版本绑定

在 Keymaster 1 中,所有 Keymaster 密钥都以加密形式绑定至设备的信任根或验证启动密钥。在 Keymaster 2 和 3 中,所有密钥也绑定至系统映像的操作系统和补丁程序级别。这样可确保在旧版系统或 TEE 软件中发现漏洞的攻击者无法将设备回滚到含有漏洞的版本,也无法使用在较新版本中创建的密钥。此外,在已经升级到更新的版本或补丁程序级别的设备上使用指定版本和补丁程序级别的密钥时,需要先升级该密钥才能使用,因为该密钥的旧版本已失效。这样一来,当设备升级时,密钥会随着设备一起“升级”,但是将设备恢复到任何一个旧版本都会导致密钥无法使用。

为了支持 Treble 的模块化结构并终止 system.img 到 boot.img 的绑定,Keymaster 4 将密钥版本绑定模式更改为每个分区都具有单独的补丁程序级别。这就让每个分区都可以独立更新,同时仍可提供回滚保护。

在 Android 9 中,boot 分区、system 分区和 vendor 分区都拥有自己的补丁程序级别。

  • 包含 Android 验证启动 (AVB) 的设备可以将所有补丁程序级别和系统版本放在 vbmeta 中,因此引导加载程序能够将这些内容提供给 Keymaster。对于链接的分区,相应分区的版本信息位于链接的 vbmeta 中。通常,版本信息应位于包含指定分区的验证数据(哈希或哈希树)的 vbmeta 结构中。
  • 在没有 AVB 的设备上:
    • 验证启动实现需要将版本元数据的哈希提供给引导加载程序,以便引导加载程序能够将其提供给 Keymaster。
    • boot.img 可以继续在标头中存储补丁程序级别。
    • system.img 可以继续在只读属性中存储补丁程序级别和操作系统版本。
    • vendor.img 在只读属性 ro.vendor.build.version.security_patch 中存储补丁程序级别。
    • 引导加载程序可以将验证启动验证过的所有数据的哈希提供给 Keymaster。
  • 在 Android 9 中,使用以下标记提供对应分区的版本信息:
    • VENDOR_PATCH_LEVELvendor 分区
    • BOOT_PATCH_LEVELboot 分区
    • OS_PATCH_LEVELOS_VERSIONsystem 分区(OS_VERSION 已从 boot.img 标头中移除)。
  • Keymaster 实现应单独处理所有补丁程序级别。如果所有版本信息都与某个密钥的相关值相匹配,则密钥可用;如果需要,IKeymaster::upgradeDevice() 可滚动到更高的补丁程序级别。

HAL 变更

为了支持版本绑定和版本认证,Android 7.1 添加了 Tag::OS_VERSIONTag::OS_PATCHLEVEL 标记以及 configureupgradeKey 方法。版本标记由 Keymaster 2 及更高版本的实现自动添加到所有新生成的(或更新后的)密钥。此外,如果尝试使用的密钥所具有的操作系统版本或补丁程序级别与当前系统的操作系统版本或补丁程序级别不匹配,操作会被拒绝并显示 ErrorCode::KEY_REQUIRES_UPGRADE

Tag::OS_VERSION 是一个 UINT,它以 MMmmss 格式表示 Android 系统版本的主要、次要和子次要部分,其中 MM 表示主要版本,mm 表示次要版本,ss 表示子次要版本。例如,6.1.2 将表示为 060102。

Tag::OS_PATCHLEVEL 是一个 UINT,它以 YYYYMM 格式表示系统上次更新的年份和月份,其中 YYYY 表示四位数的年份,MM 表示两位数的月份。例如,2016 年 3 月将表示为 201603。

UpgradeKey

为了使密钥升级到系统映像的新操作系统版本和补丁程序级别,Android 7.1 向 HAL 添加了 upgradeKey 方法:

Keymaster 3

    upgradeKey(vec keyBlobToUpgrade, vec upgradeParams)
        generates(ErrorCode error, vec upgradedKeyBlob);

Keymaster 2

keymaster_error_t (*upgrade_key)(const struct keymaster2_device* dev,
    const keymaster_key_blob_t* key_to_upgrade,
    const keymaster_key_param_set_t* upgrade_params,
    keymaster_key_blob_t* upgraded_key);
  • dev 是设备结构
  • keyBlobToUpgrade 是需要进行升级的密钥
  • upgradeParams 是升级密钥所需的参数。这将包括 Tag::APPLICATION_IDTag::APPLICATION_DATA,如果在密钥生成期间提供了这两个参数,则它们是解密密钥 Blob 所必需的参数。
  • upgradedKeyBlob 是输出参数,用于返回新的密钥 Blob。

如果使用无法解析或无效的密钥 Blob 调用 upgradeKey,则会返回 ErrorCode::INVALID_KEY_BLOB。如果使用补丁程序级别高于当前系统的补丁程序级别的密钥调用该方法,则会返回 ErrorCode::INVALID_ARGUMENT。如果使用操作系统版本高于当前系统的操作系统版本(当前系统的操作系统版本为非零值)的密钥调用该方法,则会返回 ErrorCode::INVALID_ARGUMENT。允许操作系统版本从非零升级为零。如果在与安全域进行通信时发生错误,该方法会返回相应的错误值(例如 ErrorCode::SECURE_HW_ACCESS_DENIEDErrorCode::SECURE_HW_BUSY 等)。在其他情况下,它会返回 ErrorCode::OK 并在 upgradedKeyBlob 中返回一个新的密钥 Blob。

keyBlobToUpgrade 在调用 upgradeKey 后仍然有效,理论上,如果设备降级,还可以再次使用。但在实际操作中,Keystore 通常在调用 upgradeKey 后很快就会对 keyBlobToUpgrade Blob 调用 deleteKey。如果 keyBlobToUpgrade 具有 Tag::ROLLBACK_RESISTANT 标记,则 upgradedKeyBlob 也应该包含该标记(并且应该可抗回滚)。

安全配置

注意:Keymaster 3 移除了 Keymaster 2 方法 configure。之前通过 configure 提供给 Keymaster HAL 的信息已在系统属性文件中提供,制造商实现会在启动期间读取这些文件。

要实现版本绑定,Keymaster TA 需要以一种方式安全接收当前的操作系统版本和补丁程序级别(版本信息),并确保所接收的信息与运行系统的相关信息严格匹配。

为了确保将版本信息安全传递到 TA,启动映像标头中添加了 os_version field。启动映像构建脚本会自动填充此字段。原始设备制造商 (OEM) 和 Keymaster TA 实现人员需要相互协作来修改设备引导加载程序,以便从启动映像中提取版本信息,并在非安全系统启动之前将其传递到 TA。这样可确保攻击者无法干扰向 TA 提供版本信息。

此外,您还需要确保系统映像与启动映像具有相同的版本信息。为此,Keymaster HAL 中添加了 configure 方法:

keymaster_error_t (*configure)(const struct keymaster2_device* dev,
	const keymaster_key_param_set_t* params);

params 参数包含 Tag::OS_VERSIONTag::OS_PATCHLEVEL。Keymaster2 客户端会在打开 HAL 之后、调用任何其他方法之前调用此方法。如果在调用 configure 之前调用了任何其他方法,TA 会返回 ErrorCode::KEYMASTER_NOT_CONFIGURED

在设备启动后首次调用 configure 时,该方法应该验证所提供的版本信息是否与引导加载程序提供的版本信息一致。如果版本信息不一致,则 configure 会返回 ErrorCode::INVALID_ARGUMENT,所有其他 Keymaster 方法会继续返回 ErrorCode::KEYMASTER_NOT_CONFIGURED。如果信息一致,configure 会返回 ErrorCode::OK,其他 Keymaster 方法开始正常运行。

configure 的后续调用与首次调用返回的值相同,而且不会更改 Keymaster 的状态。请注意,此过程会要求所有 OTA 同时更新系统映像和启动映像;为了使版本信息保持同步,不能单独更新这两种映像。

由于将调用 configure 的系统的内容需要经过验证,攻击者可利用这一短暂的窗口期机会来破坏系统映像,并强制其提供与启动映像一致的版本信息,但这并不是系统的真实版本信息。不过,对启动映像的验证、对系统映像内容的 dm-verity 验证以及在系统启动早期调用 configure 这三项相结合,会让攻击者很难利用这个机会。

Version Binding

In Keymaster 1, all keymaster keys were cryptographically bound to the device Root of Trust, or the verified boot key. In Keymaster 2 and above, all keys are also bound to the operating system and patch level of the system image. This ensures that an attacker who discovers a weakness in an old version of system or TEE software cannot roll a device back to the vulnerable version and use keys created with the newer version. In addition, when a key with a given version and patch level is used on a device that has been upgraded to a newer version or patch level, the key is upgraded before it can be used, and the previous version of the key invalidated. In this way, as the device is upgraded, the keys will "ratchet" forward along with the device, but any reversion of the device to a previous release will cause the keys to be unusable.

HAL Changes

To support version binding and version attestation, Android 7.1 added the tags Tag::OS_VERSION and Tag::OS_PATCHLEVEL and the methods configure and upgradeKey. The version tags are automatically added by Keymaster 2+ implementations to all newly-generated (or updated) keys. Further, any attempt to use a key that does not have an OS version or patch level matching the current system OS version or patch level, respectively, is rejected with ErrorCode::KEY_REQUIRES_UPGRADE.

Tag::OS_VERSION is a UINT that represents the major, minor, and sub-minor portions of an Android system version as MMmmss, where MM is the major version, mm is the minor version and ss is the sub-minor version. For example 6.1.2 would be represented as 060102.

Tag::OS_PATCHLEVEL is a UINT that represents the year and month of the last update to the system as YYYYMM, where YYYY is the four-digit year and MM is the two-digit month. For example, March 2016 would be represented as 201603.

UpgradeKey

To allow keys to be upgraded to the new OS version and patch level of the system image, Android 7.1 added the upgradeKey method to the HAL:

Keymaster 3

    upgradeKey(vec keyBlobToUpgrade, vec upgradeParams)
        generates(ErrorCode error, vec upgradedKeyBlob);

Keymaster 2

keymaster_error_t (*upgrade_key)(const struct keymaster2_device* dev,
    const keymaster_key_blob_t* key_to_upgrade,
    const keymaster_key_param_set_t* upgrade_params,
    keymaster_key_blob_t* upgraded_key);
  • dev is the device structure
  • keyBlobToUpgrade is the key which needs to be upgraded
  • upgradeParams are parameters needed to upgrade the key. These will include Tag::APPLICATION_ID and Tag::APPLICATION_DATA, which are necessary to decrypt the key blob, if they were provided during generation.
  • upgradedKeyBlob is the output parameter, used to return the new key blob.

If upgradeKey is called with a key blob that cannot be parsed or is otherwise invalid, it returns ErrorCode::INVALID_KEY_BLOB. If it is called with a key whose patch level is greater than the current system value, it returns ErrorCode::INVALID_ARGUMENT. If it is called with a key whose OS version is greater than the current system value, and the system value is non-zero, it returns ErrorCode::INVALID_ARGUMENT. OS version upgrades from non-zero to zero are allowed. In the event of errors communicating with the secure world, it returns an appropriate error value (e.g. ErrorCode::SECURE_HW_ACCESS_DENIED, ErrorCode::SECURE_HW_BUSY, etc.) Otherwise, it returns ErrorCode::OK and returns a new key blob in upgradedKeyBlob.

keyBlobToUpgrade remains valid after the upgradeKey call, and could theoretically be used again if the device were downgraded. In practice, keystore generally calls deleteKey on the keyBlobToUpgrade blob shortly after the call to upgradeKey. If keyBlobToUpgrade had tag Tag::ROLLBACK_RESISTANT, then upgradedKeyBlob should have it as well (and should be rollback resistant).

Secure configuration

Note: Keymaster 3 removed the Keymaster 2 method configure. The information previously provided to Keymaster HALs through configure is available in system properties files, and manufacturer implementations read those files during startup.

To implement version binding, the keymaster TA needs a way to securely receive the current OS version and patch level (version information), and to ensure that the information it receives strongly matches the information about the running system.

To support secure delivery of version information to the TA, an os_version field has been added to the boot image header. The boot image build script automatically populates this field. OEMs and keymaster TA implementers need to work together to modify device bootloaders to extract the version information from the boot image and pass it to the TA before the non-secure system is booted. This ensures that attackers cannot interfere with provisioning of version information to the TA.

It is also necessary to ensure that the system image has the same version information as the boot image. To that end, the configure method has been added to the keymaster HAL:

keymaster_error_t (*configure)(const struct keymaster2_device* dev,
	const keymaster_key_param_set_t* params);

The params argument contains Tag::OS_VERSION and Tag::OS_PATCHLEVEL. This method is called by keymaster2 clients after opening the HAL, but before calling any other methods. If any other method is called before configure, the TA returns ErrorCode::KEYMASTER_NOT_CONFIGURED.

The first time configure is called after the device boots, it should verify that the version information provided matches what was provided by the bootloader. If the version information does not match, configure returns ErrorCode::INVALID_ARGUMENT, and all other keymaster methods continue returning ErrorCode::KEYMASTER_NOT_CONFIGURED. If the information matches, configure returns ErrorCode::OK, and other keymaster methods begin functioning normally.

Subsequent calls to configure return the same value returned by the first call, and do not change the state of keymaster. Note that this process will REQUIRErequire that all OTAs update both system and boot images; they can't be updated separately in order to keep the version information in sync.

Because configure will be called by the system whose contents it is intended to validate, there is a narrow window of opportunity for an attacker to compromise the system image and force it to provide version information that matches the boot image, but which is not the actual version of the system. The combination of boot image verification, dm-verity validation of the system image contents, and the fact that configure is called very early in the system boot should make this window of opportunity difficult to exploit.