实现 VSYNC

VSYNC 可将某些事件同步到显示设备的刷新周期。应用总是在 VSYNC 边界上开始绘制,而 SurfaceFlinger 总是在 VSYNC 边界上进行合成。这样可以消除卡顿,并提升图形的视觉表现。

Hardware Composer (HWC) 具有一个函数指针,用于指示要为 VSYNC 实现的函数:

int (waitForVsync*) (int64_t *timestamp)

在发生 VSYNC 并返回实际 VSYNC 的时间戳之前,这个函数会处于阻塞状态。每次发生 VSYNC 时,都必须发送一条消息。客户端会以指定的间隔收到 VSYNC 时间戳,或者以 1 为间隔连续收到 VSYNC 时间戳。您必须实现最大延迟时间为 1 毫秒(建议 0.5 毫秒或更短)的 VSYNC;返回的时间戳必须非常准确。

显式同步

显式同步是必需的,它提供了一种以同步方式获取和释放 Gralloc 缓冲区的机制。显式同步允许图形缓冲区的生产方和消耗方在完成对缓冲区的处理时发出信号。这允许 Android 异步地将要读取或写入的缓冲区加入队列,并且确定另一个消耗方或生产方当前不需要它们。有关详细信息,请参阅同步框架一文。

显式同步的优点包括设备之间的行为变化较小、调试支持更好,并且测试指标更完善。例如,同步框架输出可以很容易地识别问题区域和根本原因,而集中的 SurfaceFlinger 演示时间戳可以显示何时在系统的正常流程中发生事件。

该通信是通过使用同步栅栏来促进的。在请求用于消耗或生产的缓冲区时,必须使用同步栅栏。同步框架由三个主要构造块组成:sync_timelinesync_ptsync_fence

sync_timeline

sync_timeline 是一个单调递增的时间轴,应为每个驱动程序实例(如 GL 上下文、显示控制器或 2D 位块传送器)实现该时间轴。这本质上是针对提交到特定硬件内核的作业的计数器。它为相关操作的顺序提供了保证,并允许特定于硬件的实现。

sync_timeline 作为仅限 CPU 的参考实现进行提供(称为 sw_sync(软件同步))。如果可能,请使用它而不是 sync_timeline,以节省资源并避免复杂性。如果您没有使用硬件资源,则 sw_sync 应该就够了。

如果必须实现 sync_timeline,请使用 sw_sync 驱动程序作为起点,并遵循以下准则:

  • 为所有驱动程序、时间轴和栅栏指定实用的名称。这可简化调试。
  • 在时间轴中实现 timeline_value_strpt_value_str 运算符,使调试输出更易于理解。
  • 如果您希望用户空间库(如 GL 库)可以访问时间轴的私有数据,请实现填充 driver_data 运算符。这能让您获得不可变 sync_fence 和 sync_pts 的相关信息,从而在其基础上构建命令行。

实现 sync_timeline 时,请勿

  • 使其基于任何实际的时间。例如,当一个挂钟到达某个时间点或其他工作可能结束时的时间点。最好创建一个您可以控制的抽象时间轴。
  • 允许用户空间明确创建栅栏或使其变为有信号量状态。这会导致一个用户通道创建可停止所有功能的拒绝服务攻击。这是因为用户空间不能代表内核做出承诺。
  • 明确访问 sync_timelinesync_ptsync_fence 元素,因为 API 应该提供所有必需的函数。

sync_pt

sync_pt 是 sync_timeline 上的单个值或点。点具有三种状态:活动、有信号量和错误。点最初处于活动状态,然后转变为有信号量状态或错误状态。例如,当图像消耗方不再需要缓冲区时,此 sync_point 会处于有信号量状态,以便图像生产方知道可以再次写入缓冲区。

sync_fence

sync_fencesync_pts 的集合,它通常具有不同的 sync_timeline 父项(例如,用于显示控制器和 GPU)。这些是驱动程序和用户空间用来传达依赖关系的主要基元。栅栏是内核在接受已加入队列的工作时给予的承诺,可确保工作在有限的时间内完成。

可让多个消耗方或生产方发出信号,指明它们正在使用一个缓冲区,并允许通过一个函数参数来传达该信息。栅栏由文件描述符提供支持,可以从内核空间传递到用户空间。例如,栅栏可以包含两个 sync_points,它们指示两个单独的图像消耗方何时完成缓冲区读取。当栅栏变为有信号量状态时,图像生产方便知道两个消耗方都已完成消耗。

栅栏(如 sync_pts)最初处于活动状态,然后根据它们的点的状态改变状态。如果所有 sync_pts 都变为有信号量状态,sync_fence 就会变为有信号量状态。如果一个 sync_pt 变为错误状态,则整个 sync_fence 会变为错误状态。

创建栅栏后,sync_fence 中的成员是不可变的。由于 sync_pt 只能在一个栅栏中,因此它是作为副本包含在内。即使两个点具有相同的值,栅栏中也会有两个 sync_pt 副本。为了在栅栏中获得多个点,当来自两个完全不同栅栏的点添加到第三个栅栏时,将进行合并操作。如果其中一个点在原始栅栏中处于有信号量状态,另一个点未处于有信号量状态,那么第三个栅栏也不会处于有信号量状态。

要实现显式同步,请提供以下内容:

  • 为特定硬件实现同步时间轴的内核空间驱动程序。需要感知栅栏的驱动程序通常是访问 Hardware Composer 或与其通信的任何程序。关键文件包括:
    • 核心实现:
      • kernel/common/include/linux/sync.h
      • kernel/common/drivers/base/sync.c
    • sw_sync
      • kernel/common/include/linux/sw_sync.h
      • kernel/common/drivers/base/sw_sync.c
    • kernel/common//Documentation/sync.txt 中的文档。
    • platform/system/core/libsync 中的内核空间进行通信的库。
  • 支持新同步功能的 Hardware Composer HAL(v1.3 或更高版本)。您必须为 HAL 中的 set()prepare() 函数提供适当的同步栅栏作为参数。
  • 图形驱动程序中的两个与栅栏相关的 GL 扩展程序(EGL_ANDROID_native_fence_syncEGL_ANDROID_wait_sync)以及栅栏支持。

例如,要使用支持同步函数的 API,您可以开发具有显示设备缓冲区函数的显示设备驱动程序。在同步框架出现之前,此函数会接收 dma-buf,将这些缓冲区放在显示设备上,并在缓冲区可见时阻塞。例如:

/*
 * assumes buf is ready to be displayed.  returns when buffer is no longer on
 * screen.
 */
void display_buffer(struct dma_buf *buf);

对于同步框架,API 调用稍微复杂一点。在将缓冲区放在显示设备上时,请将其与指示该缓冲区何时准备就绪的栅栏相关联。您可以让工作排队等候,并在栅栏清除后启动。

这样,不会阻塞任何内容。您会立即返回自己的栅栏,这是对缓冲区何时离开显示设备的保证。让缓冲区排队等候时,内核将列出与同步框架的依赖关系:

/*
 * will display buf when fence is signaled.  returns immediately with a fence
 * that will signal when buf is no longer displayed.
 */
struct sync_fence* display_buffer(struct dma_buf *buf, struct sync_fence
*fence);

同步集成

本部分将介绍如何将低级同步框架与 Android 框架的不同部分以及与彼此必须通信的驱动程序进行集成。

集成规范

用于图形的 Android HAL 接口会遵循统一的规范,因此当文件描述符通过 HAL 接口传递时,始终会传输文件描述符的所有权。这意味着:

  • 如果您从同步框架收到栅栏文件描述符,就必须将其关闭。
  • 如果您将栅栏文件描述符返回到同步框架,框架将关闭它。
  • 要继续使用栅栏文件描述符,您必须复制该描述符。

每当栅栏通过 BufferQueue(例如某个窗口将栅栏传递到 BufferQueue,指明其新内容何时准备就绪)时,该栅栏对象将被重命名。由于内核栅栏支持允许栅栏使用字符串作为名称,因此同步框架使用正在排队的窗口名称和缓冲区索引来命名栅栏(例如 SurfaceView:0)。这有助于进行调试来找出死锁的来源,因为名称会显示在 /d/sync 的输出和错误报告中。

ANativeWindow 集成

ANativeWindow 是栅栏感知的,而且 dequeueBufferqueueBuffercancelBuffer 具有栅栏参数。

OpenGL ES 集成

OpenGL ES 同步集成依赖于两个 EGL 扩展程序:

  • EGL_ANDROID_native_fence_sync。提供一种在 EGLSyncKHR 对象中包装或创建原生 Android 栅栏文件描述符的方法。
  • EGL_ANDROID_wait_sync。允许 GPU 端停止而不是在 CPU 中停止,使 GPU 等待 EGLSyncKHR。这与 EGL_KHR_wait_sync 扩展程序基本相同(有关详细信息,请参阅相关规范)。

这些扩展程序可以独立使用,并由 libgui 中的编译标记控制。要使用它们,请首先实现 EGL_ANDROID_native_fence_sync 扩展程序以及关联的内核支持。接下来,为驱动程序添加对栅栏的 ANATIONWindow 支持,然后在 libgui 中启用支持以使用 EGL_ANDROID_native_fence_sync 扩展程序。

其次,在驱动程序中启用 EGL_ANDROID_wait_sync 扩展程序,并单独打开它。EGL_ANDROID_native_fence_sync 扩展程序包含完全不同的原生栅栏 EGLSync 对象类型,因此适用于现有 EGLSync 对象类型的扩展程序不一定适用于 EGL_ANDROID_native_fence 对象,以避免不必要的交互。

EGL_ANDROID_native_fence_sync 扩展程序使用相应的原生栅栏文件描述符属性,该属性只能在创建时设置,不能从现有同步对象直接向前查询。该属性可以设置为以下两种模式之一:

  • 有效的栅栏文件描述符。在 EGLSyncKHR 对象中包装现有的原生 Android 栅栏文件描述符。
  • -1。从 EGLSyncKHR 对象创建原生 Android 栅栏文件描述符。

DupNativeFenceFD 函数调用用于从原生 Android 栅栏文件描述符中提取 EGLSyncKHR 对象。这与查询已设置的属性具有相同的结果,但遵守由收件人关闭栅栏的规范(因此是重复操作)。最后,清除 EGLSync 对象应该会关闭内部栅栏属性。

Hardware Composer 集成

Hardware Composer 可处理三种类型的同步栅栏:

  • 获取栅栏。每层一个,在调用 HWC::set 之前设置。当 Hardware Composer 可以读取缓冲区时,该栅栏会变为有信号量状态。
  • 释放栅栏。每层一个,在 HWC::set 中由驱动程序填充。当 Hardware Composer 完成对缓冲区的读取时,该栅栏会变为有信号量状态,以便框架可以再次开始将该缓冲区用于特定层。
  • 退出栅栏。整个框架一个,每次调用 HWC::set 时由驱动程序填充。HWC::set 操作会覆盖所有的层,并且当所有层的 HWC::set 操作完成时会变成有信号量状态并通知框架。当在屏幕上进行下一设置操作时,退出栅栏将变为有信号量状态。

退出栅栏可用于确定每个帧在屏幕上的显示时长。这有助于识别延迟的位置和来源,例如卡顿的动画。

VSYNC 偏移

应用和 SurfaceFlinger 渲染循环应同步到硬件 VSYNC。在 VSYNC 事件中,显示设备开始显示帧 N,而 SurfaceFlinger 开始为帧 N+1 合成窗口。应用处理等待的输入并生成帧 N+2。

与 VSYNC 同步会实现一致的延迟时间。它可以减少应用和 SurfaceFlinger 中的错误,以及相位内外显示设备之间的漂移。但是,这要假定应用和 SurfaceFlinger 的每帧时间没有很大变化。尽管如此,延迟至少为两帧。

为了解决此问题,您可以通过使应用和合成信号与硬件 VSYNC 相关,从而利用 VSYNC 偏移减少输入设备到显示设备的延迟。这是有可能的,因为应用加合成通常需要不到 33 毫秒的时间。

VSYNC 偏移的结果是具有相同周期和偏移相位的三个信号:

  • HW_VSYNC_0。显示设备开始显示下一帧。
  • VSYNC。应用读取输入内容并生成下一帧。
  • SF VSYNC。SurfaceFlinger 开始为下一帧进行合成。

通过 VSYNC 偏移,SurfaceFlinger 接收缓冲区并合成帧,而应用处理输入内容并渲染帧,所有这些操作都在一个时间段内完成。

注意:VSYNC 偏移会缩短可用于应用和合成的时间,因此增加了出错几率。

DispSync

DispSync 维护显示设备基于硬件的周期性 VSYNC 事件的模型,并使用该模型在硬件 VSYNC 事件的特定相位偏移处执行周期性回调。

DispSync 实质上是一个软件锁相回路 (PLL),它可以生成由 Choreographer 和 SurfaceFlinger 使用的 VSYNC 和 SF VSYNC 信号,即使没有来自硬件 VSYNC 的偏移也是如此。

DispSync 流程

图 1. DispSync 流程

DispSync 具有以下特点:

  • 参考。HW_VSYNC_0。
  • 输出。VSYNC 和 SF VSYNC。
  • 反馈。来自 Hardware Composer 的退出栅栏有信号量状态时间戳。

VSYNC/退出偏移

退出栅栏的有信号量状态时间戳必须与 HW VSYNC 相符,即使在不使用偏移相位的设备上也是如此。否则,实际造成的错误会严重得多。智能面板通常有一个增量:退出栅栏是对显示设备内存进行直接内存访问 (DMA) 的终点,但是实际的显示切换和 HW VSYNC 会晚一段时间。

PRESENT_TIME_OFFSET_FROM_VSYNC_NS 在设备的 BoardConfig.mk Makefile 中设置。它基于显示控制器和面板特性。从退出栅栏时间戳到 HW VSYNC 信号的时间是以纳秒为单位进行测量。

VSYNC 和 SF_VSYNC 偏移

VSYNC_EVENT_PHASE_OFFSET_NSSF_VSYNC_EVENT_PHASE_OFFSET_NS 是在高负载用例的基础上进行保守设置,例如在窗口转换期间进行部分 GPU 合成或 Chrome 滚动显示包含动画的网页。这些偏移允许较长的应用渲染时间和较长的 GPU 合成时间。

超过一两毫秒的延迟时间是非常明显的。我们建议集成彻底的自动化错误测试,以便在不显著增加错误计数的前提下最大限度减少延迟时间。

注意:这些偏移同样在设备的 BoardConfig.mk 文件中配置。两个设置都是 HW_VSYNC_0 之后以纳秒为单位的偏移,默认值为零(如未设置的话),也可以为负值。

Implementing VSYNC

VSYNC synchronizes certain events to the refresh cycle of the display. Applications always start drawing on a VSYNC boundary, and SurfaceFlinger always composites on a VSYNC boundary. This eliminates stutters and improves visual performance of graphics.

The Hardware Composer (HWC) has a function pointer indicating the function to implement for VSYNC:

 int (waitForVsync*) (int64_t *timestamp) 

This function blocks until a VSYNC occurs and returns the timestamp of the actual VSYNC. A message must be sent every time VSYNC occurs. A client can receive a VSYNC timestamp once at specified intervals or continuously at intervals of 1. You must implement VSYNC with a maximum 1 ms lag (0.5 ms or less is recommended); timestamps returned must be extremely accurate.

Explicit synchronization

Explicit synchronization is required and provides a mechanism for Gralloc buffers to be acquired and released in a synchronized way. Explicit synchronization allows producers and consumers of graphics buffers to signal when they are done with a buffer. This allows Android to asynchronously queue buffers to be read or written with the certainty that another consumer or producer does not currently need them. For details, see Synchronization framework.

The benefits of explicit synchronization include less behavior variation between devices, better debugging support, and improved testing metrics. For instance, the sync framework output readily identifies problem areas and root causes, and centralized SurfaceFlinger presentation timestamps show when events occur in the normal flow of the system.

This communication is facilitated by the use of synchronization fences, which are required when requesting a buffer for consuming or producing. The synchronization framework consists of three main building blocks: sync_timeline, sync_pt, and sync_fence.

sync_timeline

A sync_timeline is a monotonically increasing timeline that should be implemented for each driver instance, such as a GL context, display controller, or 2D blitter. This is essentially a counter of jobs submitted to the kernel for a particular piece of hardware. It provides guarantees about the order of operations and allows hardware-specific implementations.

The sync_timeline is offered as a CPU-only reference implementation called sw_sync (software sync). If possible, use this instead of a sync_timeline to save resources and avoid complexity. If you’re not employing a hardware resource, sw_sync should be sufficient.

If you must implement a sync_timeline, use the sw_sync driver as a starting point. Follow these guidelines:

  • Provide useful names for all drivers, timelines, and fences. This simplifies debugging.
  • Implement timeline_value_str and pt_value_str operators in your timelines to make debugging output more readable.
  • If you want your userspace libraries (such as the GL library) to have access to the private data of your timelines, implement the fill driver_data operator. This lets you get information about the immutable sync_fence and sync_pts so you can build command lines based upon them.

When implementing a sync_timeline, do not:

  • Base it on any real view of time, such as when a wall clock or other piece of work might finish. It is better to create an abstract timeline that you can control.
  • Allow userspace to explicitly create or signal a fence. This can result in one piece of the user pipeline creating a denial-of-service attack that halts all functionality. This is because the userspace cannot make promises on behalf of the kernel.
  • Access sync_timeline, sync_pt, or sync_fence elements explicitly, as the API should provide all required functions.

sync_pt

A sync_pt is a single value or point on a sync_timeline. A point has three states: active, signaled, and error. Points start in the active state and transition to the signaled or error states. For instance, when a buffer is no longer needed by an image consumer, this sync_point is signaled so image producers know it is okay to write into the buffer again.

sync_fence

A sync_fence is a collection of sync_pts that often have different sync_timeline parents (such as for the display controller and GPU). These are the main primitives over which drivers and userspace communicate their dependencies. A fence is a promise from the kernel given upon accepting work that has been queued and assures completion in a finite amount of time.

This allows multiple consumers or producers to signal they are using a buffer and to allow this information to be communicated with one function parameter. Fences are backed by a file descriptor and can be passed from kernel-space to user-space. For instance, a fence can contain two sync_points that signify when two separate image consumers are done reading a buffer. When the fence is signaled, the image producers know both consumers are done consuming.

Fences, like sync_pts, start active and then change state based upon the state of their points. If all sync_pts become signaled, the sync_fence becomes signaled. If one sync_pt falls into an error state, the entire sync_fence has an error state.

Membership in the sync_fence is immutable after the fence is created. As a sync_pt can be in only one fence, it is included as a copy. Even if two points have the same value, there will be two copies of the sync_pt in the fence. To get more than one point in a fence, a merge operation is conducted where points from two distinct fences are added to a third fence. If one of those points was signaled in the originating fence and the other was not, the third fence will also not be in a signaled state.

To implement explicit synchronization, provide the following:

  • A kernel-space driver that implements a synchronization timeline for a particular piece of hardware. Drivers that need to be fence-aware are generally anything that accesses or communicates with the Hardware Composer. Key files include:
    • Core implementation:
      • kernel/common/include/linux/sync.h
      • kernel/common/drivers/base/sync.c
    • sw_sync:
      • kernel/common/include/linux/sw_sync.h
      • kernel/common/drivers/base/sw_sync.c
    • Documentation at kernel/common//Documentation/sync.txt.
    • Library to communicate with the kernel-space in platform/system/core/libsync.
  • A Hardware Composer HAL module (v1.3 or higher) that supports the new synchronization functionality. You must provide the appropriate synchronization fences as parameters to the set() and prepare() functions in the HAL.
  • Two fence-related GL extensions (EGL_ANDROID_native_fence_sync and EGL_ANDROID_wait_sync) and fence support in your graphics drivers.

For example, to use the API supporting the synchronization function, you might develop a display driver that has a display buffer function. Before the synchronization framework existed, this function would receive dma-bufs, put those buffers on the display, and block while the buffer is visible. For example:

/*
 * assumes buf is ready to be displayed.  returns when buffer is no longer on
 * screen.
 */
void display_buffer(struct dma_buf *buf);

With the synchronization framework, the API call is slightly more complex. While putting a buffer on display, you associate it with a fence that says when the buffer will be ready. You can queue up the work and initiate after the fence clears.

In this manner, you are not blocking anything. You immediately return your own fence, which is a guarantee of when the buffer will be off of the display. As you queue up buffers, the kernel will list dependencies with the synchronization framework:

/*
 * will display buf when fence is signaled.  returns immediately with a fence
 * that will signal when buf is no longer displayed.
 */
struct sync_fence* display_buffer(struct dma_buf *buf, struct sync_fence
*fence);

Sync integration

This section explains how to integrate the low-level sync framework with different parts of the Android framework and the drivers that must communicate with one another.

Integration conventions

The Android HAL interfaces for graphics follow consistent conventions so when file descriptors are passed across a HAL interface, ownership of the file descriptor is always transferred. This means:

  • If you receive a fence file descriptor from the sync framework, you must close it.
  • If you return a fence file descriptor to the sync framework, the framework will close it.
  • To continue using the fence file descriptor, you must duplicate the descriptor.

Every time a fence passes through BufferQueue (such as for a window that passes a fence to BufferQueue saying when its new contents will be ready) the fence object is renamed. Since kernel fence support allows fences to have strings for names, the sync framework uses the window name and buffer index that is being queued to name the fence (i.e., SurfaceView:0). This is helpful in debugging to identify the source of a deadlock as the names appear in the output of /d/sync and bug reports.

ANativeWindow integration

ANativeWindow is fence aware and dequeueBuffer, queueBuffer, and cancelBuffer have fence parameters.

OpenGL ES integration

OpenGL ES sync integration relies upon two EGL extensions:

  • EGL_ANDROID_native_fence_sync. Provides a way to either wrap or create native Android fence file descriptors in EGLSyncKHR objects.
  • EGL_ANDROID_wait_sync. Allows GPU-side stalls rather than in CPU, making the GPU wait for an EGLSyncKHR. This is essentially the same as the EGL_KHR_wait_sync extension (refer to that specification for details).

These extensions can be used independently and are controlled by a compile flag in libgui. To use them, first implement the EGL_ANDROID_native_fence_sync extension along with the associated kernel support. Next, add a ANativeWindow support for fences to your driver then turn on support in libgui to make use of the EGL_ANDROID_native_fence_sync extension.

In a second pass, enable the EGL_ANDROID_wait_sync extension in your driver and turn it on separately. The EGL_ANDROID_native_fence_sync extension consists of a distinct native fence EGLSync object type so extensions that apply to existing EGLSync object types don’t necessarily apply to EGL_ANDROID_native_fence objects to avoid unwanted interactions.

The EGL_ANDROID_native_fence_sync extension employs a corresponding native fence file descriptor attribute that can be set only at creation time and cannot be directly queried onward from an existing sync object. This attribute can be set to one of two modes:

  • A valid fence file descriptor. Wraps an existing native Android fence file descriptor in an EGLSyncKHR object.
  • -1. Creates a native Android fence file descriptor from an EGLSyncKHR object.

The DupNativeFenceFD function call is used to extract the EGLSyncKHR object from the native Android fence file descriptor. This has the same result as querying the attribute that was set but adheres to the convention that the recipient closes the fence (hence the duplicate operation). Finally, destroying the EGLSync object should close the internal fence attribute.

Hardware Composer integration

The Hardware Composer handles three types of sync fences:

  • Acquire fence. One per layer, set before calling HWC::set. It signals when Hardware Composer may read the buffer.
  • Release fence. One per layer, filled in by the driver in HWC::set. It signals when Hardware Composer is done reading the buffer so the framework can start using that buffer again for that particular layer.
  • Retire fence. One per the entire frame, filled in by the driver each time HWC::set is called. This covers all layers for the set operation and signals to the framework when all effects of this set operation have completed. The retire fence signals when the next set operation takes place on the screen.

The retire fence can be used to determine how long each frame appears on the screen. This is useful in identifying the location and source of delays, such as a stuttering animation.

VSYNC offset

Application and SurfaceFlinger render loops should be synchronized to the hardware VSYNC. On a VSYNC event, the display begins showing frame N while SurfaceFlinger begins compositing windows for frame N+1. The app handles pending input and generates frame N+2.

Synchronizing with VSYNC delivers consistent latency. It reduces errors in apps and SurfaceFlinger and the drifting of displays in and out of phase with each other. This, however, does assume application and SurfaceFlinger per-frame times don’t vary widely. Nevertheless, the latency is at least two frames.

To remedy this, you can employ VSYNC offsets to reduce the input-to-display latency by making application and composition signal relative to hardware VSYNC. This is possible because application plus composition usually takes less than 33 ms.

The result of VSYNC offset is three signals with same period, offset phase:

  • HW_VSYNC_0. Display begins showing next frame.
  • VSYNC. App reads input and generates next frame.
  • SF VSYNC. SurfaceFlinger begins compositing for next frame.

With VSYNC offset, SurfaceFlinger receives the buffer and composites the frame, while the application processes the input and renders the frame, all within a single frame of time.

Note: VSYNC offsets reduce the time available for app and composition and therefore provide a greater chance for error.

DispSync

DispSync maintains a model of the periodic hardware-based VSYNC events of a display and uses that model to execute periodic callbacks at specific phase offsets from the hardware VSYNC events.

DispSync is essentially a software phase lock loop (PLL) that generates the VSYNC and SF VSYNC signals used by Choreographer and SurfaceFlinger, even if not offset from hardware VSYNC.

DispSync flow

Figure 1. DispSync flow

DispSync has the following qualities:

  • Reference. HW_VSYNC_0.
  • Output. VSYNC and SF VSYNC.
  • Feedback. Retire fence signal timestamps from Hardware Composer.

VSYNC/Retire offset

The signal timestamp of retire fences must match HW VSYNC even on devices that don’t use the offset phase. Otherwise, errors appear to have greater severity than reality. Smart panels often have a delta: Retire fence is the end of direct memory access (DMA) to display memory, but the actual display switch and HW VSYNC is some time later.

PRESENT_TIME_OFFSET_FROM_VSYNC_NS is set in the device’s BoardConfig.mk make file. It is based upon the display controller and panel characteristics. Time from retire fence timestamp to HW VSYNC signal is measured in nanoseconds.

VSYNC and SF_VSYNC offsets

The VSYNC_EVENT_PHASE_OFFSET_NS and SF_VSYNC_EVENT_PHASE_OFFSET_NS are set conservatively based on high-load use cases, such as partial GPU composition during window transition or Chrome scrolling through a webpage containing animations. These offsets allow for long application render time and long GPU composition time.

More than a millisecond or two of latency is noticeable. We recommend integrating thorough automated error testing to minimize latency without significantly increasing error counts.

Note: Theses offsets are also configured in the device’s BoardConfig.mk file. Both settings are offset in nanoseconds after HW_VSYNC_0, default to zero (if not set), and can be negative.