验证 SELinux

Android 强烈建议原始设备制造商 (OEM) 全面测试其 SELinux 实现。制造商在实现 SELinux 时,应先为设备上需要测试的所有内容应用新政策。

应用新政策后,可以通过执行 getenforce 命令来确认 SELinux 在设备上的运行模式是否正确

该命令将会显示全局 SELinux 模式:强制或宽容。请注意,该命令只会显示全局 SELinux 模式。要确定每个域的 SELinux 模式,您必须查看相应的文件,或运行带有适当 (-p) 标记的最新版 sepolicy-analyze(位于 /platform/system/sepolicy/tools/ 中)。

读取拒绝事件

接下来是检查是否存在错误。错误会以事件日志的形式路由到 dmesg 和 logcat,并可在设备上从本地查看。制造商应先检查这些设备上路由到 dmesg 的 SELinux 输出并优化设置,然后再在宽容模式下公开发布,最后切换到强制模式。SELinux 日志消息中包含“avc:”,因此可以通过 grep 轻松找到。可以通过运行 cat /proc/kmsg 来获取当前的拒绝事件日志,也可以通过运行 cat /proc/last_kmsg 来获取上次启动时的拒绝事件日志。

借助这种输出,制造商可以轻松发现系统用户或组件违反 SELinux 政策的行为。然后,制造商便可以通过对相应软件和/或 SELinux 政策进行更改来防范这种恶意行为。

具体来说就是,这些日志消息会指明在强制模式下哪些进行会失败以及失败原因。示例如下:

avc: denied  { connectto } for  pid=2671 comm="ping" path="/dev/socket/dnsproxyd"
scontext=u:r:shell:s0 tcontext=u:r:netd:s0 tclass=unix_stream_socket

该输出的解读如下:

  • 上方的 { connectto } 表示正在执行的操作。通过它和末尾的 tclass (unix_stream_socket),您可以大致了解正在对什么对象执行什么操作,在该示例中是某个操作方正在试图连接到 UNIX 信息流套接字。
  • scontext (u:r:shell:s0) 旨在告诉您发起相应操作的环境,在该示例中是某个作为 shell 运行的操作方。
  • tcontext (u:r:netd:s0) 旨在告诉您操作目标的环境,在该示例中是某个归 netd 所有的 unix_stream_socket。
  • 顶部的 comm="ping" 旨在为您提供更多提示,让您了解拒绝事件发生时正在运行的操作。在该示例中,这是一个非常实用的提示。

下面是另一个示例:

adb shell su root dmesg | grep 'avc: '

输出:

<5> type=1400 audit: avc:  denied  { read write } for  pid=177
comm="rmt_storage" name="mem" dev="tmpfs" ino=6004 scontext=u:r:rmt:s0
tcontext=u:object_r:kmem_device:s0 tclass=chr_file

以下是此拒绝事件的关键元素:

  • 操作 - 试图进行的操作使用括号突出显示:read writesetenforce
  • 操作方 - scontext(来源环境)条目表示操作方,在该示例中是 rmt_storage 守护进程。
  • 对象 - tcontext(目标环境)条目表示正在对哪个对象执行操作,在该示例中是 kmem。
  • 结果 - tclass(目标类别)条目表示操作对象的类型,在该示例中是 chr_file(字符设备)。

切换到宽容模式

重要提示:生产设备不支持宽容模式。CTS 测试可确认是否已启用强制模式。

SELinux 强制模式可以在 userdebug 或 eng 版本中通过 ADB 启用。为此,请先运行 adb root 以将 ADB 切换为 root 权限。然后,要停用 SELinux 强制模式,请运行以下命令:

adb shell setenforce 0

或在内核命令行中输入以下命令(在设备启动初期):

androidboot.selinux=permissive
androidboot.selinux=enforcing

使用 audit2allow

selinux/policycoreutils/audit2allow 工具可以获取 dmesg 拒绝事件并将其转换成相应的 SELinux 政策声明。因此,该工具有助于大幅加快 SELinux 开发速度。 audit2allow 会作为 Android 源代码树的一部分被移植到设备上,并会在您基于源代码编译 Android 时自动进行编译。

要使用该工具,请运行以下命令:

adb pull /sys/fs/selinux/policy
adb logcat -b all -d | audit2allow -p policy

注意:运行这些命令不会更改 bugreport.txt,因为所有日志都已经存在,包括上次重新启动之前存在的日志。在运行 OTA 或开发闪存的设备上,旧的和新的违规行为会混合在一起,直到下一次重新启动。要解决此问题,请重新启动设备,或者从您的错误报告中过滤出 LAST_KMSG 和 LAST_LOGCAT。

不过,在检查各种潜在增加项是否存在越界权限时务必要谨慎。例如,为 audit2allow 馈送之前显示的 rmt_storage 拒绝事件会导致以下建议的 SELinux 政策声明:

#============= shell ==============
allow shell kernel:security setenforce;
#============= rmt ==============
allow rmt kmem_device:chr_file { read write };

这会授予 rmt 向内核内存写入内容的权限,从而形成明显的安全漏洞。通常情况下,audit2allow 声明只是一个起点。在使用这些声明之后,您可能需要更改来源域和目标的标签,并纳入适当的宏,才能获得好的政策。有时,要解决正在检查的拒绝事件,不应对政策进行任何更改;而是应更改违规的应用。

Validating SELinux

Android strongly encourages OEMs to test their SELinux implementations thoroughly. As manufacturers implement SELinux, they should apply the new policy to a test pool of devices first.

Once applied, make sure SELinux is running in the correct mode on the device by issuing the command:getenforce

This will print the global SELinux mode: either Enforcing or Permissive. Please note, this command shows only the global SELinux mode. To determine the SELinux mode for each domain, you must examine the corresponding files or run the latest version of sepolicy-analyze with the appropriate (-p) flag, present in /platform/system/sepolicy/tools/.

Reading denials

Then check for errors. Errors are routed as event logs to dmesg and logcat and are viewable locally on the device. Manufacturers should examine the SELinux output to dmesg on these devices and refine settings prior to public release in permissive mode and eventual switch to enforcing mode. SELinux log messages contain "avc:" and so may easily be found with grep. It is possible to capture the ongoing denial logs by running cat /proc/kmsg or to capture denial logs from the previous boot by running cat /proc/last_kmsg.

With this output, manufacturers can readily identify when system users or components are in violation of SELinux policy. Manufacturers can then repair this bad behavior, either by changes to the software, SELinux policy, or both.

Specifically, these log messages indicate what processes would fail under enforcing mode and why. Here is an example:

avc: denied  { connectto } for  pid=2671 comm="ping" path="/dev/socket/dnsproxyd"
scontext=u:r:shell:s0 tcontext=u:r:netd:s0 tclass=unix_stream_socket

Interpret this output like so:

  • The { connectto } above represents the action being taken. Together with the tclass at the end (unix_stream_socket), it tells you roughly what was being done to what. In this case, something was trying to connect to a unix stream socket.
  • The scontext (u:r:shell:s0) tells you what context initiated the action. In this case this is something running as the shell.
  • The tcontext (u:r:netd:s0) tells you the context of the action’s target. In this case, that’s a unix_stream_socket owned by netd.
  • The comm="ping" at the top gives you an additional hint about what was being run at the time the denial was generated. In this case, it’s a pretty good hint.

And here is another example:

adb shell su root dmesg | grep 'avc: '

Output:

<5> type=1400 audit: avc:  denied  { read write } for  pid=177
comm="rmt_storage" name="mem" dev="tmpfs" ino=6004 scontext=u:r:rmt:s0
tcontext=u:object_r:kmem_device:s0 tclass=chr_file

Here are the key elements from this denial:

  • Action - the attempted action is highlighted in brackets, read write or setenforce.
  • Actor - The scontext (source context) entry represents the actor, in this case the rmt_storage daemon.
  • Object - The tcontext (target context) entry represents the object being acted upon, in this case kmem.
  • Result - The tclass (target class) entry indicates the type of object being acted upon, in this case a chr_file (character device).

Switching to permissive

Important: Permissive mode is not supported on production devices. CTS tests confirm enforcing mode is enabled.

SELinux enforcement can be disabled via ADB on userdebug or eng builds. To do so, first switch ADB to root by running adb root. Then, to disable SELinux enforcement, run:

adb shell setenforce 0

Or at the kernel command line (during early device bring-up):

androidboot.selinux=permissive
androidboot.selinux=enforcing

Using audit2allow

The selinux/policycoreutils/audit2allow tool takes dmesg denials and converts them into corresponding SELinux policy statements. As such, it can greatly speed SELinux development. audit2allow is shipped as part of the Android source tree and is compiled automatically when you build Android from source.

To use it, run:

adb pull /sys/fs/selinux/policy
adb logcat -b all -d | audit2allow -p policy

Note: Running these commands does not change bugreport.txt because all logs are already there, including the ones from before the last reboot. On devices running an OTA or development flash, old and new violations are mixed until another reboot. To address this, reboot the device again or filter LAST_KMSG and LAST_LOGCAT from your bugreport.

Nevertheless, care must be taken to examine each potential addition for overreaching permissions. For example, feeding audit2allow the rmt_storage denial shown earlier results in the following suggested SELinux policy statement:

#============= shell ==============
allow shell kernel:security setenforce;
#============= rmt ==============
allow rmt kmem_device:chr_file { read write };

This would grant rmt the ability to write kernel memory, a glaring security hole. Often the audit2allow statements are only a starting point. After employing these statements, you may need to change the source domain and the label of the target, as well as incorporate proper macros, to arrive at a good policy. Sometimes the denial being examined should not result in any policy changes at all; rather the offending application should be changed.