可合并的存储设备

Android 一直都支持外部存储配件(如 SD 卡),但由于预期的无常性以及为传统外部存储设备只提供最低限度的数据保护,因此这些配件一直以来仅限于简单的文件存储。Android 6.0 推出了合并外部存储媒介以充当内部存储设备的功能。

当合并外部存储媒介时,系统将对其进行格式化和加密处理,以便一次仅与单个 Android 设备配合使用。由于该媒介与合并它的 Android 设备紧密关联,因此可以安全地为所有用户存储应用和私密数据。

当用户将新的存储媒介(如 SD卡)插入到可合并的位置时,Android 会询问他们想要如何使用该媒介。他们可以选择合并该媒介,这样的话,系统会对该媒介进行格式化和加密处理,或者也可以继续按原样将其用于简单的文件存储。如果他们选择合并媒介,平台会询问是否将主要共享存储内容(通常装载在 /sdcard 上)迁移到新合并的媒介上,从而腾出宝贵的内部存储空间。不同于因使用 MBR 而限制为 2TB 的传统存储设备,可合并的存储设备使用 GPT,因而文件存储限制约为 9ZB。

只有当开发者通过 android:installLocation 属性指示提供支持时,才能将应用放置在合并的存储媒介上。新安装的受支持的应用将自动放置在具有最多可用空间的存储设备上,用户可以在“设置”应用中在存储设备之间移动支持的应用。移动到已合并媒介的应用在媒介弹出时被记住,并在重新插入媒介时返回弹出前的状态。

安全性

平台为每个合并的设备随机生成加密密钥,该密钥存储在 Android 设备的内部存储设备上。这样可以有效地使得合并的媒介与内部存储设备一样安全。密钥与合并的设备(基于合并的分区 GUID)相关联。合并的设备使用通过 aes-cbc-essiv:sha256 算法和 128 位密钥大小配置的 dm-crypt 进行加密。

合并设备的磁盘布局紧密对应内部数据分区,包括 SELinux 标签等。当在 Android 设备上支持多用户时,合并的存储设备也通过与内部存储设备相同的隔离级别支持多用户。

由于合并的存储设备的内容与合并该设备的 Android 设备密切相关,加密密钥不应可以从父设备中进行提取,因此该存储设备无法装载到其他位置。

性能和稳定性

应该只考虑合并位于稳定位置(如电池盒内或防护盖后面的插槽)的外部存储媒介,以避免意外的数据丢失或损坏。尤其是,绝不应该考虑合并连接到手机或平板电脑的 USB 设备。一种常见的例外情况是连接到电视类设备的外部 U 盘,因为整个电视机通常安装在一个稳定的位置。

当用户合并新的存储设备时,平台将运行基准测试,并将其性能与内部存储设备进行比较。如果所合并设备的速度明显慢于内部存储设备,则平台将警告用户体验可能会受到影响。此基准根据常用 Android 应用的实际 I/O 行为得出。目前,AOSP 实现只会在超出单个阈值时警告用户,但是设备制造商可以进一步做出调整,例如如果存储卡运行非常缓慢,则完全拒绝合并。

合并的设备必须使用支持 POSIX 权限和扩展属性(如 ext4f2fs)的文件系统进行格式化。为了获得最佳性能,建议基于闪存的存储设备使用 f2fs 文件系统。

在执行周期性空闲维护时,平台将向合并的媒介发出 FI_TRIM(就像对待内部存储设备那样)。目前的 SD 卡规格不支持 DISCARD 命令;内核转而会使用 ERASE 命令,SD 卡固件可以选择使用该命令来满足优化目的。

Adoptable Storage

Android has always supported external storage accessories (such as SD cards), but these accessories were historically limited to simple file storage, due to their expected impermanence and the minimal data protection offered to traditional external storage. Android 6.0 introduced the ability to adopt external storage media to act like internal storage.

Warning: File-based encryption cannot currently be used together with adoptable storage. On devices using file-based encryption, new storage media (such as an SD card) must be used as traditional storage.

When external storage media is adopted, it’s formatted and encrypted to only work with a single Android device at a time. Because the media is strongly tied to the Android device that adopted it, it can safely store both apps and private data for all users.

When users insert new storage media (such as an SD card) in an adoptable location, Android asks them how they want to use the media. They can choose to adopt the media, which formats and encrypts it, or they can continue using it as-is for simple file storage. If they choose to adopt, the platform offers to migrate the primary shared storage contents (typically mounted at /sdcard) to the newly adopted media, freeing up valuable space on internal storage. Unlike traditional storage, which is limited to 2TB due to its use of MBR, adoptable storage uses GPT and therefore has file storage limit of ~9ZB.

Apps can be placed on adopted storage media only when the developer has indicated support through the android:installLocation attribute. New installs of supported apps are automatically placed on the storage device with the most free space, and users can move supported apps between storage devices in the Settings app. Apps moved to adopted media are remembered while the media is ejected, and return when the media is reinserted.

Security

The platform randomly generates an encryption key for each adopted device, and that key is stored on the internal storage of the Android device. This effectively makes the adopted media as secure as internal storage. Keys are associated with adopted devices based on the adopted partition GUID. The adopted device is encrypted using dm-crypt configured with the aes-cbc-essiv:sha256 algorithm and a 128-bit key size.

The on-disk layout of the adopted device closely mirrors the internal data partition, including SELinux labels, etc. When multi-user is supported on the Android device, the adopted storage device also supports multi-user with the same level of isolation as internal storage.

Because the contents of an adopted storage device are strongly tied to the Android device that adopted it, the encryption keys should not be extractable from the parent device, and therefore the storage device can't be mounted elsewhere.

Performance and stability

Only external storage media in stable locations, such as a slot inside a battery compartment or behind a protective cover, should be considered for adoption to help avoid accidental data loss or corruption. In particular, USB devices connected to a phone or tablet should never be considered for adoption. One common exception would be an external USB drive connected to a TV-style device, because the entire TV is typically installed in a stable location.

When a user adopts a new storage device, the platform runs a benchmark and compares its performance against internal storage. If the adopted device is significantly slower than internal storage, the platform warns the user about a possibly degraded experience. This benchmark was derived from the actual I/O behavior of popular Android apps. Currently, the AOSP implementation will only warn users beyond a single threshold, but device manufacturers may adapt this further, such as rejecting adoption completely if the card is extremely slow.

Adopted devices must be formatted with a filesystem that supports POSIX permissions and extended attributes, such as ext4 or f2fs. For optimal performance, the f2fs filesystem is recommended for flash-based storage devices.

When performing periodic idle maintenance, the platform issues FI_TRIM to adopted media just like it does for internal storage. The current SD card specification does not support the DISCARD command; but the kernel instead falls back to the ERASE command, which SD card firmware may choose to use for optimization purposes.