蓝牙低功耗

Android 4.3 及更高版本中提供的蓝牙低功耗 (BLE) 功能可在多个设备之间实现短促连接,以传输暴增的数据。未建立连接时,BLE 会处于睡眠模式。这样一来,BLE 可以提供比传统蓝牙更低的带宽和功耗。此功能适用于心率监测器或无线键盘等应用。要使用 BLE,用户需要确保设备上安装支持 BLE 的芯片组。

实现

所有最新的 BLE 应用配置文件都基于通用属性配置文件 (GATT)。当 Android 设备与 BLE 设备交互时,发送信息的设备是服务器,而接收信息的设备则是客户端。Android 包括用于 BLE 的开发者 API,其中包含用于 GATT 服务器和 GATT 客户端之间交互的 API。要充分利用 BLE API,请实现 Android 蓝牙 HCI 要求

设备模式

使用 BLE 时,Android 设备可发挥外围设备、中心设备的作用,或同时发挥两者的作用。外围设备模式可让设备发送广告包。中心模式可让设备扫描广告。在同时发挥外围设备和中心设备的作用时,Android 设备可以一边在外围设备模式下发送广告,一边与其他 BLE 外围设备进行通信。支持蓝牙 4.1 及更低版本的设备只能在中心模式下使用 BLE。较旧的设备芯片组可能不支持 BLE 外围设备模式。

BLE 扫描

使用 BLE 时,Android 设备可以更有效地定位和扫描特定的蓝牙设备。BLE API 可让应用开发者创建过滤器,供他们从主机控制器查找参与度较低的设备。

位置信息扫描

用户设备的位置信息服务可以使用蓝牙来检测蓝牙信标,并提供更准确的位置信息。用户可以按照以下方式启用该功能:

  1. 依次转到设置 > 安全性和位置信息 > 位置信息
  2. 检查位置信息开启/关闭开关是否处于开启位置。
  3. 转到模式
  4. 选择准确度高耗电量低模式。

个别应用需要获取位置权限才能使用 BLE 扫描功能,即使这些应用扫描的目的只是为了查找要连接的设备。如果用户停用位置扫描功能,或者未向应用提供位置权限,则相应应用将不会收到任何 BLE 扫描结果。

用户可以通过以下方式停用系统级蓝牙后台扫描:依次转到设置 > 安全性和位置信息 > 位置信息 > 扫描,然后关闭蓝牙扫描开关。这不会影响对位置或本地设备的 BLE 扫描。

过滤扫描结果

Android 6.0 及更高版本包括蓝牙控制器上的 BLE 扫描和过滤器匹配。设备可以过滤扫描结果,并将与 BLE 设备相关的 foundlost 事件报告给应用处理器 (AP)。过滤功能也适用于批量扫描,这将有助于节省电量,因为 BLE 扫描已分流到固件中。批量扫描可降低 AP 因设备或信标的 BLE 扫描而唤醒的频率。

OnFound/OnLost 功能在蓝牙控制器中实现,然后经过测试以确认在扫描过程中未错过 BLE 设备。这样可以节省电量,并且还有以下好处:

  • 对于 OnFound 事件,主 AP 在发现特定设备时唤醒。
  • 对于 OnLost 事件,AP 在找不到特定设备时唤醒。
  • 当附近设备在检测范围内时,框架应用可以收到较少的无用通知。
  • 当设备不在检测范围时,连续扫描功能可以启用框架应用以收到通知。

扫描过滤器可根据发现的设备广告(OnFound 事件)而创建。Java 层可以指定参数,例如首次发现(或自首次发现以来的特定广告数量)。用户可以使用广告包内容过滤器 HCI 命令实现 BLE 过滤。

Bluetooth Low Energy

Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), available in Android 4.3 and later, creates short connections between devices to transfer bursts of data. BLE remains in sleep mode when not connected. This lets BLE provide lower bandwidth and reduced power consumption compared to Classic Bluetooth. It is ideal for applications such as a heart-rate monitor or a wireless keyboard. To use BLE, devices need to have a chipset that supports BLE.

Implementation

All current BLE application profiles are based on the Generic Attribute Profile (GATT). When an Android device interacts with a BLE device, the device that sends information is the server and the device that receives information is the client. Android includes developer APIs for BLE, including APIs for interactions between GATT servers and GATT clients. To fully leverage the BLE APIs, implement the Android Bluetooth HCI Requirements.

Device modes

When using BLE, an Android device can act as a peripheral device, a central device, or both. Peripheral mode lets devices send advertisement packets. Central mode lets devices scan for advertisements. An Android device acting as both a peripheral and central device can communicate with other BLE peripheral devices while sending advertisements in peripheral mode. Devices supporting Bluetooth 4.1 and earlier can only use BLE in central mode. Older device chipsets may not support BLE peripheral mode.

BLE scanning

An Android device can target and scan for specific Bluetooth devices more efficiently when using BLE. BLE APIs let app developers create filters for finding devices with less involvement from the host controller.

Location scanning

A device's location services can use Bluetooth to detect Bluetooth beacons and provide a more accurate location. This is how users enable the feature:

  1. Go to Settings > Security & Location > Location.
  2. Check that the Location On/Off toggle is in the On position.
  3. Go to Mode.
  4. Select either High accuracy or Battery saving mode.

Individual apps need location permissions to use BLE scanning, even if they are scanning only to find devices to connect to. If the user disables location scanning, or does not give an app location permissions, then the app will not receive any BLE scanning results.

Users can disable system-level Bluetooth background scanning by going to Settings > Security & Location > Location > Scanning and disabling the toggle for Bluetooth scanning. This does not affect BLE scanning for location or local devices.

Filtering scan results

Android 6.0 and later includes BLE scanning and filter-matching on the Bluetooth controller. A device can filter scan results and report found and lost events related to BLE devices to the application processor (AP). Filtering also works for batch scans, which helps save power as BLE scanning is offloaded to the firmware. Batch scans reduce how often the AP wakes up due to BLE scanning for devices or beacons.

The OnFound/OnLost feature is implemented in the Bluetooth controller and then tested to confirm that BLE devices are not missed in scans. This provides power savings, and it can also provide the following benefits:

  • For an OnFound event, the main AP wakes up upon the discovery of a specific device.
  • For an OnLost event, the AP wakes up when a specific device cannot be found.
  • Framework apps get fewer unwanted notifications when a nearby device is in range.
  • Continuous scans enable framework apps to be notified when a device is out of range.

A scan filter can be based on the discovery of a device's advertisements (the OnFound event). The Java layer can specify parameters such as first discovery (or a specified number of advertisements since first discovery). Implement BLE filtering using the Advertising Packet Content Filter HCI command.