SELinux 概念

请查看此页中的内容,熟悉 SELinux 中使用的概念。

强制访问控制

安全增强型 Linux (SELinux) 是适用于 Linux 操作系统的强制访问控制 (MAC) 系统。作为 MAC 系统,它与 Linux 中用户非常熟悉的自主访问控制 (DAC) 系统不同。在 DAC 系统中,存在所有权的概念,即特定资源的所有者可以控制与相应资源关联的访问权限。这种系统通常比较粗放,并且容易出现无意中提权的问题。MAC 系统则会在决定是否允许每次访问尝试时都咨询核心机构。

SELinux 已作为 Linux 安全模块 (LSM) 框架的一部分实现,该框架可识别各种内核对象以及对这些对象执行的敏感操作。其中每项操作要执行时,系统都会调用 LSM 钩子函数,以便根据不透明安全对象中存储的关于相应操作的信息来确定是否应允许执行相应操作。SELinux 针对这些钩子以及这些安全对象的管理提供了相应的实现,该实现可结合自己的政策来决定是否允许相应访问。

通过结合使用其他 Android 安全措施,Android 的访问控制政策能够大大降低遭到入侵的计算机和帐号可能蒙受的损失。Android 的自主访问控制和强制访问控制等工具可为您提供一种结构,确保您的软件仅以最低权限级别运行。这样可降低攻击造成的影响,并降低错误进程重写数据甚至是传输数据的可能性。

从 Android 4.3 起,SELinux 开始为传统的自主访问控制 (DAC) 环境提供强制访问控制 (MAC) 保护功能。例如,软件通常情况下必须以 Root 用户帐号的身份运行,才能向原始块设备写入数据。在基于 DAC 的传统 Linux 环境中,如果 Root 用户遭到入侵,攻击者便可以利用该用户身份向每个原始块设备写入数据。不过,可以使用 SELinux 为这些设备添加标签,以便被分配了 Root 权限的进程只能向相关政策中指定的设备写入数据。这样一来,该进程便无法重写特定原始块设备之外的数据和系统设置。

如需更多威胁示例以及使用 SELinux 解决威胁的方法,请参阅用例

强制执行级别

请熟悉以下术语,了解如何按不同的强制执行级别实现 SELinux。

  • 宽容模式 - 仅记录但不强制执行 SELinux 安全政策。
  • 强制模式 - 强制执行并记录安全政策。如果失败,则显示为 EPERM 错误。

在选择强制执行级别时只能二择其一,您的选择将决定您的政策是采取操作,还是仅允许您收集潜在的失败事件。宽容模式在实现过程中尤其有用。

  • 不受限 - 一种非常宽松的政策,会在开发过程中禁止执行某些任务并提供暂时的权宜之计。不应对 Android 开放源代码项目 (AOSP) 之外的任何内容使用这种政策。
  • 受限 - 针对相应服务编写的自定义政策。这种政策应精确定义允许的事项。

不受限政策可用于协助在 Android 中快速实现 SELinux。这种政策适用于大多数 Root 级应用。但应尽可能逐渐将这种政策转换为受限政策,以精确限制每个应用只能使用所需的资源。

您的政策最好是处于强制模式的受限政策。处于强制模式的不受限政策可以掩盖采用受限政策时在宽容模式下会记录的可能违规行为。因此,我们强烈建议设备实现人员实现真正的受限政策。

标签、规则和域

SELinux 依靠标签来匹配操作和政策。标签用于决定允许的事项。套接字、文件和进程在 SELinux 中都有标签。SELinux 决定基本上是根据为这些对象分配的标签以及定义这些对象可以如何交互的政策做出的。在 SELinux 中,标签采用以下形式:user:role:type:mls_level,其中 type 是访问决定的主要组成部分,可通过构成标签的其他组成部分进行修改。对象会映射到类,对每个类的不同访问类型由权限表示。

政策规则采用以下形式:allow domains types:classes permissions;,其中:

  • Domain - 一个进程或一组进程的标签。也称为域类型,因为它只是指进程的类型。
  • Type - 一个对象(例如,文件、套接字)或一组对象的标签。
  • Class - 要访问的对象(例如,文件、套接字)的类型。
  • Permission - 要执行的操作(例如,读取、写入)。

使用政策规则时将遵循的结构示例:

allow appdomain app_data_file:file rw_file_perms;

这表示所有应用域都可以读取和写入带有 app_data_file 标签的文件。请注意,该规则依赖于在 global_macros 文件中定义的宏,您还可以在 te_macros 文件中找到一些其他非常实用的宏。这两个文件均位于 AOSP 源代码树的 system/sepolicy 目录中,其中提供了一些适用于常见的类、权限和规则分组的宏。应尽可能使用这些宏,以便降低因相关权限被拒而导致失败的可能性。

除了在规则中逐个列出域或类型之外,还可以通过属性引用一组域或类型。简单来说,属性是一组域或类型的名称。每个域或类型都可以与任意数量的属性相关联。当编写的规则指定了某个属性名称时,该名称会自动扩展为列出与该属性关联的所有域或类型。例如,domain 属性与所有进程域相关联,file_type 属性与所有文件类型相关联。

使用上述语法可以创建构成 SELinux 政策基本内容的 avc 规则。规则采用以下形式:

<rule variant> <source_types> <target_types> : <classes> <permissions>

该规则指明了,当带有任何 source_types 标签的主体尝试对某个对象执行与任何 permissions 对应的操作时,如果该对象包含带有任何 target_types 标签的任何 classes 类,会发生什么情况。这些规则的一个最常见示例是 allow 规则,例如:

allow domain null_device:chr_file { open };

该规则允许具有与“domain”属性关联的任何域的进程对 target_type 标签为“null_device”的“chr_file”类(字符设备文件)的对象执行“open”权限所描述的操作。在实际中,该规则可能会扩展为包含其他权限:

allow domain null_device:chr_file { getattr open read ioctl lock append write};

当了解到“domain”是分配给所有进程域的属性,并且 null_device 是字符设备 /dev/null 的标签时,该规则基本上会允许对 /dev/null 进行读写操作。

一个 domain 通常对应一个进程,而且具有与其关联的标签。

例如,典型的 Android 应用会在自己的进程中运行,并且具有授予其特定受限权限的 untrusted_app 标签。

系统中内置的平台应用会以单独的标签运行,并会被授予一组不同的权限。作为核心 Android 系统的一部分,系统 UID 应用以表示另一组权限的 system_app 标签运行。

在任何情况下,都不应直接允许域访问以下通用标签;而应为一个或多个对象创建一个更具体的类型:

  • socket_device
  • device
  • block_device
  • default_service
  • system_data_file
  • tmpfs

SELinux concepts

Review this page to become familar with the concepts at play within SELinux.

Mandatory access control

Security Enhanced Linux (SELinux), is a mandatory access control (MAC) system for the Linux operating system. As a MAC system, it differs from Linux’s familiar discretionary access control (DAC) system. In a DAC system, a concept of ownership exists, whereby an owner of a particular resource controls access permissions associated with it. This is generally coarse-grained and subject to unintended privilege escalation. A MAC system, however, consults a central authority for a decision on all access attempts.

SELinux has been implemented as part of the Linux Security Module (LSM) framework, which recognizes various kernel objects, and sensitive actions performed on them. At the point at which each of these actions would be performed, an LSM hook function is called to determine whether or not the action should be allowed based on the information for it stored in an opaque security object. SELinux provides an implementation for these hooks and management of these security objects, which combine with its own policy, to determine the access decisions.

In conjunction with other Android security measures, Android's access control policy greatly limits the potential damage of compromised machines and accounts. Using tools like Android's discretionary and mandatory access controls gives you a structure to ensure your software runs only at the minimum privilege level. This mitigates the effects of attacks and reduces the likelihood of errant processes overwriting or even transmitting data.

Starting in Android 4.3, SELinux provides a mandatory access control (MAC) umbrella over traditional discretionary access control (DAC) environments. For instance, software must typically run as the root user account to write to raw block devices. In a traditional DAC-based Linux environment, if the root user becomes compromised that user can write to every raw block device. However, SELinux can be used to label these devices so the process assigned the root privilege can write to only those specified in the associated policy. In this way, the process cannot overwrite data and system settings outside of the specific raw block device.

See Use Cases for more examples of threats and ways to address them with SELinux.

Enforcement levels

Become familiar with the following terms to understand how SELinux can be implemented to varying strengths.

  • Permissive - SELinux security policy is not enforced, only logged.
  • Enforcing - Security policy is enforced and logged. Failures appear as EPERM errors.

This choice is binary and determines whether your policy takes action or merely allows you to gather potential failures. Permissive is especially useful during implementation.

  • Unconfined - A very light policy that prohibits certain tasks and provides a temporary stop-gap during development. Should not be used for anything outside of the Android Open Source Project (AOSP).
  • Confined - A custom-written policy designed for the service. That policy should define precisely what is allowed.

Unconfined policies are available to help implement SELinux in Android quickly. They are suitable for most root-level applications. But they should be converted to confined policies wherever possible over time to restrict each application to precisely the resources it needs.

Ideally, your policy is both in enforcing mode and confined. Unconfined policies in enforcement mode can mask potential violations that would have been logged in permissive mode with a confined policy. Therefore, we strongly recommend that device implementers implement true confined policies.

Labels, rules and domains

SELinux depends upon labels to match actions and policies. Labels determine what is allowed. Sockets, files, and processes all have labels in SELinux. SELinux decisions are based fundamentally on labels assigned to these objects and the policy defining how they may interact. In SELinux, a label takes the form: user:role:type:mls_level, where the type is the primary component of the access decisions, which may be modified by the other sections components which make up the label. The objects are mapped to classes and the different types of access for each class are represented by permissions.

The policy rules come in the form: allow domains types:classes permissions;, where:

  • Domain - A label for the process or set of processes. Also called a domain type as it is just a type for a process.
  • Type - A label for the object (e.g. file, socket) or set of objects.
  • Class - The kind of object (e.g. file, socket) being accessed.
  • Permission - The operation (e.g. read, write) being performed.

And so an example use of this would follow the structure:

allow appdomain app_data_file:file rw_file_perms;

This says that all application domains are allowed to read and write files labeled app_data_file. Note that this rule relies upon macros defined in the global_macros file, and other helpful macros can also be found in the te_macros file, both of which can be found in the system/sepolicy directory in the AOSP source tree. Macros are provided for common groupings of classes, permissions and rules, and should be used whenever possible to help reduce the likelihood of failures due to denials on related permissions.

In addition to individually listing domains or types in a rule, one can also refer to a set of domains or types via an attribute. An attribute is simply a name for a set of domains or types. Each domain or type can be associated with any number of attributes. When a rule is written that specifies an attribute name, that name is automatically expanded to the list of domains or types associated with the attribute. For example, the domain attribute is associated with all process domains, and the file_type attribute is associated with all file types.

Use the syntax above to create avc rules that comprise the essence of an SELinux policy. A rule takes the form:

<rule variant> <source_types> <target_types> : <classes> <permissions>

The rule indicates what should happen when a subject labeled with any of the source_types attempts an action corresponding to any of the permissions on an object with any of the class classes which has any of the target_types label. The most common example of one of these rules is an allow rule, e.g.:

allow domain null_device:chr_file { open };

This rule allows a process with any domain associated with the ‘domain’ attribute to take the action described by the permission ‘open’ on an object of class ‘chr_file’ (character device file) that has the target_type label of ‘null_device.’ In practice, this rule may be extended to include other permissions:

allow domain null_device:chr_file { getattr open read ioctl lock append write};

When combined with the knowledge that ‘domain’ is an attribute assigned to all process domains and that null_device is the label for the character device /dev/null, this rule basically permits reading and writing to /dev/null.

A domain generally corresponds to a process and will have a label associated with it.

For example, a typical Android app is running in its own process and has the label of untrusted_app that grants it certain restricted permissions.

Platform apps built into the system run under a separate label and are granted a distinct set of permissions. System UID apps that are part of the core Android system run under the system_app label for yet another set of privileges.

Access to the following generic labels should never be directly allowed to domains; instead, a more specific type should be created for the object or objects:

  • socket_device
  • device
  • block_device
  • default_service
  • system_data_file
  • tmpfs