硬件封裝的密鑰

與大多數磁盤和文件加密軟件一樣,Android 的存儲加密傳統上依賴於系統內存中存在的原始加密密鑰,以便可以執行加密。即使加密由專用硬件而不是軟件執行,軟件通常仍需要管理原始加密密鑰。

這在傳統上不被視為問題,因為在離線攻擊期間密鑰不會出現,這是存儲加密旨在防禦的主要攻擊類型。然而,有提供對其他類型的攻擊,比如增加保護的願望冷啟動攻擊,和在線攻擊其中的攻擊者可以完全不影響設備洩漏系統內存。

為了解決這個問題,機器人11導入用於硬件密鑰包裹,其中硬件支持存在支持。硬件封裝的密鑰是僅以原始形式為專用硬件所知的存儲密鑰;軟件只能以包裝(加密)形式查看和使用這些密鑰。該硬件必須能夠生成和導入存儲密鑰、以臨時和長期形式包裝存儲密鑰、派生子密鑰、將一個子密鑰直接編程到內嵌加密引擎中,並將單獨的子密鑰返回給軟件。

內嵌加密引擎(或內聯加密硬件)是指硬件加密/解密數據,而它是在它的途中從存儲設備/。通常這是一個 UFS 或 eMMC 主機控制器,它實現了相應 JEDEC 規範定義的加密擴展。

設計

本節介紹硬件封裝密鑰功能的設計,包括它需要哪些硬件支持。這個討論集中於基於文件的加密(FBE),但解決方案適用於元數據加密過。

避免在系統內存中使用原始加密密鑰的一種方法是將它們僅保存在內聯加密引擎的密鑰槽中。但是,這種方法遇到了一些問題:

  • 加密密鑰的數量可能會超過密鑰槽的數量。
  • 內聯加密引擎只能用於加密/解密磁盤上的完整數據塊。但是,在 FBE 的情況下,軟件仍然需要能夠執行其他加密工作,例如文件名加密和派生密鑰標識符。軟件仍需要訪問原始 FBE 密鑰才能完成其他工作。

為了避免這些問題,所述存儲密鑰被代替做成硬件包裹鍵,其只能被解開,並通過專用的硬件使用。這允許支持無限數量的密鑰。此外,密鑰層次結構被修改並部分移至該硬件,這允許將子密鑰返回給軟件,以執行無法使用內聯加密引擎的任務。

密鑰層次結構

密鑰可以從使用其他鍵導出KDF(密鑰導出函數)諸如香港民主促進會,產生密鑰層級

下圖描繪了當使用硬件包裹密鑰FBE典型密鑰層級:

FBE 密鑰層次結構(標準)
圖1. FBE密鑰層次結構(標準)

FBE 類密鑰是 Android 傳遞給 Linux 內核以解鎖一組特定加密目錄的原始加密密鑰,例如特定 Android 用戶的憑據加密存儲。 (在內核中,這個鍵被稱作fscrypt主密鑰)。從這個鍵,內核導出以下子項:

  • 密鑰標識符。這不用於加密,而是用於標識用於保護特定文件或目錄的密鑰的值。
  • 文件內容加密密鑰
  • 文件名加密密鑰

相比之下,下圖描述了使用硬件封裝密鑰時 FBE 的密鑰層次結構:

FBE 密鑰層次結構(帶有硬件封裝的密鑰)
圖2. FBE密鑰層次結構(與硬件的包裝的密鑰)

與之前的情況相比,密鑰層次結構中增加了一個附加級別,並且文件內容加密密鑰已重新定位。根節點仍然代表 Android 傳遞給 Linux 以解鎖一組加密目錄的密鑰。但是,現在該密鑰處於臨時包裝的形式,為了使用它,必須將其傳遞給專用硬件。該硬件必須實現兩個採用臨時包裝密鑰的接口:

  • 一個接口來推導inline_encryption_key並將其直接編入內嵌加密引擎的keyslot。這允許在沒有軟件訪問原始密鑰的情況下加密/解密文件內容。在Android共同內核,該接口對應於blk_ksm_ll_ops::keyslot_program操作,這必須由存儲驅動器來實現。
  • 一個接口派生並返回sw_secret (“軟件的秘密” -也被稱為“原始的秘密”在一些地方),這是Linux用來導出子項不是文件內容加密的其他一切的關鍵。在Android共同內核,該接口對應於blk_ksm_ll_ops::derive_raw_secret操作,這必須由存儲驅動器來實現。

為了得到inline_encryption_keysw_secret從原始存儲密鑰,硬件必須使用強加密KDF。此 KDF 必須遵循密碼學最佳實踐;它必須具有至少 256 位的安全強度,即足以用於以後使用的任何算法。在導出每種類型的子密鑰時,它還必須使用不同的標籤、上下文和/或特定於應用程序的信息字符串,以確保生成的子密鑰是密碼隔離的,即其中一個的知識不會洩露任何其他子密鑰。不需要密鑰擴展,因為原始存儲密鑰已經是一個均勻隨機的密鑰。

從技術上講,可以使用任何滿足安全要求的 KDF。但是,出於測試目的,有必要在測試代碼中重新實現相同的 KDF。目前,已經審查並實施了一項 KDF;它可以在被發現為源代碼vts_kernel_encryption_test 。建議的硬件使用該KDF,它採用NIST SP 800-108“KDF在計數器模式”AES-256-CMAC作為PRF。請注意,為了兼容,算法的所有部分都必須相同,包括為每個子密鑰選擇 KDF 上下文和標籤。

密鑰包裝

為了滿足硬件封裝密鑰的安全目標,定義了兩種類型的密鑰封裝:

  • 短暫的包裝:硬件加密使用被隨機地在每次啟動產生的,並且不直接暴露在硬件之外的鍵的原始密鑰。
  • 長期包裝:硬件加密使用內置到其不直接暴露在硬件之外的硬件獨特的,持久的關鍵原始密鑰。

傳遞給 Linux 內核以解鎖存儲的所有密鑰都是臨時包裝的。這確保瞭如果攻擊者能夠從系統內存中提取正在使用的密鑰,那麼該密鑰不僅在設備外無法使用,而且在重啟後在設備上也將無法使用。

同時,Android 仍然需要能夠在磁盤上存儲密鑰的加密版本,以便首先將其解鎖。原始密鑰將用於此目的。然而,希望原始密鑰永遠不會出現在系統內存中,這樣它們就永遠不會被提取到設備外使用,即使在啟動時提取也是如此。為此,定義了長期包裝的概念。

為了支持管理以這兩種不同方式包裝的密鑰,硬件必須實現以下接口:

  • 生成和導入存儲密鑰的接口,以長期包裝形式返回它們。這些接口通過KeyMint間接訪問,並且它們對應於TAG_STORAGE_KEY KeyMint標籤。 “生成”功能適用vold來產生由Android使用新的存儲密鑰,而“導入”功能適用vts_kernel_encryption_test導入測試鍵。
  • 將長期包裝的存儲密鑰轉換為臨時包裝的存儲密鑰的接口。這對應於convertStorageKeyToEphemeral KeyMint方法。該方法用於通過兩者voldvts_kernel_encryption_test以便解鎖的存儲。

密鑰包裝算法是一個實現細節,但它應該使用強大的 AEAD,例如帶有隨機 IV 的 AES-256-GCM。

需要更改軟件

AOSP 已經有一個支持硬件封裝密鑰的基本框架。這包括在用戶空間的組件,如支持vold ,以及在BLK-加密,fscryptDM-默認鍵的Linux內核支持。

但是,需要一些特定於實現的更改。

KeyMint 的變化

該器件的KeyMint實施必須進行修改,以支持TAG_STORAGE_KEY和實施convertStorageKeyToEphemeral方法。

在鑰匙大師, exportKey來代替convertStorageKeyToEphemeral

Linux內核更改

Linux內核驅動程序對設備的內嵌加密引擎必須進行修改,以一套BLK_CRYPTO_FEATURE_WRAPPED_KEYS ,使keyslot_program()keyslot_evict()操作支持編程/逐出硬件包裹的按鍵,並實現derive_raw_secret()操作。

測試

儘管使用硬件封裝的密鑰加密比使用標準密鑰加密更難測試,但仍然可以通過導入測試密鑰並重新實現硬件所做的密鑰派生來進行測試。這是在實施vts_kernel_encryption_test 。要運行此測試,請運行:

atest -v vts_kernel_encryption_test

閱讀測試日誌和驗證硬件包裹的關鍵測試案例(如FBEPolicyTest.TestAesInlineCryptOptimizedHwWrappedKeyPolicyDmDefaultKeyTest.TestHwWrappedKey )不跳過由於對被檢測而不是硬件包裹的按鍵支持,測試結果仍然會在“傳遞”那種情況。

啟用

一旦設備的硬件包裝的關鍵支撐工作正常,你可以進行以下修改設備的fstab文件,以讓Android使用它FBE和元數據加密:

  • FBE:添加wrappedkey_v0標誌的fileencryption參數。例如,使用fileencryption=::inlinecrypt_optimized+wrappedkey_v0 。有關詳細信息,請參閱FBE文檔
  • 元數據加密:在添加wrappedkey_v0標誌的metadata_encryption參數。例如,使用metadata_encryption=:wrappedkey_v0 。有關詳細信息,請參閱元數據加密文檔

Hardware-Wrapped Keys

Like most disk and file encryption software, Android's storage encryption traditionally relies on the raw encryption keys being present in system memory so that the encryption can be performed. Even when the encryption is performed by dedicated hardware rather than by software, software generally still needs to manage the raw encryption keys.

This traditionally isn't seen as a problem because the keys won't be present during an offline attack, which is the main type of attack that storage encryption is intended to protect against. However, there is a desire to provide increased protection against other types of attacks, such as cold boot attacks, and online attacks where an attacker might be able to leak system memory without fully compromising the device.

To solve this problem, Android 11 introduced support for hardware-wrapped keys, where hardware support is present. Hardware-wrapped keys are storage keys that are only known in raw form to dedicated hardware; software only sees and works with these keys in wrapped (encrypted) form. This hardware must be capable of generating and importing storage keys, wrapping storage keys in ephemeral and long-term forms, deriving subkeys, directly programming one subkey into an inline crypto engine, and returning a separate subkey to software.

Note: An inline crypto engine (or inline encryption hardware) refers to hardware that encrypts/decrypts data while it is on its way to/from the storage device. Usually this is a UFS or eMMC host controller that implements the crypto extensions defined by the corresponding JEDEC specification.

Design

This section presents the design of the hardware-wrapped keys feature, including what hardware support is required for it. This discussion focuses on file-based encryption (FBE), but the solution applies to metadata encryption too.

One way to avoid needing the raw encryption keys in system memory would be to keep them only in the keyslots of an inline crypto engine. However, this approach runs into some problems:

  • The number of encryption keys may exceed the number of keyslots.
  • Inline crypto engines can only be used to encrypt/decrypt full blocks of data on-disk. However, in the case of FBE, software still needs to be able to do other cryptographic work such as filenames encryption and deriving key identifiers. Software would still need access to the raw FBE keys in order to do this other work.

To avoid these problems, the storage keys are instead made into hardware-wrapped keys, which can only be unwrapped and used by dedicated hardware. This allows an unlimited number of keys to be supported. In addition, the key hierarchy is modified and partially moved to this hardware, which allows a subkey to be returned to software for tasks which cannot use an inline crypto engine.

Key hierarchy

Keys can be derived from other keys using a KDF (key derivation function) such as HKDF, resulting in a key hierarchy.

The following diagram depicts a typical key hierarchy for FBE when hardware-wrapped keys are not used:

FBE key hierarchy (standard)
Figure 1. FBE key hierarchy (standard)

The FBE class key is the raw encryption key which Android passes to the Linux kernel to unlock a particular set of encrypted directories, such as the credential-encrypted storage for a particular Android user. (In the kernel, this key is called an fscrypt master key.) From this key, the kernel derives the following subkeys:

  • The key identifier. This is not used for encryption, but rather is a value used to identify the key with which a particular file or directory is protected.
  • The file contents encryption key
  • The filenames encryption key

In contrast, the following diagram depicts the key hierarchy for FBE when hardware-wrapped keys are used:

FBE key hierarchy (with hardware-wrapped key)
Figure 2. FBE key hierarchy (with hardware-wrapped key)

Compared to the earlier case, an additional level has been added to the key hierarchy, and the file contents encryption key has been relocated. The root node still represents the key which Android passes to Linux to unlock a set of encrypted directories. However, now that key is in ephemerally-wrapped form, and in order to be used it must be passed to dedicated hardware. This hardware must implement two interfaces that take an ephemerally-wrapped key:

  • One interface to derive inline_encryption_key and directly program it into a keyslot of the inline crypto engine. This allows file contents to be encrypted/decrypted without software having access to the raw key. In the Android common kernels, this interface corresponds to the blk_ksm_ll_ops::keyslot_program operation, which must be implemented by the storage driver.
  • One interface to derive and return sw_secret ("software secret" -- also called the "raw secret" in some places), which is the key that Linux uses to derive the subkeys for everything other than file contents encryption. In the Android common kernels, this interface corresponds to the blk_ksm_ll_ops::derive_raw_secret operation, which must be implemented by the storage driver.

To derive inline_encryption_key and sw_secret from the raw storage key, the hardware must use a cryptographically strong KDF. This KDF must follow cryptography best practices; it must have a security strength of at least 256 bits, i.e. enough for any algorithm used later on. It also must use a distinct label, context, and/or application-specific information string when deriving each type of subkey in order to guarantee that the resulting subkeys are cryptographically isolated, i.e. knowledge of one of them doesn't reveal any other. Key stretching is not required, as the raw storage key is already a uniformly random key.

Technically, any KDF that meets the security requirements could be used. However, for testing purposes, it is necessary to re-implement the same KDF in test code. Currently, one KDF has been reviewed and implemented; it can be found in the source code for vts_kernel_encryption_test. It is recommended that hardware use this KDF, which uses NIST SP 800-108 "KDF in Counter Mode" with AES-256-CMAC as the PRF. Note that to be compatible, all parts of the algorithm must be identical, including the choice of KDF contexts and labels for each subkey.

Key wrapping

To meet the security goals of hardware-wrapped keys, two types of key wrapping are defined:

  • Ephemeral wrapping: the hardware encrypts the raw key using a key which is randomly generated at every boot and is not directly exposed outside the hardware.
  • Long-term wrapping: the hardware encrypts the raw key using a unique, persistent key built into the hardware which is not directly exposed outside the hardware.

All keys passed to the Linux kernel to unlock the storage are ephemerally-wrapped. This ensures that if an attacker is able to extract an in-use key from system memory, then that key will be unusable not only off-device, but also on-device after a reboot.

At the same time, Android still needs to be able to store an encrypted version of the keys on-disk so that they can be unlocked in the first place. The raw keys would work for this purpose. However, it is desirable to never have the raw keys be present in system memory at all so that they can never be extracted to be used off-device, even if extracted at boot time. For this reason, the concept of long-term wrapping is defined.

To support managing keys wrapped in these two different ways, the hardware must implement the following interfaces:

  • Interfaces to generate and import storage keys, returning them in long-term wrapped form. These interfaces are accessed indirectly through KeyMint, and they correspond to the TAG_STORAGE_KEY KeyMint tag. The "generate" ability is used by vold to generate new storage keys for use by Android, while the "import" ability is used by vts_kernel_encryption_test to import test keys.
  • An interface to convert a long-term wrapped storage key into an ephemerally-wrapped storage key. This corresponds to the convertStorageKeyToEphemeral KeyMint method. This method is used by both vold and vts_kernel_encryption_test in order to unlock the storage.

The key wrapping algorithm is an implementation detail, but it should use a strong AEAD such as AES-256-GCM with random IVs.

Software changes required

AOSP already has a basic framework for supporting hardware-wrapped keys. This includes the support in userspace components such as vold, as well as the Linux kernel support in blk-crypto, fscrypt and dm-default-key.

However, some implementation-specific changes are required.

KeyMint changes

The device's KeyMint implementation must be modified to support TAG_STORAGE_KEY and implement the convertStorageKeyToEphemeral method.

In Keymaster, exportKey was used instead of convertStorageKeyToEphemeral.

Linux kernel changes

The Linux kernel driver for the device's inline crypto engine must be modified to set BLK_CRYPTO_FEATURE_WRAPPED_KEYS, make the keyslot_program() and keyslot_evict() operations support programming/evicting hardware-wrapped keys, and implement the derive_raw_secret() operation.

Testing

Although encryption with hardware-wrapped keys is harder to test than encryption with standard keys, it is still possible to test by importing a test key and re-implementing the key derivation that the hardware does. This is implemented in vts_kernel_encryption_test. To run this test, run:

atest -v vts_kernel_encryption_test

Read the test log and verify that the hardware-wrapped key test cases (e.g. FBEPolicyTest.TestAesInlineCryptOptimizedHwWrappedKeyPolicy and DmDefaultKeyTest.TestHwWrappedKey) were not skipped due to support for hardware-wrapped keys not being detected, as the test results will still be "passed" in that case.

Enabling

Once the device's hardware-wrapped key support is working correctly, you can make the following changes to the device's fstab file to make Android use it for FBE and metadata encryption:

  • FBE: add the wrappedkey_v0 flag to the fileencryption parameter. For example, use fileencryption=::inlinecrypt_optimized+wrappedkey_v0. For more details, see the FBE documentation.
  • Metadata encryption: add the wrappedkey_v0 flag to the metadata_encryption parameter. For example, use metadata_encryption=:wrappedkey_v0. For more details, see the metadata encryption documentation.