功能

本页中包含与 Android 6.0 及更高版本中 Keystore 加密功能相关的信息。

注意:标记和功能以 Keymaster 3 样式进行编写。要了解详情,请参阅 HIDL 概览

加密基元

Keystore 能够提供以下类别的操作:

  • 生成密钥
  • 导入和导出不对称密钥(无密钥封装)
  • 导入原始对称密钥(无密钥封装)
  • 使用适当的填充模式进行不对称加密和解密
  • 使用摘要和适当的填充模式进行不对称签名和验证
  • 以适当模式(包括 AEAD 模式)进行对称加密和解密
  • 生成和验证对称消息验证码

生成或导入密钥时,系统会指定协议元素(例如,用途、模式和填充,以及访问控制限制),这些元素会永久绑定到相应密钥,以确保无法以任何其他方式使用相应密钥。

除了上面列出的操作外,Keymaster 实现还提供另外一项服务,即随机数生成服务,但该服务并不作为 API 进行提供。该服务仅供在内部使用,用于生成密钥、初始化矢量 (IV)、随机填充,以及其他需要具有随机性的安全协议元素。

必要基元

所有 Keymaster 实现都提供:

  • RSA
    • 支持 2048 位、3072 位和 4096 位密钥
    • 支持公开指数 F4 (2^16+1)
    • RSA 签名所需的填充模式:
      • RSASSA-PSS (PaddingMode::RSA_PSS)
      • RSASSA-PKCS1-v1_5 (PaddingMode::RSA_PKCS1_1_5_SIGN)
    • RSA 签名所需的摘要模式:
      • SHA-256
    • RSA 加密/解密所需的填充模式:
      • 无填充
      • RSAES-OAEP (PaddingMode::RSA_OAEP)
      • RSAES-PKCS1-v1_5 (PaddingMode::RSA_PKCS1_1_5_ENCRYPT)
  • ECDSA
    • 支持 224 位、256 位、384 位和 521 位密钥,分别使用 NIST P-224、P-256、P-384 和 P-521 曲线
    • ECDSA 所需的摘要模式:
      • 无摘要(已弃用,将于日后移除)
      • SHA-256
  • AES
    • 支持 128 位和 256 位密钥
    • CBC、CTR、ECB 和 GCM。GCM 实现不允许使用少于 96 位的标记,也不允许使用 96 位以外的随机数长度。
    • CBC 和 ECB 模式支持填充模式 PaddingMode::NONEPaddingMode::PKCS7。采用“无填充”时,如果输入的不是分块大小的倍数,CBC 或 ECB 模式的加密会失败。
  • HMAC SHA-256,其中任意密钥均不短于 32 个字节。

对于 Keymaster 实现,强烈建议提供 SHA1,以及 SHA2 系列的其他成员(SHA-224、SHA384 和 SHA512)。如果硬件 Keymaster 实现未提供这些内容,则 Keystore 会在软件中提供它们。

此外,为了实现与其他系统的互用性,还建议提供以下基元:

  • 适用于 RSA 的较小密钥大小
  • 适用于 RSA 的任意公开指数

密钥访问控制

如果攻击者可以随意使用在任何情况下都无法从设备获取的基于硬件的密钥,那么此类密钥将无法提供太多的安全性(尽管它们比可被窃取的密钥更安全)。因此,Keystore 强制执行访问控制至关重要。

访问控制指的是由“标记/值”对组成的“授权列表”。授权标记是 32 位整数,其值有多种类型。有些标记可以重复使用,以指定多个值。某个标记是否可重复使用是在关于该标记的文档中指定的。密钥创建好后,调用程序会指定一个授权列表。Keymaster 实现使用的底层 Keystore 会修改该列表,以指定一些额外的信息(例如,密钥是否有防回滚保护),并且会返回一个“最终”授权列表(编码到返回的密钥 Blob 中)。如果最终授权列表被修改了,那么任何尝试使用相应密钥进行任何加密操作的行为都会失败。

对于 Keymaster 2 及更早版本,枚举 keymaster_authorization_tag_t 中定义了一组可能的标记,这组标记永远保持不变(不过可进行扩展)。 这些标记的名称带有 KM_TAG 前缀。标记 ID 的前四位用于指明类型。

Keymaster 3 将 KM_TAG 前缀改为 Tag::

可能的类型包括:

ENUM:很多标记的值都是在枚举中定义的。例如,TAG::PURPOSE 的可能值是在枚举 keymaster_purpose_t 中定义的。

ENUM_REP:与 ENUM 相同,不过此标记可在授权列表中重复使用。重复使用此标记表明有多个已获授权的值。例如,加密密钥可能具有 KeyPurpose::ENCRYPTKeyPurpose::DECRYPT

UINT:32 位未签名整数。例如:TAG::KEY_SIZE

UINT_REP:与 UINT 相同,不过此标记可在授权列表中重复使用。重复使用此标记表明有多个已获授权的值。

ULONG:64 位未签名整数。例如:TAG::RSA_PUBLIC_EXPONENT

ULONG_REP:与 ULONG 相同,不过此标记可在授权列表中重复使用。重复使用此标记表明有多个已获授权的值。

DATE:日期/时间值,以距 1970 年 1 月 1 日的毫秒数表示。 例如:TAG::PRIVKEY_EXPIRE_DATETIME

BOOL:True 或 false。对于 BOOL 类型的标记,如果不存在则被视为“false”,如果存在则被视为“true”。例如:TAG::ROLLBACK_RESISTANT

BIGNUM:任意长度的整数,以字节数数组表示(采用大端字节存)。例如:TAG::RSA_PUBLIC_EXPONENT

BYTES:一系列字节数。例如:TAG::ROOT_OF_TRUST

硬件与软件强制执行

并非所有安全硬件实现都包含相同的功能。为了支持多种方法,Keymaster 会对安全域和非安全域访问控制强制执行(分别称为硬件强制执行和软件强制执行)加以区分。

所有实现:

  • 强制执行所有授权完全匹配(不是强制执行所有授权)。 密钥 Blob 中的授权列表与密钥生成期间返回的授权完全匹配(包括顺序)。如有任何不匹配,都会导致进行错误诊断。
  • 声明语义值会被强制执行的授权。

用于声明由硬件强制执行的授权的 API 机制位于 keymaster_key_characteristics_t 结构中。它将授权列表划分成两个子列表:hw_enforcedsw_enforced。安全硬件负责根据它可以强制执行的内容在每个子列表中放入适当的值。

此外,Keystore 会实现基于软件强制执行所有授权,无论它们是否由安全硬件强制执行。

让我们以一个不支持密钥过期日期且基于 TrustZone 的实现为例。实现仍可能会创建一个具有过期日期的密钥。该密钥的授权列表将包含具有过期日期的 TAG::ORIGINATION_EXPIRE_DATETIME 标记。向 Keystore 发出的密钥特性请求将会在 sw_enforced 列表中找到此标记,并且安全硬件不会强制执行过期日期要求。不过,如果尝试在过期日期之后使用该密钥,则会被 Keystore 拒绝。

如果设备随后进行了升级,采用了不支持过期日期的安全硬件,那么密钥特性请求将会在 hw_enforced 列表中找到 TAG::ORIGINATION_EXPIRE_DATETIME,并且即使以某种方式破坏或规避 Keystore,尝试在过期日期之后使用相应密钥也会失败。

要详细了解如何确定密钥是否受硬件支持,请参阅密钥认证

加密消息构建授权

以下标记用于定义使用关联密钥的操作的加密特性:TAG::ALGORITHMTAG::KEY_SIZETAG::BLOCK_MODETAG::PADDINGTAG::CALLER_NONCETAG::DIGEST

TAG::PADDINGTAG::DIGESTPaddingMode::BLOCK_MODE 可重复使用,这意味着可以将多个值与一个密钥相关联,并且要使用的值在操作时指定。

用途

密钥有一组关联的用途,这些用途以一个或多个带有 TAG::PURPOSE 标记(用于定义可以如何使用相应密钥)的授权条目表示。 这些用途是:

  • KeyPurpose::ENCRYPT
  • KeyPurpose::DECRYPT
  • KeyPurpose::SIGN
  • KeyPurpose::VERIFY

任意密钥都可以具有这些用途任意组合。请注意,有些组合会带来安全问题。例如,如果某个 RSA 密钥可用于加密和签名,那么能够诱使系统解密任意数据的攻击者就可以利用该密钥来生成签名。

导入和导出

Keymaster 仅支持以 X.509 格式导出公钥,并支持:

  • 以未采用密码加密的 DER 编码 PKCS#8 格式导入公钥和私钥对
  • 以原始字节形式导入对称密钥

为了确保导入的密钥可与安全生成的密钥区分开来,相应密钥授权列表中会包含 TAG::ORIGIN。例如,如果密钥是在安全硬件中生成的,hw_enforced 密钥特性列表中将有值为 KeyOrigin::GENERATEDTAG::ORIGIN;如果密钥是导入到安全硬件中的,值将为 KeyOrigin::IMPORTED

用户身份验证

安全的 Keymaster 实现不会实现用户身份验证,但会依赖于其他实现用户身份验证的可信应用。对于这些应用实现的接口,请参阅 Gatekeeper 页面

用户身份验证要求是通过两组标记指定的。第一组用于指明哪些用户可以使用相应密钥:

  • TAG::ALL_USERS 表示所有用户都可以使用相应密钥。如果该标记存在,则 TAG::USER_IDTAG::USER_SECURE_ID 不存在。
  • TAG::USER_ID 有一个数字值,用于指定已获授权用户的 ID。请注意,此值是 Android 用户 ID(适用于多用户环境)而非应用 UID,且仅由非安全软件强制执行。如果该标记存在,则 TAG::ALL_USERS 不存在。
  • TAG::USER_SECURE_ID 有一个 64 位数字值,用于指定安全用户 ID。要在安全身份验证令牌中提供该 ID,才能获得使用相应密钥的授权。在重复使用此标记的情况下,只要在安全身份验证令牌中提供了此标记的任何一个值,即可使用相应密钥。

第二组用于指明是否需要对用户进行身份验证以及何时进行验证。 如果不存在以下任一标记,但有 TAG::USER_SECURE_ID,则表示每次使用相应密钥时均需要经过身份验证。

  • NO_AUTHENTICATION_REQUIRED 表示无需进行任何用户身份验证,不过仍只有以通过 TAG::USER_ID 指定的用户身份运行的应用可以使用相应密钥。
  • TAG::AUTH_TIMEOUT 是一个数字值,用于指定用户身份验证需要多新(以秒数计)才能授权使用相应密钥。 此标记仅适用于私钥/密钥操作。公钥操作不需要进行身份验证。设备重新启动后超时将会失效;设备重新启动后,所有密钥的状态均为“从未经过身份验证”。可以将超时设为一个较大的值,以指明每次设备启动后只需进行一次身份验证(2^32 秒约为 136 年;Android 设备的重新启动时间间隔一般不会超过该值)。

客户端绑定

客户端绑定(即将密钥与特定客户端应用相关联)是通过一个可选客户端 ID 和一些可选客户端数据(分别是 TAG::APPLICATION_IDTAG::APPLICATION_DATA)实现的。Keystore 会将这些值视为不透明 Blob,仅用于确保密钥生成/导入期间存在的 Blob 在每次使用相应密钥时都存在,并且每个字节都完全相同。客户端绑定数据不是由 Keymaster 返回的。调用程序必须知道这些数据,才能使用相应密钥。

此功能未提供给应用。

过期日期

Keystore 支持按日期限制密钥的使用。可以将密钥有效期开始日期和过期日期同密钥相关联,这样一来,如果当前日期/时间不在有效期范围内,Keymaster 会拒绝执行密钥操作。密钥有效期范围是使用 TAG::ACTIVE_DATETIMETAG::ORIGINATION_EXPIRE_DATETIMETAG::USAGE_EXPIRE_DATETIME 标记指定的。“ORIGINATION”和“USAGE”之间的区别在于使用相应密钥是为了“生成”新的密文/签名/等,还是“使用”现有密文/签名/等。请注意,此区别未提供给应用。

TAG::ACTIVE_DATETIMETAG::ORIGINATION_EXPIRE_DATETIMETAG::USAGE_EXPIRE_DATETIME 标记是可选的。如果缺少这些标记,相应密钥会被视为可随时用于解密/验证消息。

由于挂钟时间是由非安全域提供的,因此与过期日期相关的标记不可能位于由硬件强制执行的列表中。如果由硬件强制执行过期日期,将需要安全域以某种方式获取可信时间和数据,例如通过具有可信远程时间服务器的质询响应协议。

信任根绑定

Keystore 要求将密钥绑定到一个信任根。信任根是在启动期间提供给 Keymaster 安全硬件的一个位串(最好由引导加载程序提供)。该位串会以加密形式绑定到由 Keymaster 管理的每个密钥。

信任根包含一个公钥,该公钥用于验证启动映像上的签名和设备的锁定状态。如果该公钥被更改了(以允许使用不同的系统映像),或锁定状态发生了变化,之前的系统创建的受 Keymaster 保护的所有密钥都无法再使用,除非之前的信任根已恢复并且通过相应密钥签名的系统已启动。这是为了确保由攻击者安装的操作系统无法使用 Keymaster 密钥,从而提高由软件强制执行的密钥访问控制所发挥的作用。

独立密钥

有些 Keymaster 安全硬件可以将密钥材料存储在内部并返回句柄(而非经过加密的密钥材料)。也可能会存在相应密钥在一些其他非安全域或安全域系统组件可用之前无法使用的其他情况。Keymaster HAL 允许调用程序通过 TAG::STANDALONE 标记请求将密钥设为“独立”密钥,这意味着,除了 Blob 和运行中的 Keymaster 系统之外,不需要任何其他资源。要想知道某个密钥是否为独立密钥,可以查看与该密钥关联的标记。目前只为此标记定义了两个值:

  • KeyBlobUsageRequirements::STANDALONE
  • KeyBlobUsageRequirements::REQUIRES_FILE_SYSTEM

此功能未提供给应用。

使用时间间隔

密钥创建好后,可以通过 TAG::MIN_SECONDS_BETWEEN_OPS 指定使用时间间隔上限。如果距离上次使用相应密钥执行操作的时间还没有超过 TAG::MIN_SECONDS_BETWEEN_OPS 秒,TrustZone 实现会拒绝再次使用相应密钥执行加密操作。

要实现使用时间间隔上限,一种非常简单的方法是创建一个用于存放密钥 ID 和上次使用时间戳的表格。该表格可能有大小限制,但能够容纳至少 16 个条目。如果该表格已被占满,并且没有任何可以更新或舍弃的条目,那么安全硬件实现会“安全失败”,最好是拒绝所有受密钥使用时间间隔限制的密钥操作,直到其中一个条目过期为止。可设为所有条目在设备重新启动时过期。

也可以通过 TAG::MAX_USES_PER_BOOT 将密钥限制为每次设备启动后最多使用 n 次。这也需要一个跟踪表格(能够容纳至少 4 个密钥),并且也能够安全失败。请注意,应用无法创建按设备启动限制使用次数的密钥。该功能不会在 Keystore 之外提供,而且仅用于系统操作。

此功能未提供给应用。

随机数生成器补种

由于安全硬件会生成随机数(在密钥材料中使用)和初始化矢量 (IV),而且硬件随机数生成器可能并非始终可信,因此 Keymaster HAL 会提供一个接口,以便客户端提供额外的熵(将与生成的随机数混合在一起)。

使用硬件随机数生成器作为主要种子来源。 通过外部 API 提供的种子数据不能是生成数字时所用随机数据的唯一来源。此外,如果有任何一个种子来源不可预测,则所使用的混合操作需要确保随机输出不可预测。

此功能未提供给应用,但可供框架使用。框架会定期为安全硬件提供从 Java SecureRandom 实例获取的其他熵。

Features

This page contains information about the cryptographic features of Keystore in Android 6.0 and above.

Note: Tags and functions are written in Keymaster 3 style. For more information, see the HIDL overview.

Cryptographic primitives

Keystore provides the following categories of operations:

  • Key generation
  • Import and export of asymmetric keys (no key wrapping)
  • Import of raw symmetric keys (no key wrapping)
  • Asymmetric encryption and decryption with appropriate padding modes
  • Asymmetric signing and verification with digesting and appropriate padding modes
  • Symmetric encryption and decryption in appropriate modes, including an AEAD mode
  • Generation and verification of symmetric message authentication codes

Protocol elements, such as purpose, mode and padding, as well as access control constraints, are specified when keys are generated or imported and are permanently bound to the key, ensuring the key cannot be used in any other way.

In addition to the list above, there is one more service that Keymaster implementations provide, but which is not exposed as an API: Random number generation. This is used internally for generation of keys, Initialization Vectors (IVs), random padding and other elements of secure protocols that require randomness.

Necessary primitives

All Keymaster implementations provide:

  • RSA
    • 2048, 3072, and 4096-bit key support
    • Support for public exponent F4 (2^16+1)
    • Padding modes for RSA signing:
      • RSASSA-PSS (PaddingMode::RSA_PSS)
      • RSASSA-PKCS1-v1_5 (PaddingMode::RSA_PKCS1_1_5_SIGN)
    • Digest modes for RSA signing:
      • SHA-256
    • Padding modes for RSA encryption/decryption:
      • Unpadded
      • RSAES-OAEP (PaddingMode::RSA_OAEP)
      • RSAES-PKCS1-v1_5 (PaddingMode::RSA_PKCS1_1_5_ENCRYPT)
  • ECDSA
    • 224, 256, 384, and 521-bit key support are supported, using the NIST P-224, P-256, P-384, and P-521 curves, respectively
    • Digest modes for ECDSA:
      • No digest (deprecated, will be removed in the future)
      • SHA-256
  • AES
    • 128 and 256-bit keys are supported
    • CBC, CTR, ECB, and GCM. The GCM implementation does not allow the use of tags smaller than 96 bits or nonce lengths other than 96 bits.
    • Padding modes PaddingMode::NONE and PaddingMode::PKCS7 is supported for CBC and ECB modes. With no padding, CBC or ECB mode encryption fails if the input isn't a multiple of the block size.
  • HMAC SHA-256, with any key size up to at least 32 bytes.

SHA1 and the other members of the SHA2 family (SHA-224, SHA384 and SHA512) are strongly recommended for Keymaster implementations. Keystore provides them in software if the hardware Keymaster implementation doesn't provide them.

Some primitives are also recommended for interoperability with other systems:

  • Smaller key sizes for RSA
  • Arbitrary public exponents for RSA

Key access control

Hardware-based keys that can never be extracted from the device don't provide much security if an attacker can use them at will (though they're more secure than keys which can be exfiltrated). Thus, it's crucial that Keystore enforce access controls.

Access controls are defined as an "authorization list" of tag/value pairs. Authorization tags are 32-bit integers and the values are a variety of types. Some tags may be repeated to specify multiple values. Whether a tag may be repeated is specified in the documentation for the tag. When a key is created, the caller specifies an authorization list. The Keymaster implementation underlying Keystore modifies the list to specify some additional information, such as whether the key has rollback protection, and return a "final" authorization list, encoded into the returned key blob. Any attempt to use the key for any cryptographic operation fails if the final authorization list is modified.

For Keymaster 2 and earlier, the set of possible tags is defined in the enumeration keymaster_authorization_tag_t and is permanently fixed (though it can be extended). Names were prefixed with KM_TAG. The top four bits of tag IDs are used to indicate the type.

Keymaster 3 changed the KM_TAG prefix to Tag::.

Possible types include:

ENUM: Many tags' values are defined in enumerations. For example, the possible values of TAG::PURPOSE are defined in enum keymaster_purpose_t.

ENUM_REP: Same as ENUM, except that the tag may be repeated in an authorization list. Repetition indicates multiple authorized values. For example, an encryption key likely has KeyPurpose::ENCRYPT and KeyPurpose::DECRYPT.

UINT: 32-bit unsigned integers. Example: TAG::KEY_SIZE

UINT_REP: Same as UINT, except that the tag may be repeated in an authorization list. Repetition indicates multiple authorized values.

ULONG: 64-bit unsigned integers. Example: TAG::RSA_PUBLIC_EXPONENT

ULONG_REP: Same as ULONG, except that the tag may be repeated in an authorization list. Repetition indicates multiple authorized values.

DATE: Date/time values, expressed as milliseconds since January 1, 1970. Example: TAG::PRIVKEY_EXPIRE_DATETIME

BOOL: True or false. A tag of type BOOL is assumed to be "false" if the tag is not present and "true" if present. Example: TAG::ROLLBACK_RESISTANT

BIGNUM: Arbitrary-length integers, expressed as a byte array in big-endian order. Example: TAG::RSA_PUBLIC_EXPONENT

BYTES: A sequence of bytes. Example: TAG::ROOT_OF_TRUST

Hardware vs. software enforcement

Not all secure hardware implementations contain the same features. To support a variety of approaches, Keymaster distinguishes between secure and non-secure world access control enforcement, or hardware and software enforcement, respectively.

All implementations:

  • Enforce exact matching (not enforcement) of all authorizations. Authorization lists in key blobs exactly match the authorizations returned during key generation, including ordering. Any mismatch causes an error diagnostic.
  • Declare the authorizations whose semantic values are enforced.

The API mechanism for declaring hardware-enforced authorizations is in the keymaster_key_characteristics_t structure. It divides the authorization list into two sub-lists, hw_enforced and sw_enforced. The secure hardware is responsible for placing the appropriate values in each, based on what it can enforce.

In addition, Keystore implements software-based enforcement of all authorizations, whether they're enforced by the secure hardware or not.

For example, consider a TrustZone-based implementation that does not support key expiration. A key with an expiration date may still be created. That key's authorization list will include the tag TAG::ORIGINATION_EXPIRE_DATETIME with the expiration date. A request to Keystore for the key characteristics will find this tag in the sw_enforced list and the secure hardware will not enforce the expiration requirement. However, attempts to use the key after expiration will be rejected by Keystore.

If the device is then upgraded with secure hardware that does support expiration, then a request for key characteristics will find TAG::ORIGINATION_EXPIRE_DATETIME in the hw_enforced list, and attempts to use the key after expiration will fail even if the keystore is somehow subverted or bypassed.

For more information about determining whether keys are hardware-backed, see Key attestation.

Cryptographic message construction authorizations

The following tags are used to define the cryptographic characteristics of operations using the associated key: TAG::ALGORITHM, TAG::KEY_SIZE, TAG::BLOCK_MODE, TAG::PADDING, TAG::CALLER_NONCE, and TAG::DIGEST

TAG::PADDING, TAG::DIGEST, and PaddingMode::BLOCK_MODE are repeatable, meaning that multiple values may be associated with a single key, and the value to be used is specified at operation time.

Purpose

Keys have an associated set of purposes, expressed as one or more authorization entries with tag TAG::PURPOSE, which defines how they can be used. The purposes are:

  • KeyPurpose::ENCRYPT
  • KeyPurpose::DECRYPT
  • KeyPurpose::SIGN
  • KeyPurpose::VERIFY

Any key can have any subset of these purposes. Note that some combinations create security problems. For example, an RSA key that can be used to both encrypt and to sign allows an attacker who can convince the system to decrypt arbitrary data to generate signatures.

Import and export

Keymaster supports export of public keys only, in X.509 format, and import of:

  • Public and private key pairs in DER-encoded PKCS#8 format, without password-based encryption, and
  • Symmetric keys as raw bytes

To ensure that imported keys can be distinguished from securely-generated keys, TAG::ORIGIN is included in the appropriate key authorization list. For example, if a key was generated in secure hardware, TAG::ORIGIN with value KeyOrigin::GENERATED will be found in the hw_enforced list of the key characteristics, while a key that was imported into secure hardware will have the value KeyOrigin::IMPORTED.

User authentication

Secure Keymaster implementations do not implement user authentication, but depend on other trusted apps which do. For the interface that these apps implement, see the Gatekeeper page.

User authentication requirements are specified via two sets of tags. The first set indicate which user can use the key:

  • TAG::ALL_USERS indicates the key is usable by all users. If present, TAG::USER_ID and TAG::USER_SECURE_ID is not present.
  • TAG::USER_ID has a numeric value specifying the ID of the authorized user. Note that this is the Android user ID (for multi-user), not the application UID, and it is enforced by non-secure software only. If present, TAG::ALL_USERS is not present.
  • TAG::USER_SECURE_ID has a 64-bit numeric value specifying the secure user ID that is provided in a secure authentication token to unlock use of the key. If repeated, the key may be used if any of the values is provided in a secure authentication token.

The second set indicates whether and when the user needs to be authenticated. If neither of these tags is present, but TAG::USER_SECURE_ID is, authentication is required for every use of the key.

  • NO_AUTHENTICATION_REQUIRED indicates no user authentication is required, though the key still may only be used by apps running as the user(s) specified by TAG::USER_ID.
  • TAG::AUTH_TIMEOUT is a numeric value specifying, in seconds, how fresh the user authentication needs to be to authorize key usage. This applies only to private/secret key operations. Public key operations don't require authentication. Timeouts do not cross reboots; after a reboot, all keys are "never authenticated." The timeout may be set to a large value to indicate that authentication is required once per boot (2^32 seconds is ~136 years; presumably Android devices are rebooted more often than that).

Client binding

Client binding, the association of a key with a particular client application, is done via an optional client ID and some optional client data (TAG::APPLICATION_ID and TAG::APPLICATION_DATA, respectively). Keystore treats these values as opaque blobs, only ensuring that the same blobs presented during key generation/import are presented for every use and are byte-for-byte identical. The client binding data is not returned by Keymaster. The caller has to know it in order to use the key.

This feature is not exposed to applications.

Expiration

Keystore supports restricting key usage by date. Key start of validity and key expirations can be associated with a key and Keymaster refuses to perform key operations if the current date/time is outside of the valid range. The key validity range is specified with the tags TAG::ACTIVE_DATETIME, TAG::ORIGINATION_EXPIRE_DATETIME, and TAG::USAGE_EXPIRE_DATETIME. The distinction between "origination" and "usage" is based on whether the key is being used to "originate" a new ciphertext/signature/etc., or to "use" an existing ciphertext/signature/etc. Note that this distinction is not exposed to applications.

The TAG::ACTIVE_DATETIME, TAG::ORIGINATION_EXPIRE_DATETIME, and TAG::USAGE_EXPIRE_DATETIME tags are optional. If the tags are absent, it is assumed that the key in question can always be used to decrypt/verify messages.

Because wall-clock time is provided by the non-secure world, it's unlikely that the expiration-related tags will be in the hardware-enforced list. Hardware enforcement of expiry would require that the secure world somehow obtain trusted time and data, for example via a challenge response protocol with a trusted remote timeserver.

Root of trust binding

Keystore requires keys to be bound to a root of trust, which is a bitstring provided to the Keymaster secure hardware during startup, preferably by the bootloader. This bitstring is cryptographically bound to every key managed by Keymaster.

The root of trust consists of the public key used to verify the signature on the boot image and the lock state of the device. If the public key is changed to allow a different system image to be used or if the lock state is changed, then none of the Keymaster-protected keys created by the previous system are usable, unless the previous root of trust is restored and a system that is signed by that key is booted. The goal is to increase the value of the software-enforced key access controls by making it impossible for an attacker-installed operating system to use Keymaster keys.

Standalone keys

Some Keymaster secure hardware may choose to store key material internally and return handles rather than encrypted key material. Or there may be other cases in which keys cannot be used until some other non-secure or secure world system component is available. The Keymaster HAL allows the caller to request that a key be "standalone," via the TAG::STANDALONE tag, meaning that no resources other than the blob and the running Keymaster system are required. The tags associated with a key may be inspected to see whether a key is standalone. At present, only two values are defined:

  • KeyBlobUsageRequirements::STANDALONE
  • KeyBlobUsageRequirements::REQUIRES_FILE_SYSTEM

This feature is not exposed to applications.

Velocity

When it's created, the maximum usage velocity can be specified with TAG::MIN_SECONDS_BETWEEN_OPS. TrustZone implementations refuse to perform cryptographic operations with that key if an operation was performed less than TAG::MIN_SECONDS_BETWEEN_OPS seconds earlier.

The simple approach to implementing velocity limits is a table of key IDs and last-use timestamps. This table will likely be of limited size, but accommodates at least 16 entries. In the event that the table is full and no entries may be updated or discarded, secure hardware implementations "fail safe," preferring to refuse all velocity-limited key operations until one of the entries expires. It is acceptable for all entries to expire upon reboot.

Keys can also be limited to n uses per boot with TAG::MAX_USES_PER_BOOT. This also requires a tracking table, which accommodates at least four keys and also fails safe. Note that applications will be unable to create per-boot limited keys. This feature is not exposed through Keystore and is reserved for system operations.

This feature is not exposed to applications.

Random number generator re-seeding

Because secure hardware generates random numbers for key material and Initialization Vectors (IVs), and because hardware random number generators may not always be fully trustworthy, the Keymaster HAL provides an interface to allow the client to provide additional entropy which will be mixed into the random numbers generated.

Use a hardware random-number generator as the primary seed source. The seed data provided through the external API can't be the sole source of randomness used for number generation. Further, the mixing operation used needs to ensure that the random output is unpredictable if any one of the seed sources is unpredictable.

This feature is not exposed to applications but is used by the framework, which regularly provides additional entropy, retrieved from a Java SecureRandom instance, to the secure hardware.