架构

Android 系统架构包含以下组件:

图 1. Android 系统架构

应用框架

应用框架最常被应用开发者使用。如果您是硬件开发者,则应该了解开发者 API,因为很多此类 API 都会直接映射到底层 HAL 接口,并可提供与实现驱动程序相关的实用信息。

Binder IPC

Binder 进程间通信 (IPC) 机制允许应用框架跨越进程边界并调用 Android 系统服务代码,从而使得高级框架 API 能与 Android 系统服务进行交互。在应用框架级别,开发者无法看到此类通信的过程,但一切都会“按部就班地运行”。

系统服务

系统服务是集中的模块化组件,例如窗口管理器、搜索服务或通知管理器。应用框架 API 所提供的功能可与系统服务通信,以访问底层硬件。Android 包含两组服务:“系统”(诸如窗口管理器和通知管理器之类的服务)和“媒体”(与播放和录制媒体相关的服务)。

硬件抽象层 (HAL)

硬件抽象层 (HAL) 会定义一个标准接口来供硬件供应商实现,从而能让 Android 忽略较低级别的驱动程序实现。借助 HAL,您可以顺利实现相关功能,而不会影响或更改更高级别的系统。HAL 实现会被封装成模块,并会由 Android 系统适时地加载。有关详情,请参阅硬件抽象层 (HAL) 一文。

Linux 内核

开发设备驱动程序与开发典型的 Linux 设备驱动程序类似。Android 使用的 Linux 内核版本包含一些特殊的补充功能,例如:唤醒锁(这是一种内存管理系统,可更主动地保护内存)、Binder IPC 驱动程序以及对移动嵌入式平台非常重要的其他功能。这些补充功能主要用于增强系统功能,不会影响驱动程序开发。

您可以使用任意版本的内核,只要它支持所需功能(如 Binder 驱动程序)。不过,我们建议您使用 Android 内核的最新版本。有关详情,请参阅编译内核一文。

Architecture

Android system architecture contains the following components:

Figure 1. Android system architecture

Application framework

The application framework is used most often by application developers. As a hardware developer, you should be aware of developer APIs as many map directly to the underlying HAL interfaces and can provide helpful information about implementing drivers.

Binder IPC

The Binder Inter-Process Communication (IPC) mechanism allows the application framework to cross process boundaries and call into the Android system services code. This enables high level framework APIs to interact with Android system services. At the application framework level, this communication is hidden from the developer and things appear to "just work".

System services

System services are modular, focused components such as Window Manager, Search Service, or Notification Manager. Functionality exposed by application framework APIs communicates with system services to access the underlying hardware. Android includes two groups of services: system (such as Window Manager and Notification Manager) and media (services involved in playing and recording media).

Hardware abstraction layer (HAL)

A HAL defines a standard interface for hardware vendors to implement, which enables Android to be agnostic about lower-level driver implementations. Using a HAL allows you to implement functionality without affecting or modifying the higher level system. HAL implementations are packaged into modules and loaded by the Android system at the appropriate time. For details, see Hardware Abstraction Layer (HAL).

Linux kernel

Developing your device drivers is similar to developing a typical Linux device driver. Android uses a version of the Linux kernel with a few special additions such as wake locks (a memory management system that is more aggressive in preserving memory), the Binder IPC driver, and other features important for a mobile embedded platform. These additions are primarily for system functionality and do not affect driver development.

You can use any version of the kernel as long as it supports the required features (such as the binder driver). However, we recommend using the latest version of the Android kernel. For details, see Building Kernels.