主機控制器架構

VTS 測試框架的架構與其基於雲的測試服務服務集成。 VTS 主機控制器在主機上運行並控制測試工具(例如 TradeFed)實例,如下所示:

Host controller architecture

圖1. VTS主機控制器架構

控制器從作為 Google App Engine (GAE) 實例運行的集群指揮官提取命令,然後在其集群指揮官和測試工具實例之間中繼命令和響應。

這種架構包括以下優點:

  • 因為它是從任何測試工具實例解耦,它可以控制不同類型的測試線束和更強勁。替代設計(在測試工具中嵌入主機控制邏輯)不會阻止錯誤的傳播。
  • 因為它使用了基於拉的命令和控制(C&C)模型,它可以與存在防火牆後面(對於入口連接)不同類型的雲的側簇指揮官以及主機工作。替代設計(基於推送的 C&C 模型)可能不允許雲指揮官訪問私有網絡中主機上存在的主機控制器實例。

Host Controller Architecture

The architecture of VTS test framework integrates with its cloud-based test serving service. A VTS Host Controller runs on a host machine and controls a test harness (e.g., TradeFed) instance as shown below:

Host controller architecture

Figure 1. VTS Host Controller architecture

The controller pulls commands from a Cluster Commander running as a Google App Engine (GAE) instance, then relays commands and responses between its cluster commander and the test harness instance.

This architecture includes the following advantages:

  • Because it is decoupled from any test harness instance, it can control different types of test harnesses and is more robust. The alternative design (embedding the host control logic in a test harness) does not block errors from propagating.
  • Because it uses a pull-based command-and-control (C&C) model, it can work with different types of cloud-side cluster commanders as well as hosts that exist behind a firewall (for ingress connections). The alternative design (push-based C&C model) may not allow a cloud commander to access host controller instances that exist on host computers in a private network.