传感器堆栈

下图显示的是 Android 传感器堆栈。尽管某些传感器可以绕过传感器中枢(如果存在)进行通信,但各个组件仅可与其上方和下方紧邻的组件通信。控制系统从应用向下流向传感器,数据从传感器向上流向应用。

Android 传感器堆栈的层级和所有者

图 1. Android 传感器堆栈层级以及各自的所有者

SDK

应用通过 Sensors SDK(软件开发套件)API 访问传感器。SDK 包含用以列示可用传感器和注册到传感器的函数。

在注册到传感器时,应用可指定自己的首选采样率和延迟要求。

  • 例如,应用可注册到默认加速度计,以 100Hz 的频率请求事件,并允许事件报告有 1 秒延迟。
  • 应用将以至少 100Hz 的频率从加速度计接收事件,且最多会延迟 1 秒。

请参阅开发者文档,详细了解 SDK。

框架

框架负责将多个应用关联到 HAL。HAL 本身是单一客户端。如果框架级别没有发生这种多路复用,则在任何指定时间内只有一个应用可以访问各个传感器。

  • 当第一个应用注册到传感器时,框架会向 HAL 发送请求以激活传感器。
  • 当其他应用注册到相同的传感器时,框架会考虑每个应用的要求,并将更新的已请求参数发送到 HAL。
    • 采样率将是请求的采样率的最大值,这意味着一些应用接收事件的频率会高于所请求的频率。
    • 最大报告延迟将是请求的延迟的最小值。如果某个应用以 0 为最大报告延迟请求传感器,则所有应用将以连续模式从该传感器接收事件,即使某些应用以非零值的最大报告延迟请求传感器也是如此。请参阅批处理,了解详情。
  • 当注册到某个传感器的最后一个应用取消注册之后,框架会向 HAL 发送请求以停用该传感器,从而避免不必要的功耗。

多路复用的影响

在框架中实现多路复用层的这一需求解释了一些设计决策。

  • 当应用请求特定采样率时,不能保证事件不会以更快的频率到达。如果另一个应用以更快的频率请求同一传感器,则第一个应用也将以较快频率接收事件。
  • 请求的最大报告延迟同样无法得到保证:应用可能以比请求的延迟短的多的延迟接收事件。
  • 除了采样率和最大报告延迟之外,应用还无法配置传感器参数。
    • 例如,假设某个物理传感器可同时在“高精确度”和“低电耗”模式下运行。
    • 这两种模式中只有一种可以在 Android 设备上使用,因为否则一个应用可能请求高精确度模式,而另一个可能请求低电耗模式;框架根本无法同时满足这两个应用的要求。框架必须始终能够满足所有客户端的需要,因此同时使用两种模式是不可行的。
  • 没有将数据从应用向下发送至传感器或其驱动程序的机制。这样可以确保某个应用无法修改传感器的行为,从而不会对其他应用造成破坏。

传感器融合

Android 框架为部分复合传感器提供默认实现。如果一个设备上有陀螺仪加速度计磁力计,但没有旋转矢量重力线性加速度传感器,则框架会实现这些传感器,以便应用仍然可以使用它们。

默认实现无法访问其他实现可以访问的所有数据,并且必须在 SoC 上运行,因此它不像其他实现那样精准和省电。设备制造商应尽可能定义自己的融合传感器(旋转矢量传感器、重力传感器和线性加速度传感器,以及游戏旋转矢量传感器等较新的复合传感器),而非依赖该默认实现。此外,设备制造商也可以要求传感器芯片供应商为其提供实现。

默认的传感器融合实现没有相关的维护,且可能导致依赖它的设备无法通过 CTS 验证。

深入了解

本部分作为背景信息提供,适用于 Android 开放源代码项目 (AOSP) 框架代码的维护人员,与硬件制造商无关。

JNI

框架使用的是与 android.hardware 相关联的 Java 本机接口 (JNI)(位于 frameworks/base/core/jni/ 目录中)。该代码会调用较低级别的原生代码,以获取对相应传感器硬件的访问权限。

原生框架

原生框架在 frameworks/native/ 中定义,提供相当于 android.hardware 文件包的原生内容。原生框架会调用 Binder IPC 代理,以获取对传感器专属服务的访问权限。

Binder IPC

Binder IPC 代理用于促进跨越进程边界的通信。

HAL

Sensors Hardware Abstraction Layer (HAL) API 是硬件驱动程序和 Android 框架之间的接口。它包含一个 HAL 接口 sensors.h 和一个我们称之为 sensors.cpp 的 HAL 实现。

接口由 Android 和 AOSP 贡献者定义,并由设备制造商提供实现。

传感器 HAL 接口位于 hardware/libhardware/include/hardware 中。请参阅 sensors.h,了解详情。

版本周期

HAL 实现通过设置 your_poll_device.common.version 指定实现的 HAL 接口版本。现有 HAL 接口版本在 sensors.h 中定义,相应功能与这些版本绑定在一起。

Android 框架目前支持版本 1.0 和 1.3,不过版本 1.0 很快将不再受支持。本文档介绍了版本 1.3(所有设备均应升级到该版本)的行为。要详细了解如何升级到版本 1.3,请参阅 HAL 版本弃用

内核驱动程序

传感器驱动程序可与物理设备进行交互。在某些情况下,HAL 实现和驱动程序是同一软件实体。在其他情况下,硬件集成者会要求传感器芯片制造商提供相应驱动程序,但是它们是用于编写 HAL 实现的驱动程序。

在所有情况下,HAL 实现和内核驱动程序都由硬件制造商负责提供,Android 不提供首选编写方式。

传感器中枢

设备的传感器堆栈可视需要添加传感器中枢。在 SoC 可以处于暂停模式时,传感器中枢对执行一些低功耗的低级计算任务非常有用。例如,计步功能或传感器融合功能可以在这些芯片上执行。此外,它也是实施传感器批处理以及为传感器事件添加硬件 FIFO 的理想位置。请参阅批处理,了解详情。

传感器中枢的具体化方式取决于架构。它有时是一个单独的芯片,有时包含在与 SoC 相同的芯片上。传感器中枢的重要特征是,应该包含足够的内存来进行批处理,并消耗极少的电量以便能实现低功耗 Android 传感器。部分传感器中枢包含一个微控制器(用于通用计算)和硬件加速器(用于针对低电耗传感器实现极低功耗计算)。

传感器中枢的架构方式以及与传感器和 SoC(I2C 总线、SPI 总线等)的通信方式并非由 Android 指定,但应该以最大程度减少整体功耗为目标。

有一种方案似乎会对实现的简单性产生重大影响,即从传感器中枢到 SoC 设置两个中断行:一个用于唤醒中断(适用于唤醒传感器),另一个用于非唤醒中断(适用于非唤醒传感器)。

传感器

传感器是进行测量操作的物理 MEM 芯片。在很多情况下,同一个芯片上会有多个物理传感器。例如,一些芯片中包含加速度计、陀螺仪和磁力计(此类芯片通常称为 9 轴芯片,因为每个传感器基于 3 个轴提供数据)。

此外,其中的部分芯片还包含用于执行常见计算任务(例如运动状态检测、步数检测以及 9 轴传感器融合)的逻辑。

尽管 CDD 功率和精确度的要求与建议针对的是 Android 传感器而非物理传感器,但这些要求会影响物理传感器的选择。例如,游戏旋转矢量传感器的精确度要求会影响物理陀螺仪的精确度要求。设备制造商负责推算物理传感器的相关要求。

Sensor stack

The figure below represents the Android sensor stack. Each component communicates only with the components directly above and below it, though some sensors can bypass the sensor hub when it is present. Control flows from the applications down to the sensors, and data flows from the sensors up to the applications.

Layers and owners of the Android sensor stack

Figure 1. Layers of the Android sensor stack and their respective owners

SDK

Applications access sensors through the Sensors SDK (Software Development Kit) API. The SDK contains functions to list available sensors and to register to a sensor.

When registering to a sensor, the application specifies its preferred sampling frequency and its latency requirements.

  • For example, an application might register to the default accelerometer, requesting events at 100Hz, and allowing events to be reported with a 1-second latency.
  • The application will receive events from the accelerometer at a rate of at least 100Hz, and possibly delayed up to 1 second.

See the developer documentation for more information on the SDK.

Framework

The framework is in charge of linking the several applications to the HAL. The HAL itself is single-client. Without this multiplexing happening at the framework level, only a single application could access each sensor at any given time.

  • When a first application registers to a sensor, the framework sends a request to the HAL to activate the sensor.
  • When additional applications register to the same sensor, the framework takes into account requirements from each application and sends the updated requested parameters to the HAL.
    • The sampling frequency will be the maximum of the requested sampling frequencies, meaning some applications will receive events at a frequency higher than the one they requested.
    • The maximum reporting latency will be the minimum of the requested ones. If one application requests one sensor with a maximum reporting latency of 0, all applications will receive the events from this sensor in continuous mode even if some requested the sensor with a non-zero maximum reporting latency. See Batching for more details.
  • When the last application registered to one sensor unregisters from it, the frameworks sends a request to the HAL to deactivate the sensor so power is not consumed unnecessarily.

Impact of multiplexing

This need for a multiplexing layer in the framework explains some design decisions.

  • When an application requests a specific sampling frequency, there is no guarantee that events won’t arrive at a faster rate. If another application requested the same sensor at a faster rate, the first application will also receive them at the fast rate.
  • The same lack of guarantee applies to the requested maximum reporting latency: applications might receive events with much less latency than they requested.
  • Besides sampling frequency and maximum reporting latency, applications cannot configure sensor parameters.
    • For example, imagine a physical sensor that can function both in “high accuracy” and “low power” modes.
    • Only one of those two modes can be used on an Android device, because otherwise, an application could request the high accuracy mode, and another one a low power mode; there would be no way for the framework to satisfy both applications. The framework must always be able to satisfy all its clients, so this is not an option.
  • There is no mechanism to send data down from the applications to the sensors or their drivers. This ensures one application cannot modify the behavior of the sensors, breaking other applications.

Sensor fusion

The Android framework provides a default implementation for some composite sensors. When a gyroscope, an accelerometer and a magnetometer are present on a device, but no rotation vector, gravity and linear acceleration sensors are present, the framework implements those sensors so applications can still use them.

The default implementation does not have access to all the data that other implementations have access to, and it must run on the SoC, so it is not as accurate nor as power efficient as other implementations can be. As much as possible, device manufacturers should define their own fused sensors (rotation vector, gravity and linear acceleration, as well as newer composite sensors like the game rotation vector) rather than rely on this default implementation. Device manufacturers can also request sensor chip vendors to provide them with an implementation.

The default sensor fusion implementation is not being maintained and might cause devices relying on it to fail CTS.

Under the Hood

This section is provided as background information for those maintaining the Android Open Source Project (AOSP) framework code. It is not relevant for hardware manufacturers.

JNI

The framework uses a Java Native Interface (JNI) associated with android.hardware and located in the frameworks/base/core/jni/ directory. This code calls the lower level native code to obtain access to the sensor hardware.

Native framework

The native framework is defined in frameworks/native/ and provides a native equivalent to the android.hardware package. The native framework calls the Binder IPC proxies to obtain access to sensor-specific services.

Binder IPC

The Binder IPC proxies facilitate communication over process boundaries.

HAL

The Sensors Hardware Abstraction Layer (HAL) API is the interface between the hardware drivers and the Android framework. It consists of one HAL interface sensors.h and one HAL implementation we refer to as sensors.cpp.

The interface is defined by Android and AOSP contributors, and the implementation is provided by the manufacturer of the device.

The sensor HAL interface is located in hardware/libhardware/include/hardware. See sensors.h for additional details.

Release cycle

The HAL implementation specifies what version of the HAL interface it implements by setting your_poll_device.common.version. The existing HAL interface versions are defined in sensors.h, and functionality is tied to those versions.

The Android framework currently supports versions 1.0 and 1.3, but 1.0 will soon not be supported anymore. This documentation describes the behavior of version 1.3, to which all devices should upgrade. For details on how to upgrade to 1.3, see HAL version deprecation.

Kernel driver

The sensor drivers interact with the physical devices. In some cases, the HAL implementation and the drivers are the same software entity. In other cases, the hardware integrator requests sensor chip manufacturers to provide the drivers, but they are the ones writing the HAL implementation.

In all cases, HAL implementation and kernel drivers are the responsibility of the hardware manufacturers, and Android does not provide preferred approaches to write them.

Sensor hub

The sensor stack of a device can optionally include a sensor hub, useful to perform some low-level computation at low power while the SoC can be in a suspend mode. For example, step counting or sensor fusion can be performed on those chips. It is also a good place to implement sensor batching, adding hardware FIFOs for the sensor events. See Batching for more information.

How the sensor hub is materialized depends on the architecture. It is sometimes a separate chip, and sometimes included on the same chip as the SoC. Important characteristics of the sensor hub is that it should contain sufficient memory for batching and consume very little power to enable implementation of the low power Android sensors. Some sensor hubs contain a microcontroller for generic computation, and hardware accelerators to enable very low power computation for low power sensors.

How the sensor hub is architectured and how it communicates with the sensors and the SoC (I2C bus, SPI bus, …) is not specified by Android, but it should aim at minimizing overall power use.

One option that appears to have a significant impact on implementation simplicity is having two interrupt lines going from the sensor hub to the SoC: one for wake-up interrupts (for wake-up sensors), and the other for non-wake-up interrupts (for non-wake-up sensors).

Sensors

Those are the physical MEMs chips making the measurements. In many cases, several physical sensors are present on the same chip. For example, some chips include an accelerometer, a gyroscope and a magnetometer. (Such chips are often called 9-axis chips, as each sensor provides data over 3 axes.)

Some of those chips also contain some logic to perform usual computations such as motion detection, step detection and 9-axis sensor fusion.

Although the CDD power and accuracy requirements and recommendations target the Android sensor and not the physical sensors, those requirements impact the choice of physical sensors. For example, the accuracy requirement on the game rotation vector has implications on the required accuracy for the physical gyroscope. It is up to the device manufacturer to derive the requirements for physical sensors.