文件级加密

Android 7.0 及更高版本支持文件级加密 (FBE)。采用文件级加密时,可以使用不同的密钥对不同的文件进行加密,并且可以对这些文件进行单独解密。

本文介绍了如何在新设备上启用文件级加密,以及如何更新系统应用,以充分利用新的 Direct Boot API 并尽可能为用户提供最佳、最安全的体验。

直接启动

借助文件级加密,Android 7.0 中引入了一项称为直接启动的新功能。该功能处于启用状态时,已加密设备在启动后将直接进入锁定屏幕。之前,在使用全盘加密 (FDE) 的已加密设备上,用户在访问任何数据之前都需要先提供凭据,从而导致手机无法执行除最基本操作之外的所有其他操作。例如,闹钟无法运行,无障碍服务不可用,手机无法接电话,而只能进行基本的紧急拨号操作。

引入文件级加密 (FBE) 和新 API 后,便可以将应用设为加密感知型应用,这样一来,它们将能够在受限环境中运行。这些应用将可以在用户提供凭据之前运行,同时系统仍能保护私密用户信息。

在启用了 FBE 的设备上,每位用户均有两个可供应用使用的存储位置:

  • 凭据加密 (CE) 存储空间:这是默认存储位置,只有在用户解锁设备后才可用。
  • 设备加密 (DE) 存储空间:在直接启动模式期间以及用户解锁设备后均可用。

这种区分能够使工作资料更加安全,因为这样一来,加密不再只基于启动时密码,从而能够同时保护多位用户。

Direct Boot API 允许加密感知型应用访问上述每个区域。应用生命周期会发生一些变化,以便在用户的 CE 存储空间因用户在锁定屏幕上首次输入凭据而解锁时,或者在工作资料提供工作挑战时,通知应用。无论是否实现了 FBE,运行 Android 7.0 的设备都必须要支持这些新的 API 和生命周期。不过,如果没有 FBE,DE 和 CE 存储空间将始终处于解锁状态。

Android 开放源代码项目 (AOSP) 中提供了 EXT4 文件系统中的文件级加密的完整实现。在满足相关要求的设备上,只需启用该实现即可使用该功能。选择使用 FBE 的制造商可能想要了解根据所用系统芯片 (SoC) 优化该功能的方法。

AOSP 中的所有必要程序包均已更新为直接启动感知型程序包。不过,如果设备制造商使用的是这些应用的定制版本,则需要确保至少存在能够提供以下服务的直接启动感知型程序包:

  • 电话服务和拨号器
  • 用于在锁定屏幕中输入密码的输入法

示例和源代码

Android 提供了文件级加密的参考实现,其中 vold (system/vold) 负责提供用于管理 Android 上的存储设备和存储卷的功能。添加 PDE 会为 vold 提供一些新命令,以便支持对多位用户的 CE 密钥和 DE 密钥进行密钥管理。除了为使用内核中的 EXT4 加密功能而进行的核心更改外,许多系统程序包(包括锁定屏幕和 SystemUI)也经过了修改,以支持 FBE 和“直接启动”功能。其中包括:

  • AOSP 拨号器 (packages/apps/Dialer)
  • 桌面时钟 (packages/apps/DeskClock)
  • LatinIME (packages/inputmethods/LatinIME)*
  • “设置”应用 (packages/apps/Settings)*
  • SystemUI (frameworks/base/packages/SystemUI)*

*使用 defaultToDeviceProtectedStorage 清单属性的系统应用

通过在 AOSP 源代码树的框架或程序包目录中运行 mangrep directBootAware 命令,可以找到更多加密感知型应用和服务的示例。

依赖关系

要安全地使用 AOSP 提供的 FBE 实现,设备需要满足以下依赖关系:

  • 对 EXT4 加密的内核支持(内核配置选项:EXT4_FS_ENCRYPTION)
  • 基于 1.0 或 2.0 版 HAL 的 Keymaster 支持。不支持 Keymaster 0.3,因为它既不提供必要的功能,也不能保证为加密密钥提供充分保护。
  • 必须在可信执行环境 (TEE) 中实现 Keymaster/Keystore 和 Gatekeeper,以便为 DE 密钥提供保护,从而使未经授权的操作系统(刷到设备上的定制操作系统)无法直接请求 DE 密钥。
  • 内核加密性能必须要在使用 AES XTS 时至少达到 50MB/s,以确保良好的用户体验。
  • 硬件信任根验证启动需要绑定到 Keymaster 初始化进程,以确保未经授权的操作系统无法获取设备加密凭据。

注意:存储政策会应用到文件夹及其所有子文件夹。对于以未加密形式存入 OTA 文件夹以及存入系统解密密钥存放文件夹的内容,制造商应加以限制。大多数内容都应存放在凭据加密存储空间(而非设备加密存储空间)内。

实现

最重要的一点是,应根据直接启动开发者文档将诸如闹钟、电话、无障碍功能等应用设为 android:directBootAware。

内核支持

AOSP 提供的文件级加密实现会用到 Linux 4.4 内核中的 EXT4 加密功能。推荐的解决方案是使用基于 4.4 或更高版本的内核。EXT4 加密还反向移植到了 Android 公共代码库内的 3.10 内核以及受支持的 Nexus 内核。

对于希望将该功能引入到其设备内核的设备制造商来说,AOSP 内核/公共 Git 代码库中的 android-3.10.y 分支可作为一个很好的着手点。不过,务必要在最新的稳定版 Linux 内核(目前是 linux-4.6)中应用 EXT4 和 JBD2 项目提供的最新补丁程序。Nexus 设备内核已经包含其中很多补丁程序。

设备 内核
Android Common kernel/common android-3.10.y (Git)
Nexus 5X (bullhead) kernel/msm android-msm-bullhead-3.10-n-preview-2 (Git)
Nexus 6P (angler) kernel/msm android-msm-angler-3.10-n-preview-2 (Git)

请注意,以上每个内核都使用了到 3.10 的反向移植。Linux 3.18 中的 EXT4 和 JBD2 驱动程序已移植到基于 3.10 的现有内核中。由于内核各个部分之间存在依赖关系,因此这种反向移植会导致系统停止支持 Nexus 设备不使用的一些功能。其中包括:

  • EXT3 驱动程序,不过 EXT4 仍可以装载并使用 EXT3 文件系统
  • 全局文件系统 (GFS) 支持
  • EXT4 中的 ACL 支持

除了对 EXT4 加密提供功能支持外,设备制造商还可以考虑实现加密加速功能,以便加快文件级加密的速度并改善用户体验。

启用文件级加密

通过将不带参数的 fileencryption 标记添加到 userdata 分区最后一列的 fstab 行中,可以启用 FBE。要查看示例,请访问 https://android.googlesource.com/device/lge/bullhead/+/nougat-release/fstab_fbe.bullhead

测试设备上的 FBE 实现情况时,可以指定以下标记:forcefdeorfbe="<path/to/metadata/partition>"

此标记会将设备设为使用 FDE,但允许针对开发者转换为 FBE。默认情况下,此标记的行为类似于 forceencrypt,会使设备进入 FDE 模式。不过,它将提供一个调试选项,以便在开发者预览中允许将设备切换到 FBE 模式。另外,还可以使用以下命令在 fastboot 中启用 FBE:

$ fastboot --wipe-and-use-fbe

此标记仅用于开发目的,可提供一个在实际 FBE 设备发布之前演示 FBE 功能的平台。此标记在将来可能会被弃用。

与 Keymaster 集成

vold 负责处理密钥生成和内核密钥环管理工作。AOSP 的 FBE 实现要求设备支持 1.0 或更高版本的 Keymaster HAL。更低版本的 Keymaster HAL 不受支持。

首次启动时,在启动过程的早期阶段会生成并安装用户 0 的密钥。到 initon-post-fs 阶段完成时,Keymaster 必须已做好处理请求的准备。在 Nexus 设备上,这是通过设置一个脚本块处理的:

  • 确保 Keymaster 在 /data 装载之前启动
  • 指定文件加密算法套件:AOSP 的文件级加密实现会用到采用 XTS 模式的 AES-256 算法

    注意:所有加密都基于采用 XTS 模式的 AES-256 算法。XTS 的定义方式决定了它需要两个 256 位密钥;因此实际上 CE 密钥和 DE 密钥都是 512 位密钥。

加密政策

EXT4 加密在目录级应用加密政策。首次创建设备的 userdata 分区时,会由 init 脚本应用基本结构和政策。这些脚本将触发创建首位用户(用户 0)的 CE 密钥和 DE 密钥,并定义要使用这些密钥加密哪些目录。创建其他用户和资料时,会生成必要的其他密钥并将其存储在密钥代码库中;接下来会创建它们的凭据和设备存储位置,并且加密政策会将这些密钥关联到相应目录。

在 AOSP 当前提供的文件级加密实现中,加密政策被硬编码到了以下位置:

/system/extras/ext4_utils/ext4_crypt_init_extensions.cpp

可以在该文件中添加例外情况,以彻底防止特定目录被加密,具体方法是将相应目录添加到 directories_to_exclude 列表中。如果进行了此类修改,设备制造商应添加 SELinux 政策,以便仅向需要使用未加密目录的应用授予访问权限(应排除所有不可信的应用)。

目前唯一可接受的使用这种方法的情况是在支持旧版 OTA 功能方面。

在系统应用中支持直接启动

将应用设为直接启动感知型应用

为了实现系统应用的快速迁移,新增了两个可在应用级别设置的属性。defaultToDeviceProtectedStorage 属性仅适用于系统应用,directBootAware 属性则适用于所有应用。

<application
    android:directBootAware="true"
    android:defaultToDeviceProtectedStorage="true">

应用级别的 directBootAware 属性的含义是将相应应用中的所有组件均标记为加密感知型组件。

defaultToDeviceProtectedStorage 属性用于将默认的应用存储位置重定向到 DE 存储空间(而非 CE 存储空间)。使用此标记的系统应用必须要仔细审核存储在默认位置的所有数据,并将敏感数据的路径更改为使用 CE 存储空间。使用此选项的设备制造商应仔细检查要存储的数据,以确保其中不含任何个人信息。

在这种模式下运行时,以下系统 API 可在需要时用于明确管理由 CE 存储空间支持的 Context(这些 API 与设备保护存储空间适用的同类 API 相对应)。

  • Context.createCredentialProtectedStorageContext()
  • Context.isCredentialProtectedStorage()

支持多位用户

多用户环境中的每位用户均会获得一个单独的加密密钥。每位用户均会获得两个密钥:一个 DE 密钥和一个 CE 密钥。用户 0 由于是特殊用户,因此必须要先登录设备。这部分适用于使用设备管理功能的情况。

加密感知型应用按照以下方式与各用户进行互动:INTERACT_ACROSS_USERSINTERACT_ACROSS_USERS_FULL 允许应用与设备上的所有用户互动。不过,这些应用只能访问已解锁用户的 CE 加密目录。

应用或许能够与各个 DE 区域自由互动,但一位用户已解锁并不意味着设备上的所有用户均已解锁。应用在尝试访问这些区域之前,应先检查该状态。

每个工作资料用户 ID 也会获得两个密钥:一个 DE 密钥和一个 CE 密钥。当满足工作挑战时,资料用户会被解锁,并且 Keymaster(在 TEE 中)可以提供资料的 TEE 密钥。

处理更新

恢复分区无法访问用户数据分区中采用 DE 保护的存储空间。强烈建议实现 FBE 的设备支持新版 OTA 机制(采用即将推出的 A/B 系统更新方式)。由于可以在正常操作期间应用 OTA 更新,因此恢复分区无需访问已加密存储卷中的数据。

如果使用旧版 OTA 解决方案(该解决方案要求恢复分区访问用户数据分区中的 OTA 文件),则需要执行以下操作:

  • 在用户数据分区中创建一个顶级目录(例如“misc_ne”)。
  • 将该顶级目录添加到加密政策例外情况中(请参阅上文中的加密政策)。
  • 在该目录中创建一个用于存放 OTA 更新包的目录。
  • 添加 SELinux 规则和文件环境,以便控制对该文件夹及其内容的访问。应当只有接收 OTA 更新的进程或应用能够对该文件夹进行读取和写入操作。
  • 任何其他应用或进程都不应具有访问该文件夹的权限。

在该文件夹中创建一个目录,以便存放 OTA 更新包。

验证

为了确保实现的 FBE 功能版本能够按预期工作,需要部署多种 CTS 加密测试

可以顺利为您的主板编译内核后,请另行为 x86 编译内核并在 QEMU 下运行该内核,然后您就可以使用以下命令通过 xfstest 进行测试了:

$ kvm-xfstests -c encrypt -g auto

此外,设备制造商可以在启用了 FBE 的设备上进行以下手动测试:

  • 检查 ro.crypto.state 是否存在
    • 确认 ro.crypto.state 是否已加密
  • 检查 ro.crypto.type 是否存在
    • 确认 ro.crypto.type 是否已设为 file

此外,测试人员可以在主用户已设置锁定屏幕的情况下启动一个 userdebug 实例。然后通过 adb shell 命令进入设备,并使用 su 获得 root 权限。确认 /data/data 中是否包含加密的文件名;如果没有,则表示存在问题。

AOSP 实现详情

本部分详细介绍了 AOSP 的文件级加密实现,并讲解了文件级加密的运作方式。设备制造商应该无需执行任何更改,即可在其设备上使用 FBE 和“直接启动”功能。

EXT4 加密

AOSP 的文件级加密实现会用到内核中的 EXT4 加密功能,并配置为:

  • 借助采用 XTS 模式的 AES-256 算法加密文件内容
  • 借助采用 CBC-CTS 模式的 AES-256 算法加密文件名

密钥派生

硬盘加密密钥(512 位 AES-XTS 密钥)以加密形式存储:通过另一个存放在 TEE 中的密钥(256 位 AES-GCM 密钥)进行加密。要使用该 TEE 密钥,需要具备以下三项:

  • 身份验证令牌
  • 扩展凭据
  • secdiscardable hash

身份验证令牌是一个经过加密和身份验证的令牌,由 Gatekeeper 在用户成功登录时生成。除非用户提供的身份验证令牌正确无误,否则 TEE 将拒绝用户使用该密钥。如果用户没有任何凭据,则不使用也不需要使用身份验证令牌。

扩展凭据是使用 scrypt 算法进行加盐和扩展处理的用户凭据。实际上,凭据在被传递到 vold(以便传递到 scrypt)之前,会在锁定设置服务中接受一次哈希处理。扩展凭据会以加密形式绑定到 TEE 中的相应密钥,并享有适用于 KM_TAG_APPLICATION_ID 的所有保证。如果用户没有凭据,则不使用也不需要使用扩展凭据。

secdiscardable hash 是 16 KB 随机文件的 512 位哈希,和用于重建相应密钥的其他信息(例如种子)存储在一起。在相应密钥被删除时,该文件会一并被安全地删除,或以新的方式被加密;采用这种附加的保护措施后,攻击者要恢复相应密钥,必须要先恢复这个被安全删除的文件中的每一个位。secdiscardable hash 同样会以加密形式绑定到 TEE 中的相应密钥,并享有适用于 KM_TAG_APPLICATION_ID 的所有保证。请参阅面向 Keystore 实现人员的参考资料

File-Based Encryption

Android 7.0 and later supports file-based encryption (FBE). File-based encryption allows different files to be encrypted with different keys that can be unlocked independently.

This article describes how to enable file-based encryption on new devices and how system applications can be updated to take full advantage of the new Direct Boot APIs and offer users the best, most secure experience possible.

Warning: File-based encryption cannot currently be used together with adoptable storage. On devices using file-based encryption, new storage media (such as an SD card) must be used as traditional storage.

Direct Boot

File-based encryption enables a new feature introduced in Android 7.0 called Direct Boot. Direct Boot allows encrypted devices to boot straight to the lock screen. Previously, on encrypted devices using full-disk encryption (FDE), users needed to provide credentials before any data could be accessed, preventing the phone from performing all but the most basic of operations. For example, alarms could not operate, accessibility services were unavailable, and phones could not receive calls but were limited to only basic emergency dialer operations.

With the introduction of file-based encryption (FBE) and new APIs to make applications aware of encryption, it is possible for these apps to operate within a limited context. This can happen before users have provided their credentials while still protecting private user information.

On an FBE-enabled device, each user of the device has two storage locations available to applications:

  • Credential Encrypted (CE) storage, which is the default storage location and only available after the user has unlocked the device.
  • Device Encrypted (DE) storage, which is a storage location available both during Direct Boot mode and after the user has unlocked the device.

This separation makes work profiles more secure because it allows more than one user to be protected at a time as the encryption is no longer based solely on a boot time password.

The Direct Boot API allows encryption-aware applications to access each of these areas. There are changes to the application lifecycle to accommodate the need to notify applications when a user’s CE storage is unlocked in response to first entering credentials at the lock screen, or in the case of work profile providing a work challenge. Devices running Android 7.0 must support these new APIs and lifecycles regardless of whether or not they implement FBE. Although, without FBE, DE and CE storage will always be in the unlocked state.

A complete implementation of file-based encryption on an Ext4 file system is provided in the Android Open Source Project (AOSP) and needs only be enabled on devices that meet the requirements. Manufacturers electing to use FBE may wish to explore ways of optimizing the feature based on the system on chip (SoC) used.

All the necessary packages in AOSP have been updated to be direct-boot aware. However, where device manufacturers use customized versions of these apps, they will want to ensure at a minimum there are direct-boot aware packages providing the following services:

  • Telephony Services and Dialer
  • Input method for entering passwords into the lock screen

Examples and source

Android provides a reference implementation of file-based encryption, in which vold (system/vold) provides the functionality for managing storage devices and volumes on Android. The addition of FBE provides vold with several new commands to support key management for the CE and DE keys of multiple users. In addition to the core changes to use the ext4 Encryption capabilities in kernel many system packages including the lockscreen and the SystemUI have been modified to support the FBE and Direct Boot features. These include:

  • AOSP Dialer (packages/apps/Dialer)
  • Desk Clock (packages/apps/DeskClock)
  • LatinIME (packages/inputmethods/LatinIME)*
  • Settings App (packages/apps/Settings)*
  • SystemUI (frameworks/base/packages/SystemUI)*

* System applications that use the defaultToDeviceProtectedStorage manifest attribute

More examples of applications and services that are encryption aware can be found by running the command mangrep directBootAware in the frameworks or packages directory of the AOSP source tree.

Dependencies

To use the AOSP implementation of FBE securely, a device needs to meet the following dependencies:

  • Kernel Support for ext4 encryption (Kernel config option: EXT4_FS_ENCRYPTION)
  • Keymaster Support with a HAL version 1.0 or 2.0. There is no support for Keymaster 0.3 as that does not provide that necessary capabilities or assure sufficient protection for encryption keys.
  • Keymaster/Keystore and Gatekeeper must be implemented in a Trusted Execution Environment (TEE) to provide protection for the DE keys so that an unauthorized OS (custom OS flashed onto the device) cannot simply request the DE keys.
  • Encryption performance in the kernel of at least 50MB/s using AES XTS to ensure a good user experience.
  • Hardware Root of Trust and Verified Boot bound to the keymaster initialisation is required to ensure that Device Encryption credentials are not accessible by an unauthorized operating system.

Note: Storage policies are applied to a folder and all of its subfolders. Manufacturers should limit the contents that go unencrypted to the OTA folder and the folder that holds the key that decrypts the system. Most contents should reside in credential-encrypted storage rather than device-encrypted storage.

Implementation

First and foremost, apps such as alarm clocks, phone, accessibility features should be made android:directBootAware according to Direct Boot developer documentation.

Kernel Support

The AOSP implementation of file-based encryption uses the ext4 encryption features in the Linux 4.4 kernel. The recommended solution is to use a kernel based on 4.4 or later. Ext4 encryption has also been backported to a 3.10 kernel in the Android common repositories and for the supported Nexus kernels.

The android-3.10.y branch in the AOSP kernel/common git repository may provide a good starting point for device manufacturers that want to import this capability into their own device kernels. However, it is necessary to apply the most recent patches from the latest stable Linux kernel (currently linux-4.6) of the ext4 and jbd2 projects. The Nexus device kernels already include many of these patches.

Device Kernel
Android Common kernel/common android-3.10.y (git)
Nexus 5X (bullhead) kernel/msm android-msm-bullhead-3.10-n-preview-2 (git)
Nexus 6P (angler) kernel/msm android-msm-angler-3.10-n-preview-2 (git)

Note that each of these kernels uses a backport to 3.10. The ext4 and jbd2 drivers from linux 3.18 were transplanted into existing kernels based on 3.10. Due to interdependencies between parts of the kernel, this backport breaks support for a number of features that are not used by Nexus devices. These include:

  • The ext3 driver, although ext4 can still mount and use ext3 filesystems
  • Global File Sytem (GFS) Support
  • ACL support in ext4

In addition to functional support for ext4 encryption, device manufacturers may also consider implementing cryptographic acceleration to speed up file-based encryption and improve the user experience.

Enabling file-based encryption

FBE is enabled by adding the flag fileencryption with no parameters to the fstab line in the final column for the userdata partition. You can see an example at: https://android.googlesource.com/device/lge/bullhead/+/nougat-release/fstab_fbe.bullhead

Whilst testing the FBE implementation on a device, it is possible to specify the following flag: forcefdeorfbe="<path/to/metadata/partition>"

This sets the device up with FDE but allows conversion to FBE for developers. By default, this behaves like forceencrypt, putting the device into FDE mode. However, it will expose a debug option allowing a device to be put into FBE mode as is the case in the developer preview. It is also possible to enable FBE from fastboot using this command:

fastboot --wipe-and-use-fbe

This is intended solely for development purposes as a platform for demonstrating the feature before actual FBE devices are released. This flag may be deprecated in the future.

Integrating with Keymaster

The generation of keys and management of the kernel keyring is handled by vold. The AOSP implementation of FBE requires that the device support Keymaster HAL version 1.0 or later. There is no support for earlier versions of the Keymaster HAL.

On first boot, user 0’s keys are generated and installed early in the boot process. By the time the on-post-fs phase of init completes, the Keymaster must be ready to handle requests. On Nexus devices, this is handled by having a script block:

  • Ensure Keymaster is started before /data is mounted
  • Specify the file encryption cipher suite: AOSP implementation of file-based encryption uses AES-256 in XTS mode

    Note: All encryption is based on AES-256 in XTS mode. Due to the way XTS is defined, it needs two 256-bit keys; so in effect, both CE and DE keys are 512-bit keys.

Encryption policy

Ext4 encryption applies the encryption policy at the directory level. When a device’s userdata partition is first created, the basic structures and policies are applied by the init scripts. These scripts will trigger the creation of the first user’s (user 0’s) CE and DE keys as well as define which directories are to be encrypted with these keys. When additional users and profiles are created, the necessary additional keys are generated and stored in the keystore; their credential and devices storage locations are created and the encryption policy links these keys to those directories.

In the current AOSP implementation, the encryption policy is hardcoded into this location:

/system/extras/ext4_utils/ext4_crypt_init_extensions.cpp

It is possible to add exceptions in this file to prevent certain directories from being encrypted at all, by adding to the directories_to_exclude list. If modifications of this sort are made then the device manufacturer should include SELinux policies that only grant access to the applications that need to use the unencrypted directory. This should exclude all untrusted applications.

The only known acceptable use case for this is in support of legacy OTA capabilities.

Supporting Direct Boot in system applications

Making applications Direct Boot aware

To facilitate rapid migration of system apps, there are two new attributes that can be set at the application level. The defaultToDeviceProtectedStorage attribute is available only to system apps. The directBootAware attribute is available to all.

<application
    android:directBootAware="true"
    android:defaultToDeviceProtectedStorage="true">

The directBootAware attribute at the application level is shorthand for marking all components in the app as being encryption aware.

The defaultToDeviceProtectedStorage attribute redirects the default app storage location to point at DE storage instead of pointing at CE storage. System apps using this flag must carefully audit all data stored in the default location, and change the paths of sensitive data to use CE storage. Device manufactures using this option should carefully inspect the data that they are storing to ensure that it contains no personal information.

When running in this mode, the following System APIs are available to explicitly manage a Context backed by CE storage when needed, which are equivalent to their Device Protected counterparts.

  • Context.createCredentialProtectedStorageContext()
  • Context.isCredentialProtectedStorage()

Supporting multiple users

Each user in a multi-user environment gets a separate encryption key. Every user gets two keys: a DE and a CE key. User 0 must log into the device first as it is a special user. This is pertinent for Device Administration uses.

Crypto-aware applications interact across users in this manner: INTERACT_ACROSS_USERS and INTERACT_ACROSS_USERS_FULL allow an application to act across all the users on the device. However, those apps will be able to access only CE-encrypted directories for users that are already unlocked.

An application may be able to interact freely across the DE areas, but one user unlocked does not mean that all the users on the device are unlocked. The application should check this status before trying to access these areas.

Each work profile user ID also gets two keys: DE and CE. When the work challenge is met, the profile user is unlocked and the Keymaster (in TEE) can provide the profile’s TEE key.

Handling updates

The recovery partition is unable to access the DE protected storage on the userdata partition. Devices implementing FBE are strongly recommended to support OTA using the upcoming A/B system updates. As the OTA can be applied during normal operation there is no need for recovery to access data on the encrypted drive.

If a legacy OTA solution is used, which requires recovery to access the OTA file on the userdata partition then:

  • Create a top level directory (for example “misc_ne”) in the userdata partition.
  • Add this top level directory to the encryption policy exception (see Encryption policy above).
  • Create a directory with this to hold OTA packages.
  • Add an SELinux rule and file contexts to control access to this folder and it contents. Only the process or applications receiving OTA updates should be be able to read and write to this folder.
  • No other application or process should have access to this folder.

Within this folder create a directory to contain the OTA packages.

Validation

To ensure the implemented version of the feature works as intended, employ the many CTS encryption tests.

Once the kernel builds for your board, also build for x86 and run under QEMU in order to test with xfstest by using:

kvm-xfstests -c encrypt -g auto

In addition, device manufacturers may perform these manual tests. On a device with FBE enabled:

  • Check that ro.crypto.state exists
    • Ensure ro.crypto.state is encrypted
  • Check that ro.crypto.type exists
    • Ensure ro.crypto.type is set to file

Additionally, testers can boot a userdebug instance with a lockscreen set on the primary user. Then adb shell into the device and use su to become root. Make sure /data/data contains encrypted filenames; if it does not, something is wrong.

AOSP implementation details

This section provides details on the AOSP implementation and describes how file-based encryption works. It should not be necessary for device manufacturers to make any changes here to use FBE and Direct Boot on their devices.

ext4 encryption

The AOSP implementation uses ext4 encryption in kernel and is configured to:

  • Encrypt file contents with AES-256 in XTS mode
  • Encrypt file names with AES-256 in CBC-CTS mode

Key derivation

Disk encryption keys, which are 512-bit AES-XTS keys, are stored encrypted by another key (a 256-bit AES-GCM key) held in the TEE. To use this TEE key, three requirements must be met:

  • The auth token
  • The stretched credential
  • The “secdiscardable hash”

The auth token is a cryptographically authenticated token generated by Gatekeeper when a user successfully logs in. The TEE will refuse to use the key unless the correct auth token is supplied. If the user has no credential, then no auth token is used nor needed.

The stretched credential is the user credential after salting and stretching with the scrypt algorithm. The credential is actually hashed once in the lock settings service before being passed to vold for passing to scrypt. This is cryptographically bound to the key in the TEE with all the guarantees that apply to KM_TAG_APPLICATION_ID. If the user has no credential, then no stretched credential is used nor needed.

The secdiscardable hash is a 512-bit hash of a random 16 KB file stored alongside other information used to reconstruct the key, such as the seed. This file is securely deleted when the key is deleted, or it is encrypted in a new way; this added protection ensures an attacker must recover every bit of this securely deleted file to recover the key. This is cryptographically bound to the key in the TEE with all the guarantees that apply to KM_TAG_APPLICATION_ID. See the Keystore Implementer's Reference.