Google 致力于为黑人社区推动种族平等。查看具体举措

输入法支持

下面是对这些与显示相关的领域进行的更新:

对于在非默认屏幕上运行的应用,Android 10 支持使用软件键盘

在非默认屏幕上运行的应用

关于输入法 (IME) 的软件键盘显示在哪个屏幕上,有两种不同的模式。软件键盘显示在:

  • 目标应用所在的屏幕上。
  • 默认屏幕上(当目标应用在非默认屏幕上运行时)。

系统会根据目标应用所在屏幕的设置确定要使用的模式。要了解详情,请参阅:

  • DisplayWindowSettings#shouldShowImeLocked()
  • DisplayWindowSettings#setShouldShowImeLocked()

图 1. 在辅助屏幕上显示 IME 软件键盘,包括目标应用

系统使用一个 IME,但可以在屏幕之间切换,以跟踪用户焦点。Android 10 默认所有第一方和第三方 IME 在创建时都会根据新屏幕的尺寸调整布局和大小。

如果屏幕 A 上有一个活动连接,并且屏幕 B 上的输入字段请求获得输入焦点,则会触发以下流程:

  1. 屏幕 B 上的输入字段发出一个新的输入连接。
  2. InputMethodManagerService 检查是否应该批准该连接。
  3. 系统为该 IME 选择一个屏幕。如果屏幕 B 支持且允许显示 IME,则使用屏幕 B。否则,将选择设备的主屏幕。
  4. 如果所选屏幕并非来自屏幕 A,则重新建立连接。系统会销毁 InputMethodService,然后重新创建它。

安全限制

系统不会在不属于自己的虚拟屏幕上显示 IME。这是出于安全方面的考虑,因为恶意应用可能会创建启用系统装饰支持的虚拟屏幕,并从界面读取用户敏感信息(例如输入预测和自定义背景)。

实现

在 Android 9(及更低版本)中,IME 只能在默认屏幕上使用,如屏幕输入法中所述。在 Android 10(及更高版本)中,用户可以通过切换焦点在不同屏幕上的不同输入文本字段之间切换,IME 窗口会移动到辅助屏幕上。

WindowManager 中的实现会跟踪输入法窗口(绘制软件键盘的 IME 窗口)和输入法目标窗口(IME 输入所在的窗口),以管理 IME 状态。

对于 InputMethodManagerService (IMMS),将焦点移至另一个屏幕时,没有其他内置机制可以将屏幕更改传递给 InputMethodService (IMS),并在运行时重新配置键盘布局。

为了实现在屏幕之间切换 IME 窗口,Android 10 实现了以下功能:

  • 现在,可以在 DisplayContent#mInputMethodWindowDisplayContent#mInputMethodTarget 中跟踪每个屏幕的 IME 和输入目标窗口,以便 WindowManager (WM) 可以单独管理每个屏幕的 IME 焦点状态。
  • 在 IMMS 端,当通过 ViewRootImpl#handleWindowFocusChanged -> InputMethodManager#onPostWindowFocus -> IMMS#startInputOrWindowGainedFocus 收到来自外部屏幕的应用客户端焦点请求时,它会先取消绑定当前的输入法服务,然后再重新绑定该服务,以在 onServiceConnected() 中重新附加针对该外部屏幕的新 IME 窗口令牌。
  • 在 IMS 端,收到 IMS#attachToken 后,将触发以下流程:
    • 调用 ContextImpl#updateDisplay,以在 InputMethodService#attachToken() 中更新服务上下文的屏幕。这会调用 ViewGroup#addView() 来调整键盘布局并适应检查当前上下文的目标屏幕。
    • 调用 DisplayContent#setInputMethodWindowLocked() 之后,该实现使用 WindowProcessController 将进程级屏幕配置更改发送给 IME 进程,以替换资源和屏幕指标。
    • 调用 onConfigurationChanged()ViewGroup#addView() 之后,InputMethodService 客户端将获得合适的配置(其中包含正确的屏幕指标)来重新初始化输入视图。

多会话输入法支持

具有多个屏幕的设备实现可供多个用户同时使用来提供合适的输入来源,这些实现可以配置为同时显示多个输入法 (IME),每个屏幕最多显示一个。下面的两个图显示了两个屏幕上的多会话 IME 示例:

图 2. 多会话 IME 示例

图 3. 多会话 IME 示例

支持每屏幕焦点是启用此功能的前提。如果不支持,则无法启用此功能。由于安全限制,每屏幕焦点限制规定只有一小部分设备支持此功能。

在 Android 10 中,对多会话 IME 的支持是通过不同的系统服务实现的,这些服务具有一组不同的 API 和简化的功能。多会话 IME 与现有 IME 不兼容。可以使用多会话服务,也可以使用单会话服务,但不能同时使用这两者。

无法使用基于 InputMethodService 类构建的现有 Android IME,这是因为一次只能有一个 IME 客户端作为目标客户端的假设,是在 Android 1.5 中推出 Android IME API 之前提出的,因而 InputMethodService 中的许多公共 API 在很大程度上都是基于这种假设构建的。然而,要通过更新 InputMethodService 类来支持多客户端情景也并非易事,这是因为:

  1. 这样做会极大地增加 InputMethodService 的复杂性,而该服务本就已经很难维护了。
  2. IME 开发者仍然需要更新其实现才能支持来自多个目标 IME 客户端的并行请求,这可能需要他们进行大范围的重新设计(例如输入解码器和输入历史数据库)。
  3. 多 IME 客户端的实际用例会快速演变,导致新协议不稳定,也无法作为公共 API 提供。

与单会话(常规)IME 一样,将使用 DisplayWindowSettings 控制 IME 在各个屏幕上的显示。

development/samples/MultiClientInputMethod 中提供了多会话 IME 示例。

要测试多会话 IME,请执行以下操作:

  1. config_perDisplayFocusEnabled 设置为 true
  2. 运行以下命令:
    1. $ make -j MultiClientInputMethod
    2. $ adb install -r $OUT/system/priv-app/MultiClientInputMethod/MultiClientInputMethod.apk
    3. $ adb root
    4. $ adb shell setprop persist.debug.multi_client_ime \
      com.example.android.multiclientinputmethod/.MultiClientInputMethod
    5. $ adb reboot
  3. 尝试多个文本输入情景。

实现

要详细了解如何实现,请参阅 MultiClientInputMethodManagerService

Input Method Editor Support

Updates made to these display-specific areas are provided below:

Android 10 supports software keyboard for apps running on a non-default display.

Apps running on a non-default display

In terms of which display shows the software keyboard of the Input Method Editor (IME), there are two different modes. The software keyboard is shown on the:

  • Same display on which the focused app appears.
  • Default display while the focused app is running on a non-default display.

The system determines which mode to use based on the settings of the display on which the focused app appears. For more details, see:

  • DisplayWindowSettings#shouldShowImeLocked()
  • DisplayWindowSettings#setShouldShowImeLocked()

Figure 1. IME software keyboard as it appears on secondary display, including target app

The system uses a single IME, but can shift between displays to follow user focus. Android 10 automatically expects all first- and third-party IMEs to revise the layout and resize according to the new display size when created.

If there's an active connection on display A, and an input field requests input focus on display B, then the following flow occurs:

  1. A new input connection comes from the input field on display B.
  2. InputMethodManagerService checks if the connection should be approved.
  3. A display is selected for the IME. If display B supports showing the IME and is allowed to show it, then B is used. Otherwise, the primary device display is selected.
  4. If the selected display is not from display A, then the connection is re-established. InputMethodService is destroyed and then created again.

Security restriction

The system won't show an IME on virtual displays that aren't owned by the system. This is due to a security concern that a malicious app could create a virtual display with enabled System Decorations Support and read user-sensitive information from the surface, such as typing predictions and custom backgrounds.

Implementation

In Android 9 (and lower), the IME was only available on the default screen, as described in On-Screen Input methods. In Android 10 (and higher), a user can switch between different input text fields on different displays by switching focus, and the IME window moves to the secondary displays.

The implementation in WindowManager tracks the input method window (the IME window where the soft keyboard is drawn) and the input method target (the window where the IME input goes) to manage the IME state.

For InputMethodManagerService (IMMS), no other built-in mechanism can propagate the display change to InputMethodService (IMS) and reconfigure the keyboard layout at runtime when moving focus to another display.

To achieve the IME window switch between displays, Android 10 implements the following:

  • The IME and input target window are now tracked per display in DisplayContent#mInputMethodWindow and DisplayContent#mInputMethodTarget, so that the WindowManager (WM) can manage the IME focus state independently of each display.
  • On the IMMS side, when an app client's focus request from the external display is received through ViewRootImpl#handleWindowFocusChanged -> InputMethodManager#onPostWindowFocus -> IMMS#startInputOrWindowGainedFocus, it first unbinds the current input method service and then rebinds the service to reattach the new IME window token for the external display in onServiceConnected().
  • On the IMS side, after the IMS#attachToken is received, the following flow occurs:
    • ContextImpl#updateDisplay is called to update the service context's display in InputMethodService#attachToken(). This calls ViewGroup#addView() to revise the layout of the keyboard and adapt to the target display checking the current context.
    • After DisplayContent#setInputMethodWindowLocked() is called, the implementation sends process-level display configuration changes using the WindowProcessController to IME process to override resources and display metrics.
    • The InputMethodService client gets the correct configuration with the correct display metrics after onConfigurationChanged() and the ViewGroup#addView() call to reinitialize the input view.

Multi-session Input Method Editor support

Device implementations with multiple displays expected to be simultaneously used by multiple users to provide appropriate input sources can be configured to simultaneously display multiple input method editors (IME), at most one per display. The following two figures show a sample multi-session IME on two displays:

Figure 2. Sample multi-session IME

Figure 3. Sample multi-session IME

Support for Per-display focus is a prerequisite for this feature. If not, this feature can't be enabled. Due to security restrictions, the per-display focus limitation restricted this feature to a small subset of devices.

In Android 10, support for multi-session IMEs is implemented with separate system services with a different set of APIs and reduced functionality. Multi-session IME isn't compatible with existing IMEs. Either multi-session or single-session service can be used, but not both.

It isn't possible to use existing Android IMEs built on top of the InputMethodService class because the assumption that a single IME client can be focused at the same time was made before Android IME APIs were introduced in Android 1.5 and many public APIs in InputMethodService have already relied heavily on that assumption. However, updating the InputMethodService class to support a multi-client scenario is challenging because:

  1. Doing so would introduce an unacceptable amount of complexity into InputMethodService, which is already hard to maintain.
  2. IME developers still need to update their implementation to be able to support parallel requests from multiple focused IME clients, which may require a nontrivial redesign on their side (such as input decoder and typing history database).
  3. Actual use cases for multi-IME clients are expected to evolve rapidly, so the new protocol isn't stable and isn't ready to be exposed as public APIs.

As with single-session (regular) IME, control over showing IME on individual displays is performed using DisplayWindowSettings.

There is a sample multi-session IME located at development/samples/MultiClientInputMethod.

To test multi-session IME:

  1. Set config_perDisplayFocusEnabled to true.
  2. Run these commands:
    1. $ make -j MultiClientInputMethod
    2. $ adb install -r $OUT/system/priv-app/MultiClientInputMethod/MultiClientInputMethod.apk
    3. $ adb root
    4. $ adb shell setprop persist.debug.multi_client_ime \
      com.example.android.multiclientinputmethod/.MultiClientInputMethod
    5. $ adb reboot
  3. Try multiple text input scenarios.

Implementation

See MultiClientInputMethodManagerService for implementation details.