配置音頻策略

Android 10 版本包括對音頻策略管理器的重大重構,以提供更大的靈活性來支持複雜的汽車用例:

  • OEM 特定的路由策略。
  • 使用相同體積曲線的傳統流類型組的可定制體積組。
  • 由音頻策略引擎聲明而不是硬編碼的路由策略。
  • 由音頻策略引擎管理的音量曲線和組。
  • 內部重構為未來在通用代碼和可配置代碼之間的拆分做準備,並提供更豐富的音頻設備管理。例如,在策略規則中使用所有設備屬性而不僅僅是其類型。

Android 7.0 引入了音頻策略配置文件格式 (XML) 來描述您的音頻拓撲。

使用所需的先前的Android釋放device/<company>/<device>/audio/audio_policy.conf申報音頻設備提出關於您的產品(可以看到此文件在Galaxy Nexus的音頻硬件的示例device/samsung/tuna/audio/audio_policy.conf )。然而,CONF 是一種簡單的專有格式,其局限性太大,無法描述電視和汽車等垂直領域的複雜拓撲。

安卓7.0棄用audio_policy.conf和使用的XML文件格式,更可讀的,具有廣泛的編輯和分析工具,而且具有足夠的靈活性來描述複雜的音頻拓撲定義的音頻拓撲增加了支持。安卓7.0使用USE_XML_AUDIO_POLICY_CONF構建標誌選擇的配置文件的XML格式。

XML 格式的優點

與 CONF 文件一樣,XML 文件可以定義輸出和輸入流配置文件的數量和類型、可用​​於播放和捕獲的設備以及音頻屬性。此外,XML 格式提供以下增強功能:

  • 在 Android 10 中,允許同時使用多個活動錄音應用。
    • 記錄開始永遠不會因為並發情況而被拒絕。
    • registerAudioRecordingCallback(AudioManager.AudioRecordingCallback cb)的捕獲路徑變化回調通知客戶端。
  • 在以下情況下,客戶端會獲取靜音音頻樣本:
    • 甲隱私敏感的用例(例如, VOICE_COMMUNICATION )被激活。
    • 客戶端沒有前台服務或前台 UI。
    • 特殊角色被政策認可:
      • 輔助功能服務:即使隱私敏感用例處於活動狀態,也可以進行記錄。
      • 助手:如果 UI 位於頂部,則視為隱私敏感。
  • 音頻配置文件具有類似於 HDMI 簡單音頻描述符的結構,可為每種音頻格式啟用一組不同的採樣率/通道掩碼。
  • 設備和流之間的所有可能的連接都有明確的定義。以前,隱式規則可以將所有設備連接到同一個 HAL 模塊,防止音頻策略控制使用音頻補丁 API 請求的連接。在 XML 格式中,拓撲描述定義了連接限制。
  • 為支持包括避免重複標準A2DP,USB,或重新路由提交的定義。
  • 音量曲線是可定制的。以前,卷表是硬編碼的。在 XML 格式中,描述了體積表並且可以自定義。

在模板frameworks/av/services/audiopolicy/config/audio_policy_configuration.xml顯示了許多在使用這些功能。

文件格式和位置

新的音頻策略配置文件是audio_policy_configuration.xml ,位於/system/etc 。以下示例顯示了適用於 Android 12 和 Android 12 以下版本的 XML 文件格式的簡單音頻策略配置。

頂層結構包含與每個音頻 HAL 硬件模塊對應的模塊,其中每個模塊都有一個混合端口、設備端口和路由的列表:

  • 混合端口描述,可以在音頻HAL打開回放和捕獲流可能的配置文件。
  • 設備端口描述了可以與他們的類型(和任選的地址和音頻屬性,如果相關)被附接的設備。
  • 路由從混音端口描述符分離,使路由從設備到設備或流至設備的描述。

音量表是簡單的點列表,用於定義用於從 UI 索引轉換為以 dB 為單位的音量的曲線。單獨的包含文件提供默認曲線,但可以覆蓋給定用例和設備類別的每條曲線。

文件包含

XML 包含 (XInclude) 方法可用於包含位於其他 XML 文件中的音頻策略配置信息。所有包含的文件都必須遵循上述結構,但有以下限制:

  • 文件只能包含頂級元素。
  • 文件不能包含 XInclude 元素。

使用包含避免將標準的 Android 開源項目 (AOSP) 音頻 HAL 模塊配置信息複製到所有音頻策略配置文件(容易出錯)。為以下音頻 HAL 提供了標準音頻策略配置 XML 文件:

  • A2DP: a2dp_audio_policy_configuration.xml
  • 重路由子混音: rsubmix_audio_policy_configuration.xml
  • USB: usb_audio_policy_configuration.xml

音頻政策代碼組織

AudioPolicyManager.cpp被分成幾個模塊,使其易於維護和配置。組織frameworks/av/services/audiopolicy包括以下模塊。

模塊描述
/managerdefault包括所有應用程序通用的通用接口和行為實現。類似AudioPolicyManager.cpp發動機的功能和常用的概念抽象出來。
/common定義基類(例如,輸入輸出音頻流配置文件、音頻設備描述符、音頻補丁和音頻端口的數據結構)。這是以前中定義AudioPolicyManager.cpp
/engine

實施定義給定用例應使用哪些設備和卷的規則。它實現了通用部分的標準接口,例如為給定的播放或捕獲用例獲取適當的設備,或者設置可以更改路由的連接設備或外部狀態(即強制使用的調用狀態)決定。

有兩個版本:配置默認。有關如何選擇版本的信息,請參閱配置使用的參數框架

/engineconfigurable依賴於參數框架的策略引擎實現(見下文)。配置基於參數框架,策略由 XML 文件定義。
/enginedefault基於以前的 Android 音頻策略管理器實現的策略引擎實現。這是默認設置,包括與 Nexus 和 AOSP 實現相對應的硬編碼規則。
/service包括綁定器接口、線程和鎖定實現以及框架其餘部分的接口。

使用參數框架配置

音頻策略代碼的組織使其易於理解和維護,同時還支持完全由配置文件定義的音頻策略。組織和音頻策略設計基於英特爾的參數框架,這是一個基於插件和規則的參數處理框架。

使用可配置的音頻策略使供應商 OEM 能夠:

  • 用 XML 描述系統的結構及其參數。
  • 編寫(在 C++ 中)或重用後端(插件)來訪問描述的參數。
  • 定義(以 XML 或特定領域的語言)條件/規則,在這些條件/規則上,給定的參數必須採用給定的值。

AOSP包括使用參數框架在音頻策略配置文件的一個示例Frameworks/av/services/audiopolicy/engineconfigurable/parameter-framework/example/Settings/PolicyConfigurableDomains.xml 。有關詳細信息,請參考Intel的文檔參數框架

在Android的10或更低,可配置的音頻策略是使用編譯選項選擇USE_CONFIGURABLE_AUDIO_POLICY 。在Android的11或更高,音頻策略引擎的版本中選擇audio_policy_configuration.xml文件。要選擇配置的音頻策略引擎,設置的值engine_library的屬性globalConfiguration元素configurable ,如下面的例子:

<audioPolicyConfiguration>
    <globalConfiguration engine_library="configurable" />
...
</audioPolicyConfiguration>

音頻策略路由 API

Android 6.0 引入了一個公共枚舉和選擇 API,它位於音頻補丁/音頻端口基礎架構之上,並允許應用程序開發人員為連接的音頻記錄或音軌指示特定設備輸出或輸入的偏好。

在 Android 7.0 中,Enumeration and Selection API 通過 CTS 測試進行驗證,並擴展為包括本地 C/C++ (OpenSL ES) 音頻流的路由。原生流的路由繼續在Java中做,加上一個的AudioRouting接口用以取代,聯合收割機,並棄用一項包含具體的顯式路由方法AudioTrackAudioRecord類。

有關枚舉和選擇API的詳細信息,請參閱Android的配置界面OpenSLES_AndroidConfiguration.h 。有關音頻路由的詳細信息,請參閱AudioRouting

多渠道支持

如果您的硬件和驅動程序通過 HDMI 支持多聲道音頻,您可以將音頻流直接輸出到音頻硬件(這會繞過 AudioFlinger 混音器,因此它不會被縮混到兩個聲道。)音頻 HAL 必須公開輸出流配置文件是否支持多聲道音頻功能。如果 HAL 公開其功能,則默認策略管理器允許通過 HDMI 進行多通道播放。對於實施細節,請參見device/samsung/tuna/audio/audio_hw.c

要指定您的產品包含多聲道音頻輸出,請編輯音頻策略配置文件以描述產品的多聲道輸出。從下面的例子中frameworks/av/services/audiopolicy/config/primary_audio_policy_configuration_tv.xml示出了動態信道掩模,這意味著音頻策略管理器將查詢連接之後,由HDMI接收所支持的信道的掩模。

您還可以指定一個靜態信道屏蔽,如AUDIO_CHANNEL_OUT_5POINT1 。當發送到不支持多聲道音頻的音頻設備時,AudioFlinger 的混音器會自動將內容縮混為立體聲。

媒體編解碼器

確保為您的產品正確聲明了您的硬件和驅動程序支持的音頻編解碼器。有關詳細信息,請參閱暴露編解碼器的框架

Configuring Audio Policies

The Android 10 release includes a significant refactoring of the audio policy manager to provide more flexibility to support complex automotive use cases:

  • OEM-specific routing strategies.
  • Customizable volume groups for groups of legacy stream types using the same volume curves.
  • Routing strategies declared by the audio policy engine instead of being hard coded.
  • Volume curves and groups managed by the audio policy engine.
  • Internal refactoring preparing for a future split between common code and configurable code and offering richer audio device management. For example, the use of all device properties not just its type in policy rules.

Android 7.0 introduced a audio policy configuration file format (XML) for describing your audio topology.

Previous Android releases required using device/<company>/<device>/audio/audio_policy.conf to declare the audio devices present on your product (you can see an example of this file for the Galaxy Nexus audio hardware in device/samsung/tuna/audio/audio_policy.conf). However, CONF is a simple, proprietary format that is too limited to describe complex topologies for verticals like televisions and automobiles.

Android 7.0 deprecates audio_policy.conf and adds support for defining an audio topology using an XML file format that's more human-readable, has a wide range of editing and parsing tools, and is flexible enough to describe complex audio topologies.

Advantages of the XML format

As in the CONF file, the XML file enables defining the number and types of output and input stream profiles, devices usable for playback and capture, and audio attributes. In addition, the XML format offers the following enhancements:

  • In Android 10, more than one active recording app is allowed simultaneously.
    • Recording start is never rejected due to a concurrency situation.
    • The registerAudioRecordingCallback(AudioManager.AudioRecordingCallback cb) callback notifies clients of capture path changes.
  • In the following situations, a client gets silent audio samples:
    • A privacy-sensitive use case (for example, VOICE_COMMUNICATION) is active.
    • The client doesn't have a foreground service or foreground UI.
    • Specials roles are recognized by the policy:
      • Accessibility service: Can record even if a privacy-sensitive use case is active.
      • Assistant: Considered privacy sensitive if the UI is on top.
  • Audio profiles have a structure similar to HDMI simple audio descriptors, enabling a different set of sampling rates/channel masks for each audio format.
  • There are explicit definitions for all possible connections between devices and streams. Previously, an implicit rule made it possible to connect all devices attached to the same HAL module, preventing the audio policy from controlling connections requested with audio patch APIs. In the XML format, the topology description defines connection limitations.
  • Support for includes avoids repeating standard A2DP, USB, or reroute submit definitions.
  • Volume curves are customizable. Previously, volume tables were hardcoded. In the XML format, volume tables are described and can be customized.

The template at frameworks/av/services/audiopolicy/config/audio_policy_configuration.xml shows many of these features in use.

File format and location

The new audio policy configuration file is audio_policy_configuration.xml and is located in /system/etc. The example below shows a simple audio policy configuration in the XML file format.

The top-level structure contains modules that correspond to each audio HAL hardware module, where each module has a list of mix ports, device ports, and routes:

  • Mix ports describe the possible config profiles for streams that can be opened at the audio HAL for playback and capture.
  • Device ports describe the devices that can be attached with their type (and optionally address and audio properties, if relevant).
  • Routes is separated from the mix port descriptor, enabling the description of routes from device to device or stream to device.

Volume tables are simple lists of points defining the curve used to translate from a UI index to a volume in dB. A separate include file provides default curves, but each curve for a given use case and device category can be overwritten.

File inclusions

The XML Inclusions (XInclude) method can be used to include audio policy configuration information located in other XML files. All included files must follow the structure described above with the following restrictions:

  • Files can contain only top-level elements.
  • Files can't contain XInclude elements.

Use includes to avoid copying standard Android Open Source Project (AOSP) audio HAL module configurations information to all audio policy configuration files (which is prone to errors). A standard audio policy configuration XML file is provided for the following audio HALs:

  • A2DP: a2dp_audio_policy_configuration.xml
  • Reroute submix: rsubmix_audio_policy_configuration.xml
  • USB: usb_audio_policy_configuration.xml

Audio policy code organization

AudioPolicyManager.cpp is split into several modules to make it easy to maintain and configure. The organization of frameworks/av/services/audiopolicy includes the following modules.

Module Description
/managerdefault Includes the generic interfaces and behavior implementation common to all apps. Similar to AudioPolicyManager.cpp with engine functionality and common concepts abstracted away.
/common Defines base classes (for example, data structures for input output audio stream profiles, audio device descriptors, audio patches, and audio ports). This was previously defined inside AudioPolicyManager.cpp.
/engine

Implements the rules that define which device and volumes should be used for a given use case. It implements a standard interface with the generic part, such as to get the appropriate device for a given playback or capture use case, or to set connected devices or external state (that is, a call state of forced usage) that can alter the routing decision.

Available in two versions, customized and default; use build option USE_CONFIGURABLE_AUDIO_POLICY to select.

/engineconfigurable Policy engine implementation that relies on Parameter Framework (see below). Configuration is based on the Parameter Framework and where the policy is defined by XML files.
/enginedefault Policy engine implementation based on previous Android Audio Policy Manager implementations. This is the default and includes hard-coded rules that correspond to Nexus and AOSP implementations.
/service Includes binder interfaces, threading, and locking implementation with the interface to the rest of the framework.

Configuration using Parameter Framework

Audio policy code is organized to make it easy to understand and maintain while also supporting an audio policy defined entirely by configuration files. The organization and audio policy design is based on Intel's Parameter Framework, a plugin-based and rule-based framework for handling parameters.

Using the configurable audio policy enables vendors OEMs to:

  • Describe a system's structure and its parameters in XML.
  • Write (in C++) or reuse a backend (plugin) for accessing described parameters.
  • Define (in XML or in a domain-specific language) conditions/rules upon which a given parameter must take a given value.

AOSP includes an example of an audio policy configuration file that uses the Parameter Framework at Frameworks/av/services/audiopolicy/engineconfigurable/parameter-framework/example/Settings/PolicyConfigurableDomains.xml. For details, refer to Intel documentation on the Parameter Framework.

Audio policy routing APIs

Android 6.0 introduced a public Enumeration and Selection API that sits on top of the audio patch/audio port infrastructure and allows app developers to indicate a preference for a specific device output or input for connected audio records or tracks.

In Android 7.0, the Enumeration and Selection API is verified by CTS tests and is extended to include routing for native C/C++ (OpenSL ES) audio streams. The routing of native streams continues to be done in Java, with the addition of an AudioRouting interface that supersedes, combines, and deprecates the explicit routing methods that were specific to the AudioTrack and AudioRecord classes.

For details on the Enumeration and Selection API, refer to Android configuration interfaces and OpenSLES_AndroidConfiguration.h. For details on audio routing, refer to AudioRouting.

Multi-channel support

If your hardware and driver supports multichannel audio via HDMI, you can output the audio stream directly to the audio hardware (this bypasses the AudioFlinger mixer so it doesn't get downmixed to two channels.) The audio HAL must expose whether an output stream profile supports multichannel audio capabilities. If the HAL exposes its capabilities, the default policy manager allows multichannel playback over HDMI. For implementation details, see device/samsung/tuna/audio/audio_hw.c.

To specify that your product contains a multichannel audio output, edit the audio policy configuration file to describe the multichannel output for your product. The following example from a Galaxy Nexus shows a dynamic channel mask, which means that the audio policy manager queries the channel masks supported by the HDMI sink after connection.

audio_hw_modules {
  primary {
    outputs {
        ...
        hdmi {
          sampling_rates 44100|48000
          channel_masks dynamic
          formats AUDIO_FORMAT_PCM_16_BIT
          devices AUDIO_DEVICE_OUT_AUX_DIGITAL
          flags AUDIO_OUTPUT_FLAG_DIRECT
        }
        ...
    }
    ...
  }
  ...
}

You can also specify a static channel mask such as AUDIO_CHANNEL_OUT_5POINT1. AudioFlinger's mixer downmixes the content to stereo automatically when sent to an audio device that doesn't support multichannel audio.

Media codecs

Ensure that the audio codecs your hardware and drivers support are properly declared for your product. For details, see Exposing codecs to the framework.