硬件作曲家 HAL

硬件合成器 (HWC) HAL 確定將緩衝區與可用硬件合成的最有效方式。作為 HAL,它的實現是特定於設備的,通常由顯示硬件 OEM 完成。

這種方法的價值是很容易當你考慮覆蓋面,其中複合多個緩衝區中顯示硬件而不是GPU來識別。例如,考慮一個典型的縱向 Android 手機,狀態欄在頂部,導航欄在底部,應用程序內容在其他地方。每層的內容都在單獨的緩衝區中。您可以使用以下任一方法處理合成:

  • 將應用程序內容渲染到暫存緩衝區中,然後在其上渲染狀態欄,導航欄在其上,最後將暫存緩衝區傳遞給顯示硬件。
  • 將所有三個緩衝區傳遞給顯示硬件,並指示它從屏幕不同部分的不同緩衝區讀取數據。

後一種方法可以顯著更有效。

顯示處理器功能差異很大。疊加的數量、圖層是否可以旋轉或混合,以及對定位和重疊的限制可能難以通過 API 表達。為了適應這些選項,HWC 執行以下計算:

  1. SurfaceFlinger 為 HWC 提供了完整的層列表,並詢問“你想如何處理這個問題?”
  2. HWC 通過將每一層標記為設備或客戶端組合來響應。
  3. SurfaceFlinger 負責任何客戶端,將輸出緩衝區傳遞給 HWC,並讓 HWC 處理其餘部分。

由於硬件供應商可以定制決策代碼,因此可以從每台設備中獲得最佳性能。

當屏幕上沒有任何變化時,疊加平面可能比 GL 合成效率低。當疊加內容具有透明像素並且重疊圖層混合時尤其如此。在這種情況下,HWC 可以為一些或所有層請求 GLES 合成並保留合成緩衝區。如果 SurfaceFlinger 要求合成同一組緩衝區,HWC 可以顯示之前合成的暫存緩衝區。這可以提高空閒設備的電池壽命。

Android 設備通常支持四個覆蓋平面。嘗試合成比疊加更多的層會導致系統對其中的一些使用 GLES 合成,這意味著應用程序使用的層數會對功耗和性能產生可衡量的影響。

Google is committed to advancing racial equity for Black communities. See how.

Hardware Composer HAL

The Hardware Composer (HWC) HAL determines the most efficient way to composite buffers with the available hardware. As a HAL, its implementation is device-specific and usually done by the display hardware OEM.

The value of this approach is easy to recognize when you consider overlay planes, which composite multiple buffers in the display hardware rather than the GPU. For example, consider a typical Android phone in portrait orientation, with the status bar on top, navigation bar at the bottom, and app content everywhere else. The contents for each layer are in separate buffers. You can handle composition using either of the following methods:

  • Rendering the app content into a scratch buffer, then rendering the status bar over it, the navigation bar on top of that, and finally passing the scratch buffer to the display hardware.
  • Passing all three buffers to the display hardware and instructing it to read data from different buffers for different parts of the screen.

The latter approach can be significantly more efficient.

Display processor capabilities vary significantly. The number of overlays, whether layers can be rotated or blended, and restrictions on positioning and overlap can be difficult to express through an API. To accommodate these options, the HWC performs following calculations:

  1. SurfaceFlinger provides HWC with a full list of layers and asks, "How do you want to handle this?"
  2. HWC responds by marking each layer as device or client composition.
  3. SurfaceFlinger takes care of any client, passing the output buffer to HWC, and lets HWC handle the rest.

Because hardware vendors can custom tailor decision-making code, it's possible to get the best performance out of every device.

Overlay planes may be less efficient than GL composition when nothing on the screen is changing. This is particularly true when overlay contents have transparent pixels and overlapping layers are blended. In such cases, the HWC can request GLES composition for some or all layers and retain the composited buffer. If SurfaceFlinger asks to composite the same set of buffers, the HWC can show the previously composited scratch buffer. This can improve the battery life of an idle device.

Android devices typically support four overlay planes. Attempting to composite more layers than overlays causes the system to use GLES composition for some of them, meaning the number of layers used by an app can have a measurable impact on power consumption and performance.