Google 致力于为黑人社区推动种族平等。查看具体举措

Wi-Fi STA/STA 并发

Android 12 引入了 Wi-Fi STA/STA 并发,允许设备同时连接到两个 Wi-Fi 网络。此可选功能启用以下功能。

  • Make-before-break :设备在断开现有连接之前先连接到新的 Wi-Fi 网络。这会在 Wi-Fi 网络之间切换时实现更平滑的转换
  • 仅本地和互联网并发连接:设备连接到仅本地网络,而不会中断设备的主要互联网提供连接。
  • 并发受限和互联网连接:设备连接到受限网络(仅适用于某些特权应用程序),而不会中断设备的主要互联网连接。

此页面描述了启用此功能时的设备行为以及设备制造商和供应商的实施细节。

执行

设备必须支持以下功能才能实现 Wi-Fi STA/STA 并发:

  • Wi-Fi 芯片或固件必须支持两个并发 STA 连接。固件必须支持两种连接的所有通道和频段组合。为避免性能问题,我们建议使用支持 2x2+2x2 DBS 的 Wi-Fi 芯片。

  • 设备必须支持供应商 HAL 版本 1.5中的以下 API

    • IWifiChip.setMultiStaPrimaryConnection()
    • IWifiChip.setMultiStaUseCase()
  • HAL Wi-Fi 接口组合必须有两个并发的 STA 接口,使用诸如[{STA} <= 2, ...]之类的规范格式公开。更多信息,请参阅Wi-Fi 多​​接口并发

如果满足这些先决条件,则通过执行以下操作实现 Wi-Fi STA/STA 并发:

  1. 使用运行时资源覆盖单独启用一项或多项功能(默认禁用)。

    • MakeBeforeBreakEnabledconfig_wifiMultiStaNetworkSwitchingMakeBeforeBreakEnabled
    • 并发本地和互联网连接config_wifiMultiStaLocalOnlyConcurrencyEnabled
    • 并发受限和互联网连接config_wifiMultiStaRestrictedConcurrencyEnabled
  2. 按照下面各自部分中的说明验证每个实现。

为了更好地支持 Wi-Fi STA/STA 并发,我们建议 OEM 定制的框架和应用使用NetworkCallback#onCapabilitiesChanged()方法而不是WifiManager#getConnectionInfo()方法,该方法仅返回单个网络的WifiInfo ,在 Android 12 中已弃用. 有关更多信息,请参阅用于点对点连接的 Wi-Fi 网络请求 API

先做后断

make-before-break功能允许设备连接到新的 Wi-Fi 网络,同时保持现有的 Wi-Fi 网络连接,只有在成功连接到新的 Wi-Fi 网络并可以访问互联网时才断开与旧网络的连接。

make-before-break 用例解决了 Android 11 或更低版本中的以下问题,其中设备必须先断开与现有 Wi-Fi 网络的连接,然后才能连接到新网络(break-before-make)。

  • 连接到新网络时,设备可能会发现它保存的 Wi-Fi 密码不正确,或者新网络无法访问互联网。这会迫使设备切换回旧网络,从而导致大量时间没有 Wi-Fi 连接。

  • 旧网络突然断开,这意味着所有套接字都关闭了。应用程序通常不会对突然失去连接做出良好反应,这可能会导致用户在几秒钟内没有互联网连接,直到新连接完全建立。

  • 默认网络更改两次,从旧的 Wi-Fi 网络更改为蜂窝网络,然后从蜂窝网络更改为新的 Wi-Fi 网络。这会导致应用对网络更改做出两次反应。该设备还必须花费很短的时间使用蜂窝数据。

make-before-break 流程仅用于由操作系统启动的自动 Wi-Fi 网络切换。用户启动的网络交换机使用传统的先断后合流程,即在连接新网络之前,之前的网络完全断开连接。在某些情况下,即使在操作系统启动的自动切换中也会使用先断后合流程,例如,在两个都配置为使用工厂 MAC 地址的网络之间切换时。

应用可以使用WifiManager#isMakeBeforeBreakWifiSwitchingSupported() API 检查设备是否支持此用例。

验证先通后断

要验证您的实施,请触发自动 Wi-Fi 网络切换(通过确保信号强度比当前连接的网络更强的网络可用)并验证设备在连接到新网络时是否保持现有连接。要查看两个 Wi-Fi 接口的状态并验证两者是否已连接,请使用以下命令。

adb shell wpa_cli -i wlan0 status ; echo ; adb shell wpa_cli -i wlan1 status

如果新网络没有连接,设备会尝试连接到网络,同时保持与现有网络的连接,并在检测到新网络没有互联网时中止尝试。然后设备继续使用现有连接作为主要 Wi-Fi 网络。

并发本地和互联网连接

并发的仅限本地和互联网连接功能允许设备与主要的互联网提供网络同时连接到仅限本地的连接,例如与物联网设备的连接。此功能改善了直接连接到物联网设备(例如相机)时的用户体验,这可以通过 Android 10 中添加的WifiNetworkSpecifier API 实现。

在 Android 11 及更低版本中,设备在连接到 IoT 设备时会断开与主要 Wi-Fi 网络的连接,从而导致互联网连接中断(除非设备具有其他可用的传输类型,例如蜂窝数据)。

应用可以使用WifiManager#isStaConcurrencyForLocalOnlyConnectionsSupported() API 检查设备是否支持此功能。

有关 Android 12 中并发仅限本地和互联网连接功能的更改的更多信息,请参阅用于点对点连接的 Wi-Fi 网络请求 API

验证仅限本地和 Internet 连接

要验证此功能,请使用以下 CTS 和 ACTS 测试:

  • CTS: MultiStaConcurrencyWifiNetworkSpecifierTest
  • 行动: WifiStaConcurrencyNetworkRequestTest

并发受限和互联网连接

并发受限和互联网连接功能允许设备同时连接到用户的主要 Wi-Fi 网络和仅适用于选定应用程序的受限 Wi-Fi 网络。

应用可以使用WifiManager#isStaConcurrencyForRestrictedConnectionsSupported() API 检查设备是否支持此功能。

要使设备能够连接到辅助受限 Wi-Fi 网络,请执行以下步骤:

  1. 添加Wi-Fi 网络建议setOemPaidsetOemPrivate设置为 true。

  2. ConnectivityManager中,提交具有相应功能的NetworkRequest

当设备检测到与 OEM 付费或 OEM 私人建议匹配的网络的扫描结果时,它会自动连接到它作为辅助网络。

验证并发受限和 Internet 连接

要验证此功能,请使用以下 CTS 和 ACTS 测试:

  • CTS: MultiStaConcurrencyRestrictedWifiNetworkSuggestionTest
  • 行动: WifiStaConcurrencyNetworkRequestTest

供应商 Wi-Fi 芯片指南

对于 Wi-Fi 芯片供应商,请使用以下指南来支持 Wi-Fi STA/STA 并发。

Wi-Fi 芯片必须支持双并发 STA 连接。这意味着它支持以下内容:

  • 每个 STA 接口都有一个可由框架编程的唯一 MAC。
  • 辅助STA接口可以动态创建和销毁。
  • 每个 STA 可以连接到不同的 SSID(在同一频段内或不同频段内)。
  • 每个 STA 可以连接到相同的 SSID(在同一频段内或不同频段内)。两个 STA绝不能连接到相同的 BSSID。

关键功能必须在每个接口的基础上运行,并且它们必须在主接口上可用。以下是这些关键功能的列表:

  • 至少主接口必须支持漫游(使用IWifiChip.setMultiStaPrimaryConnection()设置)。如果两个接口都支持漫游,则一个连接的决定不得与第二个并发连接发生冲突。例如,一个接口不得漫游到另一个连接的 BSSID。

  • 至少主接口(使用IWifiChip.setMultiStaPrimaryConnection()设置)必须支持 APF(以及 ARP 和 NS 等其他卸载)。

  • 链路层统计信息必须在每个接口的基础上运行。

以下是针对不同并发场景推荐的 Wi-Fi 芯片实现:

  • Wi-Fi 芯片必须允许框架使用以下常量之一调用IWifiChip.setMultiStaUseCase()以指定当前函数:

    • DUAL_STA_TRANSIENT_PREFER_PRIMARY :指定 Make-Before-Break 函数。主连接的质量必须优先于辅助连接。
    • DUAL_STA_NON_TRANSIENT_UNBIASED :指定并发的仅限本地和互联网连接并发受限和互联网连接功能。两个连接的质量必须同等优先。
  • 由于双并发 STA 会导致 MCC、SCC 和 DBS 操作模式,因此供应商实现必须在框架调用IWifiChip.setMultiStaUseCase()来指示功能时选择最佳无线电配置。以下是一般准则:

    • 如果可用,首选 2x2+2x2 DBS。
    • 尽可能避免使用 1x1+1x1 DBS,因为对连接质量的影响太大。相反,更喜欢 MCC。
    • MCC 占空比必须可由驱动程序或固件配置以用于各种功能。该框架不直接设置 MCC 占空比,而是使用StaLinkLayerIfaceStats.timeSliceDutyCycleInPercent查询此信息。
    • 如果使用 MCC,我们建议在主要和次要连接之间使用以下占空比:

      • DUAL_STA_TRANSIENT_PREFER_PRIMARY :70% 主要,30% 次要。
      • DUAL_STA_NON_TRANSIENT_UNBIASED :50% 主要,50% 次要。

Wi-Fi STA/STA Concurrency

Android 12 introduces Wi-Fi STA/STA concurrency, which allows devices to connect to two Wi-Fi networks concurrently. This optional feature enables the following functions.

  • Make-before-break: The device makes a connection to a new Wi-Fi network before breaking the existing connection. This results in smoother transitions when switching between Wi-Fi networks
  • Concurrent local-only and internet connection: The device connects to a local-only network without disrupting the device's primary internet-providing connection.
  • Concurrent restricted and internet connection: The device connects to a restricted network (available only to certain privileged apps) without disrupting the device's primary internet-providing connection.

This page describes the device behavior when this feature is enabled and the implementation details for device manufacturers and vendors.

Implementation

Devices must support the following in order to implement Wi-Fi STA/STA concurrency:

  • The Wi-Fi chip or firmware must support two concurrent STA connections. The firmware must support all channel and band combinations for both connections. To avoid performance issues, we recommend using a 2x2+2x2 DBS capable Wi-Fi chip.

  • The device must support the following APIs in vendor HAL version 1.5

    • IWifiChip.setMultiStaPrimaryConnection()
    • IWifiChip.setMultiStaUseCase()
  • The HAL Wi-Fi interface combination must have two concurrent STA interfaces exposed using a specifaction format such as [{STA} <= 2, ...]. For more information, see Wi-Fi multi-interface concurrency.

If those pre-requisites are met, implement Wi-Fi STA/STA concurrency by doing the following:

  1. Enable one or more function individually using runtime resource overlays (disabled by default).

    • Make-before-break: config_wifiMultiStaNetworkSwitchingMakeBeforeBreakEnabled
    • Concurrent local-only and internet connection: config_wifiMultiStaLocalOnlyConcurrencyEnabled
    • Concurrent restricted and internet connection: config_wifiMultiStaRestrictedConcurrencyEnabled
  2. Validate each implementation as described in their respective sections below.

To better support Wi-Fi STA/STA concurrency, we recommend that OEM-customized frameworks and apps use the NetworkCallback#onCapabilitiesChanged() method instead of WifiManager#getConnectionInfo(), which only returns WifiInfo for a single network and was deprecated in Android 12. For more information, see Wi-Fi Network Request API for peer-to-peer connectivity.

Make-before-break

The make-before-break function allows devices to connnect to a new Wi-Fi network while maintaining the existing Wi-Fi network connection, only disconnecting from the old network when it successfully connects to the new Wi-Fi network and has internet access.

The make-before-break use case addresses the following problems in Android 11 or lower, where the device must disconnect from the existing Wi-Fi network before connecting to a new network (break-before-make).

  • When connecting to a new network, the device might discover that it has an incorrect Wi-Fi password saved or that the new network doesn't have internet access. This forces the device to switch back to the old network, leading to a signifcant amount of time without Wi-Fi connectivity.

  • The old network is disconnected abruptly, which means that all sockets get closed. Apps often don't react well to a sudden loss of connectivity and this might lead to the user experiencing a few seconds without internet connectivity until the new connection is fully established.

  • The default network changes twice, from the old Wi-Fi network to cellular, then from cellular to the new Wi-Fi network. This causes apps to react to network changes twice. The device must also spend a short amount of time using cellular data.

The make-before-break flow is only used for automatic Wi-Fi network switches initiated by the OS. User-initiated network switches use the legacy break-before-make flow, where the previous network is fully disconnected before the new network is connected. In certain cases, the break-before-make flow is used even in automatic switches initiated by the OS, for example, when switching between two networks both configured to use the factory MAC address.

Apps can check whether this use case is supported on the device using the WifiManager#isMakeBeforeBreakWifiSwitchingSupported() API.

Validating make-before-break

To validate your implementation, trigger an automatic Wi-Fi network switch (by ensuring a network with a stronger signal strength than the currently connected network is available) and verify that the device maintains the existing connection while connecting to the new network. To view the status of both Wi-Fi interfaces and verify that both are connected, use the following command.

adb shell wpa_cli -i wlan0 status ; echo ; adb shell wpa_cli -i wlan1 status

If the new network doesn't have connectivity, the device attempts to connect to the network, while maintaining the connection with the existing network, and aborts the attempt when it detects the new network doesn't have internet. The device then continues using the existing connection as the primary Wi-Fi network.

Concurrent local-only and internet connection

The concurrent local-only and internet connection function allows devices to connect to a local-only conection, such as a connection to an IoT device, concurrently with the primary internet-providing network. This function improves the user experience when directly connecting to IoT devices, such as cameras, which is possible through the WifiNetworkSpecifier API added in Android 10.

In Android 11 and lower, devices disconnect from the primary Wi-Fi network when connecting to an IoT device, resulting in a loss of internet connectivity (unless the device has another transport type available, such as cellular data).

Apps can check whether this function is supported on the device using the WifiManager#isStaConcurrencyForLocalOnlyConnectionsSupported() API.

For more information on changes to the concurrent local-only and internet connection function in Android 12, see Wi-Fi Network Request API for peer-to-peer connectivity.

Validating local-only and internet connection

To validate this function, use the following CTS and ACTS tests:

  • CTS: MultiStaConcurrencyWifiNetworkSpecifierTest
  • ACTS: WifiStaConcurrencyNetworkRequestTest

Concurrent restricted and internet connection

The concurrent restricted and internet connection function allows the device to conccurently connect to a primary Wi-Fi network for the user and a restricted Wi-Fi network that is only available to select apps.

Apps can check whether this function is supported on the device using the WifiManager#isStaConcurrencyForRestrictedConnectionsSupported() API.

To enable a device to connect to secondary restricted Wi-Fi networks, follow these steps:

  1. Add Wi-Fi network suggestions with setOemPaid or setOemPrivate set to true.

  2. In ConnectivityManager, file a NetworkRequest with the corresponding capabilities:

When the device detects scan results with a network matching the OEM paid or OEM private suggestion, it automatically connects to it as a secondary network.

Validating concurrent restricted and internet connection

To validate this function, use the following CTS and ACTS tests:

  • CTS: MultiStaConcurrencyRestrictedWifiNetworkSuggestionTest
  • ACTS: WifiStaConcurrencyNetworkRequestTest

Vendor Wi-Fi chip guidelines

For Wi-Fi chip vendors, use the following guidelines to support Wi-Fi STA/STA concurrency.

The Wi-Fi chip must support dual concurrent STA connections. This means it supports the following:

  • Each STA interface has a unique MAC programmable by the framework.
  • The secondary STA interface can be dynamically created and destroyed.
  • Each STA can be connected to a different SSID (either within the same band or a different band).
  • Each STA can be connected to the same SSID (either within the same band or a different band). The two STAs must never be connected to the same BSSID.

Critical features must operate on a per-interface basis and they must be available on the primary interface. The following is a list of these critical features:

  • Roaming must be supported on at least the primary interface (set using IWifiChip.setMultiStaPrimaryConnection()). If roaming is suppported on both interfaces, decisions on one connection must not clash with the second concurrent connection. For example, one interface must not roam to the BSSID of the other connection.

  • APF (and other offloads such as ARP and NS) must be supported on at least the primary interface (set using IWifiChip.setMultiStaPrimaryConnection()).

  • Link layer stats must operate on a per interface basis.

The following are recommended Wi-Fi chip implementations for different concurrency scenarios:

  • The Wi-Fi chip must allow the framework to call IWifiChip.setMultiStaUseCase() with one of the following constants to specify the current function:

    • DUAL_STA_TRANSIENT_PREFER_PRIMARY: Specifies the Make-Before-Break function. The quality of the primary connection must be prioritized over the secondary connection.
    • DUAL_STA_NON_TRANSIENT_UNBIASED: Specifies the concurrent local-only and internet connection or the concurrent restricted and internet connection function. The quality of both connections must be prioritized equally.
  • Because dual concurrent STAs can lead to MCC, SCC, and DBS modes of operation, the vendor implementation must choose the best radio configuration when the framework calls IWifiChip.setMultiStaUseCase() to indicate the function. The following are general guidelines:

    • 2x2+2x2 DBS is preferred if available.
    • Avoid 1x1+1x1 DBS if possible because of the excessive impact on connection quality. Instead, prefer MCC.
    • The MCC duty cycle must be configurable by the driver or firmware for the various functions. The framework doesn't set the MCC duty cycle directly, but queries this information using StaLinkLayerIfaceStats.timeSliceDutyCycleInPercent.
    • If using MCC, we recommend the following duty cycles between the primary and secondary connections:

      • DUAL_STA_TRANSIENT_PREFER_PRIMARY: 70% primary, 30% secondary.
      • DUAL_STA_NON_TRANSIENT_UNBIASED: 50% primary, 50% secondary.