Google 致力于为黑人社区推动种族平等。查看具体举措

低内存终止守护程序

Android 低内存终止守护程序 (lmkd) 进程可监控运行中的 Android 系统的内存状态,并通过终止最不必要的进程来应对内存压力大的问题,使系统以可接受的性能水平运行。

内存压力简介

并行运行多个进程的 Android 系统可能会遇到系统内存耗尽,需要更多内存的进程出现明显延迟的情况。内存压力是系统内存不足的一种状态,它需要 Android 通过限制或终止不必要的进程、请求进程释放非关键缓存资源等方式来释放内存(以缓解这种压力)。

过去,Android 使用内核中的低内存终止守护程序 (LMK) 驱动程序来监控系统内存压力,该驱动程序是一种依赖于硬编码值的严格机制。从内核 4.12 开始,LMK 驱动程序已从上游内核中移除,改由用户空间 lmkd 来执行内存监控和进程终止任务。

压力失速信息

Android 10 及更高版本支持新的 lmkd 模式,它使用内核压力失速信息 (PSI) 监视器来检测内存压力。上游内核中的 PSI 补丁程序集(已向后移植到 4.9 和 4.14 内核)可测量由于内存不足导致任务延迟的时间。由于这些延迟会直接影响用户体验,因此它们代表了确定内存压力严重性的便捷指标。上游内核还包括 PSI 监视器,这类监视器允许特权用户空间进程(例如 lmkd)指定这些延迟的阈值,并在突破阈值时从内核订阅事件。

PSI 监视器与 vmpressure 信号

由于 vmpressure 信号(由内核生成,用于检测内存压力并由 lmkd 使用)通常包含大量误报,因此 lmkd 必须执行过滤以确定是否真的存在内存压力。这会导致不必要的 lmkd 唤醒并使用额外的计算资源。使用 PSI 监视器可以实现更精确的内存压力检测,并最大限度地减少过滤开销。

使用 PSI 监视器

如需使用 PSI 监视器(而不是 vmpressure 事件),请配置 ro.lmk.use_psi 属性。默认值为 true,这会以 PSI 监视器作为 lmkd 内存压力检测的默认机制。由于 PSI 监视器需要内核支持,因此内核必须包含 PSI 向后移植补丁程序,并在启用 PSI 支持 (CONFIG_PSI=y) 的情况下进行编译。

内核中 LMK 驱动程序的缺点

由于存在大量问题,Android 弃用了 LMK 驱动程序,问题包括:

  • 对于低内存设备,必须主动进行调整,即便如此,在处理涉及支持大文件的活跃页面缓存的工作负载时,其性能也较差。性能不良会导致出现抖动,但不会终止。
  • LMK 内核驱动程序依赖于可用内存限制,不会根据内存压力进行扩缩。
  • 由于设计的严格性,合作伙伴通常会自定义该驱动程序,使其可以在自己的设备上使用。
  • LMK 驱动程序已挂接到 Slab Shrinker API,该 API 并非为了执行繁重操作(例如搜索并终止目标)而设计,这类操作会导致 vmscan 进程变慢。

用户空间 lmkd

用户空间 lmkd 可实现与内核中的驱动程序相同的功能,但它使用现有的内核机制检测和评估内存压力。这些机制包括使用内核生成的 vmpressure 事件或压力失速信息 (PSI) 监视器来获取关于内存压力水平的通知,以及使用内存 cgroup 功能限制根据进程的重要性分配给每个进程的内存资源。

在 Android 10 中使用用户空间 lmkd

在 Android 9 及更高版本中,用户空间 lmkd 会在未检测到内核中的 LMK 驱动程序时激活。由于用户空间 lmkd 要求内核支持内存 cgroup,因此必须使用以下配置设置编译内核:

CONFIG_ANDROID_LOW_MEMORY_KILLER=n
CONFIG_MEMCG=y
CONFIG_MEMCG_SWAP=y

终止策略

用户空间 lmkd 支持基于以下各项的终止策略:vmpressure 事件或 PSI 监视器、其严重性以及交换利用率等其他提示。低内存设备和高性能设备的终止策略有所不同:

  • 对于内存不足的设备,一般情况下,系统会选择承受较大的内存压力。
  • 对于高性能设备,如果出现内存压力,则会视为异常情况,应及时修复,以免影响整体性能。

您可以使用 ro.config.low_ram 属性来配置终止策略(如需了解详情,请参阅低 RAM 配置)。

用户空间 lmkd 还支持一种旧模式,在该模式下,它使用与内核中的 LMK 驱动程序相同的策略(即可用内存和文件缓存阈值)做出终止决策。要启用旧模式,请将 ro.lmk.use_minfree_levels 属性设置为 true

配置 lmkd

使用以下属性为特定设备配置 lmkd

属性 使用 默认
ro.config.low_ram 指定设备是低内存设备还是高性能设备。 false
ro.lmk.use_psi 使用 PSI 监视器(而不是 vmpressure 事件)。 true
ro.lmk.use_minfree_levels 使用可用内存和文件缓存阈值来做出进程终止决策(即与内核中的 LMK 驱动程序的功能一致)。 false
ro.lmk.low 在低 vmpressure 水平下可被终止的进程的最低 oom_adj 得分。 1001
(停用)
ro.lmk.medium 在中等 vmpressure 水平下可被终止的进程的最低 oom_adj 得分。 800
(已缓存或非必要服务)
ro.lmk.critical 在临界 vmpressure 水平下可被终止的进程的最低 oom_adj 得分。 0
(任何进程)
ro.lmk.critical_upgrade 支持升级到临界水平。 false
ro.lmk.upgrade_pressure 由于系统交换次数过多,将在该水平执行水平升级的 mem_pressure 上限。 100
(停用)
ro.lmk.downgrade_pressure 由于仍有足够的可用内存,将在该水平忽略 vmpressure 事件的 mem_pressure 下限。 100
(停用)
ro.lmk.kill_heaviest_task 终止符合条件的最繁重任务(最佳决策)与终止符合条件的任何任务(快速决策)。 true
ro.lmk.kill_timeout_ms 从某次终止后到其他终止完成之前的持续时间(以毫秒为单位)。 0
(停用)
ro.lmk.debug 启用 lmkd 调试日志。 false

设备配置示例:

PRODUCT_PROPERTY_OVERRIDES += \
    ro.lmk.low=1001 \
    ro.lmk.medium=800 \
    ro.lmk.critical=0 \
    ro.lmk.critical_upgrade=false \
    ro.lmk.upgrade_pressure=100 \
    ro.lmk.downgrade_pressure=100 \
    ro.lmk.kill_heaviest_task=true

Android 11 中的用户空间 lmkd

Android 11 通过引入新的终止策略改进了 lmkd。该终止策略使用 PSI 机制来执行 Android 10 中引入的内存压力检测。Android 11 中的 lmkd 会根据内存资源使用情况和抖动来防止出现内存不足和性能下降。这一终止策略取代了以前的策略,可同时用于高性能设备和低内存 (Android Go) 设备。

内核要求

对于 Android 11 设备,lmkd 需要以下内核功能:

  • 添加 PSI 补丁程序并启用 PSI(Android 通用内核 4.9、4.14 和 4.19 中提供向后移植)。
  • 添加 PIDFD 支持补丁程序(Android 通用内核 4.9、4.14 和 4.19 中提供向后移植)。
  • 对于低内存设备,添加内存 cgroup。

必须使用以下配置设置编译内核:

CONFIG_PSI=y

在 Android 11 中配置 lmkd

Android 11 中的内存终止策略支持下面列出的调节旋钮和默认值。这些功能在高性能设备和低内存设备上都可使用。

属性 使用 默认
高性能 低内存
ro.lmk.psi_partial_stall_ms 部分 PSI 失速阈值(以毫秒为单位),用于触发内存不足通知。如果设备收到内存压力通知的时间太晚,可以降低此值以在较早的时间触发通知。如果在不必要的情况下触发了内存压力通知,请提高此值以降低设备对噪声的敏感度。 70 200
ro.lmk.psi_complete_stall_ms 完全 PSI 失速阈值(以毫秒为单位),用于触发关键内存通知。如果设备收到关键内存压力通知的时间太晚,可以降低该值以在较早的时间触发通知。如果在不必要的情况下触发了关键内存压力通知,可以提高该值以降低设备对噪声的敏感度。 700
ro.lmk.thrashing_limit 工作集 refault 数量的上限,以占具有文件支持的页面缓存总大小的百分比表示。如果工作集 refault 的数量超过该值,则视为系统对其页面缓存造成抖动。如果设备性能在内存压力期间受到影响,请降低该值以限制抖动。如果因抖动原因而导致设备性能不必要地降低,请提高该值以允许更多抖动。 100 30
ro.lmk.thrashing_limit_decay 抖动阈值衰减,以占在系统无法恢复时(甚至是终止后)用于降低阈值的原始阈值的百分比表示。如果持续抖动导致不必要的终止,请降低该值。如果终止后对持续抖动的响应速度过慢,请提高该值。 10 50
ro.lmk.swap_util_max 最大交换内存量,以占可交换内存总量的百分比表示。如果交换的内存量超过此上限,则表示系统在交换了其大部分可交换内存后仍然存在压力。 当内存压力是由不可交换内存的分配导致时,就可能会发生这种情况,原因在于大部分可交换内存已经交换,所以无法通过交换来缓解这一压力。默认值为 100,这实际上会停用此检查。如果设备的性能在交换利用率较高且可用交换水平未降至 ro.lmk.swap_free_low_percentage 的内存压力期间受到影响,请降低该值以限制交换利用率。 100 100

以下旧的调节旋钮也可用于新的终止策略。

属性 使用 默认
高性能 低内存
ro.lmk.swap_free_low_percentage 可用交换水平,以占总交换空间的百分比表示。“lmkd”使用该值作为阈值来判断何时将系统视为交换空间不足。如果“lmkd”因交换空间过多而终止,请降低该百分比。如果“lmkd”终止得太晚,从而导致 OOM 终止,请提高该百分比。 20 10
ro.lmk.debug 这会启用“lmkd”调试日志。在调节时启用调试。 false

Google is committed to advancing racial equity for Black communities. See how.

Low Memory Killer Daemon

The Android low memory killer daemon (lmkd) process monitors the memory state of a running Android system and reacts to high memory pressure by killing the least essential processes to keep the system performing at acceptable levels.

About memory pressure

An Android system running multiple processes in parallel may encounter situations when system memory is exhausted and processes that require more memory experience noticeable delays. Memory pressure, a state in which the system is running short on memory, requires Android to free memory (to alleviate the pressure) by throttling or killing unimportant processes, requesting processes to free noncritical cached resources, and so on.

Historically, Android monitored system memory pressure using an in-kernel low memory killer (LMK) driver, a rigid mechanism that depends on hard-coded values. As of kernel 4.12, the LMK driver is removed from the upstream kernel and the userspace lmkd performs memory monitoring and process killing tasks.

Pressure stall information

Android 10 and later support a new lmkd mode that uses kernel pressure stall information (PSI) monitors for memory pressure detection. The PSI patchset in the upstream kernel (backported to 4.9 and 4.14 kernels) measures the amount of time that tasks are delayed as a result of memory shortages. As these delays directly affect user experience, they represent a convenient metric for determining memory pressure severity. The upstream kernel also includes PSI monitors that allow privileged userspace processes (such as lmkd) to specify thresholds for these delays and to subscribe to events from the kernel when a threshold is breached.

PSI monitors versus vmpressure signals

Because the vmpressure signals (generated by the kernel for memory pressure detection and used by lmkd) often include numerous false positives, lmkd must perform filtering to determine if the memory is under real pressure. This results in unnecessary lmkd wakeups and the use of additional computational resources. Using PSI monitors results in more accurate memory pressure detection and minimizes filtering overhead.

Using PSI monitors

To use PSI monitors instead of vmpressure events, configure the ro.lmk.use_psi property. The default is true, making PSI monitors the default mechanism of memory pressure detection for lmkd. Because PSI monitors require kernel support, the kernel must include the PSI backport patches and be compiled with PSI support enabled (CONFIG_PSI=y).

Drawbacks of in-kernel LMK driver

Android deprecates the LMK driver due to a number of issues, including:

  • Low-RAM devices had to be tuned aggressively, and even then would perform poorly on workloads with large file-backed active pagecache. The poor performance resulted in thrashing and no kills.
  • The LMK kernel driver relied on free-memory limits, with no scaling based on the memory pressure.
  • Because of the rigidity of the design, partners often customized the driver so that it would work on their devices.
  • The LMK driver hooked into the slab shrinker API, which wasn't designed for heavy operations such as searching for targets and killing them, which slowed down the vmscan process.

Userspace lmkd

The userspace lmkd implements the same functionality as the in-kernel driver but uses existing kernel mechanisms to detect and estimate memory pressure. Such mechanisms include using kernel-generated vmpressure events or pressure stall information (PSI) monitors to get notifications about memory pressure levels, and using memory cgroup features to limit the memory resources allocated to each process based on process importance.

Using userspace lmkd in Android 10

In Android 9 and later, userspace lmkd activates if an in-kernel LMK driver isn't detected. Because userspace lmkd requires kernel support for memory cgroups, the kernel must be compiled with the following configuration settings:

CONFIG_ANDROID_LOW_MEMORY_KILLER=n
CONFIG_MEMCG=y
CONFIG_MEMCG_SWAP=y

Kill strategies

Userspace lmkd supports kill strategies based on vmpressure events or PSI monitors, their severity, and other hints such as swap utilization. Kill strategies differ between low-memory and high-performance devices:

  • On low-memory devices, the system should tolerate higher memory pressure as a normal mode of operation.
  • On high-performance devices, memory pressure should be viewed as an abnormal situation and fixed before it affects overall performance.

You can configure the kill strategy using the ro.config.low_ram property (for details, see Low RAM Configuration).

Userspace lmkd also supports a legacy mode in which it makes kill decisions using the same strategies as the in-kernel LMK driver (that is, free memory and file cache thresholds). To enable legacy mode, set the ro.lmk.use_minfree_levels property to true.

Configuring lmkd

Configure lmkd for a specific device using the following properties.

Property Use Default
ro.config.low_ram Specify if the device is a low-RAM or high-performance device. false
ro.lmk.use_psi Use PSI monitors (instead of vmpressure events). true
ro.lmk.use_minfree_levels Use free memory and file cache thresholds for making process kill decisions (that is, match the functionality of the in-kernel LMK driver). false
ro.lmk.low The minimum oom_adj score for processes eligible to be killed at low vmpressure level. 1001
(disabled)
ro.lmk.medium The minimum oom_adj score for processes eligible to be killed at medium vmpressure level. 800
(cached or nonessential services)
ro.lmk.critical The minimum oom_adj score for processes eligible to be killed at critical vmpressure level. 0
(any process)
ro.lmk.critical_upgrade Enable upgrade to critical level. false
ro.lmk.upgrade_pressure The maximum mem_pressure at which the level is upgraded because the system is swapping too much. 100
(disabled)
ro.lmk.downgrade_pressure The minimum mem_pressure at which a vmpressure event is ignored because enough free memory is still available. 100
(disabled)
ro.lmk.kill_heaviest_task Kill the heaviest eligible task (best decision) versus any eligible task (fast decision). true
ro.lmk.kill_timeout_ms Duration in milliseconds after a kill when no additional kill will be done. 0
(disabled)
ro.lmk.debug Enable lmkd debug logs. false

Example device configuration:

PRODUCT_PROPERTY_OVERRIDES += \
    ro.lmk.low=1001 \
    ro.lmk.medium=800 \
    ro.lmk.critical=0 \
    ro.lmk.critical_upgrade=false \
    ro.lmk.upgrade_pressure=100 \
    ro.lmk.downgrade_pressure=100 \
    ro.lmk.kill_heaviest_task=true

Userspace lmkd in Android 11

Android 11 improves the lmkd by introducing a new killing strategy. The killing strategy uses a PSI mechanism for memory pressure detection introduced in Android 10. lmkd in Android 11 accounts for memory resource use levels and thrashing to prevent memory starvation and performance degradation. This killing strategy replaces previous strategies and can be used on both high-performance and low-RAM (Android Go) devices.

Kernel requirements

For Android 11 devices, lmkd requires the following kernel features:

  • Include PSI patches and enable PSI (backports available in Android common kernels 4.9, 4.14, and 4.19).
  • Include PIDFD support patches (backports available in Android common kernels 4.9, 4.14, and 4.19).
  • For low-RAM devices, include memory cgroups.

The kernel must be compiled with the following configuration settings:

CONFIG_PSI=y

Configuring lmkd in Android 11

The memory killing strategy in Android 11 supports the tuning knobs and defaults listed below. These features work on both high-performance and low-RAM devices.

Property Use Default
High performance Low RAM
ro.lmk.psi_partial_stall_ms The partial PSI stall threshold, in milliseconds, for triggering low memory notification. If the device receives memory pressure notifications too late, decrease this value to trigger earlier notifications. If memory pressure notifications trigger unnecessarily, increase this value to make the device less sensitive to noise. 70 200
ro.lmk.psi_complete_stall_ms The complete PSI stall threshold, in milliseconds, for triggering critical memory notifications. If the device receives critical memory pressure notifications too late, decrease this value to trigger earlier notifications. If critical memory pressure notifications trigger unnecessarily, increase this value to make the device less sensitive to noise. 700
ro.lmk.thrashing_limit The max amount of workingset refaults as a percentage of the total file-backed pagecache size. Workingset refaults above this value mean that the system is considered to be thrashing its pagecache. If the performance of the device is affected during memory pressure, decrease the value to limit thrashing. If the performance of the device is killed unnecessarily for thrashing reasons, increase the value to allow more thrashing. 100 30
ro.lmk.thrashing_limit_decay The thrashing threshold decay expressed as a percentage of the original threshold used to lower the threshold when the system doesn’t recover, even after a kill. If continuous thrashing produces unnecessary kills, decrease the value. If the response to continuous thrashing after a kill is too slow, increase the value. 10 50
ro.lmk.swap_util_max The max amount of swapped memory as a percentage of the total swappable memory. When swapped memory grows over this limit, it means that the system swapped most of its swappable memory and is still under pressure. This can happen when non-swappable allocations are generating memory pressure which can't be relieved by swapping because most of the swappable memory is already swapped out. The default value is 100, which effectively disables this check. If the performance of the device is affected during memory pressure while swap utilization is high and the free swap level isn't dropping to ro.lmk.swap_free_low_percentage, decrease the value to limit swap utilization. 100 100

The following old tuning knobs also work with the new killing strategy.

Property Use Default
High performance Low RAM
ro.lmk.swap_free_low_percentage The level of free swap as a percentage of the total swap space. `lmkd` uses this value as a threshold for when to consider the system as swap space starved. If `lmkd` kills while there's too much space in swap, decrease the percentage. If `lmkd` kills happen too late, allowing OOM kills to happen, increase the percentage. 20 10
ro.lmk.debug This enables `lmkd` debug logs. Enable debug while tuning. false