Google 致力于为黑人社区推动种族平等。查看具体举措

实施虚拟 A/B

要在新设备上实现虚拟 A/B,或改造已启动的设备,您必须更改特定于设备的代码。

构建标志

使用虚拟 A/B 的设备必须配置为 A/B 设备,并且必须使用动态分区启动

对于使用虚拟 A/B 启动的设备,请将它们设置为继承虚拟 A/B 设备基本配置:

$(call inherit-product, \
    $(SRC_TARGET_DIR)/product/virtual_ab_ota.mk)

使用虚拟 A/B 启动的设备只需BOARD_SUPER_PARTITION_SIZE一半的板大小,因为 B 插槽不再处于超级状态。也就是说, BOARD_SUPER_PARTITION_SIZE必须大于或等于sum(size of update groups) + overhead ,而后者又必须大于或等于sum(size of partitions) + overhead

要使用虚拟 A/B 启用压缩快照,请改为继承以下基本配置:

$(call inherit-product, \
    $(SRC_TARGET_DIR)/product/virtual_ab_ota/compression.mk)

引导控制 HAL

引导控制 HAL为 OTA 客户端提供了一个控制引导槽的接口。虚拟 A/B 需要对引导控制 HAL 进行次要版本升级,因为需要额外的 API 来确保引导加载程序在刷新/恢复出厂设置期间受到保护。有关 HAL 定义的最新版本,请参阅IBootControl.haltypes.hal

// hardware/interfaces/boot/1.1/types.hal
enum MergeStatus : uint8_t {
    NONE, UNKNOWN, SNAPSHOTTED, MERGING, CANCELLED };

// hardware/interfaces/boot/1.1/IBootControl.hal
package android.hardware.boot@1.1;
interface IBootControl extends @1.0::IBootControl {
    setSnapshotMergeStatus(MergeStatus status)
        generates (bool success);
    getSnapshotMergeStatus()
        generates (MergeStatus status);
}
// Recommended implementation

Return<bool> BootControl::setSnapshotMergeStatus(MergeStatus v) {
    // Write value to persistent storage
    // e.g. misc partition (using libbootloader_message)
    // bootloader rejects wipe when status is SNAPSHOTTED
    // or MERGING
}

Fstab 更改

元数据分区的完整性对于引导过程至关重要,尤其是在应用 OTA 更新之后。因此,必须在first_stage_init挂载元数据分区之前对其进行检查。为确保发生这种情况,请将check fs_mgr 标志添加到/metadata的条目中。以下提供了一个示例:

/dev/block/by-name/metadata /metadata ext4 noatime,nosuid,nodev,discard,sync wait,formattable,first_stage_mount,check

内核要求

要启用快照,请将CONFIG_DM_SNAPSHOT设置为true

对于使用 F2FS 的设备,包括f2fs: export FS_NOCOW_FL 标志到用户内核补丁以修复文件固定。包括f2fs:也支持对齐的固定文件内核补丁。

虚拟 A/B 依赖于内核版本 4.3 中添加的功能: snapshotsnapshot-merge目标中的溢出状态位。所有搭载 Android 9 及更高版本的设备都应已具有内核版本 4.4 或更高版本。

要启用压缩快照,支持的最低内核版本为 4.19。设置CONFIG_DM_USER=mCONFIG_DM_USER=y 。如果使用前者(一个模块),该模块必须加载到第一阶段的ramdisk中。这可以通过将以下行添加到设备 Makefile 来实现:

BOARD_GENERIC_RAMDISK_KERNEL_MODULES_LOAD := dm-user.ko

在升级到 Android 11 的设备上进行改造

升级到 Android 11 时,使用动态分区启动的设备可以选择改装虚拟 A/B。更新过程与使用虚拟 A/B 启动的设备基本相同,但有一些细微差别:

  • COW 文件的位置— 对于启动设备,OTA 客户端会先使用超级分区中的所有可用空间,然后再使用/data中的空间。对于改造设备,超级分区中始终有足够的空间,因此永远不会在/data上创建 COW 文件。

  • 构建时功能标志- 对于改造虚拟 A/B 的设备, PRODUCT_VIRTUAL_AB_OTAPRODUCT_VIRTUAL_AB_OTA_RETROFIT都设置为true ,如下所示:

    (call inherit-product, \
        (SRC_TARGET_DIR)/product/virtual_ab_ota_retrofit.mk)
    
  • 超级分区大小——使用虚拟 A/B 启动的设备可以将BOARD_SUPER_PARTITION_SIZE减半,因为 B 插槽不在超级分区中。改造虚拟 A/B 的设备保留旧的超级分区大小,因此BOARD_SUPER_PARTITION_SIZE大于或等于2 * sum(更新组大小) + 开销,而后者又大于或等于2 * sum(分区大小) +开销

引导加载程序更改

在更新的合并步骤中, /data保存了 Android 操作系统的唯一完整实例。迁移开始后,本机systemvendorproduct分区在复制完成之前是不完整的。如果在此过程中通过恢复或通过“系统设置”对话框将设备恢复出厂设置,则设备将无法启动。

在擦除/data之前,根据设备状态完成恢复或回滚中的合并:

  • 如果新版本之前成功启动,请完成迁移。
  • 否则,回滚到旧插槽:
    • 对于动态分区,回滚到之前的状态。
    • 对于静态分区,将活动槽设置为旧槽。

如果设备解锁,bootloader 和fastbootd都可以擦除/data分区。虽然fastbootd可以强制迁移完成,但引导加载程序不能。引导加载程序不知道是否正在进行合并,也不知道/data中的哪些块构成操作系统分区。设备必须通过执行以下操作来防止用户在不知不觉中使设备无法操作(变砖):

  1. 实现引导控制 HAL,以便引导加载程序可以读取由setSnapshotMergeStatus()方法设置的值。
  2. 如果合并状态为MERGING ,或者合并状态为SNAPSHOTTED并且插槽已更改为新更新的插槽,则必须在引导加载程序中拒绝userdata用户数据、 metadata或存储合并状态的分区的请求。
  3. 实施fastboot snapshot-update cancel命令,以便用户可以向引导加载程序发出信号,表明他们想要绕过此保护机制。
  4. 修改自定义刷机工具或脚本以在刷机时发出fastboot snapshot-update cancel 。这是安全的问题,因为刷新整个设备会删除 OTA。工具可以通过实现fastboot getvar snapshot-update-status在运行时检测到这个命令。此命令有助于区分错误情况。

例子

struct VirtualAbState {
    uint8_t StructVersion;
    uint8_t MergeStatus;
    uint8_t SourceSlot;
};

bool ShouldPreventUserdataWipe() {
    VirtualAbState state;
    if (!ReadVirtualAbState(&state)) ...
    return state.MergeStatus == MergeStatus::MERGING ||
           (state.MergeStatus == MergeStatus::SNAPSHOTTED &&
            state.SourceSlot != CurrentSlot()));
}

快速启动工具更改

Android 11 对 fastboot 协议进行了以下更改:

  • getvar snapshot-update-status — 返回引导控制 HAL 与引导加载程序通信的值:
    • 如果状态为MERGING ,则引导加载程序必须返回merging
    • 如果状态为SNAPSHOTTED ,则引导加载程序必须返回snapshotted
    • 否则,引导加载程序必须返回none
  • snapshot-update merge — 完成合并操作,必要时引导至 recovery/fastbootd。此命令仅在snapshot-update-statusmerging时有效,并且仅在 fastbootd 中受支持。
  • snapshot-update cancel — 将引导控制 HAL 的合并状态设置为CANCELLED 。该命令在设备被锁定时无效。
  • erasewipeerasewipe metadatauserdata或保存引导控制 HAL 合并状态的分区应检查快照合并状态。如果状态为MERGINGSNAPSHOTTED ,则设备应中止操作。
  • set_active — 更改活动槽的set_active命令应检查快照合并状态。如果状态为MERGING ,则设备应中止操作。可以在SNAPSHOTTED状态下安全地更改插槽。

这些更改旨在防止意外使设备无法启动,但它们可能会破坏自动化工具。当命令用作刷写所有分区的组件时,例如运行fastboot flashall ,建议使用以下流程:

  1. 查询getvar snapshot-update-status
  2. 如果mergingsnapshotted ,请发出snapshot-update cancel
  3. 继续闪烁步骤。

减少存储需求

强烈建议在 super 中没有分配完整 A/B 存储并且希望在必要时使用/data的设备使用块映射工具。块映射工具使构建之间的块分配保持一致,从而减少对快照的不必要写入。这记录在减少 OTA 大小下。

Google is committed to advancing racial equity for Black communities. See how.

Implementing Virtual A/B

To implement virtual A/B on a new device, or to retrofit a launched device, you need to make changes to device-specific code.

Build flags

Devices that use virtual A/B must be configured as an A/B device and must launch with dynamic partitions.

For devices launching with virtual A/B, set them to inherit the virtual A/B device base configuration:

$(call inherit-product, \
    $(SRC_TARGET_DIR)/product/virtual_ab_ota.mk)

Devices launching with virtual A/B need only half as much board size for BOARD_SUPER_PARTITION_SIZE because B slots are no longer in super. That is, BOARD_SUPER_PARTITION_SIZE should be greater than or equal to sum(size of update groups) + overhead, which, in turn, should be greater than or equal to sum(size of partitions) + overhead.

Boot control HAL

The boot control HAL provides an interface for OTA clients to controls boot slots. Virtual A/B requires a minor version upgrade of the boot control HAL because additional APIs are needed to tell bootloader to take care during flashing/factory reset. See IBootControl.hal and types.hal for the latest version of the HAL definition.

// hardware/interfaces/boot/1.1/types.hal
enum MergeStatus : uint8_t {
    NONE, UNKNOWN, SNAPSHOTTED, MERGING, CANCELLED };

// hardware/interfaces/boot/1.1/IBootControl.hal
package android.hardware.boot@1.1;
interface IBootControl extends @1.0::IBootControl {
    setSnapshotMergeStatus(MergeStatus status)
        generates (bool success);
    getSnapshotMergeStatus()
        generates (MergeStatus status);
}
// Recommended implementation

Return<bool> BootControl::setSnapshotMergeStatus(MergeStatus v) {
    // Write value to persistent storage
    // e.g. misc partition (using libbootloader_message)
    // bootloader rejects wipe when status is SNAPSHOTTED
    // or MERGING
}

Fstab changes

The integrity of the metadata partition is essential to the boot process, especially right after an OTA update is applied. So, the metadata partition should be checked before first_stage_init mounts it. To do so, add the check fs_mgr flag to the entry for /metadata. For example:

/dev/block/by-name/metadata /metadata ext4 noatime,nosuid,nodev,discard,sync wait,formattable,first_stage_mount,check

Kernel requirements

To enable snapshotting, set CONFIG_DM_SNAPSHOT to true.

For devices using F2FS, include the f2fs: export FS_NOCOW_FL flag to user kernel patch to fix file pinning. Additionally, include the f2fs: support aligned pinned file kernel patch as well.

Virtual A/B relies on features added in kernel version 4.3: the overflow status bit in the snapshot and snapshot-merge targets. All devices launching with Android 9 and later should already have kernel version 4.4 or later.

Retrofitting on devices upgrading to Android 11

When upgrading to Android 11, devices that launched with dynamic partitions can optionally retrofit virtual A/B. The update process is mostly the same as for devices launching with virtual A/B, with some minor differences:

  • Location of COW files — For launch devices, the OTA client uses all available empty space in the super partition before using space in /data. For retrofit devices, there's always enough space in the super partition so that the COW file is never created on /data.
  • Build-time feature flags — For devices retrofitting virtual A/B, both PRODUCT_VIRTUAL_AB_OTA and PRODUCT_VIRTUAL_AB_OTA_RETROFIT are set to `true`:
    $(call inherit-product, \
        $(SRC_TARGET_DIR)/product/virtual_ab_ota_retrofit.mk)
  • Super partition size — Devices launching with virtual A/B can cut BOARD_SUPER_PARTITION_SIZE in half because B slots are no longer in the super partition. Devices retrofitting virtual A/B will keep the old super partition size, so BOARD_SUPER_PARTITION_SIZE is greater than or equal to 2 * sum(size of update groups) + overhead, which in turn is greater than or equal to 2 * sum(size of partitions) + overhead.

Bootloader changes

During the merge step of an update, /data holds the only whole instance of the Android OS. Once the migration starts, the native system, vendor, and product partitions are incomplete until the copy finishes. If the device is factory reset during this process, either by recovery or the Systems settings dialog, then the device would be unbootable.

Before erasing /data, finish the merge in recovery or rollback depending on the device state:

  • If the new build booted successfully before, finish the migration.
  • Otherwise, rollback to the old slot:
    • For dynamic partitions, roll back to the previous state.
    • For static partitions, set the active slot to the old slot.

Both the bootloader and fastbootd can erase the /data partition if the device is unlocked. While fastbootd can force the migration to complete, the bootloader can’t. The bootloader doesn’t know whether or not a merge is in progress, or what blocks in /data constitute the OS partitions. Devices should prevent the user from bricking the device without knowing the risks by doing the following:

  1. Implement the boot control HAL so that the bootloader can read the value set by setSnapshotMergeStatus().
  2. If the merge status is MERGING, or if the merge status is SNAPSHOTTED and the slot has changed to the newly updated slot, then in the bootloader reject requests to wipe userdata, metadata, or the partition storing the merge status.
  3. Implement the fastboot snapshot-update cancel command so that users can signal to the bootloader that they want to bypass this protection mechanism.
  4. Modify custom flashing tools or scripts to issue fastboot snapshot-update cancel when flashing the entire device. This is safe to issue because flashing the entire device removes the OTA. Tooling can detect this command at runtime by implementing fastboot getvar snapshot-update-status. This command helps differentiate between error conditions.

Example

struct VirtualAbState {
    uint8_t StructVersion;
    uint8_t MergeStatus;
    uint8_t SourceSlot;
};

bool ShouldPreventUserdataWipe() {
    VirtualAbState state;
    if (!ReadVirtualAbState(&state)) ...
    return state.MergeStatus == MergeStatus::MERGING ||
           (state.MergeStatus == MergeStatus::SNAPSHOTTED &&
            state.SourceSlot != CurrentSlot()));
}

Fastboot tooling changes

Android 11 makes the following changes to the fastboot protocol:

  • getvar snapshot-update-status — Returns the value that the boot control HAL communicated to the bootloader:
    • If the state is MERGING, the bootloader must return merging.
    • If the state is SNAPSHOTTED, the bootloader must return snapshotted.
    • Otherwise, the bootloader must return none.
  • snapshot-update merge — Completes a merge operation, booting to recovery/fastbootd if necessary. This command is valid only if snapshot-update-status is merging, and is only supported in fastbootd.
  • snapshot-update cancel — Sets the boot control HAL's merge status to CANCELLED. This command is invalid when the device is locked.
  • erase or wipe — An erase or wipe of metadata, userdata, or a partition holding the merge status for the boot control HAL should check the snapshot merge status. If the status is MERGING or SNAPSHOTTED, the device should abort the operation.
  • set_active — A set_active command that changes the active slot should check the snapshot merge status. If the status is MERGING, the device should abort the operation. The slot can safely be changed in the SNAPSHOTTED state.

These changes are designed to prevent accidentally making a device unbootable, but they can be disruptive to automated tooling. When the commands are used as a component of flashing all partitions, such as running fastboot flashall, it's recommended to use the following flow:

  1. Query getvar snapshot-update-status.
  2. If merging or snapshotted, issue snapshot-update cancel.
  3. Proceed with flashing steps.

Reducing storage requirements

Devices that don't have full A/B storage allocated in super, and are expecting to use /data as necessary, are strongly recommended to use the block mapping tool. The block mapping tool keeps block allocation consistent between builds, reducing unnecessary writes to the snapshot. This is documented under Reducing OTA Size.

Additional patches

Cherry-pick the following patches to address the following known issues.

Sideloading a full OTA package on a Virtual A/B device that has a super partition with a size smaller than 2 * sum(size of update groups) may fail with the following in recovery log /tmp/recovery.log:

The maximum size of all groups with suffix _b (...) has exceeded half of allocatable space for dynamic partitions ...

Here is an example of the log:

[INFO:dynamic_partition_control_android.cc(1020)] Will overwrite existing partitions. Slot Amay be unbootable until update finishes!
[...]
[ERROR:dynamic_partition_control_android.cc(803)] The maximum size of all groups with suffix _b (2147483648) has exceeded half of allocatable space for dynamic partitions 1073741824.

If you encounter this issue, cherry pick CL 1399393, rebuild and flash the boot partition or recovery partition if the device does not use recovery as boot.