函数

HIDL 接口中的函数会映射到自动生成的 IFoo C++ 类声明中的方法。每个函数的名称在 C++ 中都将保持不变;下面几部分介绍了 HIDL 参数和返回值如何转换为 C++。

函数参数

.hal 文件中列出的参数会映射到 C++ 数据类型。未映射到基元 C++ 类型的参数会通过常量引用进行传递。

对于具有返回值(具有 generates 语句)的每个 HIDL 函数,该函数的 C++ 参数列表中都有一个附加参数:使用 HIDL 函数的返回值调用的回调函数。不过也有一个例外:如果 generates 子句包含直接映射到 C++ 基元的单个参数,则使用回调省略(回调会被移除,而返回值则会通过正常的 return 语句从函数返回)。

函数返回值

以下函数具有返回值。

传输错误和返回类型

generates 语句可以产生三种类型的函数签名:

  • 如果只有一个作为 C++ 基元的返回值,generates 返回值会由 Return<T> 对象中函数的值返回。
  • 如果情况更复杂,generates 返回值则会通过随函数调用本身一起提供的回调参数返回,而函数则返回 Return<void>
  • 如果不存在 generates 语句,函数则会返回 Return<void>

RPC 调用可能偶尔会遇到传输错误,例如服务器终止,传输资源不足以完成调用,或传递的参数不允许完成调用(例如缺少必需的回调函数)。Return 对象会存储传输错误指示以及 T 值(Return<void> 除外)。

由于客户端和服务器端函数具有相同的签名,因此服务器端函数必须返回 Return 类型(即使其实现并不会指出传输错误)。Return<T> 对象会使用 Return(myTValue) 进行构建(也可以通过 mTValue 隐式构建,例如在 return 语句中),而 Return<void> 对象则使用 Void() 进行构建。

Return<T> 对象可以从其 T 值执行隐式转换,也可以执行到该值的隐式转换。您可以检查 Return 对象是否存在传输错误,只需调用其 isOk() 方法即可。这项检查不是必需的;不过,如果发生了一个错误,而您未在 Return 对象销毁前对该错误进行检查,或尝试进行了 T 值转换,则客户端进程将会终止并记录一个错误。如果 isOk() 表明存在由开发者代码中的逻辑错误(例如将 nullptr 作为同步回调进行传递)导致的传输错误或失败调用,则可以对 Return 对象调用 description() 以返回适合日志记录的字符串。在这种情况下,您无法确定因调用失败而在服务器上执行的代码可能有多少。另外,您还可以使用 isDeadObject() 方法。此方法表明,之所以会显示 !isOk() 是因为远程对象已崩溃或已不存在。isDeadObject() 一律表示 !isOk()

由值返回

如果 generates 语句映射到单个 C++ 基元,则参数列表中不会有任何回调参数,而实现会在 Return<T> 对象中提供返回值 T,该值可以从基元类型 T 隐式生成。例如:

Return<uint32_t> someMethod() {
    uint32_t return_data = ...; // Compute return_data
    return return_data;
};

另外,您还可以使用 Return<*>::withDefault 方法。此方法会在返回值为 !isOk() 的情况下提供一个值。此方法还会自动将返回对象标记为正常,以免客户端进程遭到终止。

使用回调参数返回

回调可以将 HIDL 函数的返回值回传给调用方。回调的原型是 std::function 对象,其参数(从 generates 语句中获取)会映射到 C++ 类型。它的返回值为 void(回调本身并不会返回任何值)。

具有回调参数的 C++ 函数的返回值具有 Return<void> 类型。服务器实现仅负责提供返回值。由于返回值已使用回调传输,因此 T 模板参数为 void

Return<void> someMethod(someMethod_cb _cb);

服务器实现应从其 C++ 实现中返回 Void()(这是一个可返回 Return<void> 对象的静态内嵌函数)。具有回调参数的典型服务器方法实现示例:

Return<void> someMethod(someMethod_cb _cb) {
    // Do some processing, then call callback with return data
    hidl_vec<uint32_t> vec = ...
    _cb(vec);
    return Void();
};

没有返回值的函数

没有 generates 语句的函数的 C++ 签名将不会在参数列表中有任何回调参数。它的返回类型将为 Return<void>.

单向函数

oneway 关键字标记的函数是异步函数(其执行不会阻塞客户端),而且没有任何返回值。oneway 函数的 C++ 签名将不会在参数列表中有任何回调参数,而且其 C++ 返回值将为 Return<void>

Functions in a HIDL interface are mapped to methods in the autogenerated IFoo C++ class declaration. The name of each function remains the same in C++; the following sections describe how HIDL arguments and return values are translated to C++.

Function parameters

The arguments listed in the .hal file map to C++ data types. Arguments that do not map to a primitive C++ type are passed by const reference.

For every HIDL function that has a return value (has a generates statement), the C++ parameter list for that function has an additional argument: a callback function that is called with the return values of the HIDL function. There is one exception: If the generates clause contains a single parameter that directly maps to a C++ primitive, callback elision is used (the callback is removed and the return value is returned from the function through a normal return statement).

Function return values

The following functions have return values.

Transport errors and return type

The generates statement can result in three types of function signatures:

  • For only one return value that is a C++ primitive, the generates return value is returned by value from the function in a Return<T> object.
  • For more complicated cases, the generates return value(s) are returned through the callback parameter provided with the function call itself, and the function returns Return<void>.
  • For when no generates statement exists, the function returns Return<void>.

RPC calls can occasionally encounter transport errors, e.g. when the server dies, when transport resources are insufficient to complete the call, or when the parameters passed do not permit completing the call (such as missing a required callback function). Return objects store transport error indications as well as a T value (except Return<void>).

As the client-side and server-side functions have the same signature, the server-side function must return a Return type even though its implementation does not signal transport errors. Return<T> objects are constructed with Return(myTValue) (or can be implicitly constructed from mTValue, such as in return statements) and Return<void> objects are constructed with Void().

Return<T> objects have implicit conversion to and from their T value. The Return object can be checked for transport errors by calling its isOk() method. This check is not required; however, if an error occurs and is not checked by the time the Return object is destroyed, or a T value conversion is attempted, the client process will be killed and an error logged. If isOk() indicates a transport error or a call failure due to a logic error in developer code (such as passing nullptr as a synchronous callback), then description() can be called on the Return object to return a string suitable for logging. In such cases, there is no way to determine how much code may have executed on the server as a result of the failed call. The method isDeadObject() is also provided. This method indicates that !isOk() is because the remote object has crashed or no longer exists. isDeadObject() always implies !isOk().

Return by value

If the generates statement maps to a single C++ primitive, no callback parameter is in the parameter list. Instead, an implementation provides the return value T in a Return<T> object, which can be implicitly generated from the primitive type T. For example:

Return<uint32_t> someMethod() {
    uint32_t return_data = ...; // Compute return_data
    return return_data;

The method Return<*>::withDefault is also provided. This method provides a value in cases where the return value is !isOk(). This method also automatically marks the return object as okay so the client process will not be killed.

Return using callback parameter

A callback can pass the return value of the HIDL function back to the caller. The prototype of the callback is a std::function object with parameters (taken from the generates statement) mapped to C++ types. Its return value is void—the callback itself doesn't return a value.

The return value of a C++ function with a callback parameter has type Return<void>. The server implementation is responsible only for providing the return value. As the return values are already transferred using the callback, the T template parameter is void:

Return<void> someMethod(someMethod_cb _cb);

From their C++ implementation, server implementations should return Void(), which is a static inlined function returning a Return<void> object. Example of a typical server method implementation with a callback parameter:

Return<void> someMethod(someMethod_cb _cb) {
    // Do some processing, then call callback with return data
    hidl_vec<uint32_t> vec = ...
    return Void();

Functions without return values

The C++ signature of a function without a generates statement will not have a callback parameter in the parameter list. Its return type will be Return<void>.

Oneway functions

Functions marked with the oneway keyword are asynchronous functions (clients won't block on their execution) and do not have return values. The C++ signature of a oneway function will not have a callback parameter in the parameter list, and its C++ return value will be Return<void>.