减小 OTA 大小

本页介绍了为减少不同构建之间的不必要文件变更,而添加到 AOSP 的构建变更。维护自己的构建系统的设备实现人员,可依照此信息减小无线 (OTA) 更新的大小。

有时 Android OTA 包含的变更文件并非对应于代码变更,而是对应于构建系统的软件工件。在不同时间、不同目录或不同机器上构建相同代码时,会产生大量变更文件,这时便会发生上述情况。这些多余的文件不仅会增加 OTA 的大小,而且会导致难以确定 OTA 中发生变更的代码。

为了使 OTA 的内容更加透明,AOSP 加入了构建系统变更,旨在通过消除不同构建之间不必要的文件变更来减小 OTA 的大小。这样做是为了减小 OTA 的大小,使其只包括与 OTA 中包含的补丁程序相关的文件。AOSP 还会加入构建 diff 工具,以过滤出常见的构建相关文件变更并提供更加清晰的构建文件 diff。

构建系统可能会通过多种方式创建不必要的文件 diff。下文讨论了其中一些问题和解决方案,并尽可能提供了 AOSP 中的修复示例。

文件顺序

问题:文件系统在请求目录中的文件列表时,并不保证文件顺序,尽管对于同一查询,文件顺序通常是相同的。诸如 ls 之类的工具在默认情况下会对结果进行排序,但 findmake 之类的命令使用的通配符函数却不会对结果进行排序。用户在使用此类工具之前,必须对输出进行排序。

解决方案:用户在使用带有通配符的 findmake 之类的工具之前,必须对这些命令的输出进行排序。要在 Android.mk 文件中使用 $(wildcard )$(shell find ),也应该进行排序。有些工具(例如 Java)确实会对输入进行排序,因此有必要对排序进行验证。

示例:很多实例使用内建的 all-*-files-under 宏固定在核心构建系统中,其中包括 all-cpp-files-under(一些定义分散在其他 makefile 中)。有关详情,请参阅以下 CL:

构建目录

问题:变更构建内容所在的目录会导致二进制文件有所变化。Android 构建中的大多数路径是相对路径,因此 C/C ++ 中的 __FILE__ 不是问题。不过,默认情况下调试符号会对完整的路径名进行编码,而对预剥离二进制文件进行哈希处理会生成 .note.gnu.build-id,因此调试符号变更会使二进制文件发生变化。

解决方案:AOSP 现在会使调试路径变成相对路径。有关详情,请参阅 CL: https://android.googlesource.com/platform/build/+/6a66a887baadc9eb3d0d60e26f748b8453e27a02

时间戳

问题:构建输出中的时间戳会导致不必要的文件变更。这可能发生在以下位置:

  • C 或 C++ 代码中的 __DATE__/__TIME__/__TIMESTAMP__ 宏。
  • 基于 ZIP 的归档中嵌入的时间戳。

解决方案/示例:要从构建输出中移除时间戳,请遵循下文中的说明操作。

C/C++ 中的 __DATE__/__TIME__/__TIMESTAMP__

这些宏总是会为不同的构建生成不同的输出,因此不应使用。 您可选择以下方法来消除这些宏:

注意:我们开启了 -Werror=date-time,因此使用时间戳是一种构建错误。

归档(zip、jar)中的嵌入时间戳

我们通过将 -X 添加到 zip 命令的所有用例中,解决了嵌入时间戳的问题,因此构建工具的 UID/GID 和扩展的 Unix 时间戳不会嵌入到 ZIP 文件中。

新工具 ziptime(位于 /platform/build/+/master/tools/ziptime/)会重置 zip 标头中的正常时间戳。有关详情,请参阅 README 文件

signapk 工具为 APK 文件设置的时间戳可能因服务器所在的时区而异。有关详情,请参阅 CL: https://android.googlesource.com/platform/build/+/6c41036bcf35fe39162b50d27533f0f3bfab3028

版本字符串

问题:APK 版本字符串通常包含附加到硬编码版本的 BUILD_NUMBER。即使 APK 中并未发生任何其他变更,APK 仍然会有所不同。

解决方案:从 APK 版本字符串中移除版本号。

示例:

一致的构建工具

问题:生成安装文件的工具必须一致(相同的输入应始终产生相同的输出)。

解决方案/示例:以下构建工具需要进行变更:

使用构建 diff 工具

对于无法消除构建相关文件变更的情况,我们提供构建 diff 工具 target_files_diff.py 来比较两个文件包。该工具会在两个构建之间执行递归 diff,从而排除常见的构建相关文件变更,例如:

  • 构建输出中的预期变更(例如,由于版本号变更所导致)。
  • 由于当前构建系统中的已知问题所导致的变更。

要使用构建 diff 工具,请运行以下命令:

$ target_files_diff.py dir1 dir2

dir1dir2 是包含每个构建的提取目标文件的基础目录。

Reducing OTA Size

This page describes build changes added to AOSP to reduce unnecessary file changes between builds. Device implementers who maintain their own build system can use this information as a guide for reducing over-the-air (OTA) update size.

Android OTAs occasionally contain changed files that do not correspond to code changes but are instead artifacts of the build system. This can occur when the same code built at different times, from different directories, or on different machines produces a large number of changed files. These excess files not only increase the size of an OTA, but make it difficult to determine which code is changed in the OTA.

To make the contents of an OTA more transparent, AOSP includes build system changes designed to reduce OTA size by eliminating unnecessary file changes between builds. The aim is to reduce the size of OTAs to include only the files that relate to the patches contained in the OTA. AOSP also includes a build diff tool, which filters out common build-related file changes and provides a cleaner build file diff, and a block mapping tool, which helps you keep block allocation consistent.

The build system can create unnecessary file diffs in several ways. The following sections discuss some of these issues and solutions, providing examples of fixes in AOSP when possible.

File order

Problem: Filesystems don’t guarantee a file order when asked for a list of files in a directory, though it’s commonly the same for the same checkout. Tools such as ls sort the results by default, but the wildcard function used by commands such as find and make do not. Before using these tools, you must sort the outputs.

Solution: Users of tools such as find and make with wildcard must sort the output of these commands before using them. Use of $(wildcard) or $(shell find) in Android.mk files should also be sorted. Some tools, such as Java, do sort inputs so first verify sorting is necessary.

Examples: Many instances were fixed in the core build system using the builtin all-*-files-under macro, which includes all-cpp-files-under (as several definitions were spread out in other makefiles). For details, refer to the following CLs:

Build directory

Problem: Changing the directory in which things are built can cause the binaries to be different. Most paths in the Android build are relative paths so __FILE__ in C/C++ isn’t a problem. However, the debug symbols encode the full pathname by default, and the .note.gnu.build-id is generated from hashing the pre-stripped binary, so it will change if the debug symbols change.

Solution: AOSP now makes debug paths relative. For details, refer to CL: https://android.googlesource.com/platform/build/+/6a66a887baadc9eb3d0d60e26f748b8453e27a02.

Timestamps

Problem: Timestamps in the build output result in unnecessary file changes. This is likely to happen in the following locations:

  • __DATE__/__TIME__/__TIMESTAMP__ macros in C or C++ code.
  • Timestamps embedded in zip-based archives.

Solutions/Examples: To remove timestamps from the build output, use the instructions in the sections below.

__DATE__/__TIME__/__TIMESTAMP__ in C/C++

These macros always produce different outputs for different builds, so they shouldn’t be used. Here are a few options on how to eliminate these macros:

Embedded timestamps in archives (zip, jar)

Android 7.0 fixed the problem of embedded timestamps in zip archives by adding -X to all uses of the zip command, so the UID/GID of the builder and the extended Unix timestamp are not embedded in the zip file.

A new tool, ziptime (located in /platform/build/+/master/tools/ziptime/) resets the normal timestamps in the zip headers. For details, refer to the README file.

The signapk tool sets timestamps for the APK files that may vary depending on the server timezone. For details, refer to the CL https://android.googlesource.com/platform/build/+/6c41036bcf35fe39162b50d27533f0f3bfab3028.

Version strings

Problem: APK version strings often had the BUILD_NUMBER appended to the hardcoded version. Even if nothing else changed in the APK, the APK would still be different.

Solution: Remove the build number from the APK version string.

Examples:

Consistent build tools

Problem: Tools that generate installed files must be consistent (the same input should always produce the same output).

Solutions/Examples: Changes were required in the following build tools:

Using the build diff tool

For cases where it is not possible to eliminate build-related file changes, AOSP includes a build diff tool, target_files_diff.py for use in comparing two file packages. This tool performs a recursive diff between two builds, excluding common build-related file changes, such as:

  • Expected changes in the build output (for example, due to a build number change).
  • Changes due to known issues in the current build system.

To use the build diff tool, run the following command:

target_files_diff.py dir1 dir2

dir1 and dir2 are base directories that contain the extracted target files for each build.

Keeping block allocation consistent

In an non-A/B OTA, one of the factors that contribute to the time is block moves. For a given file, although its contents remain the same between two builds, the actual blocks that hold the data might have changed. As a result, the updater performs unnecessarily I/O to move the blocks around during an OTA.

To address this issue, in Android 7.0 we extended the make_ext4fs tool that tries to keep the block allocation consistent across builds. make_ext4fs accepts an optional -d base_fs flag that attempts to allocate files to the same blocks when generating an ext4 image. You can extract the block mapping files (i.e. the base_fs map files) from a previous build's target files zip file (IMAGES/system.map and IMAGES/vendor.map). The base_fs files can then be checked in and specified via PRODUCT_SYSTEM_BASE_FS_PATH and PRODUCT_VENDOR_BASE_FS_PATH. For example,

  PRODUCT_SYSTEM_BASE_FS_PATH := path/to/base_fs_files/base_system.map
  PRODUCT_VENDOR_BASE_FS_PATH := path/to/base_fs_files/base_vendor.map

While this doesn’t help reduce the overall OTA package size, it does improve OTA performance by reducing the amount of I/O.