核心

Linux內核幾乎是每個Android設備上軟件的極其重要的組成部分。本節介紹Linux內核開發和發行模型(如下),穩定和長期受支持的(LTS)內核(包括為什麼所有Android設備都應使用穩定發行版而不是挑選補丁的原因),內核配置強化接口要求以及模塊化內核(在Android O中引入),內核調試網絡測試以及SquashFS

Linux內核開發

Linux內核是有史以來最大的協作軟件項目。 2016年,來自450多家不同公司的4,000多名不同的開發人員為該項目做出了貢獻,共有6個版本,每個版本包含12,000至16,000個不同的更改。到2016年底,Linux內核的大小剛剛超過5.6萬個文件,其中包括2200萬行代碼,構建腳本和文檔(內核版本4.9)。 (有關完整的Linux開發統計信息,請參閱https://kernelnewbies.org/DevelopmentStatistics 。)

雖然Linux內核包含其支持的所有不同芯片體系結構和硬件驅動程序的代碼,但單個系統僅運行部分代碼庫。普通筆記本電腦使用5000個文件中的大約200萬行內核代碼才能正常工作,而Pixel手機使用6000個文件中的320萬行內核代碼(由於SoC的複雜性增加)。

Linux內核發行版

Linux內核使用的發布模型與標準AOSP發行版有很大的不同。隨著2003年12月2.6內核的發布,內核開發人員社區從以前的具有獨立開發和穩定內核分支的模型切換到了僅穩定分支模型。在此模型中,每2到3個月就會發布一個新版本,並且該版本被宣佈為穩定版本,建議所有用戶運行。開發模型的這種變化是由於2.6內核之前的發布週期非常長(將近3年),並且難以同時維護代碼庫的兩個不同分支。

內核發行版的編號從2.6.x開始,其中x是每個發行版都會更改的遞增編號(該編號的值沒有意義,除了比以前的內核發行版新)。從那時起,內核版本已移至4.x,其中包含2個主要版本更改。這些版本號僅由維護人員選擇,以避免由於較高的次要發行版號而導致用戶之間的混淆。

Kernel

The Linux kernel is an extremely important part of the software on nearly every Android device. This section describes Linux kernel development and release models (below), stable and long-term supported (LTS) kernels (including why all Android devices should use stable releases instead of cherry picking patches), kernel configuration and hardening, requirements for interfaces and the modular kernels (introduced in Android O), kernel debugging and network testing, and SquashFS.

Linux kernel development

The Linux kernel is the largest collaborative software project ever. In 2016, over 4,000 different developers from over 450 different companies contributed to the project and there were 6 releases, each containing between 12,000 and 16,000 different changes. At the end of 2016 the size of the Linux kernel was just over 56 thousand files, consisting of 22 million lines of code, build scripts, and documentation (kernel release 4.9). (For full Linux development statistics, refer to https://kernelnewbies.org/DevelopmentStatistics.)

While the Linux kernel contains code for all the different chip architectures and hardware drivers it supports, an individual system runs only a fraction of the codebase. An average laptop uses around 2 million lines of kernel code from 5 thousand files to function properly, while the Pixel phone uses 3.2 million lines of kernel code from 6 thousand files (due to the increased complexity of an SoC).

Linux kernel releases

The Linux kernel uses a release model that differs substantially from standard AOSP releases. With the release of the 2.6 kernel in December of 2003, the kernel developer community switched from the previous model of having a separate development and stable kernel branch, and moved to a stable only branch model. In this model, a new release occurred every 2 to 3 months, and that release was declared stable and recommended for all users to run. This change in development model was due to the very long release cycle prior to the 2.6 kernel (almost 3 years), and the struggle to maintain two different branches of the codebase at the same time.

The numbering of the kernel releases began at 2.6.x, where x was an incrementing number that changed on every release (the value of the number has no meaning, other than it is newer than the previous kernel release). The kernel version since then has now moved to 4.x accounting for 2 major version changes. These version numbers are chosen by the maintainer(s) only to avoid confusion among users caused by higher minor release numbers.