实施“提供紧急呼叫”功能

从 2017 年 1 月 1 日开始,在印度地区销售的所有移动设备都必须应印度电信部门 (DoT) 的要求提供紧急呼叫按钮。为响应这些监管要求,Android 包含了“提供紧急呼叫”功能的参考实现,以启用 Android 设备上的紧急呼叫按钮。

此功能在 Android 8.0 和更高版本中默认启用,但较早版本中必须安装相应的补丁程序。目前,该功能专门针对在印度市场销售的设备;不过,鉴于该功能在印度境外无效,因此也可以在全球范围销售的所有设备上提供。

示例和源代码

“提供紧急呼叫”功能在 Android 开放源代码项目 (AOSP) 的 frameworks/base 项目中实现。它在 master 分支中提供,并将在未来的 Android 版本中默认启用。

目前,以下分支和提交中已提供该功能。提供这些信息是为了方便设备制造商轻松将必要的更改以补丁程序的形式添加到现有版本中。想要实现 AOSP 参考“提供紧急呼叫”功能的设备制造商可以从适用的分支中挑选提交并加入到自己的版本中。

表 1. 挑选 AOSP 参考“提供紧急呼叫”功能

分支 提交
master e0c3c66 添加了“提供紧急呼叫”功能
42a4338 添加了紧急操作字符串的翻译
4df8d64 修复了“提供紧急呼叫”在平板电脑上显示的问题
nougat-dev e6680d9 添加了“提供紧急呼叫”功能
95e1865 添加了紧急操作字符串的翻译
a70bb89 修复了“提供紧急呼叫”在平板电脑上显示的问题
marshmallow-dev cd22634 添加了“提供紧急呼叫”功能
13f51c6 添加了紧急操作字符串的翻译
6531666 修复了“提供紧急呼叫”在平板电脑上显示的问题
lollipop-mr1-dev 5fbc86b 添加了“提供紧急呼叫”功能
1b60879 添加了紧急操作字符串的翻译
d74366f 修复了“提供紧急呼叫”在平板电脑上显示的问题

实现

“提供紧急呼叫”功能不会更改通过 Android SDK 公开的 API。该功能启用并激活后,会提供两个可启动 112 紧急呼救(印度的唯一紧急呼救号码,由印度电信部门强制实施)的触发器。

紧急呼救有两种启动方式:

长按锁定屏幕上的紧急呼救
按钮
点按全局操作菜单中的紧急呼救
选项
紧急呼叫按钮
图 1 锁定屏幕上的紧急呼救按钮。
紧急呼叫选项
图 2. 全局操作菜单上的紧急呼救动作(长按电源键可访问)。

该功能引入了以下内部组件:

  • EmergencyAffordanceManager
    frameworks/base/core/java/com/android/internal/policy/EmergencyAffordanceManager.java
    
  • EmergencyAffordanceService
    frameworks/base/services/core/java/com/android/server/emergency/EmergencyAffordanceService.java
    

EmergencyAffordanceManager

EmergencyAffordanceManager 提供使用“提供紧急呼叫”功能的内部 API。它提供启动紧急呼救的方法,并在运行时查询是否应启用该功能。

  • void performEmergencyCall()。启动紧急呼救。
  • boolean needsEmergencyAffordance()。确定是否应启用该功能。

该功能可在构建时永久禁用,具体方法是将 EmergencyAffordanceManager.ENABLED 常量改为 false。这会导致 needsEmergencyAffordance() 始终返回 false 并阻止 EmergencyAffordanceService 启动。

EmergencyAffordanceService

EmergencyAffordanceService 是一种系统服务,用于监控所有检测到的移动网络的移动设备国家/地区代码 (MCC) 和安装的 SIM 卡的 MCC。如果任何安装的 SIM 卡或检测到的移动网络的 MCC 与印度的其中一个 MCC(404、405)相匹配,则该功能将会启用。这意味着,即使没有 SIM 卡,该功能也可以在印度启用。前提是,假设在没有安装 SIM 卡的情况下,移动网络允许注册紧急呼救。该功能将保持启用状态,直到安装了非印度 SIM 卡且没有检测到具有匹配 MCC 的网络。

以下资源和设置会影响“提供紧急呼叫”功能的行为。如果配置类型是:

  • 资源,则是在 frameworks/base/core/res/res/values/config.xml 中定义的内部资源。
  • 设置,则是在系统设置提供程序中存储的设置。

表 2. 影响“提供紧急呼叫”功能行为的设置

配置类型 名称 说明
资源 config_emergency_call_number 在紧急呼救启动时自动拨打的电话号码。
类型:字符串
默认值:112
资源 config_emergency_mcc_codes 列出应该激活该功能的 MCC 的整数数组。
类型:整数数组
默认值:{404,405}
设置 emergency_affordance_number 使用“提供紧急呼叫”致电号码的全局设置覆盖。此配置仅影响可调试的构建映像(即构建类型为 userdebug 或 eng)。此配置仅用于测试目的。
类型:字符串
默认值:未设置
设置 force_emergency_affordance 全局设置,是否显示“提供紧急呼叫”(无论设备状态如何)。此配置仅用于测试目的。
类型:布尔值(1 或 0)
默认值:未设置 --> 0

启用 112 紧急呼救

“提供紧急呼叫”功能使用紧急拨号器连接通话,因此通话可以在锁屏状态下连接。紧急拨号器只能将通话连接到无线界面层 (RIL) 提供的号码列表:

  • 在未安装 SIM 卡时,通过系统属性 ril.ecclist 连接;
  • 在插入 SIM 卡且 SimSlotNumber 是默认订阅者的槽位 ID 时,通过系统属性 ril.ecclistSimSlotNumber 连接。

使用“提供紧急呼叫”功能的设备制造商必须确保在印度地区销售的设备始终将 112 作为 RIL 中的紧急呼救号码。

验证

在可调式的构建上测试时,可以使用以下命令更改呼叫的号码:

adb shell settings put global emergency_affordance_number NUMBER_TO_CALL

虽然此设置可以在普通用户构建中设置,但会被忽略。要实际连接通话,号码必须存在于 RIL 提供的紧急呼救号码列表中。这可以临时设置,具体方法是在 userdebug 设备上使用通过根 shell 执行的以下命令:

setprop ril.ecclist "$(getprop ril.ecclist),NUMBER_TO_CALL"

此外,如需在未检测到印度移动网络或未插入印度 SIM 卡的情况下强制启用“提供紧急呼叫”功能,可以使用以下命令:

adb shell settings put global force_emergency_affordance 1

建议至少对以下情况进行测试:

  • 激活之后,长按锁定屏幕上的紧急呼救按钮(图 1)可呼叫指定紧急呼救号码。
  • 激活之后,全局操作菜单中会显示紧急呼救选项,点按该选项可呼叫指定紧急呼救号码。
  • 在未检测到印度移动网络且安装了非印度 SIM 卡的情况下,该功能不会激活。
  • 在安装印度 SIM 卡的情况下,无论是否检测到移动网络,该功能都会激活
  • 在检测到印度移动网络的情况下,无论是否安装了 SIM 卡,该功能都会激活

如果设备支持多个 SIM 卡,则测试应确保 SIM 卡 MCC 检测功能在每个 SIM 卡插槽中都能正常运行。“提供紧急呼叫”功能不受 Android 兼容性影响,因此不用进行 CTS 测试。

常见问题解答

问:紧急呼救号码 112 尚未在印度授权使用,仍然使用该号码吗?

根据集成紧急通信与应答系统 (IECRS) 的定义,112 是即将在印度用于公共安全应答点 (PSAP) 的号码。在 PSAP 获得授权之前,所有对 112 的呼叫都将转接到现有的 100 紧急呼救号码(尽管是运营商的责任而非 Android 的责任)。

问:使用其他触发操作怎么样?比如按电源按钮三次?

设备制造商可以选择实施其他触发操作。然而,虽然点按硬件电源按钮三次也是印度电信部门批准的触发操作,但这种触发操作在 AOSP 参考实现中不受支持,因为有部分其他广泛使用的应用(如相机应用)使用电源按钮手势,包括重复点按电源按钮。这些应用可能会干扰紧急拨号器,或者用户在尝试触发这些应用中的操作时可能会意外触发紧急呼叫按钮。

Google is committed to advancing racial equity for Black communities. See how.

Implementing Emergency Affordance

All mobile devices sold in India from January 1st, 2017 must provide a panic button to meet Indian Department of Telecommunications (DoT) requirements. To address these regulatory requirements, Android includes a reference implementation of the Emergency Affordance feature to enable a panic button on Android devices.

This feature is enabled by default in Android 8.0 and higher releases, but must be patched into existing builds of earlier releases. Currently, this feature is exclusively targeted at devices sold in the Indian market but can be included on all devices sold throughout the world as the feature has no effect outside India.

Examples and source

The Emergency Affordance feature is implemented in the Android Open Source Project (AOSP) frameworks/base project. It is available in the master branch and is enabled by default in Android 8.0 and higher releases.

This feature is currently available in the following branches and commits. This information is provided to enable device manufacturers to easily patch the necessary changes into their existing builds. Device manufacturers wanting to implement the AOSP reference emergency affordance feature can cherry-pick the commits from the applicable branches into their own builds.

Table 1. Cherry-picks for AOSP reference emergency affordance feature

Branch Commits
master e0c3c66 Added Emergency affordance feature
42a4338 Added translations for emergency action string
4df8d64 Fixed an issue where the emergency affordance would show on tablets
nougat-dev e6680d9 Added Emergency affordance feature
95e1865 Added translations for emergency action string
a70bb89 Fixed an issue where the emergency affordance would show on tablets
marshmallow-dev cd22634 Added Emergency affordance feature
13f51c6 Added translations for emergency action string
6531666 Fixed an issue where the emergency affordance would show on tablets
lollipop-mr1-dev 5fbc86b Added Emergency affordance feature
1b60879 Added translations for emergency action string
d74366f Fixed an issue where the emergency affordance would show on tablets

Implementation

The Emergency Affordance feature makes no changes to the APIs exposed through the Android Software Development Kit (SDK). When enabled and activated, the feature provides two triggers that can initiate an emergency call to 112, which is the single emergency number to be used in India and mandated by the Indian DoT regulations.

An emergency call is initiated by either:

Long pressing the EMERGENCY button
on the lockscreen
Tapping the Emergency option
in the Global Action Menu
emergency
button
Figure 1. EMERGENCY button on lockscreen.
emergency
option
Figure 2. Emergency action on Global Action Menu (accessed by long pressing the power key).

This feature introduces the following internal components:

  • EmergencyAffordanceManager
    frameworks/base/core/java/com/android/internal/policy/EmergencyAffordanceManager.java
    
  • EmergencyAffordanceService
    frameworks/base/services/core/java/com/android/server/emergency/EmergencyAffordanceService.java
    

EmergencyAffordanceManager

The EmergencyAffordanceManager provides an internal API to use the Emergency Affordance feature. It provides methods for initiating the emergency call and querying at runtime if the feature should be enabled.

  • void performEmergencyCall(). Initiates an emergency call.
  • boolean needsEmergencyAffordance(). Determines if the feature should be active.

The feature may be permanently disabled at build time by changing the EmergencyAffordanceManager.ENABLED constant to false. This will cause needsEmergencyAffordance() to always return false and prevent the EmergencyAffordanceService from starting.

EmergencyAffordanceService

The EmergencyAffordanceService is a system service that monitors the Mobile Country Code (MCC) of all the detected cellular networks and the MCC of the installed SIM cards. If any of the installed SIM cards or detected cellular networks have a MCC matching one of India's MCCs (404 or 405) then the feature will be enabled. This means the feature can be enabled in India even if no SIM card is present. It is assumed the mobile network will permit registration for emergency calls even without a SIM card installed. The feature will remain enabled until a non-India SIM is installed and none of the detected networks have a matching MCC.

The following resources and settings affect the behavior of the Emergency Affordance feature. If the config type is:

  • Resource, it is an internal resource defined in frameworks/base/core/res/res/values/config.xml.
  • Setting, it is a setting stored in the systems settings provider.

Table 2. Settings affecting behavior of emergency affordance feature

Config Type Name Description
Resource config_emergency_call_number The phone number that is automatically dialed when the emergency call is initiated.
Type: String
Default: 112
Resource config_emergency_mcc_codes An array of Integers listing the MCCs the feature should be active in.
Type: Array of Integers
Default: {404,405}
Setting emergency_affordance_number Global setting override with the number to call with the emergency affordance. This will only have an effect on debuggable build images (ie. build type is userdebug or eng). This is intended only for testing.
Type: String
Default: unset
Setting force_emergency_affordance Global setting, whether the emergency affordance should be shown regardless of device state. This is intended only for testing.
Type: Boolean (1 or 0)
Default: unset --> 0

Enable emergency calls to 112

The emergency affordance feature connects the call using the emergency dialer so that the call can be connected when the lock screen is active. The emergency dialer connects calls only to the list of numbers provided by the Radio Interface Layer (RIL) through the system property:

  • ril.ecclist when no SIM is installed.
  • ril.ecclistSimSlotNumber when a SIM is inserted and SimSlotNumber is the slot ID of the default subscriber.

Device manufacturers using the emergency affordance feature must ensure that devices in India always enable 112 as an emergency number in the RIL.

Validation

While testing on a debuggable build, the number that is called can be changed with the following command:

adb shell settings put global emergency_affordance_number NUMBER_TO_CALL

Although this setting can be set on a normal user build, it will be ignored. To actually connect the call the number must be in the list of emergency numbers provided by the RIL. This can be temporarily set using the following command executed from a root shell on a userdebug device:

setprop ril.ecclist "$(getprop ril.ecclist),NUMBER_TO_CALL"

The following command can also be used to force the Emergency Affordance feature to be enabled even in the absence of an Indian mobile network being detected or an Indian SIM card being inserted.

adb shell settings put global force_emergency_affordance 1

At a minimum, it is recommend to test the following cases:

  • Once activated, long pressing the EMERGENCY button on the lockscreen (Figure 1) initiates a call to the specified emergency number.
  • Once activated, the Emergency item on the Global Action Menu is present and tapping it initiates a call to the specified emergency number.
  • The feature is not activated in the absence of a detected Indian Mobile Network with a non-India SIM card installed.
  • The feature is activated on the device when an Indian SIM card is installed, regardless of the detected mobile networks.
  • The feature is activated on the device in the presence of an Indian Mobile Network, regardless of the SIM cards installed.

If a device includes supports multiple SIM cards, testing should ensure that the SIM MCC detection works correctly in each SIM slot. The Emergency Affordance feature is not governed by Android compatibility, so there are no Compatibility Test Suite (CTS) tests for it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. The emergency number 112 has not been commissioned yet in India. Should it still be used?

112 is the number that will be used in India as the Public Safety Answering Point (PSAP) as defined by the Integrated Emergency Communications and Response Systems (IECRS). Until the PSAP is commissioned, all calls to 112 will be routed to the existing 100 emergency number (though this is the responsibility of the carrier, not Android).

Q. What about other triggers such as triple-pressing the power button?

Device manufacturers may choose to implement additional triggers. However, while the Indian DoT approves triple-tapping the hardware power button, this trigger is not supported in the AOSP reference implementation as some widely used applications (e.g. the Camera app) use power button gestures that include repeated tapping of the power button. Such applications might interfere with the emergency dialer or the user may accidentally trigger the panic button while trying to trigger actions in these applications.