OTA 软件包内部

系统从 bootable/recovery/updater 构建更新程序二进制文件并将其用于 OTA 更新包。

更新包本身是包含可执行二进制文件 META-INF/com/google/android/update-binary 的 .zip 文件(ota_update.zipincremental_ota_update.zip)。

更新程序包含多个内建函数和一个可扩展脚本语言 (Edify) 解释器,该脚本语言支持用于执行更新相关的典型任务的命令。更新程序从 .zip 压缩包文件中查找 META-INF/com/google/android/updater-script 文件中的脚本。

注意:Edify 脚本和/或内建函数并不常用,但当您需要调试更新文件时,这会很有帮助。

Edify 语法

Edify 脚本是一个单一的表达式,其中的所有值都是字符串。在布尔上下文中,空字符串为 False,其他所有字符串均为 True。Edify 支持以下运算符(具有常规含义):

(expr )
 expr + expr  # string concatenation, not integer addition
 expr == expr
 expr != expr
 expr && expr
 expr || expr
 ! expr
 if expr then expr endif
 if expr then expr else expr endif
 function_name(expr, expr,...)
 expr; expr

由非保留字符 az、AZ、0-9 _、:、/、. 组成的任何字符串均视为字符串字面量。(保留字为 if else、then endif。)字符串字面量也可以用双引号括起来;通过这种方法可以使用空格和上述集合之外的其他字符来创建值。\n、\t、\“ 和 \\ 充当带引号的字符串中的转义字符,\x## 亦如此。

&& 和 || 为短路运算符;如果逻辑结果由左侧确定,则不评估右侧。下面两个表达式是对等的:

e1 && e2
if e1 then e2 endif

分号“;”运算符是序列点;表示要先评估左侧,再评估右侧。它的值是右侧表达式的值。分号也可以出现在表达式之后,其效果与 C 风格语句相仿:

prepare();
do_other_thing("argument");
finish_up();

内建函数

大部分更新功能都包含在可供脚本执行的函数中。(严格来说,这些是“宏”,而不是 Lisp 意义上的函数,因为它们不需要评估所有参数。)除非另有说明,函数在成功时返回 True,出错时返回 False。如果您希望在出错时中止脚本执行,请使用 abort() 和/或 assert() 函数。也可以扩展更新程序中的可用函数集,以提供特定于设备的功能

abort([msg])
使用可选的 msg 立即中止脚本执行。如果用户打开了文本显示功能,msg 将出现在恢复日志和屏幕上。
assert(expr[, expr, ...])
依序评估每个 expr。如果出现 false,则立即中止执行并显示“assert failed”和失败的表达式的源文本。
apply_patch(src_file, tgt_file, tgt_sha1, tgt_size, patch1_sha1, patch1_blob, [...])
将二进制补丁程序应用于 src_file 以生成 tgt_file。如果所需的目标文件与源文件相同,则传递“-”作为 tgt_file。tgt_sha1 和 tgt_size 分别是目标文件的预期最终 SHA1 哈希值和文件大小。其余参数必须成对出现:一个 SHA1 哈希值(40 个字符的十六进制字符串)和一个 Blob。如果源文件当前的内容含有给定的 SHA1,该 Blob 即为要应用的补丁程序。

打补丁以一种安全的方式完成,该方式可保证目标文件要么具有所需的 SHA1 哈希值和大小,要么不发生变化,而不会处于不可恢复的中间状态。如果在打补丁过程中进程中断,目标文件可能会处于中间状态;这时缓存分区中会存在一个副本,重新启动更新便可成功更新文件。

支持特殊语法将内存技术设备 (MTD) 分区的内容作为文件处理,以便为引导分区这样的原始分区打补丁。由于 MTD 分区没有文件结束标记,因此要读取该分区,您必须知道您要读取的数据量。您可以使用字符串“MTD:partition:size_1:sha1_1:size_2:sha1_2”作为文件名来读取给定的分区。您必须至少指定一个(size,sha-1)对;如果您希望读取的内容有多种可能,则可以指定多个对。

apply_patch_check(filename, sha1[, sha1, ...])
如果 filename 的内容或缓存分区中的临时副本(如果存在)中的内容具有与给定的 sha1 值之一相等的 SHA1 校验和,则返回 True。sha1 值指定为 40 位十六进制数字。该函数不同于 sha1_check(read_file(filename), sha1 [, ...]),因为它知道要检查缓存分区副本,因此即使文件被中断的 apply_patch() update 损坏,apply_patch_check() 也将成功。
apply_patch_space(bytes)
如果至少有几字节暂存空间可用于应用二进制补丁程序,则返回 True。
concat(expr[, expr, ...])
评估每个表达式并将它们连接起来。在只有两个参数的特殊情况下,+ 运算符就是该函数的语法糖(但该函数形式可以包含任意数量的表达式)。表达式必须为字符串;该函数不能连接 Blob。
file_getprop(filename, key)
读取给定的 filename,将其解释为属性文件(例如:/system/build.prop),并返回给定 key 的值,如果 key 不存在,则返回空字符串。
format(fs_type, partition_type, location, fs_size, mount_point)
重新格式化给定的分区。支持的分区类型如下:
  • fs_type =“yaffs2”和 partition_type =“MTD”。Location 必须为 MTD 分区的名称;将在该位置构建一个空的 yaffs2 文件系统。其余参数未使用。
  • fs_type =“ext4”和 partition_type =“EMMC”。Location 必须为该分区的设备文件。将在该位置构建一个空的 ext4 文件系统。如果 fs_size 为零,则文件系统将占用整个分区。如果 fs_size 为正数,则文件系统将占用分区的前 fs_size 个字节。如果 fs_size 为负数,则文件系统将占用分区中除最后 |fs_size| 个字节以外的所有字节。
  • fs_type =“f2fs” 和 partition_type =“EMMC”。Location 必须为该分区的设备文件。fs_size 必须为非负数。如果 fs_size 为零,则文件系统将占用整个分区。如果 fs_size 为正数,则文件系统将占用分区的前 fs_size 个字节。
  • mount_point 应为文件系统的未来挂载点。
getprop(key)
返回系统属性 key 的值(或者,如果未定义,则为空字符串)。由恢复分区定义的系统属性值未必与主系统属性值相同。此函数返回恢复分区中的值。
greater_than_int(a, b)
当且仅当 (iff) a(解析为整数)大于 b(解析为整数)时,才返回 True。
ifelse(cond, e1[, e2])
评估 cond,如果为 True,则评估并返回 e1 的值,否则评估并返回 e2(如果存在)。“if ... else ... then ... endif”结构就是此函数的语法糖。
is_mounted(mount_point)
当且仅当 mount_point 挂载文件系统时,才返回 True。
is_substring(needle, haystack)
当且仅当 needle 是 haystack 的子字符串时,才返回 True。
less_than_int(a, b)
当且仅当 a(解析为整数)小于 b(解析为整数)时,才返回 True。
mount(fs_type, partition_type, name, mount_point)
在 mount_point 挂载 fs_type 的文件系统。 partition_type 必须为以下类型之一:
  • MTD。Name 是 MTD 分区的名称(例如:system、userdata;有关完整列表,请参见设备上的 /proc/mtd)。
  • EMMC。

默认情况下,恢复分区不挂载任何文件系统(如果用户正在手动从 SD 卡安装软件包,则 SD 卡除外);您的脚本必须挂载需要修改的所有分区。

package_extract_dir(package_dir, dest_dir)
从 package_dir 下的文件包中提取所有文件,并将它们写入 dest_dir 下相应的树形结构中。所有现有文件都将被覆盖。
package_extract_file(package_file[, dest_file])
从更新包中提取单个 package_file 并将其写入 dest_file,如有必要,覆盖现有文件。在没有 dest_file 参数的情况下,将更新包文件的内容作为二进制 blob 返回。
read_file(filename)
读取 filename 并将其内容作为二进制 Blob 返回。
run_program(path[, arg, ...])
在 path 上执行二进制文件,以传递 arg。返回程序的退出状态。
set_progress(frac)
在最新的 show_progress() 调用所定义的块内设置进度条的位置。frac 必须介于 [0.0,1.0] 的范围内。进度条从不向后移动;向后移动的尝试会被忽略。
sha1_check(blob[, sha1])
该 blob 参数是 read_file() 返回类型的 Blob 或 package_extract_file() 的单参数形式的 Blob。在没有 sha1 参数的情况下,此函数返回 Blob 的 SHA1 哈希值(作为 40 位十六进制字符串)。在使用一个或多个 sha1 参数的情况下,如果 SHA1 哈希值等于其中一个参数,则该函数返回 SHA1 哈希值;如果与其中的任何一个参数都不相等,则返回空字符串。
show_progress(frac, secs)
在 secs 秒(必须为整数)内推动进度条向前移动下一个 frac 的长度。secs 可能为 0,在这种情况下,进度条不会自动向前移动,而是通过使用上面所定义的 set_progress() 函数实现进度递增。
sleep(secs)
休眠 secs 秒(必须为整数)。
stdout(expr[, expr, ...])
评估每个表达式并将其值转储到 stdout。这在调试时很有用。
tune2fs(device[, arg, …])
调整 device 上的可调参数 arg。
ui_print([text, ...])
连接所有 text 参数并将结果输出到界面(如果用户已打开文本显示功能,界面上将显示该结果)。
unmount(mount_point)
卸载挂载在 mount_point 上的文件系统。
wipe_block_device(block_dev, len)
擦除给定块设备 block_dev 的 len 字节。
wipe_cache()
可实现在安装过程成功结束时擦除缓存分区。
write_raw_image(filename_or_blob, partition)
将 filename_or_blob 中的映像写入 MTD 分区。 filename_or_blob 可以是一个命名本地文件的字符串或一个包含要写入的数据的 blob 值参数。要将文件从 OTA 包复制到分区,请使用:write_raw_image(package_extract_file("zip_filename"), "partition_name");

注意:对于 Android 4.1 之前的版本,仅接受 filename。因此要完成该操作,必须先将数据解压到临时本地文件中。

Inside OTA Packages

The system builds the updater binary from bootable/recovery/updater and uses it in an OTA package.

The package itself is a .zip file (ota_update.zip, incremental_ota_update.zip) that contains the executable binary META-INF/com/google/android/update-binary .

Updater contains several builtin functions and an interpreter for an extensible scripting language (edify) that supports commands for typical update-related tasks. Updater looks in the package .zip file for a script in the file META-INF/com/google/android/updater-script.

Note: Using the edify script and/or builtin functions is not a common activity, but can be helpful if you need to debug the update file.

Edify syntax

An edify script is a single expression in which all values are strings. Empty strings are false in a Boolean context and all other strings are true. Edify supports the following operators (with the usual meanings):

(expr )
 expr + expr  # string concatenation, not integer addition
 expr == expr
 expr != expr
 expr && expr
 expr || expr
 ! expr
 if expr then expr endif
 if expr then expr else expr endif
 function_name(expr, expr,...)
 expr; expr

Any string of the characters a-z, A-Z, 0-9, _, :, /, . that isn't a reserved word is considered a string literal. (Reserved words are if else then endif.) String literals may also appear in double-quotes; this is how to create values with whitespace and other characters not in the above set. \n, \t, \", and \\ serve as escapes within quoted strings, as does \x##.

The && and || operators are short-circuiting; the right side is not evaluated if the logical result is determined by the left side. The following are equivalent:

e1 && e2
if e1 then e2 endif

The ; operator is a sequence point; it means to evaluate first the left side and then the right side. Its value is the value of the right-side expression. A semicolon can also appear after an expression, so the effect simulates C-style statements:

prepare();
do_other_thing("argument");
finish_up();

Built-in functions

Most update functionality is contained in the functions available for execution by scripts. (Strictly speaking these are macros rather than functions in the Lisp sense, since they need not evaluate all of their arguments.) Unless otherwise noted, functions return true on success and false on error. If you want errors to abort execution of the script, use the abort() and/or assert() functions. The set of functions available in updater can also be extended to provide device-specific functionality.

abort([msg])
Aborts execution of the script immediately, with the optional msg. If the user has turned on text display, msg appears in the recovery log and on-screen.
assert(expr[, expr, ...])
Evaluates each expr in turn. If any is false, immediately aborts execution with the message "assert failed" and the source text of the failed expression.
apply_patch(src_file, tgt_file, tgt_sha1, tgt_size, patch1_sha1, patch1_blob, [...])
Applies a binary patch to the src_file to produce the tgt_file . If the desired target is the same as the source, pass "-" for tgt_file . tgt_sha1 and tgt_size are the expected final SHA1 hash and size of the target file. The remaining arguments must come in pairs: a SHA1 hash (a 40-character hex string) and a blob. The blob is the patch to be applied when the source file's current contents have the given SHA1.

The patching is done in a safe manner that guarantees the target file either has the desired SHA1 hash and size, or it is untouched—it will not be left in an unrecoverable intermediate state. If the process is interrupted during patching, the target file may be in an intermediate state; a copy exists in the cache partition so restarting the update can successfully update the file.

Special syntax is supported to treat the contents of Memory Technology Device (MTD) partitions as files, allowing patching of raw partitions such as boot. To read an MTD partition, you must know how much data you want to read since the partition does not have an end-of-file notion. You can use the string "MTD:partition:size_1:sha1_1:size_2: sha1_2" as a filename to read the given partition. You must specify at least one (size, sha-1) pair; you can specify more than one if there are multiple possibilities for what you expect to read.

apply_patch_check(filename, sha1[, sha1, ...])
Returns true if the contents of filename or the temporary copy in the cache partition (if present) have a SHA1 checksum equal to one of the given sha1 values. sha1 values are specified as 40 hex digits. This function differs from sha1_check(read_file(filename), sha1 [, ...]) in that it knows to check the cache partition copy, so apply_patch_check() will succeed even if the file was corrupted by an interrupted apply_patch() update.
apply_patch_space(bytes)
Returns true if at least bytes of scratch space is available for applying binary patches.
concat(expr[, expr, ...])
Evaluates each expression and concatenates them. The + operator is syntactic sugar for this function in the special case of two arguments (but the function form can take any number of expressions). The expressions must be strings; it can't concatenate blobs.
delete([filename, ...])
Deletes all the filenames listed. Returns the number of files successfully deleted.
delete_recursive([dirname, ...])
Recursively deletes dirnames and all their contents. Returns the number of directories successfully deleted.
file_getprop(filename, key)
Reads the given filename, interprets it as a properties file (e.g. /system/build.prop), and returns the value of the given key , or the empty string if key is not present.
format(fs_type, partition_type, location, fs_size, mount_point)
Reformats a given partition. Supported partition types:
  • fs_type="yaffs2" and partition_type="MTD". Location must be the name of the MTD partition; an empty yaffs2 filesystem is constructed there. Remaining arguments are unused.
  • fs_type="ext4" and partition_type="EMMC". Location must be the device file for the partition. An empty ext4 filesystem is constructed there. If fs_size is zero, the filesystem takes up the entire partition. If fs_size is a positive number, the filesystem takes the first fs_size bytes of the partition. If fs_size is a negative number, the filesystem takes all except the last |fs_size| bytes of the partition.
  • fs_type="f2fs" and partition_type="EMMC". Location must be the device file for the partition. fs_size must be a non-negative number. If fs_size is zero, the filesystem takes up the entire partition. If fs_size is a positive number, the filesystem takes the first fs_size bytes of the partition.
  • mount_point should be the future mount point for the filesystem.
getprop(key)
Returns the value of system property key (or the empty string, if it's not defined). The system property values defined by the recovery partition are not necessarily the same as those of the main system. This function returns the value in recovery.
greater_than_int(a, b)
Returns true if and only if (iff) a (interpreted as an integer) is greater than b (interpreted as an integer).
ifelse(cond, e1[, e2])
Evaluates cond, and if it is true evaluates and returns the value of e1, otherwise it evaluates and returns e2 (if present). The "if ... else ... then ... endif" construct is just syntactic sugar for this function.
is_mounted(mount_point)
Returns true iff there is a filesystem mounted at mount_point.
is_substring(needle, haystack)
Returns true iff needle is a substring of haystack.
less_than_int(a, b)
Returns true iff a (interpreted as an integer) is less than b (interpreted as an integer).
mount(fs_type, partition_type, name, mount_point)
Mounts a filesystem of fs_type at mount_point. partition_type must be one of:
  • MTD. Name is the name of an MTD partition (e.g., system, userdata; see /proc/mtd on the device for a complete list).
  • EMMC.

Recovery does not mount any filesystems by default (except the SD card if the user is doing a manual install of a package from the SD card); your script must mount any partitions it needs to modify.

package_extract_dir(package_dir, dest_dir)
Extracts all files from the package underneath package_dir and writes them to the corresponding tree beneath dest_dir. Any existing files are overwritten.
package_extract_file(package_file[, dest_file])
Extracts a single package_file from the update package and writes it to dest_file, overwriting existing files if necessary. Without the dest_file argument, returns the contents of the package file as a binary blob.
read_file(filename)
Reads filename and returns its contents as a binary blob.
rename(src_filename, tgt_filename)
Renames src_filename to tgt_filename. It automatically creates the necessary directories for the tgt_filename. Example: rename("system/app/Hangouts/Hangouts.apk", "system/priv-app/Hangouts/Hangouts.apk").
run_program(path[, arg, ...])
Executes the binary at path, passing args. Returns the program's exit status.
set_metadata(filename, key1, value1[, key2 , value2, ...])
Sets the keys of the given filename to values. For example: set_metadata("/system/bin/netcfg", "uid", 0, "gid", 3003, "mode", 02750, "selabel", "u:object_r:system_file:s0", "capabilities", 0x0).
set_metadata_recursive(dirname, key1, value1[, key2, value2, ...])
Recursively sets the keys of the given dirname and all its children to values. For example: set_metadata_recursive("/system", "uid", 0, "gid", 0, "fmode", 0644, "dmode", 0755, "selabel", "u:object_r:system_file:s0", "capabilities", 0x0).
set_progress(frac)
Sets the position of the progress meter within the chunk defined by the most recent show_progress() call. frac must be in the range [0.0, 1.0]. The progress meter never moves backwards; attempts to make it do so are ignored.
sha1_check(blob[, sha1])
The blob argument is a blob of the type returned by read_file() or the one-argument form of package_extract_file() . With no sha1 arguments, this function returns the SHA1 hash of the blob (as a 40-digit hex string). With one or more sha1 arguments, this function returns the SHA1 hash if it equals one of the arguments, or the empty string if it does not equal any of them.
show_progress(frac, secs)
Advances the progress meter over the next frac of its length over the secs seconds (must be an integer). secs may be 0, in which case the meter is not advanced automatically but by use of the set_progress() function defined above.
sleep(secs)
Sleeps for secs seconds (must be an integer).
stdout(expr[, expr, ...])
Evaluates each expression and dumps its value to stdout. Useful for debugging.
symlink(target[, source, ...])
Creates all sources as symlinks to target.
tune2fs(device[, arg, …])
Adjusts tunable parameters args on device.
ui_print([text, ...])
Concatenates all text arguments and prints the result to the UI (where it will be visible if the user has turned on the text display).
unmount(mount_point)
Unmounts the filesystem mounted at mount_point.
wipe_block_device(block_dev, len)
Wipes the len bytes of the given block device block_dev.
wipe_cache()
Causes the cache partition to be wiped at the end of a successful installation.
write_raw_image(filename_or_blob, partition)
Writes the image in filename_or_blob to the MTD partition. filename_or_blob can be a string naming a local file or a blob-valued argument containing the data to write. To copy a file from the OTA package to a partition, use: write_raw_image(package_extract_file("zip_filename"), "partition_name");

Note: Prior to Android 4.1, only filenames were accepted, so to accomplish this the data first had to be unzipped into a temporary local file.