守护进程收到经过签名的 AuthToken,并通过 Keystore 服务 Binder 接口的扩展程序将 AuthToken 传递给 Keystore 服务。(gatekeeperd 还会在设备被重新锁定以及设备密码发生变化时通知 Keystore 服务。)
  4. Keystore 服务将 AuthToken 传递给 Keymaster,并使用与 Gatekeeper 和支持的生物识别 TEE 组件共用的密钥来验证这些 AuthToken。Keymaster 会将令牌中的时间戳视为最后一次身份验证的时间,并根据该时间戳做出密钥发布决定(以允许应用使用相应密钥)。

AuthToken 格式

为了确保在各种语言和组件之间实现令牌的共用和兼容,hw_auth_token.h 中规定了 AuthToken 的格式。 该格式是一个简单序列化协议,具有以下固定大小的字段:

字段 类型 必需 说明
AuthToken 版本 1 个字节 下方所有字段的组代码。
质询 64 位未签名整数 用于防范重播攻击的随机整数,通常是所请求的加密操作的 ID。目前由交易指纹授权使用。如果质询存在,AuthToken 将仅对包含该相同质询的加密操作有效。
用户 SID 64 位未签名整数 不重复的用户标识符,以加密形式绑定到与设备身份验证关联的所有密钥。如需了解详情,请参阅 Gatekeeper
身份验证程序 ID (ASID) 64 位未签名整数,按网络字节序保存 绑定到特定身份验证程序政策时使用的标识符。所有身份验证程序都有自己的 ASID 值,它们可以根据自己的要求更改该值。
身份验证程序类型 32 位未签名整数,按网络字节序保存
  • 0x00 代表 Gatekeeper。
  • 0x01 代表 Fingerprint。
时间戳 64 位未签名整数,按网络字节序保存 自最近一次系统启动以来已经过的时间(以毫秒为单位)。
AuthToken HMAC (SHA-256) 256 位 Blob 除 HMAC 字段以外所有字段的已加密 SHA-256 MAC。

设备启动流程

每次设备启动时,都必须生成 AuthToken HMAC 密钥并由所有 TEE 组件(Gatekeeper、Keymaster 以及支持的生物识别 Trustlet)共用该密钥。因此,为了加强对重播攻击的防范力度,每次设备重新启动时都必须随机生成 HMAC 密钥。

关于与所有组件共用此 HMAC 密钥的协议是一项依赖于平台的实现功能。在任何情况下都不能将该密钥设为在 TEE 之外可用。如果 TEE 操作系统缺少内部进程间通信 (IPC) 机制,需要通过不可信操作系统传输数据,那么传输操作必须通过安全的密钥交换协议进行。

与 Android 并排运行的 Trusty 操作系统就是一种 TEE,不过也可以使用其他 TEE。Trusty 使用内部 IPC 机制在 Keymaster 和 Gatekeeper 或相应的生物识别 Trustlet 之间直接进行通信。HMAC 密钥只保存在 Keymaster 中,Fingerprint 和 Gatekeeper 会在每次使用时向 Keymaster 请求该密钥,而不会保留或缓存该密钥的值。

由于一些 TEE 缺少 IPC 基础架构,因此 TEE 中的小程序之间不会进行通信。这还使得 Keystore 服务因知晓系统中的身份验证表而能够快速拒绝注定会失败的请求,从而避免向 TEE 发送可能会占用大量资源的 IPC。

Authentication

Android uses the concept of user-authentication-gated cryptographic keys that requires the following components:

  • Cryptographic key storage and service provider. Stores cryptographic keys and provides standard crypto routines on top of those keys. Android supports a hardware-backed Keystore and Keymaster for cryptographic services, including hardware-backed cryptography for key storage that might include a Trusted Execution Environment (TEE).
  • User authenticators. Attest to the user's presence and/or successful authentication. Android supports Gatekeeper for PIN/pattern/password authentication and Fingerprint for fingerprint authentication. These components communicate their authentication state with the keystore service via an authenticated channel. (The Android Keystore system at the framework level is also backed by the keystore service.)

Gatekeeper and Fingerprint components work with Keystore and other components to support the use of hardware-backed authentication tokens (AuthTokens).

Enrollment

On first boot of the device after a factory reset, all authenticators are prepared to receive credential enrollments from the user. A user must initially enroll a PIN/pattern/password with Gatekeeper. This initial enrollment creates a randomly generated, 64-bit User SID (user secure identifier) that serves as an identifier for the user and as a binding token for the user's cryptographic material. This User SID is cryptographically bound to the user's password; successful authentications to Gatekeeper result in AuthTokens that contain the User SID for that password.

A user who wants to change a credential must present an existing credential. If an existing credential is verified successfully, the User SID associated with the existing credential is transferred to the new credential, enabling the user to keep accessing keys after changing a credential. If a user does not present an existing credential, the new credential is enrolled with a fully random User SID. The user can access the device, but keys created under the old User SID are permanently lost. This is known as an untrusted enroll.

Under normal circumstances, the Android framework does not allow an untrusted enroll, so most users won't ever see this functionality. However, forcible password resets, either by a device administrator or an attacker, may cause this to occur.

Authentication

After a user has set up a credential and received a User SID, they may proceed to start authentication, which begins when a user provides a PIN, pattern, password, or fingerprint. All TEE components share a secret key which they use to authenticate each other's messages.

Authentication flow
Figure 1. Authentication flow.
  1. A user provides a PIN, pattern, password, or fingerprint. The LockSettingsService or FingerprintService makes a request via Binder to appropriate daemon (gatekeeperd or fingerprintd); fingerprint authentication occurs asynchronously after the fingerprint request is sent.
  2. The daemon sends data to its counterpart, which generates an AuthToken:
    • For PIN/pattern/password authentication, gatekeeperd sends the PIN, pattern, or password hash to Gatekeeper in the TEE. If authentication in the TEE is successful, Gatekeeper in the TEE sends an AuthToken containing the corresponding User SID (signed with the AuthToken HMAC key) to its counterpart in the Android OS.
    • For fingerprint authentication, fingerprintd listens for fingerprint events and sends the data to Fingerprint in the TEE. If authentication in the TEE is successful, Fingerprint in the TEE sends an AuthToken (signed with the AuthToken HMAC key) to its counterpart in the Android OS.
  3. The daemon receives a signed AuthToken and passes it to the keystore service via an extension to the keystore service's Binder interface. (gatekeeperd also notifies the keystore service when the device is re-locked and when the device password changes.)
  4. The keystore service passes the AuthTokens to Keymaster, verifying them using the key shared with the Gatekeeper and Fingerprint trustlets. Keymaster trusts the timestamp in the token as the last authentication time and bases a key release decision (to allow an app to use the key) on the timestamp.

AuthToken format

To ensure token sharing and compatibility across languages and components, the AuthToken format is described in hw_auth_token.h. The format is a simple serialization protocol with fixed size fields:

Field Type Required Description
AuthToken Version 1 byte Yes Group tag for all fields below.
Challenge 64-bit unsigned integer No A random integer to prevent replay attacks. Usually the ID of a requested crypto operation. Currently used by transactional fingerprint authorizations. If present, the AuthToken is valid only for crypto operations containing the same challenge.
User SID 64-bit unsigned integer Yes Non-repeating user identifier tied cryptographically to all keys associated with device authentication. For details, see Gatekeeper.
Authenticator ID (ASID) 64-bit unsigned integer in network order No Identifier used to bind to a specific authenticator policy. All authenticators have their own value of ASID that they can change according to their own requirements.
Authenticator type 32-bit unsigned integer in network order Yes
  • 0x00 is Gatekeeper.
  • 0x01 is Fingerprint.
Timestamp 64-bit unsigned integer in network order Yes Time (in milliseconds) since the most recent system boot.
AuthToken HMAC key (SHA-256) 256-bit blob Yes Keyed SHA-256 MAC of all fields except the HMAC field.

Device boot flow

On every boot of a device, the AuthToken HMAC key must be generated and shared with all TEE components (Gatekeeper, Fingerprint, and Keymaster). Thus, for added protection against replay attacks, the HMAC key must be randomly generated every time the device reboots.

The protocol for sharing this HMAC key with all components is a platform-dependent implementation feature. The key must never be made available outside the TEE. If a TEE OS lacks an internal inter-process communication (IPC) mechanism and needs to transfer the data through the untrusted OS, the transfer must be done via a secure key exchange protocol.

The Trusty operating system, which runs next to Android, is an example of a TEE, but other TEEs can be used instead. Trusty uses an internal IPC system to communicate directly between Keymaster and Fingerprint or Gatekeeper. The HMAC key is kept solely in Keymaster; Fingerprint and Gatekeeper request the key from Keymaster for each use and do not persist or cache the value.

As some TEEs lack an IPC infrastructure, no communication occurs between applets in the TEE. This also permits the keystore service to quickly deny requests that are bound to fail as it has knowledge of the authentication table in the system, saving a potentially costly IPC into the TEE.