实现虚拟显示屏

Android 在 Hardware Composer v1.3 中添加了对虚拟显示屏的平台支持(该支持功能可由 Miracast 使用)。虚拟显示屏合成与物理显示屏类似:在 prepare() 中描述输入层,由 SurfaceFlinger 执行 GPU 合成,然后将图层和 GPU 帧缓冲区提供给 set() 中的 Hardware Composer。

输出不会出现在屏幕上,而是被发送至 gralloc 缓冲区。Hardware Composer 将输出写入缓冲区并提供已完成的栅栏信号。缓冲区会被发送给某一使用方:视频编码器、GPU 和 CPU 等。如果显示通道可以写入内存,虚拟显示屏便可使用 2D/位块传送器或叠加层。

模式

prepare() 之后,每个帧处于以下三种模式之一:

  • GLES:由 GPU 合成所有图层,GPU 会直接写入输出缓冲区,而 Hardware Composer 将不做任何操作。这相当于使用 v1.3 版之前的 Hardware Composer 执行虚拟显示屏合成。
  • MIXED:GPU 将一些图层合成到帧缓冲区,由 Hardware Composer 合成帧缓冲区和剩余的图层。GPU 写入暂存缓冲区(帧缓冲区);Hardware Composer 读取暂存缓冲区并写入输出缓冲区。缓冲区可能包含不同的格式,例如 RGBA 和 YCbCr。
  • HWC:由 Hardware Compose 合成所有图层,Hardware Compose 会直接写入输出缓冲区。

输出格式

输出格式取决于模式:

  • MIXED 和 HWC 模式:若使用方需要 CPU 访问权限,则由使用方选择格式。否则格式将为 IMPLEMENTATION_DEFINED。Gralloc 可以根据使用标记选择最佳的格式。例如,如果使用方是视频编码器,则选择 YCbCr 格式,而 Hardware Composer 可以高效地写入该格式。
  • GLES 模式:EGL 驱动程序在 dequeueBuffer() 中选择输出缓冲区格式,通常为 RGBA8888。使用方必须能够接受该格式。

EGL 要求

Hardware Composer v1.3 虚拟显示屏要求 eglSwapBuffers() 不会立即使下一个缓冲区出列,而是推迟到渲染开始时才让该缓冲区出列。否则,EGL 将始终占有下一个输出缓冲区。SurfaceFlinger 无法在 MIXED/HWC 模式下为 Hardware Composer 获取输出缓冲区。

若 Hardware Composer 总是将所有虚拟显示屏图层都发送至 GPU,则所有帧都会处于 GLES 模式。我们不推荐使用此方法,但您若出于某些原因需要支持 Hardware Composer v1.3,而又无法进行虚拟显示屏合成,便可使用此方法。

Implementing Virtual Displays

Android added platform support for virtual displays in Hardware Composer v1.3 (support can be used by Miracast). The virtual display composition is similar to the physical display: Input layers are described in prepare(), SurfaceFlinger conducts GPU composition, and layers and GPU framebuffer are provided to Hardware Composer in set().

Instead of the output going to the screen, it is sent to a gralloc buffer. Hardware Composer writes output to a buffer and provides the completion fence. The buffer is sent to an arbitrary consumer: video encoder, GPU, CPU, etc. Virtual displays can use 2D/blitter or overlays if the display pipeline can write to memory.

Modes

Each frame is in one of three modes after prepare():

  • GLES. All layers composited by GPU, which writes directly to the output buffer while Hardware Composer does nothing. This is equivalent to virtual display composition with Hardware Composer version older than v1.3.
  • MIXED. GPU composites some layers to framebuffer, and Hardware Composer composites framebuffer and remaining layers. GPU writes to scratch buffer (framebuffer); Hardware Composer reads scratch buffer and writes to the output buffer. Buffers may have different formats, e.g. RGBA and YCbCr.
  • HWC. All layers composited by Hardware Composer, which writes directly to the output buffer.

Output format

Output format depends on the mode:

  • MIXED and HWC modes. If the consumer needs CPU access, the consumer chooses the format. Otherwise, the format is IMPLEMENTATION_DEFINED. Gralloc can choose best format based on usage flags. For example, choose a YCbCr format if the consumer is video encoder, and Hardware Composer can write the format efficiently.
  • GLES mode. EGL driver chooses output buffer format in dequeueBuffer(), typically RGBA8888. The consumer must be able to accept this format.

EGL requirement

Hardware Composer v1.3 virtual displays require that eglSwapBuffers() does not dequeue the next buffer immediately. Instead, it should defer dequeueing the buffer until rendering begins. Otherwise, EGL always owns the next output buffer. SurfaceFlinger can’t get the output buffer for Hardware Composer in MIXED/HWC mode.

If Hardware Composer always sends all virtual display layers to GPU, all frames will be in GLES mode. Although not recommended, you may use this method if you need to support Hardware Composer v1.3 for some other reason but can’t conduct virtual display composition.