Google is committed to advancing racial equity for Black communities. See how.
本頁面由 Cloud Translation API 翻譯而成。
Switch to English

範圍存儲

範圍存儲限制了應用對外部存儲的訪問。在Android 11或更高版本中,定位到API 30或更高版本的應用必須使用作用域存儲。以前在Android 10中,應用可能會選擇退出範圍存儲。

應用程序訪問限制

範圍存儲的目標是保護應用程序和用戶數據的隱私。這包括保護用戶信息(例如照片元數據),防止應用程序未經明確許可而修改或刪除用戶文件以及保護下載到“下載”或其他文件夾的敏感用戶文檔。

使用範圍存儲的應用程序可以具有以下訪問級別(實際訪問特定於實現)。

  • 讀取寫入訪問自己的文件沒有權限
  • 具有READ_EXTERNAL_STORAGE權限的讀取對其他應用程序媒體文件的READ_EXTERNAL_STORAGE權限
  • 僅在用戶直接同意的情況下,才允許對其他應用程序的媒體文件進行訪問(授予System Gallery和有資格使用“所有文件”訪問的應用程序的例外)
  • 沒有訪問其他應用的外部應用程序數據目錄

將範圍存儲與FUSE一起使用

Android 11或更高版本支持用戶空間中的文件系統(FUSE),該功能使MediaProvider模塊可以檢查用戶空間中的文件操作,並根據允許拒絕編輯訪問的策略來控制對文件的訪問。作用域存儲中使用FUSE的應用程序具有作用域存儲的隱私功能,並具有使用直接文件路徑訪問文件的能力(保持文件API在應用程序中運行)。

Android 10對MediaProvider的文件訪問實施了強製作用域存儲規則,但由於攔截內核調用需要付出很大的努力,因此不能用於直接文件路徑訪問(例如,使用File API和NDK API)。結果,作用域存儲中的應用無法使用直接文件路徑訪問文件。此限制影響了應用程序開發人員的適應能力,因為它需要進行實質性的代碼更改以重寫File API對MediaProvider API的訪問。

保險絲和SDCardFS

Android 11對FUSE的支持與SDCardFS棄用無關,但確實為以前使用SDCardFS的設備提供了Media Store的替代方法。設備:

  • 使用內核5.4或更高版本的Android 11或更高版本啟動時,無法使用SDCardFS。
  • 升級到Android 11或更高版本可以在SDCardFS之上託管FUSE來攔截文件操作並達到隱私目標。

FUSE性能調優

Android之前在Android 7或更低版​​本中支持FUSE,在該版本中,外部存儲已安裝為FUSE。由於該FUSE實施的性能和死鎖問題,Android 8引入了SDCardFS。 Android 11使用改進的,經過更好測試的libfuse實現重新引入了對FUSE的支持,可以對其進行調整以解決Android 7或更低版​​本中的性能問題。

FUSE調整包括以下調整:

  • Android/dataAndroid/obb目錄繞過FUSE,以提高依賴於這些目錄的遊戲應用程序的性能。
  • 優化(例如調整FUSE文件系統的預讀率和臟率),以保持讀取性能和媒體播放流暢。
  • 使用FUSE寫回緩存。
  • 緩存權限以減少對系統服務器的IPC。
  • 針對具有“所有文件”訪問權限的應用程序進行了優化,以加快批量操作的速度。

上述調整可以在FUSE和非FUSE設備之間產生可比的性能。例如,使用FUSE測試調優的Pixel 2和使用Media Store測試Pixel 2,發現在文件路徑訪問和Media Store之間可比較的順序讀取性能(例如,視頻播放)。但是,使用FUSE時,順序寫入的性能會稍差一些,而隨機讀取和寫入的速度可能會慢兩倍。

性能度量可以在不同設備之間以及特定用例之間變化。因為MediaProvider API提供了最一致的性能,所以關注性能的應用程序開發人員應為其應用程序使用MediaProvider API。

減輕FUSE性能的影響

FUSE性能影響僅限於大量用戶使用外部共享存儲中存儲的文件。 FUSE繞過了外部私有存儲(包括android/dataandroid/obb目錄),而內部存儲(例如/data/data ,其中許多應用程序存儲數據以使其保持加密和安全)沒有FUSE安裝。

  • 共享外部存儲的輕度用戶的應用程序經常與一組有限的文件(通常少於100個文件)進行交互。這些應用程序受益於常見讀寫操作的現有優化,並且不會在Android 11中看到任何與FUSE相關的性能影響。

  • 大量使用共享外部存儲的應用通常會執行批量文件操作,例如列出或刪除具有1000個文件的目錄,或者在文件系統上創建或刪除具有一百萬個文件的目錄。批量文件操作可能會受到Android 11上FUSE的影響,但是如果此類應用程序符合MANAGE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE權限,則它們將從2020年10月更新中包括的性能優化中受益。

為了避免FUSE性能開銷,應用程序可以將數據存儲在外部私有存儲中,或使用ContentProvider類中的批量API繞過FUSE並獲得性能優化的路徑。此外,2020年10月對MediaProvider系統組件的更新還包括對文件管理器和具有MANAGE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE權限的類似應用程序(例如備份/還原,防病毒)的性能優化。

超越性能的隱私

在針對FUSE進行了調整的設備上,大多數關鍵的用戶體驗在Android 10和Android 11之間的性能均相同。但是,在對一組文件操作進行基準測試時,Android 11的性能可能會比Android 10差。更糟糕的是,在Android 11中(例如,隨機讀取或寫入),我們建議使用MediaProvider API為應用程序提供非FUSE訪問模式,這是最佳且始終如一的性能選擇。

MediaProvider和FUSE更新

在不同的Android版本之間, MediaProvider系統組件的行為有所不同。

  • 在Android 10及更低版本中,SDCardFS是文件系統,MediaProvider提供了文件集合的接口(例如,圖像,視頻,音樂文件等)。當應用程序使用File API創建文件時,它可能會要求MediaProvider掃描文件並將其記錄在數據庫中。

  • 在Android 11或更高版本中,不建議使用SDCardFS ,MediaProvider成為用於外部存儲的文件系統處理程序(用於FUSE),從而使外部存儲上的文件系統與MediaProvider數據庫保持一致。作為FUSE文件系統的用戶空間處理程序,MediaProvider可以攔截內核調用,並確保文件操作是隱私安全的。

在Android 11及更高版本中,MediaProvider還是一個模塊化系統組件(Mainline模塊),可以在Android版本之外進行更新。這意味著可以解決MediaProvider中發現的性能,隱私或安全問題,並通過Google Play商店或其他合作夥伴提供的機制通過廣播進行廣播。 FUSE處理程序所期望的範圍內的任何內容也是可更新的,從而可以進行更新以修復FUSE性能下降和錯誤。

Google is committed to advancing racial equity for Black communities. See how.

Scoped Storage

Scoped storage limits app access to external storage. In Android 11 or higher, apps targeting API 30 or higher must use scoped storage. Previously in Android 10, apps could opt out of scoped storage.

App access restrictions

The goal of scoped storage is to protect the privacy of app and user data. This includes protecting user information (such as photo metadata), preventing apps from modifying or deleting user files without explicit permission, and protecting sensitive user documents downloaded to Download or other folders.

Apps using scoped storage can have the following levels of access (actual access is implementation specific).

  • Read and write access to their own files with no permissions
  • Read access to other apps' media files with READ_EXTERNAL_STORAGE permission
  • Write access to other apps' media files is allowed only with direct user consent (exceptions granted to System Gallery and apps that are eligible for All Files access)
  • No read or write access to other apps' external app data directories

Using scoped storage with FUSE

Android 11 or higher supports Filesystem in Userspace (FUSE), which enables the MediaProvider module to examine file operations in user space and to gate access to files based on the policy to allow, deny, or redact access. Apps in scoped storage that use FUSE get the privacy features of scoped storage and the ability to access files using a direct file path (keeping File APIs working in apps).

Android 10 enforced scoped storage rules on file accesses by MediaProvider, but not for direct file path access (for example, using File API and NDK APIs) due to the effort required in intercepting kernel calls. As a result, apps in scoped storage couldn't access files using a direct file path. This restriction impacted app developers' ability to adapt as it required substantial code changes to rewrite File API access to the MediaProvider API.

FUSE and SDCardFS

Android 11 support for FUSE is unrelated to the deprecation of SDCardFS, but does provide an alternative to Media Store for devices that previously used SDCardFS. Devices:

  • Launching with Android 11 or higher using kernel 5.4 or higher can't use SDCardFS.
  • Upgrading to Android 11 or higher can host FUSE on top of SDCardFS to intercept the file operations and meet privacy goals.

FUSE performance tuning

Android previously supported FUSE in Android 7 or lower, in which external storage was mounted as FUSE. Due to performance and deadlock issues with that FUSE implementation, Android 8 introduced SDCardFS. Android 11 reintroduces support for FUSE using an improved, better-tested implementation of libfuse that can be tuned to resolve the performance issues in Android 7 or lower.

FUSE tuning includes the following tweaks:

  • Bypassing FUSE for the Android/data and Android/obb directories to improve performance for game apps that rely on these directories.
  • Optimizations (such as tuning the read-ahead and dirty ratios of the FUSE file system) to keep reads performant and media playback smooth.
  • Using the FUSE write-back cache.
  • Caching permissions to reduce IPCs to the system server.
  • Optimizations for apps with All Files access to make bulk operations faster.

The above tuning tweaks can produce comparable performance between FUSE and non-FUSE devices. For example, testing a tuned Pixel 2 using FUSE and a Pixel 2 using Media Store found comparable sequential read performance (for example, video playback) between file path access and Media Store. However, sequential writes were slightly worse with FUSE, and random reads and writes could be up to twice as slow.

Performance measurements can change from device to device and between specific use cases. Because MediaProvider APIs give the most consistent performance, app developers that are concerned about performance should use MediaProvider APIs for their apps.

Mitigating FUSE performance impact

FUSE performance impact is limited to heavy users of files stored on external shared storage only. External private storage (which includes android/data and android/obb directories) is bypassed by FUSE, while internal storage (such as /data/data, where many apps store data to keep it encrypted and secure) isn't FUSE mounted.

  • Apps that are light users of shared external storage often interact with a limited set of files (typically fewer than 100 files). These apps benefit from existing optimizations of common read and write operations and shouldn't see any FUSE-related performance impact in Android 11.

  • Apps that are heavy users of shared external storage typically perform bulk file operations, such as listing or removing a directory with a 1000 files, or creating or deleting a directory with a million files on the file system. Bulk file operations might be impacted by FUSE on Android 11, but if such apps are eligible for the MANAGE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE permission, they benefit from the performance optimizations included in the October 2020 update.

To avoid FUSE performance overhead, apps can store data in external private storage or use bulk APIs in the ContentProvider class to bypass FUSE and get a performance-optimized path. In addition, the October 2020 update to the MediaProvider system component includes performance optimizations for file managers and similar apps (such as backup/restore, antivirus) that hold the MANAGE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE permission.

Privacy over performance

On devices that have been tuned for FUSE, most critical user journeys are equally performant between Android 10 and Android 11. However, when testing benchmarks over a set of file operations, Android 11 might perform worse than Android 10. For file access patterns that perform worse in Android 11 (for example, random reads or writes), we recommend using MediaProvider APIs to give apps a non-FUSE access mode, which is the best and consistently performant option.

MediaProvider and FUSE updates

The MediaProvider system component behavior differs between Android releases.

  • In Android 10 and lower, SDCardFS was the file system and MediaProvider provided an interface to collections of files (for example, images, videos, music files, etc.). When an app created a file using File API, it could ask MediaProvider to scan the file and record it in the database.

  • In Android 11 or higher, SDCardFS is deprecated and MediaProvider becomes the file system handler (for FUSE) for external storage, making the file system on external storage and the MediaProvider database consistent. As the userspace handler for the FUSE file system, MediaProvider can intercept kernel calls and ensure the file operations are privacy safe.

In Android 11 and higher, MediaProvider is also a modular system component (a Mainline module) that can be updated outside of Android releases. This means that performance, privacy, or security issues found in MediaProvider can be fixed and delivered over the air from the Google Play Store or other partner-provided mechanisms. Anything in the scope of what's expected from a FUSE handler is also updatable, enabling updates to fix FUSE performance regressions and bugs.