测量组件功率

您可以通过比较当组件处于期望状态(开启活跃、运行和扫描等)和关闭状态时设备消耗的电流来确定单个组件的功耗。在额定电压下使用外部电源监控器(如台式电源或 Monsoon Solution Inc. 的电源监控器和电源工具软件等专用电池监控工具)测量设备消耗的平均瞬时电流。

制造商通常都会提供有关单个组件所耗电流的信息。如果这些信息准确地反映了实际操作时设备电池消耗的电流,您便可以利用这些信息。不过,在采用制造商提供的设备电源配置文件中的值之前,请先对它们进行验证。

控制功耗

进行测量时,请确保设备未连接到外部电源,例如运行 Android 调试桥 (adb) 时与开发主机之间通过 USB 连接。因为被测设备可能会使用来自主机的电流,从而导致电池的测量值偏低。避免使用 USB On-The-Go (OTG) 连接,因为 OTG 设备可能消耗被测设备的电流。

除被测量的组件外,系统应以恒定的功耗水平运行,以避免由于其他组件的功耗变化而影响测量的准确性。以下系统活动可能会给功率测量带来不必要的更改:

  • 通过移动网络、Wi-Fi 和蓝牙进行的接收、传输或扫描活动。当未测量手机无线装置功率时,请将设备设置为飞行模式,并根据实际情况启用 Wi-Fi 或蓝牙。
  • 屏幕开启/关闭。屏幕开启时屏幕上显示的色彩可能会影响某些屏幕技术的功耗。测量非屏幕组件的功耗值时请关闭屏幕。
  • 系统挂起/恢复。当屏幕处于关闭状态时会触发系统进入挂起状态,使部分设备部件处于低功耗运行或关闭状态。这可能会影响被测量组件的功耗,并引起较大的差异,因为系统会定期恢复以发送报警等。有关详细信息,请参阅控制系统挂起
  • CPU 变速以及进入/退出低功耗调度程序空闲状态。在正常运行期间,系统会频繁地调整 CPU 速率、在线 CPU 内核数量以及其他系统内核状态,例如内存总线速率以及与 CPU 和内存关联的电源轨电压。在测试期间,这些调整会影响功率测量:
    • CPU 速率调节操作可能会减少内存总线和其他系统核心组件的时钟和电压缩放量。
    • 调度活动可能会影响 CPU 保持在低功耗空闲状态的时间所占的百分比。有关防止测试期间发生此类调整的详细信息,请参阅控制 CPU 速率

例如,Joe Droid 想要计算某个设备的 screen.on 值。他在设备上启用飞行模式,在恒定电流状态下运行设备,保持 CPU 速率恒定,并使用部分唤醒锁来防止系统进入挂起状态。随后,Joe 关闭设备屏幕并测量电流 (200mA)。接着他开启设备屏幕,将亮度调到最低,然后再次进行测量 (300mA)。screen.on 值为 100mA (300 - 200)。

注意:如果组件在活跃状态(如移动无线装置或 Wi-Fi)下测得的消耗电流波形不平,请使用功率监控工具测量一段时间内的平均电流。

当使用外部电源代替设备电池时,系统可能会因为电池热敏电阻或集成的电量计引脚未连接而出现问题(即当电池温度或电池剩余电量读数无效时,内核或 Android 系统可能会关闭)。假冒电池可以提供模仿正常系统温度和充电读数状态的热敏电阻或电量计引脚信号,并且还可以提供外部电源引线以方便连接。或者您也可以修改系统,以便忽略由于缺失电池产生的无效数据。

控制系统挂起

本节介绍了当您不希望系统挂起状态干扰其他测量时应如何避免系统进入挂起状态,以及当您希望测量系统在挂起状态下的功耗时该如何操作。

防止系统挂起

系统挂起可能会给功率测量造成不必要的误差,并使系统组件处于低功耗状态,而在这种状态下不适合测量活跃状态的功耗。要防止系统在屏幕关闭时进入挂起状态,请暂时使用部分唤醒锁。使用 USB 电缆将设备连接到开发主机,然后发出以下命令:

$ adb shell "echo temporary > /sys/power/wake_lock"

当使用 wake_lock 时,屏幕进入关闭状态不会触发系统挂起。(请记得在测量功耗之前先断开 USB 电缆与设备的连接。)

要移除唤醒锁,请使用以下命令:

$ adb shell "echo temporary > /sys/power/wake_unlock"

测量系统挂起状态下的功耗

要测量系统挂起状态下的功耗,您可以测量电源配置文件中 cpu.idle 的值。测量前,请进行以下操作:

  • 移除现有的唤醒锁(如上所述)。
  • 将设备设置成飞行模式,以避免移动网络无线装置的并发活动。移动网络无线装置可能在独立于 SoC 部分(受系统挂起状态控制)的处理器上运行。
  • 通过执行以下操作确保系统处于挂起状态:
    • 确认电流读数稳定保持在某个值。读数应在预期范围内,即 SoC 挂起状态的功耗加上保持供电的系统组件(如 USB PHY)功耗之和。
    • 检查系统控制台输出。
    • 观察可指示系统状态的外部标示(如系统未挂起时 LED 关闭)。

控制 CPU 速率

活跃的 CPU 可以处于联机或脱机状态,改变其时钟速率和相关电压(也可能影响内存总线速率和其他系统内核的电源状态),并在内核空闲循环时进入较低功耗的空闲状态。在测量不同 CPU 的功耗状态来验证电源配置文件中的值时,请避免在测量其他参数时导致功耗发生变化。电源配置文件假设所有 CPU 的可用速率和功率特性都相同。

在测量 CPU 功率或者在保持恒定 CPU 功率以进行其他测量时,请保持在线 CPU 的数量恒定(例如一个 CPU 在线,其余处于离线状态/以热插拔方式拔出)。留下一个 CPU,并将其余的所有 CPU 处于调度空闲状态,这样可能有助于获得令人信服的结果。使用 adb shell stop 停止 Android 框架可以减少系统调度活动。

您必须在电源配置文件的 cpu.speeds 条目中指定设备的可用 CPU 速率。要获取可用 CPU 速率列表,请运行以下命令:

adb shell cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/stats/time_in_state

这些速率与 cpu.active 值中对应的功率测量值相匹配。

如果某个平台的在线内核数量对功耗有很大的影响,您可能需要修改该平台的 cpufreq 驱动程序或调节器。大多数平台支持使用用户空间 cpufreq 调节器控制 CPU 速率以及使用 sysfs 接口来设置速率。例如,要在只有 1 个 CPU 的系统上或者所有 CPU 共享一个公共 cpufreq 策略的系统上将速率设为 200MHz,请使用系统控制台或 adb shell 运行以下命令:

echo userspace > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
echo 200000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq
echo 200000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq
echo 200000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_setspeed
cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_cur_freq

注意:确切的命令可能因平台实施的 cpufreq 不同而有所差异。

这些命令可确保新的速率不超出允许的范围,并设置新的速率,然后输出 CPU 实际运行的速率(用于验证)。如果执行前的当前最小速率高于 200000,则可能需要交换前两行的顺序,或者再次执行第一行,以在设置最大速率之前降低最小速率。

要测量 CPU 在不同速率下运行时所消耗的电流,请使用以下命令通过系统控制台将 CPU 置于 CPU 限制循环中:

# while true; do true; done

请在执行循环时进行测量。

如果某些设备因测量温度值过高(即持续高速运行 CPU 一段时间后)需执行温控调频,则可能会限制最大 CPU 速率。您可以通过两种方式观察是否存在此类限制:一是在测量时使用系统控制台输出,二是在测量后检查内核日志。

对于 cpu.awake 值,您可以测量系统未挂起且不执行任务时的功耗。CPU 应处于低功耗调度程序空闲循环中(可能是正在执行 ARM 等待事件指令)或特定的 SoC 低功耗状态(适用于空闲状态下使用的快速退出延迟)。

对于 cpu.active 值,您可以测量系统未处于挂起模式且不执行任务时的功率。一个 CPU(通常是主 CPU)应运行任务,而所有其他 CPU 都应处于空闲状态。

测量屏幕功率

当测量屏幕功率时,请确保在启用屏幕时通常会一并开启的其他设备也处于开启状态。例如,如果触摸屏和显示屏背光通常在屏幕打开时亮起,请确保在测量时这些设备也处于打开状态,以获得屏幕功耗的实际示例。

一些显示屏技术因所显示颜色的不同而造成功耗上的差异,从而导致功率测量值随测量时屏幕上显示的内容而出现很大差异。测量时,请确保屏幕显示的是具有真实屏幕功率特性的内容。尽量确保屏幕处于全黑屏幕(某些技术在此状态下功耗最低)和全白屏幕两个极限状态之间。通常的做法是使用日历应用中的日程表视图,因为它混合了白色背景和非白色元素。

测量显示屏/背光亮度最低和最高时的屏幕功率。设置最低亮度的方法:

  • 使用 Android UI(不推荐)。依次转到“设置”>“显示屏亮度”,将相应滑块设为最低显示亮度。然而,Android UI 支持的最低亮度为面板/背光亮度的 10-20%,并且不支持将亮度设置到难以看清屏幕的程度。
  • 使用 sysfs 文件(推荐)。如果有可用的 sysfs 文件,请使用该文件来控制面板亮度,最低可降至硬件支持的最低亮度。

此外,如果平台 sysfs 文件可以开启和关闭 LCD 面板、背光和触摸屏,请使用该文件在屏幕开启和关闭的状态下进行测量。或者您可以设置部分唤醒锁防止系统进入挂起状态,然后使用电源按钮开启和关闭屏幕。

测量 Wi-Fi 功率

在活动较少的网络上执行 Wi-Fi 测量。避免引入与被测活动无关的其他工作(处理大量广播流量)。

wifi.on 值测量 Wi-Fi 在启用但未主动发送或接收数据的状态下的功耗。该值通常是测量系统挂起(休眠)状态下启用/禁用 Wi-Fi 之间产生的电流增量。

wifi.scan 值测量接入点 Wi-Fi 扫描时的功耗。应用可以使用 WifiManager 类 startScan() API 来触发 Wi-Fi 扫描。您也可以依次打开“设置”>“Wi-Fi”,这样 Wi-Fi 每隔几秒执行一次接入点扫描,扫描时功耗会明显上升,但必须从这些测量值中减去屏幕功率。

注意:请使用受控设置(如 iperf)来生成网络收发流量。

Measuring Component Power

You can determine individual component power consumption by comparing the current drawn by the device when the component is in the desired state (on, active, scanning, etc.) and when the component is off. Measure the average instantaneous current drawn on the device at a nominal voltage using an external power monitor, such as a bench power supply or specialized battery-monitoring tools (such as Monsoon Solution Inc. Power Monitor and Power Tool software).

Manufacturers often supply information about the current consumed by an individual component. Use this information if it accurately represents the current drawn from the device battery in practice. However, validate manufacturer-provided values before using those values in your device power profile.

Controlling power consumption

When measuring, ensure the device does not have a connection to an external charge source, such as a USB connection to a development host used when running Android Debug Bridge (adb). The device under test might draw current from the host, thus lowering measurements at the battery. Avoid USB On-The-Go (OTG) connections, as the OTG device might draw current from the device under test.

Excluding the component being measured, the system should run at a constant level of power consumption to avoid inaccurate measurements caused by changes in other components. System activities that can introduce unwanted changes to power measurements include:

  • Cellular, Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth receive, transmit, or scanning activity. When not measuring cell radio power, set the device to airplane mode and enable Wi-Fi or Bluetooth as appropriate.
  • Screen on/off. Colors displayed while the screen is on can affect power draw on some screen technologies. Turn the screen off when measuring values for non-screen components.
  • System suspend/resume. A screen off state can trigger a system suspension, placing parts of the device in a low-power or off state. This can affect power consumption of the component being measured and introduce large variances in power readings as the system periodically resumes to send alarms, etc. For details, see Controlling system suspend.
  • CPUs changing speed and entering/exiting low-power scheduler idle state. During normal operation, the system makes frequent adjustments to CPU speeds, the number of online CPU cores, and other system core states such as memory bus speed and voltages of power rails associated with CPUs and memory. During testing, these adjustments affect power measurements:
    • CPU speed scaling operations can reduce the amount of clock and voltage scaling of memory buses and other system core components.
    • Scheduling activity can affect the percentage of the time CPUs spend in low-power idle states. For details on preventing these adjustments from occurring during testing, see Controlling CPU speeds.

For example, Joe Droid wants to compute the screen.on value for a device. He enables airplane mode on the device, runs the device at a stable current state, holds the CPU speed constant, and uses a partial wakelock to prevent system suspend. Joe then turns the device screen off and takes a measurement (200mA). Next, Joe turns the device screen on at minimum brightness and takes another measurement (300mA). The screen.on value is 100mA (300 - 200).

Note: For components that don’t have a flat waveform of current consumption when active (such as cellular radio or Wi-Fi), measure the average current over time using a power monitoring tool.

When using an external power source in place of the device battery, the system might experience problems due to an unconnected battery thermistor or integrated fuel gauge pins (i.e. an invalid reading for battery temperature or remaining battery capacity could shut down the kernel or Android system). Fake batteries can provide signals on thermistor or fuel gauge pins that mimic temperature and state of charge readings for a normal system, and may also provide convenient leads for connecting to external power supplies. Alternatively, you can modify the system to ignore the invalid data from the missing battery.

Controlling system suspend

This section describes how to avoid system suspend state when you don’t want it to interfere with other measurements, and how to measure the power draw of system suspend state when you do want to measure it.

Preventing system suspend

System suspend can introduce unwanted variance in power measurements and place system components in low-power states inappropriate for measuring active power use. To prevent the system from suspending while the screen is off, use a temporary partial wakelock. Using a USB cable, connect the device to a development host, then issue the following command:

$ adb shell "echo temporary > /sys/power/wake_lock"

While in wake_lock, the screen off state does not trigger a system suspend. (Remember to disconnect the USB cable from the device before measuring power consumption.)

To remove the wakelock:

$ adb shell "echo temporary > /sys/power/wake_unlock"

Measuring system suspend

To measure the power draw during the system suspend state, measure the value of cpu.idle in the power profile. Before measuring:

  • Remove existing wakelocks (as described above).
  • Place the device in airplane mode to avoid concurrent activity by the cellular radio, which might run on a processor separate from the SoC portions controlled by the system suspend.
  • Ensure the system is in suspend state by:
    • Confirming current readings settle to a steady value. Readings should be within the expected range for the power consumption of the SoC suspend state plus the power consumption of system components that remain powered (such as the USB PHY).
    • Checking the system console output.
    • Watching for external indications of system status (such as an LED turning off when not in suspend).

Controlling CPU speeds

Active CPUs can be brought online or put offline, have their clock speeds and associated voltages changed (possibly also affecting memory bus speeds and other system core power states), and can enter lower power idle states while in the kernel idle loop. When measuring different CPU power states for the power profile, avoid the power draw variance when measuring other parameters. The power profile assumes all CPUs have the same available speeds and power characteristics.

While measuring CPU power, or while holding CPU power constant to make other measurements, keep the number of CPUs brought online constant (such as having one CPU online and the rest offline/hotplugged out). Keeping all CPUs except one in scheduling idle may product acceptable results. Stopping the Android framework with adb shell stop can reduce system scheduling activity.

You must specify the available CPU speeds for your device in the power profile cpu.speeds entry. To get a list of available CPU speeds, run:

adb shell cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/stats/time_in_state

These speeds match the corresponding power measurements in value cpu.active.

For platforms where number of cores brought online significantly affects power consumption, you might need to modify the cpufreq driver or governor for the platform. Most platforms support controlling CPU speed using the userspace cpufreq governor and using sysfs interfaces to set the speed. For example, to set speed for 200MHz on a system with only 1 CPU or all CPUs sharing a common cpufreq policy, use the system console or adb shell to run the following commands:

echo userspace > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_governor
echo 200000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_max_freq
echo 200000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_min_freq
echo 200000 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_setspeed
cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_cur_freq

Note: The exact commands differ depending on the platform cpufreq implementation.

These commands ensure the new speed is not outside the allowed bounds, set the new speed, then print the speed at which the CPU is actually running (for verification). If the current minimum speed prior to execution is higher than 200000, you might need to reverse the order of the first two lines, or execute the first line again to drop the minimum speed prior to setting the maximum speed.

To measure current consumed by a CPU running at various speeds, use the system console to place the CPU in a CPU-bound loop using the command:

# while true; do true; done

Take the measurement while the loop executes.

Some devices can limit maximum CPU speed while performing thermal throttling due to a high temperature measurement (i.e. after running CPUs at high speeds for sustained periods). Watch for such limiting, either using the system console output when taking measurements or by checking the kernel log after measuring.

For the cpu.awake value, measure the power consumed when the system is not in suspend and not executing tasks. The CPU should be in a low-power scheduler idle loop , possibly executing an ARM Wait For Event instruction or in an SoC-specific low-power state with a fast-exit latency suitable for idle use.

For the cpu.active value, measure power when the system is not in suspend mode and not executing tasks. One CPU (usually the primary CPU) should run the task while all other CPUs should be in an idle state.

Measuring screen power

When measuring screen on power, ensure that other devices normally turned on when the screen is enabled are also on. For example, if the touchscreen and display backlight would normally be on when the screen is on, ensure these devices are on when you measure to get a realistic example of screen on power usage.

Some display technologies vary in power consumption according to the colors displayed, causing power measurements to vary considerably depending on what is displayed on the screen at the time of measurement. When measuring, ensure the screen is displaying something that has power characteristics of a realistic screen. Aim between the extremes of an all-black screen (which consumes the lowest power for some technologies) and an all-white screen. A common choice is a view of a schedule in the calendar app, which has a mix of white background and non-white elements.

Measure screen on power at minimum and maximum display/backlight brightness. To set minimum brightness:

  • Use the Android UI (not recommended). Set the Settings > Display Brightness slider to the minimum display brightness. However, the Android UI allows setting brightness only to a minimum of 10-20% of the possible panel/backlight brightness, and does not allow setting brightness so low that the screen might not be visible without great effort.
  • Use a sysfs file (recommended). If available, use a sysfs file to control panel brightness all the way down to the minimum brightness supported by the hardware.

Additionally, if the platform sysfs file enables turning the LCD panel, backlight, and touchscreen on and off, use the file to take measurements with the screen on and off. Otherwise, set a partial wakelock so the system does not suspend, then turn on and off the screen with the power button.

Measuring Wi-Fi power

Perform Wi-Fi measurements on a relatively quiet network. Avoid introducing additional work processing high volumes of broadcast traffic that is unrelated to the activity being measured.

The wifi.on value measures the power consumed when Wi-Fi is enabled but not actively transmitting or receiving. This is often measured as the delta between the current draw in system suspend (sleep) state with Wi-Fi enabled vs. disabled.

The wifi.scan value measures the power consumed during a Wi-Fi scan for access points. Applications can trigger Wi-Fi scans using the WifiManager class startScan()API. You can also open Settings > Wi-Fi, which performs access point scans every few seconds with an apparent jump in power consumption, but you must subtract screen power from these measurements.

Note: Use a controlled setup (such as iperf) to generate network receive and transmit traffic.