SurfaceTexture

SurfaceTexture 类是在 Android 3.0 中推出的。就像 SurfaceView 是 Surface 和 View 的组合一样,SurfaceTexture 是 Surface 和 GLES 纹理的粗略组合(包含几个注意事项)。

当您创建 SurfaceTexture 时,会创建一个应用是其消耗方的 BufferQueue。如果生产方将新的缓冲区加入队列,您的应用便会通过回调 (onFrameAvailable()) 获得通知。应用调用 updateTexImage()(这会释放先前保留的缓冲区),从队列中获取新的缓冲区,然后发出一些 EGL 调用,让缓冲区可作为外部纹理供 GLES 使用。

外部纹理

外部纹理 (GL_TEXTURE_EXTERNAL_OES) 与 GLES (GL_TEXTURE_2D) 创建的纹理并不完全相同:您对渲染器的配置必须有所不同,而且有一些操作是不能对外部纹理执行的。关键是,您可以直接从 BufferQueue 接收到的数据中渲染纹理多边形。gralloc 支持各种格式,因此我们需要保证缓冲区中数据的格式是 GLES 可以识别的格式。为此,当 SurfaceTexture 创建 BufferQueue 时,它将消耗方用法标记设置为 GRALLOC_USAGE_HW_TEXTURE,确保由 gralloc 创建的缓冲区均可供 GLES 使用。

由于 SurfaceTexture 会与 EGL 上下文交互,因此您必须小心地从正确的会话中调用其方法(详见类文档)。

时间戳和转换

如果您深入阅读类文档,您会看到两个奇怪的调用。一个调用会检索时间戳,而另一个调用是转换矩阵,每个调用的值都通过事先调用 updateTexImage() 来设置。事实证明,BufferQueue 不只是向消耗方传递缓冲区句柄。每个缓冲区都附有时间戳和转换参数。

提供转换是为了提高效率。在某些情况下,源数据可能以错误的方向传递给消耗方;但是,我们可以按照数据的当前方向发送数据并使用转换对其进行更正,而不是在发送数据之前对其进行旋转。在使用数据时,转换矩阵可以与其他转换合并,从而最大限度降低开销。

时间戳对于某些缓冲区来源非常有用。例如,假设您将生产方接口连接到相机的输出端(使用 setPreviewTexture())。要创建视频,您需要为每个帧设置演示时间戳;不过您需要根据截取帧的时间(而不是应用收到缓冲区的时间)来设置该时间戳。随缓冲区提供的时间戳由相机代码设置,从而获得一系列更一致的时间戳。

SurfaceTexture 和 Surface

如果仔细观察 API,您会发现应用只能通过一种方式来创建简单 Surface,即通过将 SurfaceTexture 作为唯一参数的构造函数来创建。(在 API 11 之前,根本没有用于 Surface 的公开构造函数。)如果将 SurfaceTexture 视为 Surface 和纹理的组合,这看起来可能有点落后。

深入来看,SurfaceTexture 称为 GLConsumer,它更准确地反映了其作为 BufferQueue 的所有方和消耗方的角色。从 SurfaceTexture 创建 Surface 时,您所做的是创建一个表示 SurfaceTexture 的 BufferQueue 生产方端的对象。

案例研究:Grafika 的连续拍摄

相机可以提供一个适合作为电影进行录制的帧流。要在屏幕上显示它,您可以创建一个 SurfaceView,将 Surface 传递给 setPreviewDisplay(),然后让生产方(相机)和消耗方 (SurfaceFlinger) 完成所有工作。要录制视频,您可以使用 MediaCodec 的 createInputSurface() 创建一个 Surface,将其传递给相机,然后便可高枕无忧了。若要边显示边录制,您必须使用更多内容。

在录制视频时,连续拍摄 Activity 会显示相机录制的视频。在这种情况下,已编码的视频将写入内存中的环形缓冲区,该缓冲区可随时保存到磁盘。实现起来非常简单,只要您跟踪所有内容所在的位置即可。

该流程涉及三个 BufferQueue,分别是由应用、SurfaceFlinger 和 mediaserver 所创建:

  • 应用。该应用使用 SurfaceTexture 从相机接收帧,并将其转换为外部 GLES 纹理。
  • SurfaceFlinger。该应用声明一个我们用来显示帧的 SurfaceView。
  • MediaServer。您可以使用输入 Surface 配置 MediaCodec 编码器,以创建视频。
Grafika 连续拍摄 Activity

图 1.Grafika 的连续拍摄 Activity。箭头指示相机的数据传输路径,BufferQueue 则用颜色标示(生产方为青色,消耗方为绿色)。

已编码的 H.264 视频在应用进程中进入 RAM 中的环形缓冲区,并在点击拍摄按钮时使用 MediaMuxer 类写入到磁盘上的 MP4 文件中。

三个 BufferQueue 都在应用中通过单个 EGL 上下文处理,且 GLES 操作在 UI 线程上执行。通常,不鼓励在 UI 线程上执行 SurfaceView 渲染,但是由于我们执行的是由 GLES 驱动程序异步处理的简单操作,因此没有问题。(如果视频编码器锁定,并且我们阻止尝试将缓冲区移出队列,该应用便会停止响应。而此时,我们无论怎样操作都可能会失败。)对已编码数据的处理(管理环形缓冲区并将其写入磁盘)是在单独的线程中执行的。

大部分配置是在 SurfaceView 的 surfaceCreated() 回调中进行的。系统会创建 EGLContext,并为显示设备和视频编码器创建 EGLSurface。当新的帧到达时,我们会告知 SurfaceTexture 去获取它,并将其作为 GLES 纹理进行提供,然后使用 GLES 命令在每个 EGLSurface 上渲染它(从 SurfaceTexture 转发转换和时间戳)。编码器线程从 MediaCodec 拉取编码的输出内容,并将其存储在内存中。

安全纹理视频播放

Android 7.0 支持对受保护的视频内容进行 GPU 后处理。这允许将 GPU 用于复杂的非线性视频效果(例如扭曲),将受保护的视频内容映射到纹理,以用于常规图形场景(例如,使用 OpenGL ES)和虚拟现实 (VR)。

安全纹理视频播放

图 2.安全纹理视频播放

使用以下两个扩展程序实现支持:

  • EGL 扩展程序 (EGL_EXT_protected_content)。允许创建受保护的 GL 上下文和 Surface,它们都可以对受保护的内容进行操作。
  • GLES 扩展程序 (GL_EXT_protected_textures)。允许将纹理标记为受保护,以便它们可以用作帧缓冲区纹理附件。

Android 7.0 还会更新 SurfaceTexture 和 ACodec (libstagefright.so),这样一来,即使窗口 Surface 没有加入窗口编写器(例如 SurfaceFlinger)的队列,也允许发送受保护的内容,并且提供受保护的视频 Surface 以在受保护的上下文中使用。该操作通过在受保护的上下文(由 ACodec 验证)中创建的 Surface 上设置正确的受保护消耗方位 (GRALLOC_USAGE_PROTECTED) 来完成。

这些更改可使以下对象受益:应用开发者,他们可以创建应用来执行增强的视频效果,或在 GL 中(例如在 VR 中)使用受保护的内容来应用视频纹理;最终用户,他们可以在 GL 环境中(例如在 VR 中)查看高价值的视频内容(如电影和电视节目);以及原始设备制造商 (OEM),他们可通过增加设备功能(例如在 VR 中观看高清电影)提高产品销量。新的 EGL 和 GLES 扩展程序可以由系统芯片 (SoC) 提供商和其他供应商使用,目前是在 Nexus 6P 中使用的 Qualcomm MSM8994 SoC 芯片组上实现。

安全纹理视频播放为在 OpenGL ES 环境中进行强大的 DRM 实现奠定了基础。如果没有诸如 Widevine 级别 1 这样的强大 DRM 实现,许多内容提供商将不允许在 OpenGL ES 环境中渲染其高价值内容,从而阻止重要的 VR 用例(例如在 VR 中观看受 DRM 保护的内容)。

AOSP 包括用于安全纹理视频播放的框架代码;驱动程序支持取决于供应商。设备实现人员必须实现 EGL_EXT_protected_contentGL_EXT_protected_textures extensions。使用您自己的编解码器库(替代 libstagefright)时,请注意,只要消耗方用法位包含 GRALLOC_USAGE_PROTECTED/frameworks/av/media/libstagefright/SurfaceUtils.cpp 中的更改便会允许将标记为 GRALLOC_USAGE_PROTECTED 的缓冲区发送到 ANativeWindow,即便 ANativeWindow 没有直接加入窗口编写器的队列也可以。有关实现扩展程序的详细文档,请参见 Khronos 注册表(EGL_EXT_protected_contentGL_EXT_protected_textures)。

设备实现人员可能还需要进行硬件更改,才能确保映射到 GPU 的受保护内存仍受保护,且不可由未受保护的代码读取。

SurfaceTexture

The SurfaceTexture class was introduced in Android 3.0. Just as SurfaceView is the combination of a Surface and a View, SurfaceTexture is a rough combination of a Surface and a GLES texture (with a few caveats).

When you create a SurfaceTexture, you are creating a BufferQueue for which your app is the consumer. When a new buffer is queued by the producer, your app is notified via callback (onFrameAvailable()). Your app calls updateTexImage(), which releases the previously-held buffer, acquires the new buffer from the queue, and makes some EGL calls to make the buffer available to GLES as an external texture.

External textures

External textures (GL_TEXTURE_EXTERNAL_OES) are not quite the same as textures created by GLES (GL_TEXTURE_2D): You have to configure your renderer a bit differently, and there are things you can't do with them. The key point is that you can render textured polygons directly from the data received by your BufferQueue. gralloc supports a wide variety of formats, so we need to guarantee the format of the data in the buffer is something GLES can recognize. To do so, when SurfaceTexture creates the BufferQueue, it sets the consumer usage flags to GRALLOC_USAGE_HW_TEXTURE, ensuring that any buffer created by gralloc would be usable by GLES.

Because SurfaceTexture interacts with an EGL context, you must be careful to call its methods from the correct thread (as detailed in the class documentation).

Timestamps and transformations

If you look deeper into the class documentation, you will see a couple of odd calls. One call retrieves a timestamp, the other a transformation matrix, the value of each having been set by the previous call to updateTexImage(). It turns out that BufferQueue passes more than just a buffer handle to the consumer. Each buffer is accompanied by a timestamp and transformation parameters.

The transformation is provided for efficiency. In some cases, the source data might be in the incorrect orientation for the consumer; but instead of rotating the data before sending it, we can send the data in its current orientation with a transform that corrects it. The transformation matrix can be merged with other transformations at the point the data is used, minimizing overhead.

The timestamp is useful for certain buffer sources. For example, suppose you connect the producer interface to the output of the camera (with setPreviewTexture()). To create a video, you need to set the presentation timestamp for each frame; but you want to base that on the time when the frame was captured, not the time when the buffer was received by your app. The timestamp provided with the buffer is set by the camera code, resulting in a more consistent series of timestamps.

SurfaceTexture and Surface

If you look closely at the API you'll see the only way for an application to create a plain Surface is through a constructor that takes a SurfaceTexture as the sole argument. (Prior to API 11, there was no public constructor for Surface at all.) This might seem a bit backward if you view SurfaceTexture as a combination of a Surface and a texture.

Under the hood, SurfaceTexture is called GLConsumer, which more accurately reflects its role as the owner and consumer of a BufferQueue. When you create a Surface from a SurfaceTexture, what you're doing is creating an object that represents the producer side of the SurfaceTexture's BufferQueue.

Case Study: Grafika's continuous capture

The camera can provide a stream of frames suitable for recording as a movie. To display it on screen, you create a SurfaceView, pass the Surface to setPreviewDisplay(), and let the producer (camera) and consumer (SurfaceFlinger) do all the work. To record the video, you create a Surface with MediaCodec's createInputSurface(), pass that to the camera, and again sit back and relax. To show and record the it at the same time, you have to get more involved.

The continuous capture activity displays video from the camera as the video is being recorded. In this case, encoded video is written to a circular buffer in memory that can be saved to disk at any time. It's straightforward to implement so long as you keep track of where everything is.

This flow involves three BufferQueues: one created by the app, one created by SurfaceFlinger, and one created by mediaserver:

  • Application. The app uses a SurfaceTexture to receive frames from Camera, converting them to an external GLES texture.
  • SurfaceFlinger. The app declares a SurfaceView, which we use to display the frames.
  • MediaServer. You configure a MediaCodec encoder with an input Surface to create the video.
Grafika continuous
capture activity

Figure 1.Grafika's continuous capture activity. Arrows indicate data propagation from the camera and BufferQueues are in color (producers are teal, consumers are green).

Encoded H.264 video goes to a circular buffer in RAM in the app process, and is written to an MP4 file on disk using the MediaMuxer class when the capture button is hit.

All three of the BufferQueues are handled with a single EGL context in the app, and the GLES operations are performed on the UI thread. Doing the SurfaceView rendering on the UI thread is generally discouraged, but since we're doing simple operations that are handled asynchronously by the GLES driver we should be fine. (If the video encoder locks up and we block trying to dequeue a buffer, the app will become unresponsive. But at that point, we're probably failing anyway.) The handling of the encoded data -- managing the circular buffer and writing it to disk -- is performed on a separate thread.

The bulk of the configuration happens in the SurfaceView's surfaceCreated() callback. The EGLContext is created, and EGLSurfaces are created for the display and for the video encoder. When a new frame arrives, we tell SurfaceTexture to acquire it and make it available as a GLES texture, then render it with GLES commands on each EGLSurface (forwarding the transform and timestamp from SurfaceTexture). The encoder thread pulls the encoded output from MediaCodec and stashes it in memory.

Secure texture video playback

Android 7.0 supports GPU post-processing of protected video content. This allows using the GPU for complex non-linear video effects (such as warps), mapping protected video content onto textures for use in general graphics scenes (e.g., using OpenGL ES), and virtual reality (VR).

Secure Texture Video Playback

Figure 2.Secure texture video playback

Support is enabled using the following two extensions:

  • EGL extension (EGL_EXT_protected_content). Allows the creation of protected GL contexts and surfaces, which can both operate on protected content.
  • GLES extension (GL_EXT_protected_textures). Allows tagging textures as protected so they can be used as framebuffer texture attachments.

Android 7.0 also updates SurfaceTexture and ACodec (libstagefright.so) to allow protected content to be sent even if the windows surface does not queue to the window composer (i.e., SurfaceFlinger) and provide a protected video surface for use within a protected context. This is done by setting the correct protected consumer bits (GRALLOC_USAGE_PROTECTED) on surfaces created in a protected context (verified by ACodec).

These changes benefit app developers who can create apps that perform enhanced video effects or apply video textures using protected content in GL (for example, in VR), end users who can view high-value video content (such as movies and TV shows) in GL environment (for example, in VR), and OEMs who can achieve higher sales due to added device functionality (for example, watching HD movies in VR). The new EGL and GLES extensions can be used by system on chip (SoCs) providers and other vendors, and are currently implemented on the Qualcomm MSM8994 SoC chipset used in the Nexus 6P.

Secure texture video playback sets the foundation for strong DRM implementation in the OpenGL ES environment. Without a strong DRM implementation such as Widevine Level 1, many content providers would not allow rendering of their high-value content in the OpenGL ES environment, preventing important VR use cases such as watching DRM protected content in VR.

AOSP includes framework code for secure texture video playback; driver support is up to the vendor. Device implementers must implement the EGL_EXT_protected_content and GL_EXT_protected_textures extensions. When using your own codec library (to replace libstagefright), note the changes in /frameworks/av/media/libstagefright/SurfaceUtils.cpp that allow buffers marked with GRALLOC_USAGE_PROTECTED to be sent to ANativeWindows (even if the ANativeWindow does not queue directly to the window composer) as long as the consumer usage bits contain GRALLOC_USAGE_PROTECTED. For detailed documentation on implementing the extensions, refer to the Khronos Registry (EGL_EXT_protected_content, GL_EXT_protected_textures).

Device implementers may also need to make hardware changes to ensure that protected memory mapped onto the GPU remains protected and unreadable by unprotected code.