评估性能

在性能方面,有两项用户可见指标:

  • 可预测、可察觉的性能。界面是否掉帧或始终以 60 帧/秒的帧速率渲染?音频在没有软件工件或弹出的情况下会播放吗?用户在触摸屏幕后要多久显示屏上才会显示相应结果?
  • 耗时操作所需的时间长短(如打开应用)。

前者比后者更显而易见。用户通常会注意到卡顿情况,但分辨不出 500 毫秒和 600 毫秒应用启动时间的差别,除非将两台设备并排进行对比。触摸延迟立刻就能被发现,且严重影响用户对设备的印象。

因此,在速度较快的设备中,相较于其他使界面通道保持正常运转所必需的要素,界面通道是最重要的。这意味着,如果不是保持界面流畅运转所必需的任务,都应为界面通道让路。要让界面保持流畅运转,后台同步、通知发送及类似的任务都必须延迟(如果界面任务可以运行的话)。可以牺牲耗时操作(HDR+ 运行时、应用启动等)的性能来保持界面的流畅性。

容量和抖动

在考虑设备性能时,容量和抖动是两项重要指标。

容量

容量是设备在一段时间内拥有的某种资源的总量。这种资源可以是 CPU 资源、GPU 资源、I/O 资源、网络资源、存储设备带宽或其他类似指标。在检测整个系统的性能时,抽取各个组件并假设某单项指标决定着性能将很有帮助(尤其是调试新设备时,因为在新设备上运行的工作负载可能是固定的)。

系统容量因在线计算资源而异。更改 CPU/GPU 频率是改变容量的主要方式,但也有其他方式,如更改在线 CPU 核心数。相应地,系统的容量与耗电量相对应,更改容量一定会导致耗电量出现类似的变化。

特定时间内所需的容量在绝大多数情况下取决于正在运行的应用。因此,平台几乎不能调整特定工作负载所需的容量,调整所用的方式也仅限于运行时改进(Android 框架、ART、Bionic、GPU 编译器/驱动程序、内核)。

抖动

工作负载所需的容量很容易看出来,抖动却是一个比较模糊的概念。有关抖动是快速系统的一种障碍的介绍,请参阅 THE CASE OF THE MISSING SUPERCOMPUTER PERFORMANCE: ACHIEVING OPTIMAL PERFORMANCE ON THE 8,192 PROCESSORS OF ASCl Q。(这是一项针对 ASCI Q 超级计算机为何达不到预期性能的调查,同时充分介绍了如何优化大型系统。)

本页使用“抖动”这一术语来介绍 ASCI Q 论文中提到的噪点。抖动是一种随机的系统行为,会阻止可察觉任务的运行。通常是必须运行的任务,但可能对在任一特定时间运行没有严格的定时要求。因为抖动具有随机性,所以很难证明某一特定工作负载不存在抖动,也很难证明某已知抖动源是导致某个特定性能问题的原因。诊断抖动原因最常用的工具(如跟踪或日志记录)可能会引入它们自己的抖动。

在实际的 Android 实现中遇到的抖动源包括:

  • 调度程序延迟
  • 中断处理程序
  • 驱动程序代码在抢占或中断被停用的情况下运行时间过长
  • 运行时间较长的软中断
  • 锁争用(应用、框架、内核驱动程序、Binder 锁、mmap 锁)
  • 文件描述符争用,低优先级的线程持有某个文件的锁,以防止高优先级线程运行
  • 在可能会延迟的工作队列中运行界面关键型代码
  • CPU 空闲转换
  • 记录
  • I/O 延迟
  • 创建不必要的进程(如 CONNECTIVITY_CHANGE 广播)
  • 释放内存不足所导致的页面缓存颠簸

特定时段内的抖动所需的时间不一定会随着容量的增加而减少。例如,如果驱动程序在等待来自 i2c 总线的读取时使中断处于停用状态,那么无论 CPU 是 384MHz 还是 2GHz,所需要的时间都是固定的。涉及抖动时,增加容量并非提升性能的可行解决方案。因此,更快的处理器在抖动受限的情况下通常不会提升性能。

最后,与容量不同的是,抖动几乎完全存在于系统供应商的网域中。

内存消耗

一直以来,人们都将性能不佳归因于内存消耗。虽然消耗本身不是性能问题,但是它可能会通过 lowmemorykiller 开销、服务重启和页面缓存颠簸引起抖动。减少内存消耗可以避免导致性能不佳的直接原因,但是还有其他可避免这些原因的具有针对性的改进(如固定框架以防止在不久之后进行的分页过程中将其分出)。

分析初始设备性能

从运行正常但性能不佳的系统开始,并尝试通过查看用户可见的糟糕性能的每个个案来修复系统的行为,这种做法并良策。因为性能不佳通常不易重现(如抖动)或者由应用问题导致,整个系统中可阻止此策略发挥作用的变量非常多。因此,很容易错误地识别原因并做出微小的改进,而错失修复整个系统性能的系统性机会。

相反,在启动新设备时,请使用以下常规方法:

  1. 使系统启动到所有驱动程序运行的界面和一些基本的频率调节器设置(如果更改频率调节器设置,请重复以下所有步骤)。
  2. 确保内核支持 sched_blocked_reason 跟踪点以及显示通道中指示何时将帧发送到显示屏的其他跟踪点。
  3. 在运行轻量级的一致性工作负载(如 UiBenchTouchLatency 中的球测试)的同时,对整个界面通道(从通过 IRQ 接收输入到最终的扫描输出)进行长时间的跟踪。
  4. 修复在轻量级的一致性工作负载中检测到的帧丢失。
  5. 重复执行第 3-4 步,直到您可以在零丢帧的情况下一次运行 20 秒以上的时间。
  6. 转向用户可见的其他卡顿源。

您可以在设备启动早期执行的其他简单操作包括:

  • 确保您的内核有 sched_blocked_reason 跟踪点补丁程序。该跟踪点通过 systrace 中的 sched 跟踪类别启用,并在线程进入不间断休眠时提供负责休眠的函数。它对性能分析非常重要,因为不间断休眠是非常常见的抖动指标。
  • 确保您拥有足够的 GPU 和显示通道的跟踪。在最近的 Qualcomm SOC 上,跟踪点的启用方法是:
  • $ adb shell "echo 1 > /d/tracing/events/kgsl/enable"
    $ adb shell "echo 1 > /d/tracing/events/mdss/enable"

    运行 systrace 时,这些事件将保持启用状态,以便您在 mdss_fb0 部分的跟踪记录中查看有关显示通道 (MDSS) 的其他信息。在 Qualcomm SOC 上,您无法在 systrace 标准视图下看到有关 GPU 的其他信息,只能看到跟踪记录本身所显示的结果(如需了解详情,请参阅了解 systrace 一文)。

    您希望从这种显示跟踪中了解的是,直接指明某个帧已被发送至显示屏的单个事件。在这里,您可以确定是否成功满足帧时间;如果事件 Xn 的发生时间在事件 Xn-1 发生后的 16.7 毫秒内(假设为 60Hz 的显示屏),您就会知道没有卡顿。如果您的 SOC 不提供这种信号,请与您的供应商联系以进行获取。如果没有明确的帧完成信号,很难调试抖动。

使用合成基准

合成基准有助于确保设备的基本功能是存在的。不过,将基准视为感知设备性能的代理毫无用处。

根据 SOC 使用体验,SOC 之间的合成基准性能的差异与可察觉的界面性能(丢失帧数、第 99 个百分位帧时间等)中的类似差异不相关。合成基准属于仅限容量的基准;抖动仅可以从基准的批量操作中窃取时间来影响这些基准衡量的性能。因此,合成基准得分在作为用户可察觉的性能的指标时是最不相关的指标。

考虑两种运行可渲染 1000 帧界面的基准 X 的 SOC,并报告总渲染时间(得分越低越好)。

  • SOC 1 在 10 毫秒内渲染每帧基准 X,得分为 10000。
  • SOC 2 在 1 毫秒内渲染 99% 的帧,但是在 100 毫秒内渲染 1% 的帧,得分为 19900,得分明显较好。

如果基准代表实际的界面性能,则 SOC 2 将无法使用。假设刷新率为 60Hz,SOC 2 在每 1.5 秒的操作内将出现一次卡顿帧。与此同时,SOC 1(根据基准 X 得出的较慢的 SOC)将会非常流畅。

使用缺陷报告

缺陷报告有时对于性能分析非常有用,但是因为这类报告的内容全面而复杂,因此对调试分散的卡顿问题用处不大。报告可能会提供一些有关系统在特定时间内所执行操作的线索,尤其是卡顿出现在应用转换(会被记录在缺陷报告中)时。缺陷报告还可以指出可能会减少其有效容量的系统大范围出错(如温控调频或内存碎片)的时间。

使用 TouchLatency

一些不良行为的示例来自于 TouchLatency(即用于 Pixel 和 Pixel XL 的首选周期性工作负载),可通过 frameworks/base/tests/TouchLatency 找到,具有两种模式:触摸延迟和弹力球(要切换模式,请点击右上角的按钮)。

弹力球测试就跟看上去的一样简单:无论用户输入什么内容,球都会一直在屏幕上弹跳。这通常也是目前为止最难完美运行的测试,不过,越接近在没有丢失帧的情况下运行,就说明您的设备越好。弹力球测试很难执行,因为它是以很低的时钟频率运行的琐碎但完全一致的工作负载(此时假设设备配有频率调节器;不过,如果设备是以固定的时钟频率运行,则在首次运行弹力球测试时将 CPU/GPU 降频到接近最小值)。当系统静止且时钟频率降至接近空闲时,每帧所需的 CPU/GPU 时间增加。您可以查看球以及卡顿的对象,还可以在 systrace 中查看丢失的帧。

因为工作负载非常一致,所以在大多数用户可见的工作负载中,您可以在每个丢失的帧期间跟踪系统上正在运行的工作负载(而非界面通道),从而更轻松地确定大多数抖动源。较低的时钟频率会使任何抖动都更有可能造成帧丢失,从而放大抖动的效果。 因此,TouchLatency 越接近 60 帧/秒,您在较大的应用中遇到导致分散、难以重现的卡顿的不良系统行为的可能性越小。

由于抖动通常(但不总是)时钟速度不变,请使用以非常低的时钟速度运行的测试来诊断抖动,原因如下:

  • 并非所有抖动都是时钟速度不变,很多来源仅占用 CPU 时间。
  • 频率调节器应通过降频获取接近截止时间的平均帧时间,这样运行非界面任务所花费的时间可将其推至掉帧的边缘。

Evaluating Performance

There are two user-visible indicators of performance:

  • Predictable, perceptible performance. Does the user interface (UI) drop frames or consistently render at 60FPS? Does audio play without artifacts or popping? How long is the delay between the user touching the screen and the effect showing on the display?
  • Length of time required for longer operations (such as opening applications).

The first is more noticeable than the second. Users typically notice jank but they won't be able to tell 500ms vs 600ms application startup time unless they are looking at two devices side-by-side. Touch latency is immediately noticeable and significantly contributes to the perception of a device.

As a result, in a fast device, the UI pipeline is the most important thing in the system other than what is necessary to keep the UI pipeline functional. This means that the UI pipeline should preempt any other work that is not necessary for fluid UI. To maintain a fluid UI, background syncing, notification delivery, and similar work must all be delayed if UI work can be run. It is acceptable to trade the performance of longer operations (HDR+ runtime, application startup, etc.) to maintain a fluid UI.

Capacity vs jitter

When considering device performance, capacity and jitter are two meaningful metrics.

Capacity

Capacity is the total amount of some resource that the device possesses over some amount of time. This can be CPU resources, GPU resources, I/O resources, network resources, memory bandwidth, or any similar metric. When examining whole-system performance, it can be useful to abstract the individual components and assume a single metric that determines performance (especially when tuning a new device because the workloads run on that device are likely fixed).

The capacity of a system varies based on the computing resources online. Changing CPU/GPU frequency is the primary means of changing capacity, but there are others such as changing the number of CPU cores online. Accordingly, the capacity of a system corresponds with power consumption; changing capacity always results in a similar change in power consumption.

The capacity required at a given time is overwhelmingly determined by the running application. As a result, the platform can do little to adjust the capacity required for a given workload, and the means to do so are limited to runtime improvements (Android framework, ART, Bionic, GPU compiler/drivers, kernel).

Jitter

While the required capacity for a workload is easy to see, jitter is a more nebulous concept. For a good introduction to jitter as an impediment to fast systems, refer to THE CASE OF THE MISSING SUPERCOMPUTER PERFORMANCE: ACHIEVING OPTIMAL PERFORMANCE ON THE 8,192 PROCESSORS OF ASCl Q. (It's an investigation of why the ASCI Q supercomputer did not achieve its expected performance and is a great introduction to optimizing large systems.)

This page uses the term jitter to describe what the ASCI Q paper calls noise. Jitter is the random system behavior that prevents perceptible work from running. It is often work that must be run, but it may not have strict timing requirements that cause it to run at any particular time. Because it is random, it is extremely difficult to disprove the existence of jitter for a given workload. It is also extremely difficult to prove that a known source of jitter was the cause of a particular performance issue. The tools most commonly used for diagnosing causes of jitter (such as tracing or logging) can introduce their own jitter.

Sources of jitter experienced in real-world implementations of Android include:

  • Scheduler delay
  • Interrupt handlers
  • Driver code running for too long with preemption or interrupts disabled
  • Long-running softirqs
  • Lock contention (application, framework, kernel driver, binder lock, mmap lock)
  • File descriptor contention where a low-priority thread holds the lock on a file, preventing a high-priority thread from running
  • Running UI-critical code in workqueues where it could be delayed
  • CPU idle transitions
  • Logging
  • I/O delays
  • Unnecessary process creation (e.g., CONNECTIVITY_CHANGE broadcasts)
  • Page cache thrashing caused by insufficient free memory

The required amount of time for a given period of jitter may or may not decrease as capacity increases. For example, if a driver leaves interrupts disabled while waiting for a read from across an i2c bus, it will take a fixed amount of time regardless of whether the CPU is at 384MHz or 2GHz. Increasing capacity is not a feasible solution to improve performance when jitter is involved. As a result, faster processors will not usually improve performance in jitter-constrained situations.

Finally, unlike capacity, jitter is almost entirely within the domain of the system vendor.

Memory consumption

Memory consumption is traditionally blamed for poor performance. While consumption itself is not a performance issue, it can cause jitter via lowmemorykiller overhead, service restarts, and page cache thrashing. Reducing memory consumption can avoid the direct causes of poor performance, but there may be other targeted improvements that avoid those causes as well (for example, pinning the framework to prevent it from being paged out when it will be paged in soon after).

Analyzing initial device performance

Starting from a functional but poorly-performing system and attempting to fix the system's behavior by looking at individual cases of user-visible poor performance is not a sound strategy. Because poor performance is usually not easily reproducible (i.e., jitter) or an application issue, too many variables in the full system prevent this strategy from being effective. As a result, it's very easy to misidentify causes and make minor improvements while missing systemic opportunities for fixing performance across the system.

Instead, use the following general approach when bringing up a new device:

  1. Get the system booting to UI with all drivers running and some basic frequency governor settings (if you change the frequency governor settings, repeat all steps below).
  2. Ensure the kernel supports the sched_blocked_reason tracepoint as well as other tracepoints in the display pipeline that denote when the frame is delivered to the display.
  3. Take long traces of the entire UI pipeline (from receiving input via an IRQ to final scanout) while running a lightweight and consistent workload (e.g., UiBench or the ball test in TouchLatency).
  4. Fix the frame drops detected in the lightweight and consistent workload.
  5. Repeat steps 3-4 until you can run with zero dropped frames for 20+ seconds at a time.
  6. Move on to other user-visible sources of jank.

Other simple things you can do early on in device bringup include:

  • Ensure your kernel has the sched_blocked_reason tracepoint patch. This tracepoint is enabled with the sched trace category in systrace and provides the function responsible for sleeping when that thread enters uninterruptible sleep. It is critical for performance analysis because uninterruptible sleep is a very common indicator of jitter.
  • Ensure you have sufficient tracing for the GPU and display pipelines. On recent Qualcomm SOCs, tracepoints are enabled using:
  • adb shell "echo 1 > /d/tracing/events/kgsl/enable"
    adb shell "echo 1 > /d/tracing/events/mdss/enable"
    

    These events remain enabled when you run systrace so you can see additional information in the trace about the display pipeline (MDSS) in the mdss_fb0 section. On Qualcomm SOCs, you won't see any additional information about the GPU in the standard systrace view, but the results are present in the trace itself (for details, see Understanding systrace).

    What you want from this kind of display tracing is a single event that directly indicates a frame has been delivered to the display. From there, you can determine if you've hit your frame time successfully; if event Xn occurs less than 16.7ms after event Xn-1 (assuming a 60Hz display), then you know you did not jank. If your SOC does not provide such signals, work with your vendor to get them. Debugging jitter is extremely difficult without a definitive signal of frame completion.

Using synthetic benchmarks

Synthetic benchmarks are useful for ensuring a device's basic functionality is present. However, treating benchmarks as a proxy for perceived device performance is not useful.

Based on experiences with SOCs, differences in synthetic benchmark performance between SOCs is not correlated with a similar difference in perceptible UI performance (number of dropped frames, 99th percentile frame time, etc.). Synthetic benchmarks are capacity-only benchmarks; jitter impacts the measured performance of these benchmarks only by stealing time from the bulk operation of the benchmark. As a result, synthetic benchmark scores are mostly irrelevant as a metric of user-perceived performance.

Consider two SOCs running Benchmark X that renders 1000 frames of UI and reports the total rendering time (lower score is better).

  • SOC 1 renders each frame of Benchmark X in 10ms and scores 10,000.
  • SOC 2 renders 99% of frames in 1ms but 1% of frames in 100ms and scores 19,900, a dramatically better score.

If the benchmark is indicative of actual UI performance, SOC 2 would be unusable. Assuming a 60Hz refresh rate, SOC 2 would have a janky frame every 1.5s of operation. Meanwhile, SOC 1 (the slower SOC according to Benchmark X) would be perfectly fluid.

Using bug reports

Bug reports are sometimes useful for performance analysis, but because they are so heavyweight, they are rarely useful for debugging sporadic jank issues. They may provide some hints on what the system was doing at a given time, especially if the jank was around an application transition (which is logged in a bug report). Bug reports can also indicate when something is more broadly wrong with the system that could reduce its effective capacity (such as thermal throttling or memory fragmentation).

Using TouchLatency

Several examples of bad behavior come from TouchLatency, which is the preferred periodic workload used for the Pixel and Pixel XL. It's available at frameworks/base/tests/TouchLatency and has two modes: touch latency and bouncing ball (to switch modes, click the button in the upper-right corner).

The bouncing ball test is exactly as simple as it appears: A ball bounces around the screen forever, regardless of user input. It is usually also by far the hardest test to run perfectly, but the closer it comes to running without any dropped frames, the better your device will be. The bouncing ball test is difficult because it is a trivial but perfectly consistent workload that runs at a very low clock (this assumes device has a frequency governor; if the device is instead running with fixed clocks, downclock the CPU/GPU to near-minimum when running the bouncing ball test for the first time). As the system quiesces and the clocks drop closer to idle, the required CPU/GPU time per frame increases. You can watch the ball and see things jank, and you'll be able to see missed frames in systrace as well.

Because the workload is so consistent, you can identify most sources of jitter much more easily than in most user-visible workloads by tracking what exactly is running on the system during each missed frame instead of the UI pipeline. The lower clocks amplify the effects of jitter by making it more likely that any jitter causes a dropped frame. As a result, the closer TouchLatency is to 60FPS, the less likely you are to have bad system behaviors that cause sporadic, hard-to-reproduce jank in larger applications.

As jitter is often (but not always) clockspeed-invariant, use a test that runs at very low clocks to diagnose jitter for the following reasons:

  • Not all jitter is clockspeed-invariant; many sources just consume CPU time.
  • The governor should get the average frame time close to the deadline by clocking down, so time spent running non-UI work can push it over the edge to dropping a frame.