Google 致力于为黑人社区推动种族平等。查看具体举措

多摄像头支持

Android 9 通过一个新的逻辑摄像头设备(由两个或更多个指向同一方向的物理摄像头设备组成)引入了对多摄像头设备的 API 支持。该逻辑摄像头设备以单个 CameraDevice/CaptureSession 的形式提供给应用,从而允许与集成了 HAL 的多摄像头功能互动。应用可以选择访问和控制底层物理摄像头信息流、元数据和控件。

多摄像头支持

图 1. 多摄像头支持

在此图中,不同的摄像头 ID 用不同颜色标识。应用可以从每个物理摄像头同时流式传输 RAW 缓冲区,也可以设置单独的控件并从不同的物理摄像头单独接收元数据。

示例和来源

多摄像头设备必须通过逻辑多摄像头功能播发。

摄像头客户端可以通过调用 getPhysicalCameraIds(),查询构成特定逻辑摄像头的物理设备的摄像头 ID。随结果返回的 ID 之后会用于通过 setPhysicalCameraId() 单独控制物理设备。此类单个请求的结果可以通过调用 getPhysicalCameraResults() 从完整结果中查询。

单个物理摄像头请求可能仅支持有限的部分参数。为了接收受支持参数的列表,开发者可以调用 getAvailablePhysicalCameraRequestKeys()

只有非重新处理请求以及单色和 Bayer 传感器支持物理摄像头数据流。

实现

支持核对清单

如需在 HAL 端添加逻辑多摄像头设备,请执行以下操作:

对于搭载 Android 9 的设备,摄像头设备必须支持将一个逻辑 YUV/RAW 信息流替换为来自两个物理摄像头的大小(不适用于 RAW 信息流)和格式相同的物理信息流。这并不适用于搭载 Android 10 的设备。

对于搭载 Android 10(其中摄像头 HAL 设备版本为 3.5或更高版本)的设备,摄像头设备必须支持 isStreamCombinationSupported 来查询应用是否支持包含物理信息流的特定信息流组合。

信息流配置映射

对于逻辑摄像头,特定硬件级别的摄像头设备的强制性数据流组合与 CameraDevice.createCaptureSession 中所需的数据流组合相同。信息流配置映射中的所有信息流都必须是逻辑信息流。

对于支持 RAW 功能且物理子摄像头大小不同的逻辑摄像头设备,如果应用配置了逻辑 RAW 信息流,逻辑摄像头设备就不得切换到传感器大小不同的物理子摄像头。这样可以确保现有 RAW 捕获应用不会中断。

为了在 RAW 捕获期间通过在物理子摄像头之间进行切换来利用 HAL 实现的光学变焦,应用必须配置物理子摄像头信息流(而不是逻辑 RAW 信息流)。

有保证的信息流组合

逻辑摄像头及其底层物理摄像头都必须保证其设备级别所需的强制性数据流组合

逻辑摄像头设备的运行方式应该与物理摄像头设备相同,具体取决于其硬件级别和功能。建议将其特征集设为单个物理摄像头的特征集的超集。

在搭载 Android 9 的设备上,对于每个有保证的信息流组合,逻辑摄像头必须支持:

  • 将一个逻辑 YUV_420_888 或 RAW 信息流替换为两个相同大小和格式的物理信息流(每个信息流来自不同的物理摄像头),只要物理摄像头支持这种大小和格式就可以。

  • 添加两个原始数据流(在每个物理摄像头中各添加一个),条件是逻辑摄像头不播发 RAW 功能,但底层物理摄像头播发该功能。当两个物理摄像头具有不同的传感器尺寸时,通常会出现这种情况。

  • 使用物理数据流代替大小和格式相同的逻辑数据流。当物理信息流和逻辑信息流的最小帧时长相同时,这么做必须不能减慢捕获的帧速率。

性能和功率考虑因素

  • 性能:

    • 由于资源限制,配置和流式传输物理信息流可能会降低逻辑摄像头的捕获速率。
    • 如果将底层摄像头设为不同的帧速率,则应用物理摄像头设置可能会降低捕获速率。
  • 功率:

    • HAL 的功率优化在默认情况下继续有效。
    • 配置或请求物理信息流可能会替换 HAL 的内部功率优化并消耗更多电量。

自定义

您可以通过以下方式自定义设备实现。

  • 逻辑摄像头设备的融合输出完全取决于 HAL 实现。关于如何从物理摄像头派生融合逻辑信息流,该决定对于应用和 Android 相机框架是透明的。
  • 可以选择支持单个物理请求和结果。此类请求中的可用参数集也完全取决于特定的 HAL 实现。
  • 从 Android 10 开始,HAL 可以选择不在 getCameraIdList 中播发部分或所有 PHYSICAL_ID,从而减少应用能够直接打开的摄像头数量。调用 getPhysicalCameraCharacteristics 必须返回物理摄像头的特性。

验证

逻辑多摄像头设备必须像任何其他普通摄像头一样通过摄像头 CTS。可以在 LogicalCameraDeviceTest 模块中找到针对此类设备的测试用例。

以下三个 ITS 测试针对多摄像头系统,以便于正确融合图像:

scene1 和 scene4 测试使用盒装 ITS 测试装置运行。当两个摄像头都启用时,test_multi_camera_match 测试会声明图像中心的亮度匹配。test_multi_camera_alignment 测试会声明摄像头间距、方向和失真参数已正确加载。如果多摄像头系统包含广视野摄像头(大于 90o),则需要 rev2 版 ITS 包装盒。

Sensor_fusion 是另一个测试装置,它可以实现规定的重复手机动作,并声明陀螺仪和图像传感器时间戳匹配以及多摄像头帧保持同步。

所有测试盒均由 AcuSpec, Inc. (www.acuspecinc.com,fred@acuspecinc.com) 和 MYWAY Manufacturing (www.myway.tw,sales@myway.tw) 提供。此外,rev1 ITS 测试盒可从 West-Mark (www.west-mark.com,dgoodman@west-mark.com) 购买。

最佳做法

如需在保持应用兼容性的同时充分利用多摄像头支持的功能,请在实现逻辑多摄像头设备时遵循这些最佳做法。

  • (Android 10 或更高版本)从 getCameraIdList 中隐藏物理子摄像头。这样可以减少应用能够直接打开的摄像头数量,使得应用不需要采用复杂的摄像头选择逻辑。
  • (Android 11 或更高版本)对于支持光学变焦的逻辑多摄像头设备,请实现 ANDROID_CONTROL_ZOOM_RATIO API,并将 ANDROID_SCALER_CROP_REGION 仅用于裁剪宽高比。ANDROID_CONTROL_ZOOM_RATIO 使设备可以缩小并保持更高精确率。在这种情况下,HAL 必须调整 ANDROID_SCALER_CROP_REGIONANDROID_CONTROL_AE_REGIONSANDROID_CONTROL_AWB_REGIONSANDROID_CONTROL_AF_REGIONSANDROID_STATISTICS_FACE_RECTANGLESANDROID_STATISTICS_FACE_LANDMARKS 的坐标系,将缩放后视野范围视为传感器活动数组。如需详细了解 ANDROID_SCALER_CROP_REGION 如何与 ANDROID_CONTROL_ZOOM_RATIO 结合使用,请参阅 camera3_crop_reprocess#cropping
  • 对于配备具有不同功能的物理摄像头的多摄像头设备,请确保仅当整个缩放范围支持控件的某个值或范围时,设备才会播发对该值或范围的支持。例如,如果逻辑摄像头由超广角、广角和远距摄像头组成,请执行以下操作:
    • 如果物理摄像头的活动数组大小不同,摄像头 HAL 必须为 ANDROID_SCALER_CROP_REGIONANDROID_CONTROL_AE_REGIONSANDROID_CONTROL_AWB_REGIONSANDROID_CONTROL_AF_REGIONSANDROID_STATISTICS_FACE_RECTANGLESANDROID_STATISTICS_FACE_LANDMARKS 执行从物理摄像头的活动数组到逻辑摄像头的活动数组的映射操作,因此从应用的角度来看,坐标系是逻辑摄像头的活动数组大小。
    • 如果广角和远距摄像头支持自动对焦,但超广角摄像头支持固定焦距,请确保逻辑摄像头播发自动对焦支持。HAL 必须模拟超广角摄像头的自动对焦状态机,以便在应用缩小到超广角镜头时,底层物理摄像头支持固定焦距且对应用透明,并且受支持的 AF 模式的自动对焦状态机可以按预期运行。
    • 如果广角摄像头和远距摄像头支持 4K 60 fps,并且超广角摄像头仅支持 4K 30 fps 或 1080p 60 fps 但不支持 4K 60 fps,请确保逻辑摄像头不会在其支持的信息流配置中播发 4k 60 fps。这样可以保证逻辑摄像头功能的完整性,从而确保应用在 ANDROID_CONTROL_ZOOM_RATIO 值小于 1 的情况下不会发生达不到 4k 60 fps 的问题。
  • 从 Android 10 开始,不需要使用逻辑多摄像头来支持包含物理信息流的信息流组合。如果 HAL 支持与物理信息流组合,请执行以下操作:
    • (Android 11 或更高版本)为了更好地处理双目立体视觉和动作跟踪等用例,请使物理信息流输出的视野范围尽可能大(可通过硬件实现)。但是,如果物理信息流和逻辑信息流源自同一物理摄像头,硬件限制可能会强制使物理信息流的视野范围与逻辑信息流相同。
    • 为了解决由多个物理信息流引发的内存压力,请确保应用使用 discardFreeBuffers 来释放空闲缓冲区(使用方已释放但生产方尚未使其退出队列的缓冲区),前提是物理信息流预期在一段时间后处于空闲状态。
    • 如果来自不同物理摄像头的物理信息流通常不会附加到同一请求中,请确保应用使用 surface group,以便将一个缓冲区队列用于支持两个面向应用的途径,从而减少内存消耗。

Google is committed to advancing racial equity for Black communities. See how.

Multi-Camera Support

Android 9 introduces API support for multi-camera devices via a new logical camera device composed of two or more physical camera devices pointing in the same direction. The logical camera device is exposed as a single CameraDevice/CaptureSession to an application allowing for interaction with HAL-integrated multi-camera features. Applications can optionally access and control underlying physical camera streams, metadata, and controls.

Multi-camera support

Figure 1. Multi-camera support

In this diagram, different camera IDs are color coded. The application can stream raw buffers from each physical camera at the same time. It is also possible to set separate controls and receive separate metadata from different physical cameras.

Examples and sources

Multi-camera devices must be advertised via the logical multi-camera capability.

Camera clients can query the camera ID of the physical devices a particular logical camera is made of by calling getPhysicalCameraIds(). The IDs returned as part of the result are then used to control physical devices individually via setPhysicalCameraId(). The results from such individual requests can be queried from the complete result by invoking getPhysicalCameraResults().

Individual physical camera requests may support only a limited subset of parameters. To receive a list of the supported parameters, developers can call getAvailablePhysicalCameraRequestKeys().

Physical camera streams are supported only for non-reprocessing requests and only for monochrome and bayer sensors.

Implementation

Support checklist

To add logical multi-camera devices on the HAL side:

For devices running Android 9, camera devices must support replacing one logical YUV/RAW stream with physical streams of the same size (doesn't apply to RAW streams) and the same format from two physical cameras. This doesn't apply to devices running Android 10.

For devices running Android 10 where the camera HAL device version is 3.5 or higher, the camera device must support isStreamCombinationSupported for applications to query whether a particular stream combination containing physical streams is supported.

Stream configuration map

For a logical camera, the mandatory stream combinations for the camera device of a certain hardware level is the same as what's required in CameraDevice.createCaptureSession. All of the streams in the stream configuration map must be logical streams.

For a logical camera device supporting RAW capability with physical sub-cameras of different sizes, if an application configures a logical RAW stream, the logical camera device must not switch to physical sub-cameras with different sensor sizes. This ensures that existing RAW capture applications don't break.

To take advantage of HAL-implemented optical zoom by switching between physical sub-cameras during RAW capture, applications must configure physical sub-camera streams instead of a logical RAW stream.

Guaranteed stream combination

Both the logical camera and its underlying physical cameras must guarantee the mandatory stream combinations required for their device levels.

A logical camera device should operate in the same way as a physical camera device based on its hardware level and capabilities. It's recommended that its feature set is a superset of that of individual physical cameras.

On devices running Android 9, for each guaranteed stream combination, the logical camera must support:

  • Replacing one logical YUV_420_888 or raw stream with two physical streams of the same size and format, each from a separate physical camera, given that the size and format are supported by the physical cameras.

  • Adding two raw streams, one from each physical camera, if the logical camera doesn't advertise RAW capability, but the underlying physical cameras do. This usually occurs when the physical cameras have different sensor sizes.

  • Using physical streams in place of a logical stream of the same size and format. This must not slow down the frame rate of the capture when the minimum frame duration of the physical and logical streams are the same.

Performance and power considerations

  • Performance:

    • Configuring and streaming physical streams may slow down the logical camera's capture rate due to resource constraints.
    • Applying physical camera settings may slow down the capture rate if the underlying cameras are put into different frame rates.
  • Power:

    • HAL's power optimization continues to work in the default case.
    • Configuring or requesting physical streams may override HAL's internal power optimization and incur more power use.

Customization

You can customize your device implementation in the following ways.

  • The fused output of the logical camera device depends entirely on the HAL implementation. The decision on how fused logical streams are derived from the physical cameras is transparent to the application and Android camera framework.
  • Individual physical requests and results can be optionally supported. The set of available parameters in such requests is also entirely dependent on the specific HAL implementation.
  • From Android 10, the HAL can reduce the number of cameras that can be directly opened by an application by electing not to advertise some or all PHYSICAL_IDs in getCameraIdList. Calling getPhysicalCameraCharacteristics must then return the characteristics of the physical camera.

Validation

Logical multi-camera devices must pass camera CTS like any other regular camera. The test cases that target this type of device can be found in the LogicalCameraDeviceTest module.

These three ITS tests target multi-camera systems to facilitate the proper fusing of images:

The scene1 and scene4 tests run with the ITS-in-a-box test rig. The test_multi_camera_match test asserts that the brightness of the center of the images match when the two cameras are both enabled. The test_multi_camera_alignment test asserts that camera spacings, orientations, and distortion parameters are properly loaded. If the multi-camera system includes a Wide FoV camera (>90o), the rev2 version of the ITS box is required.

Sensor_fusion is a second test rig that enables repeated, prescribed phone motion and asserts that the gyroscope and image sensor timestamps match and that the multi-camera frames are in sync.

All boxes are available through AcuSpec, Inc. (www.acuspecinc.com, fred@acuspecinc.com) and MYWAY Manufacturing (www.myway.tw, sales@myway.tw). Additionally, the rev1 ITS box can be purchased through West-Mark (www.west-mark.com, dgoodman@west-mark.com).

Best practices

To fully take advantage of features enabled by multi-camera while maintaining app compatibility, follow these best practices when implementing a logical multi-camera device:

  • (Android 10 or later) Hide physical sub-cameras from getCameraIdList. This reduces the number of cameras that can be directly opened by apps, eliminating the need for apps to have complex camera selection logic.
  • (Android 11 or later) For a logical multi-camera device supporting optical zoom, implement the ANDROID_CONTROL_ZOOM_RATIO API, and use ANDROID_SCALER_CROP_REGION for aspect ratio cropping only. ANDROID_CONTROL_ZOOM_RATIO enables the device to zoom out and maintain better precision. In this case, the HAL must adjust the coordinates system of ANDROID_SCALER_CROP_REGION, ANDROID_CONTROL_AE_REGIONS, ANDROID_CONTROL_AWB_REGIONS, ANDROID_CONTROL_AF_REGIONS, ANDROID_STATISTICS_FACE_RECTANGLES, and ANDROID_STATISTICS_FACE_LANDMARKS to treat the post-zoom field of view as the sensor active array. For more information on how ANDROID_SCALER_CROP_REGION works together with ANDROID_CONTROL_ZOOM_RATIO, see camera3_crop_reprocess#cropping.
  • For multi-camera devices with physical cameras that have different capabilities, make sure the device advertises support for a certain value or range for a control only if the whole zoom range supports the value or range. For example, if the logical camera is composed of an ultrawide, a wide, and a telephoto camera, do the following:
    • If the active array sizes of the physical cameras are different, the camera HAL must do the mapping from the physical cameras’ active arrays to the logical camera active array for ANDROID_SCALER_CROP_REGION, ANDROID_CONTROL_AE_REGIONS, ANDROID_CONTROL_AWB_REGIONS, ANDROID_CONTROL_AF_REGIONS, ANDROID_STATISTICS_FACE_RECTANGLES, and ANDROID_STATISTICS_FACE_LANDMARKS so that from the app’s perspective, the coordinate system is the logical camera’s active array size.
    • If the wide and telephoto cameras support autofocus, but the ultrawide camera is fixed focus, make sure the logical camera advertises autofocus support. The HAL must simulate an autofocus state machine for the ultrawide camera so that when the app zooms out to the ultrawide lens, the fact that the underlying physical camera is fixed focus is transparent to the app, and the autofocus state machines for the supported AF modes work as expected.
    • If the wide and telephoto cameras support 4K @ 60 fps, and the ultrawide camera only supports 4K @ 30 fps, or 1080p @ 60 fps, but not 4K @ 60 fps, make sure the logical camera doesn't advertise 4k @ 60 fps in its supported stream configurations. This guarantees the integrity of the logical camera capabilities, ensuring that the app won't run into the issue of not achieving 4k @ 60 fps at a ANDROID_CONTROL_ZOOM_RATIO value of less than 1.
  • Staring from Android 10, a logical multi-camera isn't required to support stream combinations that include physical streams. If the HAL supports a combination with physical streams:
    • (Android 11 or later) To better handle use cases such as depth from stereo and motion tracking, make the field of view of the physical stream outputs as large as can be achieved by the hardware. However, if a physical stream and a logical stream originate from the same physical camera, hardware limitations might force the field of view of the physical stream to be the same as the logical stream.
    • To address the memory pressure caused by multiple physical streams, make sure apps use discardFreeBuffers to deallocate the free buffers (buffers that are released by the consumer, but not yet dequeued by the producer) if a physical stream is expected to be idle for a period of time.
    • If physical streams from different physical cameras aren't typically attached to the same request, make sure apps use surface group so that one buffer queue is used to back two app-facing surfaces, reducing memory consumption.