实现 SELinux

SELinux 设为了“默认拒绝”模式,也就是说,对于在内核中存在钩子的每一次访问,都必须获得政策的明确许可。这意味着政策文件中包含规则、类型、类、权限等方面的大量信息。关于 SELinux 的完整注意事项不在本文档的讨论范围之内,现在您必须要了解的是在启动新的 Android 设备时如何编写政策规则。目前有大量关于 SELinux 的信息可供您参考。关于建议的资源,请参阅支持文档

步骤总结

下面简要总结了在 Android 设备上实现 SELinux 时需要执行的步骤:

  1. 在内核和配置中添加 SELinux 支持。
  2. 为通过 init 启动的每项服务(进程或守护进程)分配专用的域。
  3. 通过以下方式标识这些服务:
    • 查看 init.<device>.rc 文件并找到所有服务。
    • 检查 dmesg 输出中以下形式的警告:“init: Warning! Service name needs a SELinux domain defined; please fix!”(init:警告!服务名称需要一个已定义的 SELinux 域;请更正!)。
    • 检查 ps -Z | grep init 输出,看看哪些服务正在 init 域中运行。
  4. 为所有新进程、驱动程序、套接字等添加标签。需要为所有对象添加适当的标签,以确保它们能够与您应用的政策正确交互。请参阅 AOSP 中使用的标签,以便在创建标签名称时参考。
  5. 制定全面涵盖所有标签的安全政策,并将权限限定到其绝对最低级别。

原始设备制造商 (OEM) 最好从 AOSP 中的政策入手,然后在这些政策的基础上创建自己的自定义政策。

关键文件

SELinux for Android 随附了立即启用 SELinux 所需的一切。您只需集成最新的 Android 内核,然后整合 system/sepolicy 目录中的文件即可:

https://android.googlesource.com/kernel/common/

https://android.googlesource.com/platform/system/sepolicy/

这些文件在编译后会包含 SELinux 内核安全政策,并涵盖上游 Android 操作系统。您应该不需要直接修改 system/sepolicy 中的文件,而只需添加您自己的设备专用政策文件(位于 /device/manufacturer/device-name/sepolicy 目录中)即可。

要实现 SELinux,您必须创建或修改以下文件:

  • 新的 SELinux 政策源代码 (*.te) 文件 - 位于 /device/manufacturer/device-name/sepolicy 目录中。这些文件用于定义域及其标签。在编译到单个 SELinux 内核政策文件时,新的政策文件会与现有的政策文件组合在一起。

    重要提示:请勿更改 Android 开放源代码项目提供的 app.te 文件,否则可能会破坏所有第三方应用。

  • 更新后的 BoardConfig.mk Makefile - 位于包含 sepolicy 子目录的目录中。如果初始实现中没有 sepolicy 子目录,那么在该子目录创建之后,必须更新 BoardConfig.mk makefile,以引用该子目录。
  • file_contexts - 位于 sepolicy 子目录中。该文件用于为文件分配标签,并且可供多种用户空间组件使用。在创建新政策时,请创建或更新该文件,以便为文件分配新标签。要应用新的 file_contexts,您必须重新构建文件系统映像,或对要重新添加标签的文件运行 restorecon。在升级时,对 file_contexts 所做的更改会在升级过程中自动应用于系统和用户数据分区。此外,还可以通过以下方式使这些更改在升级过程中自动应用于其他分区:在以允许读写的方式装载相应分区后,将 restorecon_recursive 调用添加到 init.board.rc 文件中。
  • genfs_contexts - 位于 sepolicy 子目录中。该文件用于为不支持扩展属性的文件系统(例如,proc 或 vfat)分配标签。此配置会作为内核政策的一部分进行加载,但更改可能对核心内 inode 无效。要全面应用更改,需要重新启动设备,或卸载后重新装载文件系统。此外,通过使用 context=mount 选项,还可以为装载的特定系统文件(例如 vfat)分配特定标签。
  • property_contexts - 位于 sepolicy 子目录中。该文件用于为 Android 系统属性分配标签,以便控制哪些进程可以设置这些属性。在启动期间以及 selinux.reload_policy 属性每次被设为 1 时,init 进程都会读取此配置。
  • service_contexts - 位于 sepolicy 子目录中。该文件用于为 Android Binder 服务分配标签,以便控制哪些进行可以为相应服务添加(注册)和查找(查询)Binder 引用。在启动期间以及 selinux.reload_policy 属性每次被设为 1 时,servicemanager 进程都会读取此配置。
  • seapp_contexts - 位于 sepolicy 子目录中。该文件用于为应用进程和 /data/data 目录分配标签。在每次应用启动时,Zygote 进程都会读取此配置;在启动期间以及 selinux.reload_policy 属性每次被设为 1 时,installd 都会读取此配置。
  • mac_permissions.xml - 位于 sepolicy 子目录中。该文件用于根据应用签名和应用软件包名称(后者可选)为应用分配 seinfo 标记。然后,分配的 seinfo 标记可在 seapp_contexts 文件中用作密钥,以便为带有该 seinfo 标记的所有应用分配特定标签。在启动期间,system_server 会读取此配置。

接下来,只需在 sepolicy 子目录和各个政策文件创建之后,更新 BoardConfig.mk Makefile(位于包含 sepolicy 子目录的目录中)以引用该子目录和这些政策文件即可,如下所示。BOARD_SEPOLICY 变量及其含义记录在 system/sepolicy/README 文件中。

BOARD_SEPOLICY_DIRS += \
        <root>/device/manufacturer/device-name/sepolicy

BOARD_SEPOLICY_UNION += \
        genfs_contexts \
        file_contexts \
        sepolicy.te

注意:从 M 版开始已不再需要 BOARD_SEPOLICY_UNION,因为 BOARD_SEPOLICY_DIRS 变量中包含的任何目录内的所有政策文件都会与基本政策自动合并。

设备在重新编译后会启用 SELinux。现在,您可以根据自己向 Android 操作系统添加的内容自定义自己的 SELinux 政策(如自定义中所述),也可以验证您的现有设置(如验证中所述)。

在新政策文件和 BoardConfig.mk 更新部署到位后,新政策设置会立即自动内置到最终的内核政策文件中。

用例

下面列举了一些在开发软件以及制定关联的 SELinux 政策时需要注意的具体漏洞:

符号链接 - 由于符号链接以文件形式显示,因此通常也是作为文件被读取。这可能会导致漏洞。例如,某些特权组件(例如 init)会更改某些文件的权限,有时会使之极度开放。

这样一来,攻击者便可以将这些文件替换成指向其控制的代码的符号链接,从而重写任意文件。但如果您知道自己的应用绝不会遍历符号链接,则可以通过 SELinux 来禁止您的应用遍历符号链接。

系统文件 - 以应该只有系统服务器可以修改的一系列系统文件为例。由于 netd、init 和 vold 是以 Root 身份运行的,因此它们也可以访问这些系统文件。这样一来,如果 netd 遭到入侵,它将可以入侵这些文件,并可能会入侵系统服务器本身。

借助 SELinux,您可以将这些文件标识为系统服务器数据文件。这样一来,系统服务器就是唯一对这些文件具有读写权限的域。即使 netd 遭到入侵,它也无法将域切换到系统服务器域并访问这些系统文件,就算它是以 Root 身份运行的也是如此。

应用数据 - 另一个示例是必须以 Root 身份运行但不应获得应用数据访问权限的一系列函数。这非常有用,因为可以做出广泛的声明,例如禁止与应用数据无关的特定域访问互联网。

setattr - 对于 chmod、chown 等命令,您可以标识关联域可以在哪些文件中进行 setattr 操作。这样一来,便可以禁止对这些文件之外的任何文件进行此类更改,即使以 Root 身份进行也不例外。因此,应用可以对带 app_data_files 标签的文件运行 chmod 和 chown 命令,但不能对带 shell_data_files 或 system_data_files 标签的文件运行这些命令。

详细步骤

下面详细介绍了 Android 建议您如何采用并自定义 SELinux 来保护设备:

  1. 在内核中启用 SELinux: CONFIG_SECURITY_SELINUX=y
  2. 更改 kernel_cmdline 参数,以便:
    BOARD_KERNEL_CMDLINE := androidboot.selinux=permissive
    这仅适用于初始制定设备政策的情况。在拥有初始引导程序政策后,请移除此参数,以便将设备恢复强制模式,否则设备将无法通过 CTS 验证。
  3. 以宽容模式启动系统,看看在启动时会遇到哪些拒绝事件:
    在 Ubuntu 14.04 或更高版本中:
    adb shell su -c dmesg | grep denied | audit2allow -p out/target/product/board/root/sepolicy
    在 Ubuntu 12.04 中: adb shell su -c dmesg | grep denied | audit2allow
  4. 评估输出。如需查看相关说明和工具,请参阅验证
  5. 标识设备以及需要添加标签的其他新文件。
  6. 为您的对象使用现有标签或新标签。查看 *_contexts 文件,了解之前是如何为内容添加标签的,然后根据对标签含义的了解分配一个新标签。这最好是一个能够融入到政策中的现有标签,但有时需要使用新标签,并且还需要关于访问该标签的规则。
  7. 标识应该拥有自己的安全域的域/进程。可能需要为其中每个域/进程从头开始编写政策。例如,从 init 衍生的所有服务都应该有自己的安全域。可以通过以下命令查看保持运行的服务(不过所有服务都需要如此处理):
    $ adb shell su -c ps -Z | grep init
    $ adb shell su -c dmesg | grep 'avc: '
  8. 查看 init.<device>.rc,以找出所有没有类型的服务。应提早为此类服务提供域,以避免向 init 添加规则或将 init 访问权限与其自身政策中的访问权限混淆。
  9. BOARD_CONFIG.mk 设为使用 BOARD_SEPOLICY_* 变量。如需关于如何进行此项设置的详细信息,请参阅 system/sepolicy 中的 README。
  10. 检查 init.<device>.rc 和 fstab.<device> 文件,确保每一次使用“mount”都对应一个添加了适当标签的文件系统,或者指定了 context= mount 选项。
  11. 查看每个拒绝事件,并创建 SELinux 政策来妥善处理每个拒绝事件。请参阅自定义中的示例。

Implementing SELinux

SELinux is set up to default-deny, which means that every single access for which it has a hook in the kernel must be explicitly allowed by policy. This means a policy file is comprised of a large amount of information regarding rules, types, classes, permissions, and more. A full consideration of SELinux is out of the scope of this document, but an understanding of how to write policy rules is now essential when bringing up new Android devices. There is a great deal of information available regarding SELinux already. See Supporting documentation for suggested resources.

Summary of steps

Here is a brief summary of the steps needed to implement SELinux on your Android device:

  1. Add SELinux support in the kernel and configuration.
  2. Grant each service (process or daemon) started from init its own domain.
  3. Identify these services by:
    • Reviewing the init.<device>.rc file and finding all services.
    • Examining warnings of the form init: Warning! Service name needs a SELinux domain defined; please fix! in dmesg output.
    • Checking ps -Z | grep init output to see which services are running in the init domain.
  4. Label all new processes, drivers, sockets, etc. All objects need to be labeled properly to ensure they interact properly with the policies you apply. See the labels used in AOSP for examples to follow in label name creation.
  5. Institute security policies that fully cover all labels and restrict permissions to their absolute minimum.

Ideally, OEMs start with the policies in the AOSP and then build upon them for their own customizations.

Key files

SELinux for Android is accompanied by everything you need to enable SELinux now. You merely need to integrate the latest Android kernel and then incorporate the files found in the system/sepolicy directory:

https://android.googlesource.com/kernel/common/

https://android.googlesource.com/platform/system/sepolicy/

Those files when compiled comprise the SELinux kernel security policy and cover the upstream Android operating system. You should not need to modify the system/sepolicy files directly. Instead, add your own device-specific policy files within the /device/manufacturer/device-name/sepolicy directory.

Here are the files you must create or edit in order to implement SELinux:

  • New SELinux policy source (*.te) files - Located in the /device/manufacturer/device-name/sepolicy directory. These files define domains and their labels. The new policy files get concatenated with the existing policy files during compilation into a single SELinux kernel policy file.

    Important: Do not alter the app.te file provided by the Android Open Source Project. Doing so risks breaking all third-party applications.

  • Updated BoardConfig.mk makefile - Located in the directory containing the sepolicy subdirectory. It must be updated to reference the sepolicy subdirectory once created if it wasn’t in initial implementation.
  • file_contexts - Located in the sepolicy subdirectory. This file assigns labels to files and is used by various userspace components. As you create new policies, create or update this file to assign new labels to files. In order to apply new file_contexts, you must rebuild the filesystem image or run restorecon on the file to be relabeled. On upgrades, changes to file_contexts are automatically applied to the system and userdata partitions as part of the upgrade. Changes can also be automatically applied on upgrade to other partitions by adding restorecon_recursive calls to your init.board.rc file after the partition has been mounted read-write.
  • genfs_contexts - Located in the sepolicy subdirectory. This file assigns labels to filesystems such as proc or vfat that do not support extended attributes. This configuration is loaded as part of the kernel policy but changes may not take effect for in-core inodes, requiring a reboot or unmounting and re-mounting the filesystem to fully apply the change. Specific labels may also be assigned to specific mounts such as vfat using the context= mount option.
  • property_contexts - Located in the sepolicy subdirectory. This file assigns labels to Android system properties to control what processes can set them. This configuration is read by the init process during startup and whenever the selinux.reload_policy property is set to 1.
  • service_contexts - Located in the sepolicy subdirectory. This file assigns labels to Android binder services to control what processes can add (register) and find (lookup) a binder reference for the service. This configuration is read by the servicemanager process during startup and whenever the selinux.reload_policy property is set to 1.
  • seapp_contexts - Located in the sepolicy subdirectory. This file assigns labels to app processes and /data/data directories. This configuration is read by the zygote process on each app launch and by installd during startup and whenever the selinux.reload_policy property is set to 1.
  • mac_permissions.xml - Located in the sepolicy subdirectory. This file assigns a seinfo tag to apps based on their signature and optionally their package name. The seinfo tag can then be used as a key in the seapp_contexts file to assign a specific label to all apps with that seinfo tag. This configuration is read by system_server during startup.

Then just update your BoardConfig.mk makefile - located in the directory containing the sepolicy subdirectory - to reference the sepolicy subdirectory and each policy file once created, as shown below. The BOARD_SEPOLICY variables and their meaning is documented in the system/sepolicy/README file.

BOARD_SEPOLICY_DIRS += \
        <root>/device/manufacturer/device-name/sepolicy

BOARD_SEPOLICY_UNION += \
        genfs_contexts \
        file_contexts \
        sepolicy.te

Note: As of the M release, BOARD_SEPOLICY_UNION is no longer required as all policy files found within any directory included in the BOARD_SEPOLICY_DIRS variable are joined with the base policy automatically.

After rebuilding your device, it is enabled with SELinux. You can now either customize your SELinux policies to accommodate your own additions to the Android operating system as described in Customization or verify your existing setup as covered in Validation.

Once the new policy files and BoardConfig.mk updates are in place, the new policy settings are automatically built into the final kernel policy file.

Use cases

Here are specific examples of exploits to consider when crafting your own software and associated SELinux policies:

Symlinks - Because symlinks appear as files, they are often read just as that. This can lead to exploits. For instance, some privileged components such as init change the permissions of certain files, sometimes to be excessively open.

Attackers might then replace those files with symlinks to code they control, allowing the attacker to overwrite arbitrary files. But if you know your application will never traverse a symlink, you can prohibit it from doing so with SELinux.

System files - Consider the class of system files that should only be modified by the system server. Still, since netd, init, and vold run as root, they can access those system files. So if netd became compromised, it could compromise those files and potentially the system server itself.

With SELinux, you can identify those files as system server data files. Therefore, the only domain that has read/write access to them is system server. Even if netd became compromised, it could not switch domains to the system server domain and access those system files although it runs as root.

App data - Another example is the class of functions that must run as root but should not get to access app data. This is incredibly useful as wide-ranging assertions can be made, such as certain domains unrelated to application data being prohibited from accessing the internet.

setattr - For commands such as chmod and chown, you could identify the set of files where the associated domain can conduct setattr. Anything outside of that could be prohibited from these changes, even by root. So an application might run chmod and chown against those labeled app_data_files but not shell_data_files or system_data_files.

Steps in detail

Here is a detailed view of how Android recommends you employ and customize SELinux to protect your devices:

  1. Enable SELinux in the kernel: CONFIG_SECURITY_SELINUX=y
  2. Change the kernel_cmdline parameter so that:
    BOARD_KERNEL_CMDLINE := androidboot.selinux=permissive.
    This is only for initial development of policy for the device. Once you have an initial bootstrap policy, remove this parameter so that your device is enforcing or it will fail CTS.
  3. Boot up the system in permissive and see what denials are encountered on boot:
    On Ubuntu 14.04 or newer:
    adb shell su -c dmesg | grep denied | audit2allow -p out/target/product/board/root/sepolicy
    On Ubuntu 12.04: adb shell su -c dmesg | grep denied | audit2allow
  4. Evaluate the output. See Validation for instructions and tools.
  5. Identify devices, and other new files that need labeling.
  6. Use existing or new labels for your objects. Look at the *_contexts files to see how things were previously labeled and use knowledge of the label meanings to assign a new one. Ideally, this will be an existing label which will fit into policy, but sometimes a new label will be needed, and rules for access to that label will be needed, as well.
  7. Identify domains/processes that should have their own security domains. A policy will likely need to be written for each of these from scratch. All services spawned from init, for instance, should have their own. The following commands help reveal those that remain running (but ALL services need such a treatment):
    $ adb shell su -c ps -Z | grep init
    $ adb shell su -c dmesg | grep 'avc: '
  8. Review init.<device>.rc to identify any which are without a type. These should be given domains EARLY in order to avoid adding rules to init or otherwise confusing init accesses with ones that are in their own policy.
  9. Set up BOARD_CONFIG.mk to use BOARD_SEPOLICY_* variables. See the README in system/sepolicy for details on setting this up.
  10. Examine the init.<device>.rc and fstab.<device> file and make sure every use of “mount” corresponds to a properly labeled filesystem or that a context= mount option is specified.
  11. Go through each denial and create SELinux policy to properly handle each. See the examples within Customization.