Google 致力于为黑人社区推动种族平等。查看具体举措

系统装饰支持

下文介绍对这些与显示相关的部分进行的更新:

系统装饰

Android 10 增加了对于配置辅助屏幕的支持,以显示特定的系统装饰(例如壁纸、导航栏和启动器)。默认情况下,主屏幕会显示所有系统装饰项,而辅助屏幕会显示选择性启用的装饰项。对输入法 (IME) 的支持可以与其他系统装饰项分开设置。

使用 DisplayWindowSettings#setShouldShowSystemDecorsLocked() 在特定屏幕上添加对于系统装饰的支持,或在 /data/system/display_settings.xml 中提供默认值。如需查看相关示例,请参阅屏幕窗口设置

实现

为便于测试,WindowManager#setShouldShowSystemDecors() 中还公开了 DisplayWindowSettings#setShouldShowSystemDecorsLocked()。出于支持系统装饰的目的触发此方法,既不会添加先前没有的装饰窗口,也不会移除先前已存在的装饰窗口。在大多数情况下,有关系统装饰支持的更改只有在设备重启后才会完全生效。

在 WindowManager 代码库中检查对于系统装饰的支持通常通过 DisplayContent#supportsSystemDecorations() 进行,而检查对于外部服务的支持(例如检查对于系统界面的支持,以确定是否应显示导航栏)则使用 WindowManager#shouldShowSystemDecors() 进行。要了解此设置控制的内容,请查看这些方法的调用点。

系统界面装饰窗口

Android 10 仅针对导航栏增加了系统装饰窗口支持,因为导航栏对于在 Activity 和应用之间导航是必不可少的。默认情况下,导航栏会显示“返回”和“主屏幕”图标。仅当目标屏幕支持系统装饰时才包含此功能(请参阅 DisplayWindowSettings)。

状态栏是一个更为复杂的系统窗口,因为它还包含通知栏、快捷设置和锁定屏幕。在 Android 10 中,辅助屏幕不支持状态栏。因此,通知、设置和完整锁屏仅在主屏幕上可用。

辅助屏幕不支持“概览/最近”系统窗口。在 Android 10 中,AOSP 仅在默认屏幕上显示“最近”,并包含所有屏幕中的 Activity。从“最近”启动时,默认会将辅助屏幕上的 Activity 放到默认屏幕的最前端。此方法存在一些已知的问题,例如当应用显示在其他屏幕上时不会立即更新。

实现

要实现其他系统界面功能,设备制造商应使用单个系统界面组件来侦听添加/移除屏幕并显示适当的内容。

支持多屏幕 (MD) 的系统界面组件需要处理以下情况:

  • 在启动时执行多屏幕初始化
  • 在运行时添加屏幕
  • 在运行时移除屏幕

如果系统界面先于 WindowManager 检测到添加屏幕,就会创建一个竞态条件。可以通过以下方法来避免发生这种情况,即在添加屏幕时实现一个从 WindowManager 到系统界面的自定义回调,而不是订阅 DisplayManager.DisplayListener 事件。有关参考实现,请参阅 CommandQueue.Callbacks#onDisplayReady(适用于导航栏支持)和 WallpaperManagerInternal#onDisplayReady(适用于壁纸)。

此外,Android 10 还提供了以下更新:

  • NavigationBarController 类可控制特定于导航栏的所有功能。
  • 要查看自定义导航栏,请参阅 CarStatusBar
  • TYPE_NAVIGATION_BAR 不再局限于单个实例,而可以在每个屏幕中使用。
  • IWindowManager#hasNavigationBar() 已更新为仅包含系统界面的 displayId 参数。

启动器

在 Android 10 中,每个配置为支持系统装饰的屏幕,默认情况下都有一个专用于启动器 Activity 的主屏幕堆栈,该堆栈的类型为 WindowConfiguration#ACTIVITY_TYPE_HOME。每个屏幕使用一个单独的启动器 Activity 实例。

图 1. platform/development/samples/MultiDisplay 的多屏幕启动器示例

大多数现有的启动器都不支持多个实例,也没有针对大屏幕尺寸进行过优化。此外,在辅助/外部屏幕上通常需要不同类型的体验。为了提供针对辅助屏幕的专用 Activity,Android 10 在 Intent 过滤器中引入了 SECONDARY_HOME 类别。此 Activity 的实例将在支持系统装饰的所有屏幕上使用,每个屏幕对应一个实例。

<activity>
    ...
    <intent-filter>
        <category android:name="android.intent.category.SECONDARY_HOME" />
        ...
    </intent-filter>
</activity>

该 Activity 的启动模式必须符合以下条件:不会阻止多个实例,并且可以适应不同屏幕尺寸。启动模式不能是 singleInstancesingleTask

实现

在 Android 10 中,RootActivityContainer#startHomeOnDisplay() 会根据主屏幕所在的屏幕自动选择所需的组件和 intent。RootActivityContainer#resolveSecondaryHomeActivity() 包含根据当前选定的启动器查询启动器 Activity 组件的逻辑,并且可以根据需要使用系统默认设置(请参阅 ActivityTaskManagerService#getSecondaryHomeIntent())。

安全限制

为了避免恶意应用创建启用了系统装饰的虚拟屏幕并从界面读取用户敏感信息,除了对辅助屏幕上的 Activity 施加限制外,启动器还仅会显示在归系统所有的虚拟屏幕上。启动器不会在非系统虚拟屏幕上显示内容。

壁纸

在 Android 10 及更高版本中,辅助屏幕可支持壁纸:

图 2. 内部(上方)和外部(下方)屏幕上的动态壁纸

开发者可以通过在 WallpaperInfo XML 定义中提供 android:supportsMultipleDisplays="true" 来声明对壁纸功能的支持。壁纸开发者还可以使用 WallpaperService.Engine#getDisplayContext() 中的屏幕上下文加载资源。

框架会为每个屏幕创建一个 WallpaperService.Engine 实例,以便每个引擎都拥有自己的界面和屏幕上下文。开发者需要确保每个引擎都能够根据 VSYNC 以不同的帧频独立绘制。

针对单个屏幕选择壁纸

Android 10 平台无法直接支持针对单个屏幕选择壁纸。为了实现此功能,每个屏幕都需要一个稳定的屏幕标识符来保留壁纸设置。 Display#getDisplayId() 是动态的,因此无法保证物理屏幕在重启后仍具有相同的 ID。

不过,Android 10 新增了 DisplayInfo.mAddress,它包含用于物理屏幕的稳定标识符,将来可以用于完整实现。遗憾的是,现在为 Android 10 实现该逻辑已经太迟了。建议采用以下解决方案:

  1. 使用 WallpaperManager API 来设置壁纸。
  2. WallpaperManager 是从 Context 对象获得的,每个 Context 对象均具有关于相应屏幕的信息 (Context#getDisplay()/getDisplayId())。因此,您可以从 WallpaperManager 实例获得 displayId,而无需添加新方法。
  3. 在框架端,使用从 Context 对象获得的 displayId 并将其映射到静态标识符(例如物理屏幕的端口)。使用该静态标识符来保留所选壁纸。

此解决方案利用了壁纸选择器的现有实现。如果在特定屏幕上打开壁纸选择器并使用正确的 Context,则当选择器请求设置壁纸时,系统可以自动识别该屏幕。

如果需要为当前屏幕以外的屏幕设置壁纸,则需要为目标屏幕创建新的 Context 对象 (Context#createDisplayContext),并从该屏幕中获取 WallpaperManager 实例。

安全限制

系统不会在不属于自己的虚拟屏幕上显示壁纸。这是出于安全考虑,因为恶意应用可能会创建启用了系统装饰支持的虚拟屏幕,并从界面读取用户敏感信息(例如个人照片)。

实现

在 Android 10 中,IWallpaperConnection#attachEngine()IWallpaperService#attach() 接口接受 displayId 参数来创建与每个屏幕之间的连接。 WallpaperManagerService.DisplayConnector 中包含了每个屏幕的壁纸引擎和连接。在 WindowManager 中,会在构建时为每个 DisplayContent 对象创建一个壁纸控制器,而不是为所有屏幕创建一个 WallpaperController

一些公共 WallpaperManager 方法实现(如 WallpaperManager#getDesiredMinimumWidth())已更新,可计算并提供相应屏幕的信息。 新增了 WallpaperInfo#supportsMultipleDisplays() 和相应的资源属性,以便应用开发者可以报告哪些壁纸已可供多个屏幕使用。

如果默认屏幕上显示的壁纸服务不支持多个屏幕,则系统会在辅助屏幕上显示默认壁纸。

图 3. 辅助屏幕的壁纸回退逻辑

System Decorations Support

Updates made to these display-specific areas are provided below:

System decorations

Android 10 adds support for configuring secondary displays to show certain system decorations, such as wallpaper, navigation bar, and launcher. By default, the primary display shows all system decorations, and secondary displays show those optionally enabled. Support for an Input Method Editor (IME) can be set separately from other system decorations.

Use DisplayWindowSettings#setShouldShowSystemDecorsLocked() to add support for system decorations on a specific display or provide a default value in /data/system/display_settings.xml. For examples, see Display window settings.

Implementation

DisplayWindowSettings#setShouldShowSystemDecorsLocked() is also exposed in WindowManager#setShouldShowSystemDecors() for testing. Triggering of this method with intent to enable system decors doesn't add decor windows that were previously missing, or remove them if they were previously present. In most cases, the change of system decorations support takes full effect only after a device reboot.

Checks for support of system decorations in the WindowManager code base usually go through DisplayContent#supportsSystemDecorations() while checks for external services (such as System UI to check if the navigation bar should be shown) use WindowManager#shouldShowSystemDecors(). To understand what is controlled by this setting, explore the call points of these methods.

System UI decor windows

Android 10 adds system decor window support for the navigation bar only, because the navigation bar is essential for navigating between activities and apps. By default, the navigation bar shows Back and Home affordances. This is included only if the target display supports system decorations (see DisplayWindowSettings).

The status bar is a more complicated system window, because it also contains Notification Shade, Quick Settings, and Lock Screen. In Android 10, the status bar is not supported on secondary displays. Therefore, notifications, settings, and a full keyguard are available only on the primary display.

The Overview/Recents system window isn't supported on secondary screens. In Android 10, AOSP only display Recents on the default display and contains activities from all displays. When launched from Recents, an activity that was on a secondary display is brought to the front on that display, by default. This approach has some known issues, such as not updating immediately when apps appear on other screens.

Implementation

To implement additional System UI features, device manufacturers should use a single System UI component that listens for the addition/removal of displays and presents appropriate content.

A System UI component that supports Multi-Display (MD) should handle the following cases:

  • Multiple display initialization at startup
  • Display added at runtime
  • Display removed at runtime

When System UI detects the addition of a display before WindowManager, it creates a race condition. This can be avoided by implementing a custom callback from WindowManager to System UI when a display is added instead of subscribing to DisplayManager.DisplayListener events. For a reference implementation, see CommandQueue.Callbacks#onDisplayReady for navigation bar support and WallpaperManagerInternal#onDisplayReady for wallpapers.

In addition, Android 10 provides these updates:

  • The NavigationBarController class controls all functionality specific to navigation bars.
  • To view a customized navigation bar, see CarStatusBar.
  • TYPE_NAVIGATION_BAR is no longer restricted to a single instance and can be used per display.
  • IWindowManager#hasNavigationBar() is updated to include the displayId parameter for System UI only.

Launcher

In Android 10, each display configured to support system decorations has a dedicated home stack for launcher activities with type WindowConfiguration#ACTIVITY_TYPE_HOME, by default. Each display uses a separate instance of launcher activity.

Figure 1. Multi-display launcher example for platform/development/samples/MultiDisplay

Most existing launchers don't support multiple instances and aren't optimized for large screen sizes. Also, a different kind of experience is often expected on secondary/external displays. To provide a dedicated activity for secondary screens, Android 10 introduces the SECONDARY_HOME category in intent filters. Instances of this activity are used on all displays that support system decorations, one per display.

<activity>
    ...
    <intent-filter>
        <category android:name="android.intent.category.SECONDARY_HOME" />
        ...
    </intent-filter>
</activity>

The activity must have a launch mode that doesn't prevent multiple instances and is expected to adapt to different screen sizes. The launch mode can't be singleInstance or singleTask.

Implementation

In Android 10, RootActivityContainer#startHomeOnDisplay() automatically selects the desired component and intent depending on the display where the home screen is launched. RootActivityContainer#resolveSecondaryHomeActivity() contains the logic to look up the launcher activity component depending on the currently selected launcher and can use the system default, if needed (see ActivityTaskManagerService#getSecondaryHomeIntent()).

Security restrictions

In addition to restrictions that apply to activities on secondary displays, to avoid the possibility of a malicious app creating a virtual display with enabled System decorations and reading user-sensitive information from the surface, the launcher appears only on virtual displays owned by the system. The launcher doesn't display content on non-system virtual displays.

Wallpapers

In Android 10 (and higher), wallpapers are supported on secondary displays:

Figure 2. Live wallpaper on internal (above) and external displays (below)

Developers can declare support for the wallpaper feature by providing android:supportsMultipleDisplays="true" in the WallpaperInfo XML definition. Wallpaper developers are also expected to load assets using the display context in WallpaperService.Engine#getDisplayContext().

The framework creates one WallpaperService.Engine instance per display, so each engine has its own surface and display context. The developer needs to make sure that each engine can draw independently, at different frame rates, respecting VSYNC.

Selecting wallpapers for individual screens

Android 10 doesn't provide direct platform support for selecting wallpapers for individual screens. To accomplish this, a stable display identifier is needed to persist wallpaper settings per display. Display#getDisplayId() is dynamic, so there's no guarantee that a physical display will have the same ID after reboot.

However, Android 10 added DisplayInfo.mAddress, which contains stable identifiers for physical displays and can be used for a full implementation in future. Unfortunately, it is too late to implement the logic for Android 10. The suggested solution:

  1. Use the WallpaperManager API to set the wallpapers.
  2. WallpaperManager is obtained from a Context object, and each Context object has information about corresponding display (Context#getDisplay()/getDisplayId()). Therefore, you can obtain displayId from a WallpaperManager instance without adding new methods.
  3. On the framework side, use displayId obtained from a Context object and map it to a static identifier (such as a port of a physical display). Use the static identifier to persist the chosen wallpaper.

This workaround uses existing implementations for wallpaper pickers. If it was opened on a specific display and uses the right context, then when it calls to set a wallpaper, the system can automatically identify the display.

If there's a need to set wallpaper for a display other than the current display, then create a new Context object for the target display (Context#createDisplayContext) and obtain the WallpaperManager instance from that display.

Security restrictions

The system won't show wallpapers on virtual displays that it doesn't own. This is due to a security concern that a malicious app could create a virtual display with enabled system decorations support and read a user-sensitive information from the surface (such as a personal photo).

Implementation

In Android 10, the IWallpaperConnection#attachEngine() and IWallpaperService#attach() interfaces accept the displayId parameter to create per-display connections. WallpaperManagerService.DisplayConnector encapsulates a per-display wallpaper engine and connection. In WindowManager, wallpaper controllers are created for each DisplayContent object at construction instead of a single WallpaperController for all displays.

Some of the public WallpaperManager method implementations (such as WallpaperManager#getDesiredMinimumWidth()) were updated to compute and provide information for corresponding displays. WallpaperInfo#supportsMultipleDisplays() and a corresponding resource attribute were added, so that app developers can report which wallpapers are ready for multiple screens.

If the wallpaper service shown on the default display doesn't support multiple displays, then the system shows the default wallpaper on the secondary displays.

Figure 3. Wallpaper fallback logic for secondary displays