Android 8.0 中的 ART 功能改进

在 Android 8.0 版本中,Android Runtime (ART) 有了极大改进。下面的列表总结了设备制造商可以在 ART 中获得的增强功能。

循环优化

在 Android 8.0 版本中,ART 采用了多种循环优化,具体如下:

  • 消除边界检查
    • 静态:证明范围在编译时位于边界内
    • 动态:运行时测试确保循环始终位于边界内(否则就是逆优化)
  • 消除归纳变量
    • 移除无用归纳
    • 用封闭式表达式替换仅在循环后使用的归纳
  • 消除循环主体内的无用代码,移除整个死循环
  • 强度减少
  • 循环转换:逆转、交换、拆分、展开、单模等。
  • SIMDization(也称为矢量化)

循环优化器位于 ART 编译器中其自身的优化遍数中。 大多数循环优化与其他方面的优化和简化类似。由于大多数 CFG 实用工具(请参阅 nodes.h)侧重于编译而不是重写 CFG,因此通过更复杂(与平时相比)的方式进行一些重写 CFG 的优化时,会面临挑战。

类层次结构分析

在 Android 8.0 中,ART 会使用类层次结构分析 (CHA),这是一种编译器优化,可基于通过分析类层次结构所生成的信息,将虚拟调用去虚拟化为直接调用。虚拟调用代价高昂,因为它们围绕 vtable 查找来实现,且会占用几个依赖负载。另外,虚拟调用也不能内嵌。

以下是对相关增强功能的总结:

  • 动态单一实现方法状态更新 - 在类关联时间结束时,如果 vtable 已被填充,ART 会按条目对超类的 vtable 进行比较。
  • 编译器优化 - 编译器会利用某种方法的单一实现信息。如果方法 A.foo 设置了单一实现标记,则编译器会将虚拟调用去虚拟化为直接调用,并借此进一步尝试内联直接调用。
  • 已编译代码无效 - 另外,在类关联时间结束时,如果单一实现信息进行了更新,且方法 A.foo 之前拥有单一实现,但该状态现已变为无效,则依赖方法 A.foo 拥有单一实现这一假设的所有已编译代码都需要变为无效代码。
  • 去优化 - 对于堆栈上已编译的有效代码,系统会启动去优化功能,以强制使已编译代码进入解释器模式,从而确保正确性。系统会采用结合了同步和异步去优化的全新去优化机制。

.oat 文件中的内联缓存

ART 现在采用的是内联缓存,并优化了有足够数据可用的调用站点。内联缓存功能会将额外的运行时信息记录到配置文件中,并会利用这类信息将动态优化添加到预先编译中。

Dexlayout

Dexlayout 是在 Android 8.0 中引入的一个库,用于分析 dex 文件,并根据配置文件对其进行重新排序。Dexlayout 旨在使用运行时配置信息对 dex 文件的各个部分进行重新排序(在设备的空闲维护编译期间)。通过将经常一起访问的部分 dex 文件集中在一起,程序可以因改进文件位置而拥有更好的内存访问模式,从而节省 RAM 并缩短启动时间。

由于配置文件信息目前仅在运行应用后可用,因此系统会在空闲维护期间将 dexlayout 集成到 dex2oat 的设备编译中。

Dex 缓存移除

在 Android 7.0 及更早版本中,DexCache 对象拥有四个大型数组,与 DexFile 中特定元素的数量成正比,即:

  • 字符串(每个 DexFile :: StringId 一个引用),
  • 类型(每个 DexFile :: TypeId 一个引用),
  • 方法(每个 DexFile :: MethodId 一个原生指针),
  • 字段(每个 DexFile :: FieldId 一个原生指针)。

这些数组用于快速检索我们以前解决的对象。在 Android 8.0 中,除方法数组外,所有数组都已移除。

解释器性能

通过引入 Mterp(一种解释器,具有以汇编语言编写的核心提取/解码/解释机制),Android 7.0 版本中的解释器性能得以显著提升。Mterp 模仿了快速的 Dalvik 解释器,并支持 arm、arm64、x86、x86_64、mips 和 mips64。对于计算代码而言,ART 的 Mterp 大致相当于 Dalvik 的快速解释器。不过,有时候,它的速度可能会显著变慢,甚至急剧变慢:

  1. 调用性能。
  2. 字符串操作和 Dalvik 中其他被视为内联函数的高频用户方法。
  3. 堆栈内存使用量较高。

Android 8.0 解决了这些问题。

详细了解内联

从 Android 6.0 开始,ART 可以内联同一个 dex 文件中的任何调用,但只能内联来自其他 dex 文件的叶方法。实施此项限制的两个原因如下:

  1. 从其他 dex 文件进行内联需要使用该 dex 文件的 dex 缓存,这与同一 dex 文件内联(只能重复使用调用程序的 dex 缓存)有所不同。已编译代码中需要具有 dex 缓存,以便执行一系列指令,例如静态调用、字符串加载或类加载。
  2. 堆栈映射只对当前 dex 文件中的方法索引进行编码。

为了取消这些限制,Android 8.0 做出了以下改进:

  1. 从已编译代码中移除 dex 缓存访问(另请参阅“Dex 缓存移除”部分)
  2. 扩展堆栈映射编码。

同步方面的改进

ART 团队调整了 MonitorEnter/MonitorExit 代码路径,并减少了我们对 ARMv8 上传统内存屏障的依赖,尽可能将其替换为较新的(获取/释放)指令。

Android 8.0 ART Improvements

The Android runtime (ART) has been improved significantly in the Android 8.0 release. The list below summarizes enhancements device manufacturers can expect in ART.

Loop optimizations

A wide variety of loop optimizations are employed by ART in the Android 8.0 release:

  • Bounds check eliminations
    • Static: ranges are proven to be within bounds at compile-time
    • Dynamic: run-time tests ensure loops stay within bounds (deopt otherwise)
  • Induction variable eliminations
    • Remove dead induction
    • Replace induction that is used only after the loop by closed-form expressions
  • Dead code elimination inside the loop-body, removal of whole loops that become dead
  • Strength reduction
  • Loop transformations: reversal, interchanging, splitting, unrolling, unimodular, etc.
  • SIMDization (also called vectorization)

The loop optimizer resides in its own optimization pass in the ART compiler. Most loop optimizations are similar to optimizations and simplification elsewhere. Challenges arise with some optimizations that rewrite the CFG in a more than usual elaborate way, because most CFG utilities (see nodes.h) focus on building a CFG, not rewriting one.

Class hierarchy analysis

ART in Android 8.0 uses Class Hierarchy Analysis (CHA), a compiler optimization that devirtualizes virtual calls into direct calls based on the information generated by analyzing class hierarchies. Virtual calls are expensive since they are implemented around a vtable lookup, and they take a couple of dependent loads. Also virtual calls cannot be inlined.

Here is a summary of related enhancements:

  • Dynamic single-implementation method status updating - At the end of class linking time, when vtable has been populated, ART conducts an entry-by-entry comparison to the vtable of the super class.
  • Compiler optimization - The compiler will take advantage of the single-implementation info of a method. If a method A.foo has single-implementation flag set, compiler will devirtualize the virtual call into a direct call, and further try to inline the direct call as a result.
  • Compiled code invalidation - Also at the end of class linking time when single-implementation info is updated, if method A.foo that previously had single-implementation but that status is now invalidated, all compiled code that depends on the assumption that method A.foo has single-implementation needs to have their compiled code invalidated.
  • Deoptimization - For live compiled code that's on stack, deoptimization will be initiated to force the invalidated compiled code into interpreter mode to guarantee correctness. A new mechanism of deoptimization which is a hybrid of synchronous and asynchronous deoptimization will be used.

Inline caches in .oat files

ART now employs inline caches and optimizes the call sites for which enough data exists. The inline caches feature records additional runtime information into profiles and uses it to add dynamic optimizations to ahead of time compilation.

Dexlayout

Dexlayout is a library introduced in Android 8.0 to analyze dex files and reorder them according to a profile. Dexlayout aims to use runtime profiling information to reorder sections of the dex file during idle maintenance compilation on device. By grouping together parts of the dex file that are often accessed together, programs can have better memory access patterns from improved locality, saving RAM and shortening start up time.

Since profile information is currently available only after apps have been run, dexlayout is integrated in dex2oat's on-device compilation during idle maintenance.

Dex cache removal

Up to Android 7.0, the DexCache object owned four large arrays, proportional to the number of certain elements in the DexFile, namely:

  • strings (one reference per DexFile::StringId),
  • types (one reference per DexFile::TypeId),
  • methods (one native pointer per DexFile::MethodId),
  • fields (one native pointer per DexFile::FieldId).

These arrays were used for fast retrieval of objects that we previously resolved. In Android 8.0, all arrays have been removed except the methods array.

Interpreter performance

Interpreter performance significantly improved in the Android 7.0 release with the introduction of "mterp" - an interpreter featuring a core fetch/decode/interpret mechanism written in assembly language. Mterp is modelled after the fast Dalvik interpreter, and supports arm, arm64, x86, x86_64, mips and mips64. For computational code, Art's mterp is roughly comparable to Dalvik's fast interpreter. However, in some situations it can be significantly - and even dramatically - slower:

  1. Invoke performance.
  2. String manipulation, and other heavy users of methods recognized as intrinsics in Dalvik.
  3. Higher stack memory usage.

Android 8.0 addresses these issues.

More inlining

Since Android 6.0, ART can inline any call within the same dex files, but could only inline leaf methods from different dex files. There were two reasons for this limitation:

  1. Inlining from another dex file requires to use the dex cache of that other dex file, unlike same dex file inlining, which could just re-use the dex cache of the caller. The dex cache is needed in compiled code for a couple of instructions like static calls, string load, or class load.
  2. The stack maps are only encoding a method index within the current dex file.

To address these limitations, Android 8.0:

  1. Removes dex cache access from compiled code (also see section "Dex cache removal")
  2. Extends stack map encoding.

Synchronization improvements

The ART team tuned the MonitorEnter/MonitorExit code paths, and reduced our reliance on traditional memory barriers on ARMv8, replacing them with newer (acquire/release) instructions where possible.