对要发布的版本进行签名

Android OS 映像在两个地方使用加密签名:

  1. 映像中的所有 .apk 文件都必须经过签名。Android 软件包管理器通过下列两种方式使用 .apk 签名:
    • 更换应用时,必须使用与旧应用相同的密钥对其签名,才能存取旧应用的数据。无论是通过覆盖 .apk 来更新用户应用,还是使用安装在 /data 下的新版本应用来覆盖系统应用,这一点都适用。
    • 如果两个或多个应用想要共享同一个用户 ID(方便共享数据等),则必须使用相同的密钥对它们进行签名。
  2. 必须使用符合系统预期的密钥对 OTA 更新包进行签名,否则在安装过程中 OTA 更新包将被拒绝。

发布密钥

Android 树的 build/target/product/security 目录中提供了“测试密钥”。使用 make 构建 Android OS 映像便可使用这些测试密钥对所有 .apk 文件进行签名。由于这些测试密钥是公开的,任何人都可以使用相同的密钥对他们自己的 .apk 文件签名,这样他们就能够替换或盗用您的操作系统映像中构建的系统应用。因此,您必须使用只有您自己才能访问的特殊“发布密钥”集对公开发布或部署的 Android OS 映像进行签名。

要生成您自己的唯一发布密钥集,请在 Android 树的根目录下运行以下命令:

subject='/C=US/ST=California/L=Mountain View/O=Android/OU=Android/CN=Android/emailAddress=android@android.com'
mkdir ~/.android-certs
for x in releasekey platform shared media; do \
    ./development/tools/make_key ~/.android-certs/$x "$subject"; \
done

您需要对 $subject 进行更改以反映贵组织的信息。您可以使用任何目录,但要注意选择一个已备份且安全的位置。部分供应商会使用强密码加密私钥,并将其存储在源代码控制系统中;其他供应商则将他们的发布密钥完全存储在其他地方,如气隙阻隔的计算机上。

要生成发布映像,请使用以下命令:

make dist
./build/tools/releasetools/sign_target_files_apks \
    -o \    # explained in the next section
    -d ~/.android-certs out/dist/*-target_files-*.zip \
    signed-target_files.zip

sign_target_files_apks 脚本将目标文件 .zip 作为输入文件,并生成一个新的目标文件 .zip,其中所有的 .apk 都已使用新密钥签名。您可以在 signed-target_files.zip 中的 IMAGES/ 目录下找到新签名的映像。

对 OTA 更新包进行签名

您可以按照以下步骤将已签名的目标文件 zip 转换为已签名的 OTA 更新 zip:
./build/tools/releasetools/ota_from_target_files \
    -k ~/.android-certs/releasekey \
    signed-target_files.zip \
    signed-ota_update.zip

签名和旁加载

旁加载不会绕过 Recovery 流程中的正常软件包签名验证机制。在安装一个软件包之前,Recovery 会验证该软件包是否由与 Recovery 分区中存储的公钥相匹配的私钥进行签名,这与利用无线方式传输的软件包的处理方式一样。

从主系统接收的更新包通常要接受两次验证:一次是由主系统使用 Android API 中的 RecoverySystem.verifyPackage() 方法进行验证,第二次则是通过 Recovery 进行验证。RecoverySystem API 对照存储在主系统 /system/etc/security/otacerts.zip 文件(默认情况下)中的公钥对签名进行检查。Recovery 对照存储在 Recovery 分区 RAM 磁盘中的 /res/keys 文件中的公钥对签名进行检查。

默认情况下,由此版本生成的目标文件 .zip 会将 OTA 证书设置为与测试密钥相匹配。在发布的映像上,必须使用不同的证书,这样设备才能验证更新包的真实性。如前面一部分所示,将 -o 标志传递到 sign_target_files_apks 即可将测试密钥证书替换成您的证书目录中的发布密钥证书。

通常情况下,系统映像和 Recovery 映像存储的是相同的 OTA 公钥集。通过将密钥仅添加至 Recovery 密钥集,可对只能通过旁加载安装的 apk 包(假设主系统的更新下载机制正确地对照 otacerts.zip 进行验证)签名。您可以通过在产品定义中设置 PRODUCT_EXTRA_RECOVERY_KEYS 变量来指定其他仅可纳入 Recovery 中的密钥:

vendor/yoyodyne/tardis/products/tardis.mk

 [...]

PRODUCT_EXTRA_RECOVERY_KEYS := vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/sideload

其中包括 Recovery 密钥文件中的公钥 vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/sideload.x509.pem,因此它可以安装用此公钥签名的 apk 包。但 otacerts.zip 中不包含额外的密钥,因此正确验证下载包的系统不会针对用此密钥签名的 apk 包调用 Recovery。

证书和私钥

每个密钥都包含两个文件:一个是扩展名为 .x509.pem 的证书,另一个是扩展名为 .pk8 的私钥。私钥需要加以保密,并用于对 apk 包进行签名。密钥本身也可能受密码保护。相比之下,证书只包含公开的一半密钥,因此可以大范围地分发。证书被用于验证某个 apk 包是否由相应的私钥进行签名。

标准 Android 版本使用四个密钥,所有这些密钥都位于 build/target/product/security 中:

testkey
适用于未另外指定密钥的 apk 包的通用默认密钥。
平台
适用于核心平台所包含的 apk 包的测试密钥。
共享
适用于家庭/联系人进程中的共享内容的测试密钥。
媒体
适用于媒体/下载系统所包含的 apk 包的测试密钥。

单个 apk 包通过在其 Android.mk 文件中设置 LOCAL_CERTIFICATE 来指定其中一个密钥。(如果未设置此变量,则使用 testkey。)您还可以通过路径名指定完全不同的密钥,例如:

device/yoyodyne/apps/SpecialApp/Android.mk

 [...]

LOCAL_CERTIFICATE := device/yoyodyne/security/special

现在,此版本使用 device/yoyodyne/security/special.{x509.pem,pk8} 密钥来对 SpecialApp.apk 进行签名。此版本仅可使用不受密码保护的私钥。

高级签名选项

当您运行 sign_target_files_apks 脚本时,您必须在命令行中指定此版本中每个密钥的替换密钥。 -k src_key= dest_key 标志每次指定一个密钥替换。-d dir 标志可指定一个含有四个密钥的目录来替换所有位于 build/target/product/security 中的密钥;这相当于使用 -k 四次来指定映射:

build/target/product/security/testkey  = dir/releasekey
build/target/product/security/platform = dir/platform
build/target/product/security/shared   = dir/shared
build/target/product/security/media    = dir/media

对于假定的 tardis 产品,您需要五个受密码保护的密钥:四个用于替换 build/target/product/security 中的四个密钥,其余一个则用于替换在上述示例中提到的 SpecialApp 所需的额外的 keydevice/yoyodyne/security/special。如果密钥位于以下文件中:

vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/releasekey.x509.pem
vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/releasekey.pk8
vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/platform.x509.pem
vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/platform.pk8
vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/shared.x509.pem
vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/shared.pk8
vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/media.x509.pem
vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/media.pk8
vendor/yoyodyne/security/special.x509.pem
vendor/yoyodyne/security/special.pk8           # NOT password protected
vendor/yoyodyne/security/special-release.x509.pem
vendor/yoyodyne/security/special-release.pk8   # password protected

那么您将对所有应用签名,如下所示:

% ./build/tools/releasetools/sign_target_files_apks \
    -d vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis \
    -k vendor/yoyodyne/special=vendor/yoyodyne/special-release \
    -o \
    tardis-target_files.zip signed-tardis-target_files.zip
Enter password for vendor/yoyodyne/security/special-release key>
Enter password for vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/media key>
Enter password for vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/platform key>
Enter password for vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/releasekey key>
Enter password for vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/shared key>
    signing: Phone.apk (vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/platform)
    signing: Camera.apk (vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/media)
    signing: Special.apk (vendor/yoyodyne/security/special-release)
    signing: Email.apk (vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/releasekey)
        [...]
    signing: ContactsProvider.apk (vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/shared)
    signing: Launcher.apk (vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/shared)
rewriting SYSTEM/build.prop:
  replace:  ro.build.description=tardis-user Eclair ERC91 15449 test-keys
     with:  ro.build.description=tardis-user Eclair ERC91 15449 release-keys
  replace: ro.build.fingerprint=generic/tardis/tardis/tardis:Eclair/ERC91/15449:user/test-keys
     with: ro.build.fingerprint=generic/tardis/tardis/tardis:Eclair/ERC91/15449:user/release-keys
    signing: framework-res.apk (vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/platform)
rewriting RECOVERY/RAMDISK/default.prop:
  replace:  ro.build.description=tardis-user Eclair ERC91 15449 test-keys
     with:  ro.build.description=tardis-user Eclair ERC91 15449 release-keys
  replace: ro.build.fingerprint=generic/tardis/tardis/tardis:Eclair/ERC91/15449:user/test-keys
     with: ro.build.fingerprint=generic/tardis/tardis/tardis:Eclair/ERC91/15449:user/release-keys
using:
    vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/releasekey.x509.pem
for OTA package verification
done.

在提示用户所有受密码保护的密钥的密码后,脚本会使用发布密钥对输入目标 .zip 中的 .apk 文件重新签名。在运行该命令之前,您还可以将 ANDROID_PW_FILE 环境变量设置为临时文件名;然后脚本会调用您的编辑器,允许您输入所有密钥的密码(采用该方式输入密码可能较为简便)。

sign_target_files_apks 还会在版本属性文件中重写版本描述和指纹,表明这是一个已签名的版本。-t 标志可以控制对指纹所做的编辑。使用 -h 运行脚本来查看所有标志上的文档。

手动生成密钥

Android 使用公开指数为 3 的 2048 位 RSA 密钥。您可以使用 openssl.org 提供的 openssl 工具来生成证书/私钥对:

# generate RSA key
% openssl genrsa -3 -out temp.pem 2048
Generating RSA private key, 2048 bit long modulus
....+++
.....................+++
e is 3 (0x3)

# create a certificate with the public part of the key
% openssl req -new -x509 -key temp.pem -out releasekey.x509.pem \
  -days 10000 \
  -subj '/C=US/ST=California/L=San Narciso/O=Yoyodyne, Inc./OU=Yoyodyne Mobility/CN=Yoyodyne/emailAddress=yoyodyne@example.com'

# create a PKCS#8-formatted version of the private key
% openssl pkcs8 -in temp.pem -topk8 -outform DER -out releasekey.pk8 -nocrypt

# securely delete the temp.pem file
% shred --remove temp.pem

上述 openssl pkcs8 命令可创建一个适用于该版本系统的 .pk8 文件,该文件未设置密码。要创建一个带有密码保护的 .pk8 文件(您应当为所有实际的发布密钥执行此步骤),请将 -nocrypt 参数替换为 -passout stdin;这样 openssl 将使用从标准输入中读取的密码来加密私钥。该过程中不会输出任何提示。因此,当系统确实只是在等待您输入密码时,如果 stdin 是终端,程序将会处于挂起状态。可以对 Passout 参数使用其他值,以便从其他位置读取密码;有关详情,请参阅 openssl 文档

temp.pem 中间文件包含不受任何类型的密码保护的私钥,因此在生成发布密钥时应谨慎处理该文件。需要特别指出的是,GNUshred 实用程序可能对网络或日志文件系统无效。在生成密钥时,您可以使用位于 RAM 磁盘(如 tmpfs 分区)中的工作目录以确保中间文件不会无意间被暴露。

创建映像文件

一旦您签署了目标文件 .zip,您便需要创建映像,以便将其存放到设备上。要从目标文件中创建已签名的映像,请在 Android 树形结构的根目录下运行以下命令:

./build/tools/releasetools/img_from_target_files signed-target-files.zip signed-img.zip
生成的文件 signed-img.zip 中包含所有 .img 文件。 要将映像加载到设备上,请使用 fastboot,如下 所示:
fastboot update signed-img.zip

Signing Builds for Release

Android OS images use cryptographic signatures in two places:

  1. Each .apk file inside the image must be signed. Android's Package Manager uses an .apk signature in two ways:
    • When an application is replaced, it must be signed by the same key as the old application in order to get access to the old application's data. This holds true both for updating user apps by overwriting the .apk, and for overriding a system app with a newer version installed under /data.
    • If two or more applications want to share a user ID (so they can share data, etc.), they must be signed with the same key.
  2. OTA update packages must be signed with one of the keys expected by the system or the installation process will reject them.

Release keys

The Android tree includes test-keys under build/target/product/security. Building an Android OS image using make will sign all .apk files using the test-keys. Since the test-keys are publicly known, anybody can sign their own .apk files with the same keys, which may allow them to replace or hijack system apps built into your OS image. For this reason it is critical to sign any publicly released or deployed Android OS image with a special set of release-keys that only you have access to.

To generate your own unique set of release-keys, run these commands from the root of your Android tree:

subject='/C=US/ST=California/L=Mountain View/O=Android/OU=Android/CN=Android/emailAddress=android@android.com'
mkdir ~/.android-certs
for x in releasekey platform shared media; do \
    ./development/tools/make_key ~/.android-certs/$x "$subject"; \
done

$subject should be changed to reflect your organization's information. You can use any directory, but be careful to pick a location that is backed up and secure. Some vendors choose to encrypt their private key with a strong passphrase and store the encrypted key in source control; others store their release keys somewhere else entirely, such as on an air-gapped computer.

To generate a release image, use:

make dist
./build/tools/releasetools/sign_target_files_apks \
    -o \    # explained in the next section
    -d ~/.android-certs out/dist/*-target_files-*.zip \
    signed-target_files.zip

The sign_target_files_apks script takes a target-files .zip as input and produces a new target-files .zip in which all the .apks have been signed with new keys. The newly signed images can be found under IMAGES/ in signed-target_files.zip.

Signing OTA packages

A signed target-files zip can be converted into a signed OTA update zip using the following procedure:
./build/tools/releasetools/ota_from_target_files \
    -k ~/.android-certs/releasekey \
    signed-target_files.zip \
    signed-ota_update.zip

Signatures and sideloading

Sideloading does not bypass recovery's normal package signature verification mechanism—before installing a package, recovery will verify that it is signed with one of the private keys matching the public keys stored in the recovery partition, just as it would for a package delivered over-the-air.

Update packages received from the main system are typically verified twice: once by the main system, using the RecoverySystem.verifyPackage() method in the android API, and then again by recovery. The RecoverySystem API checks the signature against public keys stored in the main system, in the file /system/etc/security/otacerts.zip (by default). Recovery checks the signature against public keys stored in the recovery partition RAM disk, in the file /res/keys.

By default, the target-files .zip produced by the build sets the OTA certificate to match the test key. On a released image, a different certificate must be used so that devices can verify the authenticity of the update package. Passing the -o flag to sign_target_files_apks, as shown in the previous section, replaces the test key certificate with the release key certificate from your certs directory.

Normally the system image and recovery image store the same set of OTA public keys. By adding a key to just the recovery set of keys, it is possible to sign packages that can be installed only via sideloading (assuming the main system's update download mechanism is correctly doing verification against otacerts.zip). You can specify extra keys to be included only in recovery by setting the PRODUCT_EXTRA_RECOVERY_KEYS variable in your product definition:

vendor/yoyodyne/tardis/products/tardis.mk

 [...]

PRODUCT_EXTRA_RECOVERY_KEYS := vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/sideload

This includes the public key vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/sideload.x509.pem in the recovery keys file so it can install packages signed with it. The extra key is not included in otacerts.zip though, so systems that correctly verify downloaded packages do not invoke recovery for packages signed with this key.

Certificates and private keys

Each key comes in two files: the certificate, which has the extension .x509.pem, and the private key, which has the extension .pk8. The private key should be kept secret and is needed to sign a package. The key may itself be protected by a password. The certificate, in contrast, contains only the public half of the key, so it can be distributed widely. It is used to verify a package has been signed by the corresponding private key.

The standard Android build uses four keys, all of which reside in build/target/product/security:

testkey
Generic default key for packages that do not otherwise specify a key.
platform
Test key for packages that are part of the core platform.
shared
Test key for things that are shared in the home/contacts process.
media
Test key for packages that are part of the media/download system.

Individual packages specify one of these keys by setting LOCAL_CERTIFICATE in their Android.mk file. (testkey is used if this variable is not set.) You can also specify an entirely different key by pathname, e.g.:

device/yoyodyne/apps/SpecialApp/Android.mk

 [...]

LOCAL_CERTIFICATE := device/yoyodyne/security/special

Now the build uses the device/yoyodyne/security/special.{x509.pem,pk8} key to sign SpecialApp.apk. The build can use only private keys that are not password protected.

Advanced signing options

When you run the sign_target_files_apks script, you must specify on the command line a replacement key for each key used in the build. The -k src_key= dest_key flag specifies key replacements one at a time. The flag -d dir lets you specify a directory with four keys to replace all those in build/target/product/security; it is equivalent to using -k four times to specify the mappings:

build/target/product/security/testkey  = dir/releasekey
build/target/product/security/platform = dir/platform
build/target/product/security/shared   = dir/shared
build/target/product/security/media    = dir/media

For the hypothetical tardis product, you need five password-protected keys: four to replace the four in build/target/product/security, and one to replace the additional keydevice/yoyodyne/security/special required by SpecialApp in the example above. If the keys were in the following files:

vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/releasekey.x509.pem
vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/releasekey.pk8
vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/platform.x509.pem
vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/platform.pk8
vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/shared.x509.pem
vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/shared.pk8
vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/media.x509.pem
vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/media.pk8
vendor/yoyodyne/security/special.x509.pem
vendor/yoyodyne/security/special.pk8           # NOT password protected
vendor/yoyodyne/security/special-release.x509.pem
vendor/yoyodyne/security/special-release.pk8   # password protected

Then you would sign all the apps like this:

% ./build/tools/releasetools/sign_target_files_apks \
    -d vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis \
    -k vendor/yoyodyne/special=vendor/yoyodyne/special-release \
    -o \
    tardis-target_files.zip signed-tardis-target_files.zip
Enter password for vendor/yoyodyne/security/special-release key>
Enter password for vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/media key>
Enter password for vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/platform key>
Enter password for vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/releasekey key>
Enter password for vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/shared key>
    signing: Phone.apk (vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/platform)
    signing: Camera.apk (vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/media)
    signing: Special.apk (vendor/yoyodyne/security/special-release)
    signing: Email.apk (vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/releasekey)
        [...]
    signing: ContactsProvider.apk (vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/shared)
    signing: Launcher.apk (vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/shared)
rewriting SYSTEM/build.prop:
  replace:  ro.build.description=tardis-user Eclair ERC91 15449 test-keys
     with:  ro.build.description=tardis-user Eclair ERC91 15449 release-keys
  replace: ro.build.fingerprint=generic/tardis/tardis/tardis:Eclair/ERC91/15449:user/test-keys
     with: ro.build.fingerprint=generic/tardis/tardis/tardis:Eclair/ERC91/15449:user/release-keys
    signing: framework-res.apk (vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/platform)
rewriting RECOVERY/RAMDISK/default.prop:
  replace:  ro.build.description=tardis-user Eclair ERC91 15449 test-keys
     with:  ro.build.description=tardis-user Eclair ERC91 15449 release-keys
  replace: ro.build.fingerprint=generic/tardis/tardis/tardis:Eclair/ERC91/15449:user/test-keys
     with: ro.build.fingerprint=generic/tardis/tardis/tardis:Eclair/ERC91/15449:user/release-keys
using:
    vendor/yoyodyne/security/tardis/releasekey.x509.pem
for OTA package verification
done.

After prompting the user for passwords for all password-protected keys, the script re-signs all the .apk files in the input target .zip with the release keys. Before running the command, you can also set the ANDROID_PW_FILE environment variable to a temporary filename; the script then invokes your editor to allow you to enter passwords for all keys (this may be a more convenient way to enter passwords).

sign_target_files_apks also rewrites the build description and fingerprint in the build properties files to reflect the fact that this is a signed build. The -t flag can control what edits are made to the fingerprint. Run the script with -h to see documentation on all flags.

Manually generating keys

Android uses 2048-bit RSA keys with public exponent 3. You can generate certificate/private key pairs using the openssl tool from openssl.org:

# generate RSA key
% openssl genrsa -3 -out temp.pem 2048
Generating RSA private key, 2048 bit long modulus
....+++
.....................+++
e is 3 (0x3)

# create a certificate with the public part of the key
% openssl req -new -x509 -key temp.pem -out releasekey.x509.pem \
  -days 10000 \
  -subj '/C=US/ST=California/L=San Narciso/O=Yoyodyne, Inc./OU=Yoyodyne Mobility/CN=Yoyodyne/emailAddress=yoyodyne@example.com'

# create a PKCS#8-formatted version of the private key
% openssl pkcs8 -in temp.pem -topk8 -outform DER -out releasekey.pk8 -nocrypt

# securely delete the temp.pem file
% shred --remove temp.pem

The openssl pkcs8 command given above creates a .pk8 file with no password, suitable for use with the build system. To create a .pk8 secured with a password (which you should do for all actual release keys), replace the -nocrypt argument with -passout stdin; then openssl will encrypt the private key with a password read from standard input. No prompt is printed, so if stdin is the terminal the program will appear to hang when it's really just waiting for you to enter a password. Other values can be used for the-passout argument to read the password from other locations; for details, see the openssl documentation.

The temp.pem intermediate file contains the private key without any kind of password protection, so dispose of it thoughtfully when generating release keys. In particular, the GNUshred utility may not be effective on network or journaled filesystems. You can use a working directory located in a RAM disk (such as a tmpfs partition) when generating keys to ensure the intermediates are not inadvertently exposed.

Creating image files

Once you have signed-target-files.zip, you need to create the image so you can put it onto a device. To create the signed image from the target files, run the following command from the root of the Android tree:

./build/tools/releasetools/img_from_target_files signed-target-files.zip signed-img.zip
The resulting file, signed-img.zip, contains all the .img files. To load an image onto a device, use fastboot as follows:
fastboot update signed-img.zip