系统和内核安全

在操作系统级别,Android 平台不仅提供 Linux 内核的安全功能,而且还提供安全的进程间通信 (IPC) 机制,以便在不同进程中运行的应用之间安全通信。操作系统级别的这些安全功能旨在确保即使是本机代码也要受应用沙盒的限制。无论相应代码是自带应用行为导致的结果,还是利用应用漏洞导致的结果,系统都能防止恶意应用危害其他应用、Android 系统或设备本身。要了解您可以采取哪些措施来增强设备上的内核,请参阅内核配置。要了解必需的设置,请参阅 Android 兼容性定义文档 (CDD)

Linux 安全

Android 平台的基础是 Linux 内核。Linux 内核多年来一直应用得非常广泛,并且用在了数百万种安全敏感型环境中。在历经数以千计的开发者不断研究、攻击和修复之后,Linux 已成为许多公司和安全专业人士信任的一款既稳定又安全的内核。

作为移动计算环境的基础,Linux 内核为 Android 提供了一些关键的安全功能,其中包括:

  • 基于用户的权限模式
  • 进程隔离
  • 用于实现安全 IPC 的可扩展机制
  • 能够移除内核中不必要的和可能不安全的部分

作为多用户操作系统,Linux 内核的一个基本安全目标是将用户资源彼此隔离开来。Linux 的安全理念是防范用户资源之间相互侵扰。因此,Linux 可以:

  • 防止用户 A 读取用户 B 的文件
  • 确保用户 A 不会占用用户 B 的内存
  • 确保用户 A 不会占用用户 B 的 CPU 资源
  • 确保用户 A 不会占用用户 B 的设备(例如,电话、GPS、蓝牙)

应用沙盒

Android 平台利用基于用户的 Linux 保护机制来识别和隔离应用资源。Android 系统会为每个 Android 应用分配一个独一无二的用户 ID (UID),并使它们以这个用户身份在单独的进程中运行。这种方法与其他操作系统(包括传统的 Linux 配置)采用的方法不同。在其他操作系统中,多个应用会以相同的用户权限运行。

这样就设置了一个内核级应用沙盒。内核会在进程级别通过标准的 Linux 内容(例如,分配给应用的用户 ID 和组 ID)强制执行应用和系统之间的安全功能。默认情况下,应用不能彼此交互,而且应用对操作系统的访问权限会受到限制。如果应用 A(一个单独的应用)尝试执行恶意操作,例如在没有权限的情况下读取应用 B 的数据或拨打电话,操作系统会阻止此类操作,因为应用 A 没有适当的用户权限。沙盒非常简单,可审核,并且基于已有数十年历史的 UNIX 风格的进程用户隔离和文件权限机制。

由于应用沙盒位于内核中,因此该安全模型的保护范围扩展到了本机代码和操作系统应用。位于内核上方的所有软件(例如,操作系统库、应用框架、应用运行时和所有应用)都会在应用沙盒中运行。在某些平台上,为了强制执行安全功能,会限制开发者只能使用特定的开发框架、API 组或语言。在 Android 上,并没有限制必须如何编写应用才能强制执行安全功能;在这一方面,本机代码与直译码一样安全。

在某些操作系统中,一个应用中的内存损坏错误可能会导致位于同一内存空间中的其他应用出现损坏,进而导致设备的安全性完全遭到破坏。由于所有应用及其资源都在操作系统级别的沙盒内,因此,如果出现内存损坏错误,将只有在相应应用的环境中才能发生任意执行代码的行为,而且只能是以操作系统确立的权限执行代码。

与所有安全功能一样,应用沙盒并不是坚不可摧的。不过,要在经过适当配置的设备上攻破应用沙盒这道防线,必须要先攻破 Linux 内核的安全功能。

系统分区和安全模式

系统分区包含 Android 的内核,以及操作系统库、应用运行时、应用框架和应用。该分区设为了只读分区。当用户将设备启动到安全模式时,第三方应用可由设备所有者手动启动,但不会默认启动。

文件系统权限

在 UNIX 风格的环境中,文件系统权限可确保一个用户不能更改或读取另一个用户的文件。在 Android 中,每个应用都以自己的用户身份运行。除非开发者明确地与其他应用共享文件,否则一个应用不能读取或更改另一个应用创建的文件。

安全增强型 Linux

Android 使用安全增强型 Linux (SELinux) 来应用访问控制策略并对进程建立强制访问控制 (mac)。如需详细信息,请参阅 Android 中的安全增强型 Linux

验证启动

Android 6.0 及更高版本支持验证启动功能和 device-mapper-verity。验证启动功能旨在保证设备软件(从硬件信任根直到系统分区)的完整性。在启动过程中,无论是在每个阶段,都会在进入下一个阶段之前先验证下一个阶段的完整性和真实性。

Android 7.0 及更高版本支持严格强制执行的验证启动,这意味着遭到入侵的设备将无法启动。

如需更多详细信息,请参阅验证启动

加密

Android 提供了一套加密 API 供应用使用,其中包括标准和常用加密基元(例如,AES、RSA、DSA 和 SHA)的实现 API。此外,Android 还提供了适用于更高级别协议(例如,SSL 和 HTTPS)的 API。

Android 4.0 中引入了 KeyChain 类,以便应用使用系统凭据存储空间来存储私钥和证书链。

获取设备的 Root 权限

默认情况下,在 Android 上,只有内核和一小部分核心应用能够以 Root 权限运行。Android 不会阻止具有 Root 权限的用户或应用修改操作系统、内核或任何其他应用。一般来说,Root 对所有应用和所有应用数据拥有完整访问权限。如果用户在 Android 设备上更改权限来向应用授予 Root 访问权限,则会使遭受恶意应用攻击以及遭受潜在应用缺陷侵扰的安全风险增加。

能够修改自己的 Android 设备对于使用 Android 平台的开发者来说非常重要。在许多 Android 设备上,用户都可以解锁引导加载程序,以便安装替代操作系统。这些替代操作系统可能会允许所有者获得 Root 访问权限,以便他们调试应用和系统组件,或者访问 Android API 未提供给应用的功能。

在有些设备上,能够亲手控制设备并拥有 USB 数据线的用户可以安装能够向其提供 Root 权限的新操作系统。为了保护所有现有用户数据免遭入侵,引导加载程序解锁机制要求引导加载程序在解锁期间清空所有现有用户数据。利用内核错误或安全漏洞获得 Root 访问权限后,可以绕过这种保护机制。

使用存储在设备上的密钥对数据进行加密的做法并不能防止 Root 用户访问应用数据。应用可以使用存储在设备之外的密钥(例如,存储在服务器上的密钥,或用户密码)进行加密,从而添加一道数据保护屏障。如果不提供密钥的话,这种方法可以提供临时保护,但在某些时候,必须要先将密钥提供给应用,然后 Root 用户才能访问相应应用。

一种更强大的防止 Root 用户获取数据的方式是使用硬件解决方案。原始设备制造商 (OEM) 可以选择实现仅允许访问特定类型的内容的硬件解决方案,例如,适用于视频播放的 DRM 或适用于 Google 电子钱包的 NFC 相关可信存储空间。

如果设备丢失或被盗,Android 设备上的全文件系统加密功能可以使用设备密码来保护加密密钥,这样一来,修改启动加载程序或操作系统的做法将不足以在没有用户设备密码的情况下访问用户数据。

用户安全功能

文件系统加密

Android 3.0 及更高版本提供全文件系统加密功能,因此所有用户数据都可以在内核中进行加密。

Android 5.0 及更高版本支持全盘加密。全盘加密功能旨在使用单个密钥(由用户的设备密码加以保护)来保护设备的整个用户数据分区。在启动时,用户必须先提供其凭据,然后才能访问磁盘的任何部分。

Android 7.0 及更高版本支持文件级加密。采用文件级加密时,可以使用不同的密钥对不同的文件进行加密,并且可以对这些文件进行单独解密。

如需关于实现文件系统加密的更多详细信息,请参阅加密部分。

密码保护

Android 可以配置为在提供对设备的访问权限之前先验证用户提供的密码。除了防止未经授权使用设备外,该密码还可以保护用于进行全文件系统加密的加密密钥。

设备管理员可以要求使用密码和/或密码复杂度规则。

设备管理

Android 2.2 及更高版本提供 Android Device Administration API,该 API 在系统级别提供设备管理功能。例如,内置的 Android 电子邮件应用可以使用该 API 来改善 Exchange 支持。通过电子邮件应用,Exchange 管理员可以跨设备强制执行密码政策(其中密码包括字母数字密码或数字 PIN 码)。管理员还可以远程清除(即恢复出厂默认设置)丢失或被盗手机上的数据。

除了在 Android 系统自带的应用中使用外,该 API 还可供提供设备管理解决方案的第三方使用。如需关于该 API 的详细信息,请参阅设备管理

System and kernel security

At the operating system level, the Android platform provides the security of the Linux kernel, as well as a secure inter-process communication (IPC) facility to enable secure communication between applications running in different processes. These security features at the OS level ensure that even native code is constrained by the Application Sandbox. Whether that code is the result of included application behavior or an exploitation of an application vulnerability, the system is designed to prevent the rogue application from harming other applications, the Android system, or the device itself. See Kernel Configuration for measures you can take to strengthen the kernel on your devices. See the Android Compatibility Definition Document (CDD) for required settings.

Linux Security

The foundation of the Android platform is the Linux kernel. The Linux kernel has been in widespread use for years, and is used in millions of security-sensitive environments. Through its history of constantly being researched, attacked, and fixed by thousands of developers, Linux has become a stable and secure kernel trusted by many corporations and security professionals.

As the base for a mobile computing environment, the Linux kernel provides Android with several key security features, including:

  • A user-based permissions model
  • Process isolation
  • Extensible mechanism for secure IPC
  • The ability to remove unnecessary and potentially insecure parts of the kernel

As a multiuser operating system, a fundamental security objective of the Linux kernel is to isolate user resources from one another. The Linux security philosophy is to protect user resources from one another. Thus, Linux:

  • Prevents user A from reading user B's files
  • Ensures that user A does not exhaust user B's memory
  • Ensures that user A does not exhaust user B's CPU resources
  • Ensures that user A does not exhaust user B's devices (e.g. telephony, GPS, Bluetooth)

The Application Sandbox

The Android platform takes advantage of the Linux user-based protection as a means of identifying and isolating application resources. The Android system assigns a unique user ID (UID) to each Android application and runs it as that user in a separate process. This approach is different from other operating systems (including the traditional Linux configuration), where multiple applications run with the same user permissions.

This sets up a kernel-level Application Sandbox. The kernel enforces security between applications and the system at the process level through standard Linux facilities, such as user and group IDs that are assigned to applications. By default, applications cannot interact with each other and applications have limited access to the operating system. If application A tries to do something malicious like read application B's data or dial the phone without permission (which is a separate application), then the operating system protects against this because application A does not have the appropriate user privileges. The sandbox is simple, auditable, and based on decades-old UNIX-style user separation of processes and file permissions.

Because the Application Sandbox is in the kernel, this security model extends to native code and to operating system applications. All of the software above the kernel, such as operating system libraries, application framework, application runtime, and all applications, run within the Application Sandbox. On some platforms, developers are constrained to a specific development framework, set of APIs, or language in order to enforce security. On Android, there are no restrictions on how an application can be written that are required to enforce security; in this respect, native code is just as secure as interpreted code.

In some operating systems, memory corruption errors in one application may lead to corruption in other applications housed in the same memory space, resulting in a complete compromise of the security of the device. Because all applications and their resources are sandboxed at the OS level, a memory corruption error will allow arbitrary code execution only in the context of that particular application, with the permissions established by the operating system.

Like all security features, the Application Sandbox is not unbreakable. However, to break out of the Application Sandbox in a properly configured device, one must compromise the security of the Linux kernel.

System Partition and Safe Mode

The system partition contains Android's kernel as well as the operating system libraries, application runtime, application framework, and applications. This partition is set to read-only. When a user boots the device into Safe Mode, third-party applications may be launched manually by the device owner but are not launched by default.

Filesystem Permissions

In a UNIX-style environment, filesystem permissions ensure that one user cannot alter or read another user's files. In the case of Android, each application runs as its own user. Unless the developer explicitly shares files with other applications, files created by one application cannot be read or altered by another application.

Security-Enhanced Linux

Android uses Security-Enhanced Linux (SELinux) to apply access control policies and establish mandatory access control (mac) on processes. See Security-Enhanced Linux in Android for details.

Verified boot

Android 6.0 and later supports verified boot and device-mapper-verity. Verified boot guarantees the integrity of the device software starting from a hardware root of trust up to the system partition. During boot, each stage cryptographically verifies the integrity and authenticity of the next stage before executing it.

Android 7.0 and later supports strictly enforced verified boot, which means compromised devices cannot boot.

See Verified boot for more details.

Cryptography

Android provides a set of cryptographic APIs for use by applications. These include implementations of standard and commonly used cryptographic primitives such as AES, RSA, DSA, and SHA. Additionally, APIs are provided for higher level protocols such as SSL and HTTPS.

Android 4.0 introduced the KeyChain class to allow applications to use the system credential storage for private keys and certificate chains.

Rooting of Devices

By default, on Android only the kernel and a small subset of the core applications run with root permissions. Android does not prevent a user or application with root permissions from modifying the operating system, kernel, or any other application. In general, root has full access to all applications and all application data. Users that change the permissions on an Android device to grant root access to applications increase the security exposure to malicious applications and potential application flaws.

The ability to modify an Android device they own is important to developers working with the Android platform. On many Android devices users have the ability to unlock the bootloader in order to allow installation of an alternate operating system. These alternate operating systems may allow an owner to gain root access for purposes of debugging applications and system components or to access features not presented to applications by Android APIs.

On some devices, a person with physical control of a device and a USB cable is able to install a new operating system that provides root privileges to the user. To protect any existing user data from compromise the bootloader unlock mechanism requires that the bootloader erase any existing user data as part of the unlock step. Root access gained via exploiting a kernel bug or security hole can bypass this protection.

Encrypting data with a key stored on-device does not protect the application data from root users. Applications can add a layer of data protection using encryption with a key stored off-device, such as on a server or a user password. This approach can provide temporary protection while the key is not present, but at some point the key must be provided to the application and it then becomes accessible to root users.

A more robust approach to protecting data from root users is through the use of hardware solutions. OEMs may choose to implement hardware solutions that limit access to specific types of content such as DRM for video playback, or the NFC-related trusted storage for Google wallet.

In the case of a lost or stolen device, full filesystem encryption on Android devices uses the device password to protect the encryption key, so modifying the bootloader or operating system is not sufficient to access user data without the user’s device password.

User Security Features

Filesystem Encryption

Android 3.0 and later provides full filesystem encryption, so all user data can be encrypted in the kernel.

Android 5.0 and later supports full-disk encryption. Full-disk encryption uses a single key—protected with the user’s device password—to protect the whole of a device’s userdata partition. Upon boot, users must provide their credentials before any part of the disk is accessible.

Android 7.0 and later supports file-based encryption. File-based encryption allows different files to be encrypted with different keys that can be unlocked independently.

More details on implementation of filesystem encryption are available in the Encryption section.

Password Protection

Android can be configured to verify a user-supplied password prior to providing access to a device. In addition to preventing unauthorized use of the device, this password protects the cryptographic key for full filesystem encryption.

Use of a password and/or password complexity rules can be required by a device administrator.

Device Administration

Android 2.2 and later provide the Android Device Administration API, which provides device administration features at the system level. For example, the built-in Android Email application uses the APIs to improve Exchange support. Through the Email application, Exchange administrators can enforce password policies — including alphanumeric passwords or numeric PINs — across devices. Administrators can also remotely wipe (that is, restore factory defaults on) lost or stolen handsets.

In addition to use in applications included with the Android system, these APIs are available to third-party providers of Device Management solutions. Details on the API are provided at Device Administration.