相机 HAL3 缓冲区管理 API

Android 10 引入了可选的相机 HAL3 缓冲区管理 API,它使您能够实现缓冲区管理逻辑,以便在相机 HAL 实现中达成不同的内存和捕获延迟折衷权衡。

相机 HAL 需要 N 个请求(其中 N 等于管道深度)在其管道中排队,但通常不需要同时使用所有 N 组输出缓冲区。

例如,在 HAL 管道中排队的请求可能有 8 个,但 HAL 只需使用管道最后阶段的 2 个请求的输出缓冲区。在搭载 Android 9 及更低版本的设备上,当请求在 HAL 中排队时,相机框架会分配缓冲区,以便 HAL 中有 6 组未使用的缓冲区。在 Android 10 中,相机 HAL3 缓冲区管理 API 允许分离输出缓冲区,从而释放 6 组缓冲区的空间。对于高端设备,这可能会节省数百兆的内存,而对于低内存设备,这也非常有用。

图 1 显示了搭载 Android 9 及更低版本的设备的相机 HAL 接口示意图。图 2 显示了已实现相机 HAL3 缓冲区管理 API 的 Android 10 中的相机 HAL 接口。

Android 9 或更低版本中的缓冲区管理

图 1. Android 9 及更低版本中的相机 HAL 接口

Android Q 中的缓冲区管理

图 2. 使用缓冲区管理 API 的 Android 10 中的相机 HAL 接口

实现缓冲区管理 API

要实现缓冲区管理 API,相机 HAL 必须执行以下操作:

  • 实现 HIDL ICameraDevice@3.5
  • 将摄像头特征密钥 android.info.supportedBufferManagementVersion 设置为 HIDL_DEVICE_3_5

相机 HAL 使用 ICameraDeviceCallback.hal 中的 requestStreamBuffersreturnStreamBuffers 方法请求并返回缓冲区。该 HAL 还必须实现 ICameraDeviceSession.hal 中的 signalStreamFlush 方法来指示相机 HAL 返回缓冲区。

requestStreamBuffers

使用 requestStreamBuffers 方法从摄像头传输框架请求缓冲区。使用相机 HAL3 缓冲区管理 API 时,摄像头传输框架中的捕获请求不会包含输出缓冲区,也就是说,StreamBuffer 中的 bufferId 字段为 0。因此,相机 HAL 必须使用 requestStreamBuffers 从摄像头传输框架请求缓冲区。

通过 requestStreamBuffers 方法,调用程序可以在一次调用中从多个输出流请求多个缓冲区,从而减少 HIDL IPC 调用次数。不过,如果同时请求的缓冲区增加,调用所需时间会增加,这可能会导致从请求到结果的总延迟时间增加。此外,由于 requestStreamBuffers 调用已在摄像头服务中序列化,因此建议相机 HAL 使用专用的高优先级线程请求缓冲区。

如果缓冲区请求失败,相机 HAL 必须能够正确处理非严重错误。下表介绍了缓冲区请求失败的常见原因以及相机 HAL 应如何处理这些失败。

  • 应用与输出流断开连接:这是非严重错误。相机 HAL 应针对任何以已断开连接的输出流为目标的捕获请求发送 ERROR_REQUEST,并做好正常处理后续请求的准备。
  • 超时:如果应用在忙于执行密集型处理操作,同时保留某些缓冲区,则可能会发生这种情况。相机 HAL 应针对因超时错误而无法完成的捕获请求发送 ERROR_REQUEST,并做好正常处理后续请求的准备。
  • 摄像头传输框架正在准备新的输出流配置:相机 HAL 应一直等到下一次 configureStreams 调用完成,然后再重新调用 requestStreamBuffers
  • 相机 HAL 已达到其缓冲区限制maxBuffers 字段):相机 HAL 应一直等到返回输出流的至少一个缓冲区,然后再重新调用 requestStreamBuffers

returnStreamBuffers

使用 returnStreamBuffers 方法将额外的缓冲区返回到摄像头传输框架。相机 HAL 通常会通过 processCaptureResult 方法将缓冲区返回到摄像头传输框架,但是它只能考虑已发送至相机 HAL 的捕获请求。通过 requestStreamBuffers 方法,相机 HAL 实现保留的缓冲区数可能会超过摄像头传输框架所请求的缓冲区数。这时应使用 returnStreamBuffers 方法。如果 HAL 实现保留的缓冲区数从未超过请求的缓冲区数,则相机 HAL 实现无需调用 returnStreamBuffers 方法。

signalStreamFlush

signalStreamFlush 方法由摄像头传输框架调用,用于通知相机 HAL 返回当前可用的所有缓冲区。通常在以下情况下调用此方法:摄像头传输框架即将调用 configureStreams 且必须排空相机捕获管道。与 returnStreamBuffers 方法类似,如果相机 HAL 实现保留的缓冲区数不超过请求的缓冲区数,则可以不实现此方法。

摄像头传输框架调用 signalStreamFlush 后,该框架会停止向相机 HAL 发送新的捕获请求,直到所有缓冲区均已返回到摄像头传输框架为止。返回所有缓冲区时,requestStreamBuffers 方法调用会失败,并且摄像头传输框架会在整洁状态下继续工作。然后摄像头传输框架会调用 configureStreamsprocessCaptureRequest 方法。如果摄像头传输框架调用 configureStreams 方法,相机 HAL 可以在 configureStreams 调用成功返回后重新开始请求缓冲区。如果摄像头传输框架调用 processCaptureRequest 方法,相机 HAL 可在 processCaptureRequest 调用期间开始请求缓冲区。

signalStreamFlush 方法和 flush 方法的语义有所不同。调用 flush 方法时,HAL 会终止待处理的捕获请求并显示 ERROR_REQUEST,以尽快排空管道。调用 signalStreamFlush 方法时,HAL 必须正常完成所有待处理的捕获请求,并将所有缓冲区返回到摄像头传输框架。

signalStreamFlush 方法与其他方法之间的另一个差异在于 signalStreamFlush 是单向 HIDL 方法,也就是说,摄像头传输框架可能会先调用其他屏蔽 API,然后 HAL 再接收 signalStreamFlush 调用。这意味着,signalStreamFlush 方法和其他方法(特别是 configureStreams 方法)可能会以不同的顺序(异于其在摄像头传输框架中的调用顺序)到达相机 HAL。为解决此异步问题,streamConfigCounter 字段已添加到 StreamConfiguration 并作为参数添加到 signalStreamFlush 方法。相机 HAL 实现应使用 streamConfigCounter 参数来确定 signalStreamFlush 调用到达时间是否晚于其相应的 configureStreams 调用时间。如需查看示例,请参见图 3。

处理延迟到达的调用

图 3. 相机 HAL 应如何检测和处理延迟到达的 signalStreamFlush 调用

实现缓冲区管理 API 时发生的行为变更

使用缓冲区管理 API 实现缓冲区管理逻辑时,请考虑相机和相机 HAL 实现可能会发生的行为变更:

  • 捕获请求更快且更频繁地到达相机 HAL:如果不使用缓冲区管理 API,摄像头传输框架会针对每个捕获请求请求输出缓冲区,然后再向相机 HAL 发送捕获请求。如果使用缓冲区管理 API,则摄像头传输框架不再需要等待缓冲区请求完成,因此可以更早向相机 HAL 发送捕获请求。

    此外,如果不使用缓冲区管理 API,当捕获请求的其中一个输出流达到 HAL 一次可容纳的最大缓冲区数(此值由相机 HAL 在 configureStreams 调用的返回值中的 HalStream::maxBuffers 字段中指定)时,摄像头传输框架会停止发送捕获请求。如果使用缓冲区管理 API,此限制行为不再存在,而且如果 HAL 中排队的捕获请求过多,相机 HAL 实现不得接受 processCaptureRequest 调用。

  • requestStreamBuffers 调用延迟变化显著requestStreamBuffers 调用所需时间超过平均时间的原因有很多。例如:

    • 对于新建输出流的前几个缓冲区,调用所需时间可能更长,因为设备需要分配内存。
    • 预期延迟时间会按每次调用时请求的缓冲区数的比例增加。
    • 该应用正在保留缓冲区并忙于处理操作。这可能会导致缓冲区请求因缓冲区不足或 CPU 繁忙而降速或超时。

缓冲区管理策略

缓冲区管理 API 支持实现各种类型的缓冲区管理策略。以下是一些示例:

  • 向后兼容:调用 processCaptureRequest 期间,HAL 会针对捕获请求请求缓冲区。此策略不会节省任何内存,但可用作缓冲区管理 API 的第一个实现,几乎不需要更改现有相机 HAL 的代码。
  • 最大限度地节省内存:相机 HAL 仅在需要填充缓冲区之前立即请求输出缓冲区。此策略可最大限度地节省内存。此策略的潜在弊端是,当完成缓冲区请求所需时间过长时,相机管道会出现更多卡顿。
  • 已缓存:相机 HAL 会缓存少许缓冲区,以降低缓冲区请求速度偶尔较慢时受到影响的可能性。

相机 HAL 可针对特定使用情形采用不同的策略,例如,对于使用大量内存的使用情形采用“最大限度地节省内存”策略,对于其他使用情形则采用“向后兼容”策略。

外部相机 HAL 中的实现示例

外部相机 HAL 是在 Android 9 中引入的,可在 hardware/interfaces/camera/device/3.5/ 上的源代码树中找到。在 Android 10 中,此外部相机 HAL 已进行更新,其中新增了 ExternalCameraDeviceSession.cpp,这是缓冲区管理 API 的一种实现。此外部相机 HAL 使用几百行 C++ 代码实现缓冲区管理策略中介绍的“最大限度地节省内存”策略。

Camera HAL3 Buffer Management APIs

Android 10 introduces optional camera HAL3 buffer management APIs that allow you to implement buffer management logic to achieve different memory and capture latency tradeoffs in camera HAL implementations.

The camera HAL requires N requests (where N is equal to the pipeline depth) queued in its pipeline, but it often doesn't require all N sets of output buffers at the same time.

For example, the HAL might have eight requests queued in the pipeline, but it only requires output buffers for the two requests in the last stages of the pipeline. On devices running Android 9 and lower, the camera framework allocates buffers when the request is queued in the HAL so there could be six sets of buffers in the HAL that aren't in use. In Android 10, the camera HAL3 buffer management APIs allow for the decoupling of the output buffers to free up the six sets of buffers. This can lead to hundreds of megabytes of memory savings on high-end devices and can also be beneficial for low-memory devices.

Figure 1 shows a diagram of the camera HAL interface for devices running Android 9 and lower. Figure 2 shows the camera HAL interface in Android 10 with the camera HAL3 buffer management APIs implemented.

Buffer management in 9 or lower

Figure 1. Camera HAL interface in Android 9 and lower

Buffer management in Q

Figure 2. Camera HAL interface in Android 10 using the buffer management APIs

Implementing the buffer management APIs

To implement the buffer management APIs, the camera HAL must:

The camera HAL uses the requestStreamBuffers and returnStreamBuffers methods in ICameraDeviceCallback.hal to request and return buffers. The HAL must also implement the signalStreamFlush method in ICameraDeviceSession.hal to signal the camera HAL to return buffers.

requestStreamBuffers

Use the requestStreamBuffers method to request buffers from the camera framework. When using the camera HAL3 buffer management APIs, capture requests from the camera framework don't contain output buffers, that is, the bufferId field in StreamBuffer is 0. Therefore, the camera HAL must use requestStreamBuffers to request buffers from the camera framework.

The requestStreamBuffers method allows the caller to request multiple buffers from multiple output streams in a single call, allowing for fewer HIDL IPC calls. However, calls take more time when more buffers are requested at the same time and this might negatively affect the total request-to-result latency. Also, because calls into requestStreamBuffers are serialized in the camera service, it's recommended that the camera HAL use a dedicated high-priority thread to request buffers.

If a buffer request fails, the camera HAL must be able to properly handle nonfatal errors. The following list describes common reasons that buffer requests fail and how they should be handled by the camera HAL.

  • App disconnects from the output stream: This is a nonfatal error. The camera HAL should send ERROR_REQUEST for any capture request targeting a disconnected stream and be ready to process subsequent requests normally.
  • Timeout: This can occur when an app is busy doing intensive processing while holding onto some buffers. The camera HAL should send ERROR_REQUEST for capture requests that can't be fulfilled due to a timeout error and be ready to process subsequent requests normally.
  • Camera framework is preparing a new stream configuration: The camera HAL should wait until the next configureStreams call is complete before calling requestStreamBuffers again.
  • The camera HAL has reached its buffer limit (the maxBuffers field): The camera HAL should wait until it returns at least one buffer of the stream before calling requestStreamBuffers again.

returnStreamBuffers

Use the returnStreamBuffers method to return extra buffers to the camera framework. The camera HAL normally returns buffers to the camera framework through the processCaptureResult method, but it can only account for capture requests that have been sent to the camera HAL. With the requestStreamBuffers method, it's possible for the camera HAL implementation to retain more buffers than what has been requested by the camera framework. This is when the returnStreamBuffers method should be used. If the HAL implementation never holds more buffers than requested, the camera HAL implementation doesn't need to call the returnStreamBuffers method.

signalStreamFlush

The signalStreamFlush method is called by the camera framework to notify the camera HAL to return all buffers at hand. This is normally called when the camera framework is about to call configureStreams and must drain the camera capture pipeline. Similar to the returnStreamBuffers method, if a camera HAL implementation doesn't hold more buffers than requested, it's possible to have an empty implementation of this method.

After the camera framework calls signalStreamFlush, the framework stops sending new capture requests to the camera HAL until all buffers have been returned to the camera framework. When all buffers are returned, the requestStreamBuffers method calls fail, and the camera framework can continue its work in a clean state. The camera framework then calls either the configureStreams or processCaptureRequest method. If the camera framework calls the configureStreams method, the camera HAL can start requesting buffers again after the configureStreams call returns successfully. If the camera framework calls the processCaptureRequest method, the camera HAL can start requesting buffers during the processCaptureRequest call.

The semantics are different for the signalStreamFlush method and the flush method. When the flush method is called, the HAL can abort pending capture requests with ERROR_REQUEST to drain the pipeline as soon as possible. When the signalStreamFlush method is called, the HAL must finish all pending capture requests normally and return all buffers to the camera framework.

Another difference between the signalStreamFlush method and other methods is that signalStreamFlush is a one-way HIDL method, which means that the camera framework might call into other blocking APIs before the HAL receives the signalStreamFlush call. This means that the signalStreamFlush method and other methods (specifically the configureStreams method) might arrive at the camera HAL in a different order than the order they were called in the camera framework. To address this asynchrony issue, the streamConfigCounter field was added to StreamConfiguration and added as an argument to the signalStreamFlush method. The camera HAL implementation should use the streamConfigCounter argument to determine whether a signalStreamFlush call arrives later than its corresponding configureStreams call. See Figure 3 for an example.

Handling calls that arrive late

Figure 3. How the camera HAL should detect and handle signalStreamFlush calls that arrive late

Behavior changes when implementing the buffer management APIs

When using the buffer management APIs to implement the buffer management logic, consider the following possible behavior changes to the camera and camera HAL implementation:

  • Capture requests arrive at the camera HAL faster and more frequently: Without buffer management APIs, the camera framework requests output buffers for each capture request before sending a capture request to the camera HAL. When using the buffer management APIs, the camera framework no longer needs to wait for buffers and can therefore send capture requests to the camera HAL earlier.

    Also, without buffer management APIs, the camera framework stops sending capture requests if one of the output streams of the capture request has reached the maximum number of buffers that the HAL can hold at one time (this value is designated by the camera HAL in the HalStream::maxBuffers field in the return value of a configureStreams call). With the buffer management APIs, this throttling behavior no longer exists and the camera HAL implementation must not accept processCaptureRequest calls when the HAL has too many capture requests queued.

  • requestStreamBuffers call latency varies significantly: There are many reasons a requestStreamBuffers call might take a longer time than average. For example:

    • For the first few buffers of a newly created stream, calls can take longer because the device needs to allocate memory.
    • The expected latency increases in proportion to the number of buffers requested in each call.
    • The app is holding buffers and is busy processing. This can cause buffer requests to slow down or hit a timeout because of a lack of buffers or a busy CPU.

Buffer management strategies

The buffer management APIs allow for different kinds of buffer management strategies to be implemented. Some examples are:

  • Backward compatible: The HAL requests buffers for a capture request during the processCaptureRequest call. This strategy doesn't provide any memory savings, but can serve as the first implementation of the buffer management APIs, requiring very few code changes to the existing camera HAL.
  • Maximized memory savings: The camera HAL only requests output buffers immediately before one is needed to be filled. This strategy allows for maximized memory savings. The potential downside is more camera pipeline jank when buffer requests take an unusually long time to finish.
  • Cached: The camera HAL caches a few buffers so that it's less likely to be affected by an occasional slow buffer request.

The camera HAL can adopt different strategies for particular use cases, for example, using the maximized memory saving strategy for use cases that use a lot of memory and using the backward-compatible strategy for other use cases.

Sample implementation in the external camera HAL

The external camera HAL was introduced in Android 9 and can be found in the source tree at hardware/interfaces/camera/device/3.5/. In Android 10, it has been updated to include ExternalCameraDeviceSession.cpp, an implementation of the buffer management API. This external camera HAL implements the maximized memory savings strategy mentioned in Buffer management strategies in a few hundred lines of C++ code.